Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby sMASH » April 21st, 2021, 12:23 pm

Problem is, people don't care if they get kick in they teeth, once is not an Indian party in power... they red and dead!

sam1978

Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby sam1978 » April 21st, 2021, 12:29 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sam1978 wrote:This is the reason I generally read and don’t get involved in discussions. I’m in Couva Hospital with nothing to do so I decided to join in. The mental issues are real out here. I don’t see how discussing something with people who have different views could ever be like this. That’s why the world has so many problems today. People are not normally adjusted and some can’t cope with the pressures of life, so they trigger.

couva hospital u say? so what's the situation there? getting filled with covid patients?

Real busy , patients being dropped off all the time. Some being discharged and it fills right back up. The system is well rehearsed though , no real glitches.

Postby Habit7 » April 21st, 2021, 1:38 pm

sMASH wrote:Problem is, people don't care if they get kick in they teeth, once is not an Indian party in power... they red and dead!

You know that Afro Trinibagonians make up only 36% of the population and PNM got 49% of the 2020 vote. So even if every single Afro voted for PNM, they still got a considerable number of other ethnicities to vote for them.

Tobago is 87% Afro and voted for Kamla in 2010.

So your problem is, that your attempt to push racism doesn't line up with the facts.

Postby sMASH » April 21st, 2021, 2:09 pm

apply that proportionality to the pnm strong holds... where pnm wins hands down. u really want to say lavantee is 36% afro?

Postby Habit7 » April 21st, 2021, 2:23 pm

sMASH wrote:apply that proportionality to the pnm strong holds... where pnm wins hands down. u really want to say lavantee is 36% afro?

You cannot use a PNM stronghold to exemplify the entire country. The majority of the country has no problem with an Indo Trinidadian running the country and has voted for one several times. The UNC is currently unelectable, so rather than deal with the inherent faults within the UNC to make them electable, you and other UNC supporters say that the country is the problem.

Thus, you push race.

Postby sMASH » April 21st, 2021, 2:35 pm

the entire country didnt vote for pnm... and didnt win it for them. its the strong holds that keeping them in. come hell, high water, or pool, they red and ready!!!

people mad, keep doing the same thing and expect a different result. oarrrr, keep doing the same thing, cause they want that result....

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 21st, 2021, 2:40 pm

voter turnout was 58 % (658,297 voted and 1,134,135 are registered to vote). implying that a significant amount of the electorate are displeased with the options provided.

Postby adnj » April 21st, 2021, 2:53 pm

elec2020 wrote:voter turnout was 58 % (658,297 voted and 1,134,135 are registered to vote). implying that a significant amount of the electorate are displeased with the options provided.
Or, in a broader sense, that there is no relevant issue being addressed.

Why is Turnout at Elections Declining Across the Democratic World?

Luca Ferrini

Cultural explanations are largely successful in explaining the change in voter turnout that has occurred in the last four decades. While experiencing declining turnout, this period has also experienced decreasing levels of personal interest in politics and lowering levels of civic culture (including trust in political institutions and in the political system). Declining trust in traditional democratic institutions as vehicles for personal fulfilment and well-being has eroded the sentiment of civic duty.

The data available supports these patterns of social change. Data does not cover all periods of interest, and not all countries equally and is particularly deficient with regards to social indicators that are not easily quantifiable. As Stolle and Hooghe admit,

“Outside the United States, few long-term and reliable time-series are available.  True, voter turnout, party and union memberships are well documented, but most informal forms of social interaction are not”.

The data that is available, however, is strikingly consistent in its results and can be effective in explaining cultural and behavioural trends.

Since the 1960s, there has been a shift in the priorities and values of western citizens who, by adapting to high levels of material well-being and abundant food and health security, have increasingly prioritised autonomy and individual quality-of-life issues over more basic economic necessities and class divisions. Traditional forms of community life and interaction have largely eroded, giving space to individualism and social isolation; the growth in interest groups and single-issue lobbies reflects the inadequacy of traditional party politics to address specific individual interests and concerns.

