Dohplaydat

Re: Astronomy

Postby Dohplaydat » October 21st, 2022, 6:41 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:
matr1x wrote::drinking:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
matr1x wrote:Any good local astrophotography ppl in Trinidad?

rel plenty. Have a couple ppl with legit tracking telescopes an ting down here

Serious? Not that half bake nonsense pricemart sells?

yeah dawg, uwi has an astro group

The kinda equipment they have for events just insane

Check the CARINA Facebook group

https://www.facebook.com/groups/caribbe ... ?ref=share

Postby matr1x » November 15th, 2022, 9:04 am

Will check them out

Postby sMASH » November 15th, 2022, 11:12 am

matr1x wrote::drinking:
ruffneck_12 wrote:
matr1x wrote:Any good local astrophotography ppl in Trinidad?

rel plenty. Have a couple ppl with legit tracking telescopes an ting down here

Serious? Not that half bake nonsense pricemart sells?
*feelings of deflation permeates *

Postby matr1x » November 15th, 2022, 11:41 am

Dey doing star party next year?

Postby MG Man » November 15th, 2022, 12:17 pm

matr1x wrote:Dey doing star party next year?

if they doing tracking station, don't bother. Too much light pollution, even up there
Better you go Mayaro on a new moon night, or up toco side
I have a cousin with a place in Poole Village, far off the main road. Amazing what you can see there on a new moon night! Literally zero light pollution

Postby sMASH » November 15th, 2022, 1:15 pm

if they doing tracking station, don't bother. Too much light pollution, even up there
I have a cousin with a place in Poole Village, far off the main road. Amazing what you can see there on a new moon night! Literally zero light pollution
Does be in that region often. Is like quadruple the amount of stars u normally see in society.

Postby maj. tom » November 15th, 2022, 2:42 pm

A significant number of persons in the world have never seen the Milky Way dust in the sky with their naked eyes because of light pollution in urban population centers. And most people live in urban areas 80% of America and 60% of Europe and vast sprawls like Taiwan, Seoul, Tokyo, Beijing and Delhi.

When Venus is rising in the East it's supposed to be so bright that it casts a shadow, but we don't observe it that way anymore because of light pollution. We are also supposed to be able to see Andromeda Galaxy 2.5 Mlya and it's so large that the dusty haze covers half the size of the full moon in the sky.

It's remarkable what we're missing out because of our technological progress.

Postby mero » November 15th, 2022, 3:46 pm

Right in Belle Gardens in bago up on the steep ass hill, when u look out at sea u could see the stars reflecting off the water and stars touching the horizon.

Went up in a parang in Lopinot Sat gone dey, moon was bright ish but stars still light up the sky

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 15th, 2022, 3:50 pm

mero wrote:Right in Belle Gardens in bago up on the steep ass hill, when u look out at sea u could see the stars reflecting off the water and stars touching the horizon.

Went up in a parang in Lopinot Sat gone dey, moon was bright ish but stars still light up the sky

https://www.lightpollutionmap.info/#zoo ... FFFFFFFFFF

The best place would be Charlotteville in Tobago, but Belle gardens wud be fine too. It's far from the oil rigs

This map utility is a rell good tool

Postby MG Man » November 16th, 2022, 9:41 am

maj. tom wrote:A significant number of persons in the world have never seen the Milky Way dust in the sky with their naked eyes because of light pollution in urban population centers. And most people live in urban areas 80% of America and 60% of Europe and vast sprawls like Taiwan, Seoul, Tokyo, Beijing and Delhi.

When Venus is rising in the East it's supposed to be so bright that it casts a shadow, but we don't observe it that way anymore because of light pollution. We are also supposed to be able to see Andromeda Galaxy 2.5 Mlya and it's so large that the dusty haze covers half the size of the full moon in the sky.

yup
first time I saw the night sky over mayaro away from beach houses, I was stunned at being able to see the Milky Way
Recently learned that on a perfect night, only about 3k stars are actually visible to the human eye. Somehow I'd have imagined it would have been in the hundreds of thousands.

Also, seeing your shadow cast by a full moon is a trippy experience when you out in a gravel road in he bush and don;t need a flashligt

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 16th, 2022, 12:03 pm

maj. tom wrote:A significant number of persons in the world have never seen the Milky Way dust in the sky with their naked eyes because of light pollution in urban population centers. And most people live in urban areas 80% of America and 60% of Europe and vast sprawls like Taiwan, Seoul, Tokyo, Beijing and Delhi.

yup
first time I saw the night sky over mayaro away from beach houses, I was stunned at being able to see the Milky Way
Recently learned that on a perfect night, only about 3k stars are actually visible to the human eye. Somehow I'd have imagined it would have been in the hundreds of thousands.

