Re: PNM in Gov't

DMan7

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby DMan7 » September 2nd, 2022, 2:44 pm

Them teachers want a raise for doing what exactly? Coming late to classes and showing students a youtube video? :roll:

Postby hover11 » September 2nd, 2022, 2:53 pm

When PAYE steps in and NIS is taken out it turns into a salary cut
death365 wrote:Btw its

2 % in one 3 year period and the other 2 % for the next. meaning its actually 2% increase

matr1x wrote:4 percent was an insult anyways.

Postby MaxPower » September 2nd, 2022, 3:22 pm

Whats the increase for?

To do what?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 2nd, 2022, 3:31 pm

MaxPower wrote:Whats the increase for?

To do what?

To continue showing students youtube videos while they are on their phones for the duration of their classes.

Postby MaxPower » September 2nd, 2022, 3:41 pm

DMan7 wrote:

To do what?

To continue showing students youtube videos while they are on their phones for the duration of their classes.

Oh ok.

I thought they wanted the increase because they always saying they “not being paid to take this sheit”.

The attitudes of teachers have to change.

Again, it all has to do with the mentality and culture of Trinis.

Then again, it have some harden children and their parents/guardians are no different or even worse.

The educational system in T&T is downhill, and salary increase or not, it will continue to head in that direction.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » September 2nd, 2022, 4:29 pm

DMan7 wrote:

To do what?

Oh ok.

I thought they wanted the increase because they always saying they “not being paid to take this sheit”.

Then again, it have some harden children and their parents/guardians are no different or even worse.

The educational system in T&T is downhill, and salary increase or not, it will continue to head in that direction.
T&t is downhill

Postby paid_influencer » September 2nd, 2022, 5:11 pm

maybe moe could hire all them newly-graduated teachers that waiting for employment. maybe hire them on contract or something, so tutta cannot be allowed to 'shut down' schools whenever they please

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 2nd, 2022, 5:13 pm

paid_influencer wrote:maybe moe could hire all them newly-graduated teachers that waiting for employment. maybe hire them on contract or something, so tutta cannot be allowed to 'shut down' schools whenever they please

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 2nd, 2022, 5:14 pm

Kickstart wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

To do what?

Oh ok.

T&t is downhill

Unless you 1%

Postby hover11 » September 2nd, 2022, 5:18 pm

paid_influencer wrote:maybe moe could hire all them newly-graduated teachers that waiting for employment. maybe hire them on contract or something, so tutta cannot be allowed to 'shut down' schools whenever they please
That will add to the wage bill as you have to pay the experienced teachers and the newly hired ones as well.

Postby paid_influencer » September 2nd, 2022, 5:29 pm

contract labor is not wages tho

Postby MaxPower » September 2nd, 2022, 5:46 pm

Kickstart wrote:T&t is downhill

Zoom, evening.

X3000

Postby hover11 » September 2nd, 2022, 5:47 pm

paid_influencer wrote:contract labor is not wages tho
Actually it is because at the end of every contract you have to pay something similar to that of a lump sum payment. Who is going to foot that bill? It is still an expense for the taxpayers when you could have just paid the permanent teachers the increase, instead you rather hire new employees in addition to the ones you still have to pay who would be staying away from work?

Postby paid_influencer » September 2nd, 2022, 6:14 pm

we woud have to hire new teachers in any case, might as well move them to contract positions

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 2nd, 2022, 7:11 pm

there is a difference between a contracted employee and a contractor

Postby hover11 » September 2nd, 2022, 7:31 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

there is a difference between a contracted employee and a contractor
Exactly there is a contract for service and a contract of service

Postby paid_influencer » September 2nd, 2022, 8:16 pm

how about a gig-based solution. when teachers choose to stay home to 'rest and reflect' or whatever, we let the void be filled on the open market

Postby hover11 » September 2nd, 2022, 8:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:how about a gig-based solution. when teachers choose to stay home to 'rest and reflect' or whatever, we let the void be filled on the open market
Who will be funding this is the question, we looking for every alternative than just paying the ppl their just increase, really?

Postby paid_influencer » September 2nd, 2022, 8:26 pm

since i small I dealing with TUTTA striking for something or the other. is not a matter of 'paying' so much as dealing with a structural problem that happens every year no matter how much money is thrown at them

other benefits too. in the states they have police, firefighters, anybody with a college degree, filling in for teachers staffing shortages. here we have qualified teaching graduates ready to go and sitting at home doing all kinda hustle instead of what they were trained for.