Such progressive shift to, as Inglehart describes them, postmodern values, is probably the deepest cause for declining turnout. It is the reason behind lower levels of civic and political culture, which, in turn, has caused decreasing confidence in political processes, a lower sense of civic duty and declining political engagement.

https://www.e-ir.info/2012/09/27/why-is ... tic-world/

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 21st, 2021, 4:45 pm

yes and no. Because when it matters voters will come out. so when NAR came in voter turnout was 65.5 per cent. When PP came in voter turnout was 69.8 per cent. When PP came out, voter turnout was 66.8 per cent. History shows that people will come out and vote out a party when they believe the options are better than what is present. In the 2020 elections what options we had? UNC and PEP. Please. Hoping that 2025 we have some better options.

Postby Habit7 » April 21st, 2021, 4:52 pm

sMASH wrote:the entire country didnt vote for pnm... and didnt win it for them. its the strong holds that keeping them in. come hell, high water, or pool, they red and ready!!!

people mad, keep doing the same thing and expect a different result. oarrrr, keep doing the same thing, cause they want that result....

Both parties have strongholds in ethnically homogenous constituencies, almost equally. But that is not enough to win elections. It is about winning the marginals and for the last 2 elections PNM has been winning them comfortably. Rather than point to poor campaigning and poor candidate choices by the UNC, you pull the race card. Anything to absolve the UNC and divide the country you want them to lead.

The PNM chose a bad candidate with Gypsy and lost horribly in that marginal. But in your small mind, in 2015 they want no Indian leader, but in 2020 they changed their mind.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » April 21st, 2021, 5:26 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:the entire country didnt vote for pnm... and didnt win it for them. its the strong holds that keeping them in. come hell, high water, or pool, they red and ready!!!

Both parties have strongholds in ethnically homogenous constituencies, almost equally. But that is not enough to win elections. It is about winning the marginals and for the last 2 elections PNM has been winning them comfortably. Rather than point to poor campaigning and poor candidate choices by the UNC, you pull the race card. Anything to absolve the UNC and divide the country you want them to lead.

The PNM chose a bad candidate with Gypsy and lost horribly in that marginal. But in your small mind, in 2015 they want no Indian leader, but in 2020 they changed their mind.

This is the main reason for the UNC loss. Fence sitters and swing voters who would have wanted to vote out the PNM , would have seen the choices as even worse than what they were faced with in the PNM. That coupled with Kamla Persad- Bissessar’s petulant holding on to the reins, even while seeing what it cost in previous elections twisted the knife for the final kill.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » April 21st, 2021, 6:39 pm

Habit7 wrote:
sMASH wrote:apply that proportionality to the pnm strong holds... where pnm wins hands down. u really want to say lavantee is 36% afro?

You cannot use a PNM stronghold to exemplify the entire country. The majority of the country has no problem with an Indo Trinidadian running the country and has voted for one several times. The UNC is currently unelectable, so rather than deal with the inherent faults within the UNC to make them electable, you and other UNC supporters say that the country is the problem.

Thus, you push race.
Constituencies was created and boundaries shifted to maintain that PNM keeps the lead. They entire election and boundaries is rotten to the core. When a constituency population grows they mark out the opposition areas with that constituency and they simply change it to maintain that PNM wins that seat. Then you have voter padding via HDC homes. We all know that HDC houses are given to PNM family.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 21st, 2021, 6:46 pm

^ another person claiming that PNM thief the elections. If the UNC was smart then why did they not engage in practices to improve voter turnout (in their favor). Oh wait they did with the blank man narrative. But guess that was counter-productive

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » April 21st, 2021, 7:04 pm

elec2020 wrote:^ another person claiming that PNM thief the elections. If the UNC was smart then why did they not engage in practices to improve voter turnout (in their favor). Oh wait they did with the blank man narrative. But guess that was counter-productive
I am not understanding you, where did I say that PNM stole an election? If anything I showed how they manufactured votes by moving boundaries , HDC homes and expanding in to opposition areas .