Also, seeing your shadow cast by a full moon is a trippy experience when you out in a gravel road in he bush and don;t need a flashligt

The first time I saw my moon shadow as a child I felt like I was in lord of the rings for dem night scenes

Place brightly lit despite being night

Postby timelapse » November 16th, 2022, 3:31 pm

Try Paria at night on the beach ,or better yet,Madamas.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 16th, 2022, 4:21 pm

NASA launches Artemis 1 rocket with the Orion Spacecraft on it's mission to the moon today

Postby Chimera » November 16th, 2022, 4:35 pm

careful MG trying to carry yuh by he cousin place far off the main road to show yuh he telescope eh

Postby timelapse » November 16th, 2022, 4:42 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

careful MG trying to carry yuh by he cousin place far off the main road to show yuh he telescope eh
He'll want to see Uranus

Postby sMASH » November 16th, 2022, 5:34 pm

He will aks yuh, yuh wah see ah milky way?

Postby st7 » November 16th, 2022, 5:37 pm

took these with my phone in september when i was in austria. i stayed in a village and there was very little light pollution but pollution nevertheless

freeze my ass off for a few nights trying to get a really good one. i was seeing semblance of the milky way but not as good as what my phone got.

Edit: them pics look horrible on here :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby maj. tom » November 16th, 2022, 6:04 pm

Probably should look more like this?

Postby st7 » November 16th, 2022, 6:06 pm

maj. tom wrote:Probably should look more like this?

if u edited my pics, you did a fine job lolll

Postby matr1x » November 17th, 2022, 2:19 am

Those are really fantastic

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 17th, 2022, 7:59 am

https://sites.google.com/view/sequator/

If yall looking for some good software to stack photos for better star pics, try this.

Totally free but if u cud donate so the man can buy a coffee, that would be great.

Postby maj. tom » December 9th, 2022, 7:38 am

Curiosity Mars Rover Mast Camera Aug. 23, 2022

Postby sMASH » December 9th, 2022, 8:54 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:https://sites.google.com/view/sequator/

If yall looking for some good software to stack photos for better star pics, try this.

Totally free but if u cud donate so the man can buy a coffee, that would be great.

sounds interesting.
vibesing it, it seems u can over blow the dark, to get finer detail to show up.

it will look washed out. but i think, that image can be put in a photo editor, and u can tweak the curve, to drop back the dark patches back to black, just under the point where the fainter starts show.

hmm, might be good to just use this to stack the images, and then tweak it in a photo editor.

seems like the weather is looking good these days, might get a chance to try sumting

Postby st7 » December 9th, 2022, 10:25 am

maj. tom wrote:Curiosity Mars Rover Mast Camera Aug. 23, 2022

amazing and surreal at the same time....

Postby timelapse » December 9th, 2022, 10:57 am

So fellas, when we hiking on Mars?

Postby maj. tom » December 9th, 2022, 6:47 pm

"Mont Mercou" standing about 20 feet (6 meters) tall.

"Bolívar" hill.

Postby maj. tom » December 15th, 2022, 9:20 am

New Release.

JWST Advanced Deep Extragalactic Survey (JADES)

You really have to click on this link to zoom in and see some details in the image. But it shows more galaxies in a Deep Field survey than ever thought. Every single point of light (without the diffraction crosses) is a separate galaxy! There are so many redshifted that were captured which shows just how far away they were.

https://stsci-opo.org/STScI-01GKT0TT83R41FVZ9JGNWGB2AH.png

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 10th, 2023, 9:36 pm

A green comet will appear in the night sky for the first time in 50,000 years

Skygazers in the Northern Hemisphere using telescopes and binoculars should look low on the northeastern horizon just before midnight to spot it on January 12, according to EarthSky.

The icy celestial object, which has steadily brightened as it approaches the sun, will subsequently make its closest pass of Earth between February 1 and February 2, around 26 million miles (42 million kilometers) away, according to EarthSky — as the comet nears Earth, observers will be able to spot it near the bright star Polaris, also called the North Star, and it should be visible earlier in the evening.

The comet should be visible through binoculars in the morning sky for sky-watchers in the Northern Hemisphere during most of January and those in the Southern Hemisphere in early February, according to NASA.

Depending on how bright it becomes in the coming weeks, C/2022 E3 (ZTF) may even become visible to the unaided eye in dark skies toward the end of January.

https://www.cnn.com/2023/01/09/world/gr ... index.html

Postby maj. tom » January 10th, 2023, 10:02 pm

If it's reaching the perihelion on January 12 we should now start to be seeing it with small telescopes and binoculars.

It will be visible in the ENE and about 35° above the horizon at around 3am times. Difficult to smooth image track without a computerized programmed mount because comet orbits are not on the ecliptic plane. I doubt I seeing anything from my house in an urban light polluted setting.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 11th, 2023, 8:13 am

sMASH wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:https://sites.google.com/view/sequator/

sounds interesting.
vibesing it, it seems u can over blow the dark, to get finer detail to show up.

it will look washed out. but i think, that image can be put in a photo editor, and u can tweak the curve, to drop back the dark patches back to black, just under the point where the fainter starts show.

hmm, might be good to just use this to stack the images, and then tweak it in a photo editor.

seems like the weather is looking good these days, might get a chance to try sumting

<3