Postby matr1x » September 3rd, 2022, 6:49 am

Ever tried handling a classroom of 38 students? And an online class?

Teachers dealing with allyuh children is be in for a hell of a time. No one is going to accept contract. All stress with no benefits.

Postby matr1x » September 3rd, 2022, 6:51 am

paid_influencer wrote:how about a gig-based solution. when teachers choose to stay home to 'rest and reflect' or whatever, we let the void be filled on the open market

Let's forget that employees being taken advantage of, but gig based employment is not sustainable

Postby timelapse » September 3rd, 2022, 7:07 am

Every year,a fresh batch of university graduates apply for the teaching service with up to date knowledge.Every year ,they are turned down because of a teaching service that is saturated by old fossils.This is why education and the mindset of the youth cannot progress.

Postby hover11 » September 3rd, 2022, 10:57 am

My thing is you cannot stop industrial action if workers are dissatisfied, we making all kinds of alternatives than just talking to the workers. Then you want to know why they planning to stay home on the first day of the school term. There is a reason why some companies have an industrial relations and employee relations department to avoid these kind of conflicts. You cannot ignore industrial relations and pretend it doesn't exists. Without teachers, school is just another building.

I commend the teachers on this stance. Can't be business as usual, Industrial action is meant to cause hardship to the public to spark a favorable response from the government.

Postby timelapse » September 3rd, 2022, 9:10 pm

hover11 wrote:My thing is you cannot stop industrial action if workers are dissatisfied, we making all kinds of alternatives than just talking to the workers. Then you want to know why they planning to stay home on the first day of the school term. There is a reason why some companies have an industrial relations and employee relations department to avoid these kind of conflicts. You cannot ignore industrial relations and pretend it doesn't exists. Without teachers, school is just another building.

I commend the teachers on this stance. Can't be business as usual, Industrial action is meant to cause hardship to the public to spark a favorable response from the government.
Here's the thing.Teachers ALWAYS want more money and holding CHILDREN'S education at ransom.Think about that.Let it settle in your mind.

We live in a free market economy.If you dissatisfied with your wages, find another job.

Postby hover11 » September 3rd, 2022, 9:40 pm

timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:My thing is you cannot stop industrial action if workers are dissatisfied, we making all kinds of alternatives than just talking to the workers. Then you want to know why they planning to stay home on the first day of the school term. There is a reason why some companies have an industrial relations and employee relations department to avoid these kind of conflicts. You cannot ignore industrial relations and pretend it doesn't exists. Without teachers, school is just another building.

Here's the thing.Teachers ALWAYS want more money and holding CHILDREN'S education at ransom.Think about that.Let it settle in your mind.

We live in a free market economy.If you dissatisfied with your wages, find another job.
Bear in mind the last increase they received was in 2013....let that sink in....close to a decade of stagnant salaries while the cost of living increased every year

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » September 3rd, 2022, 9:46 pm

timelapse wrote:Every year,a fresh batch of university graduates apply for the teaching service with up to date knowledge.Every year ,they are turned down because of a teaching service that is saturated by old fossils.This is why education and the mindset of the youth cannot progress.

Only recently, within the past few months, a former colleague of mine was offered a permanent teaching post.

She applied since 2016.

Postby timelapse » September 4th, 2022, 7:14 am

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Bear in mind the last increase they received was in 2013....let that sink in....close to a decade of stagnant salaries while the cost of living increased every year
Bear in mind that the last time most of them gave a fvck about educating people was in the 80s

Postby hover11 » September 4th, 2022, 8:33 am

timelapse wrote:
hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Bear in mind that the last time most of them gave a fvck about educating people was in the 80s
Times,

I have to disagree with you, it has teachers that go out of their way, above and beyond sometimes spending their own personal money to but the tools necessary to teach because the government did not provide it, other instances teachers use their own money to help children buy food when school feeding programme falls short. They have ZERO obligation to do these things yet they still do it

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2022, 8:37 am

papers say most of them swimming pools in a mess
what a waste if money

Postby hover11 » September 4th, 2022, 8:52 am

pugboy wrote:papers say most of them swimming pools in a mess
what a waste if money