Postby Gladiator » April 21st, 2021, 8:01 pm

Kickstart wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Thus, you push race.
Constituencies was created and boundaries shifted to maintain that PNM keeps the lead. They entire election and boundaries is rotten to the core. When a constituency population grows they mark out the opposition areas with that constituency and they simply change it to maintain that PNM wins that seat. Then you have voter padding via HDC homes. We all know that HDC houses are given to PNM family.

Didn't this happen with Greenvale and the La Horquetta/Talparo seat???

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » April 21st, 2021, 8:13 pm

Gladiator wrote:
Kickstart wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Thus, you push race.

I believe so and I know it happened in San Fernando in the opposition areas where caroni land was taken and HDC homes built and given to PNM supporters. Manipulation was played out

Postby Habit7 » April 21st, 2021, 10:57 pm

Kickstart wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
Kickstart wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Thus, you push race.

I believe so and I know it happened in San Fernando in the opposition areas where caroni land was taken and HDC homes built and given to PNM supporters. Manipulation was played out

The fictitious scenario you conjured up with the EBC remains a lie https://newsday.co.tt/2020/05/09/ebc-or ... ituencies/
The PP gave out the houses at Greenvale, not the PNM https://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2. ... 8e5602fcb1

Somehow the constituencies are fine when UNC wins, but PNM is all manner of subterfuge. Apparently, UNC never loses, somebody always cheating them.

Postby bluefete » April 21st, 2021, 11:45 pm

Did he or didn't he?

Postby MaxPower » April 22nd, 2021, 2:59 am

Not sure,

But hey, getting “hacked” is always the excuse.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » April 22nd, 2021, 7:35 am

that is d dunce that pr0nhabit & redman an elec supports.
I
ah fully dunce to lead the fully dunce, but then again they love it so up dey, y be smart when we could rob/kill/tief/rape get state sponsored housing and do nothing contracts, pools and general safe and good living. Grate is Eric's vision for T&T, grate is d PNM, look at our capital city POS, that lovely squalid toilet, HQ and stronghold of PNM and be proud trinis.
Cmon C19 take down Rowliar na man, good job karma with guy smiley, y wikid ppl so hard to ded boy.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » April 22nd, 2021, 8:59 am

bluefete wrote:Did he or didn't he?

This was the same Hinds that judged a down trodden man and searched for the pipper in him.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/08/29/unc-yo ... iper-post/

Postby Habit7 » April 22nd, 2021, 9:23 am

Wow, PEA is now allyuh champion for inappropriate speech?

See how allyuh does set up yourself for disappointment.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » April 22nd, 2021, 9:30 am

Habit7 wrote:Wow, PEA is now allyuh champion for inappropriate speech?

PEA responsible for this?

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/hinds-defends-de ... beggar-20/

Postby Habit7 » April 22nd, 2021, 9:49 am

Kickstart wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Wow, PEA is now allyuh champion for inappropriate speech?

PEA responsible for this?

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/hinds-defends-de ... beggar-20/

No, he is responsible for this https://www.looptt.com/content/matter-i ... o-tribunal

Postby Redman » April 22nd, 2021, 9:55 am

UNC Vampire Lives Matter.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » April 22nd, 2021, 10:13 am

Dont know where to put this lengthy report on TT black males , but I believe that this government is responsible

Have a read and I am sure those that are in favor of this government will try to discredit it .

https://www.undp.org/content/dam/trinid ... Report.pdf

Postby Redman » April 22nd, 2021, 10:19 am

Kickstart wrote:Dont know where to put this lengthy report on TT black males , but I believe that this government is responsible

Have a read and I am sure those that are in favor of this government will try to discredit it .

Nice Freudian Slip.

Postby Habit7 » April 22nd, 2021, 10:21 am

Kickstart wrote:Dont know where to put this lengthy report on TT black males , but I believe that this government is responsible

When the facts are against you on other issues, pull the race card. Because Kwame is not responsible for his actions, PNM is.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » April 22nd, 2021, 10:29 am

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » April 22nd, 2021, 10:51 am

Habit7 wrote:

When the facts are against you on other issues, pull the race card. Because Kwame is not responsible for his actions, PNM is.
Ryan wrote the report and it's a lengthy reading. It clearly explains why our black males are in peril