Must Watch - Mia Mottley Inspires The Caribbean

Postby bluefete » October 19th, 2020, 1:19 pm

The feedback is amazing. Of course Kamla and Rowley are nowhere to be found.

2:55 - On my phone I carried a picture of the late, great Robert Lester Marley to remind me of 2 phrases.

Re: Must Watch - Mia Mottley Inspires The Caribbean

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 19th, 2020, 1:49 pm

^ she also spoke a lot about Peter Minshall and his contribution to art globally

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 19th, 2020, 2:29 pm

Said alot without actually saying anything of substance.

For years they were comfortable relying on tourism to boost their economies now that covid has threatened tourism our leaders are talking about "pivot" towards technology. Barbados could have been a technology hub years ago but they were perfectly comfortable being second class citizens whilst pouring drinks for tourists.

The region has always been playing catch up to the rsst of the world from since before independence but our leaders have used the ignorance of our citizens to take advantage of the little perks they get as members of the "political" class.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 19th, 2020, 2:37 pm

^ one of the major issues of the Caribbean is that all of the PMs wanna lead and no one wanna follow. If the PMs was serious about caribbean integration we would have been so much further forward as a region. Its telling that only when faced with significant shocks to their trade is when PMs start to push for integration again. I remember Jamaica didn't want integration when they had bauxite. When it collapsed and hyperinflation hit them they jump up about coming together as one. I can't remember eastern caribbean countries pushing forbintegration but when the agriculture deal with the Americas collapsed integration talks started back. Now tourism dead integration talks again. This region just meant to fail cause all Caribbean countries have the same types of leaders, narcissists who addicted to power. In the 70s (i think) sir arthur lewis said that the ignorance shown to integration by our leaders will be the region's greatest stumbling block to development. Almost 50 years later and it still is. Shame.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » October 19th, 2020, 3:11 pm

Elec2020

Nothing more to add to that. For years we on this forum here talking about how unstable industries such as carnival and tourism is to the economies of the caribbean. We have stated time and time again how crucial it is to integrate technology and innovation to push the country forward.

The problem with this region is little men and women and their fragile egos. The english speaking caribbean is barely 6 million people. Our prime ministers are leaders of essentially nothing yet they pretend to be demi gods.

Now that covid affecting all their major industries they realise yet again that they are not masters of their own destiny that the panic sets in. Yet come election time, it is never about development for the nation but "who thief more". Let them fool who they have to fool with this mamaguy.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » October 19th, 2020, 7:27 pm

^ is unfortunate but because our leaders are demi gods who can do no wrong we as a people have to burn to learn. Is only then we will get some serious leadership. Look at barbados. Is only when sheit hit the fan there (debt to gdp was i think 150 to 160ish around the time of elections) did the people decide aye we need some serious leadership not no tax break for who, new jobs for this sector nor rumshop politics (allegations of cheating, etc). Thats when barbados started to turn and i think the imf stated that they were doing quite well with their economic recovery plan (of course that was before covid). My final point is that until other caribbean people face a similar situation to barbados we will continue to have poor leadership that stunts our growth plans as all they concerned abour is making policies to clear out the easiest path to getting back in power. Madness

Postby teems1 » December 10th, 2020, 11:29 am

Sir Athur Lewis is on Google's doodle today.

Postby bluefete » November 1st, 2021, 6:36 pm

And then she went to the Climate conference in Scotland and delivered this BOSS of a speech today and EVERYBODY listened:

https://www.facebook.com/CCNTV6/videos/421201452892990

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 1st, 2021, 6:57 pm

Mia Mottley also spoke on the Central Banks and banks on the whole.
She said if we needed to someone to watch our money we can hire a security guard - banks need to stop watching people's money and start working people's money.

Postby zoom rader » November 1st, 2021, 7:10 pm

Sadly we have Rowlee that can only inspire red government ppl much less for a world stage.

Postby hover11 » November 1st, 2021, 7:20 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Mia Mottley also spoke on the Central Banks and banks on the whole.
She said if we needed to someone to watch our money we can hire a security guard - banks need to stop watching people's money and start working people's money.

Would never work here as Syrians control the banks here for the most part and the government of the day would never betray them in that way

Postby Dizzy28 » November 1st, 2021, 8:50 pm

Men out here awed at Mottely and I just hoping our PM doesn't call someone a pimp or chimp in Scotland

Postby stev » November 2nd, 2021, 3:05 am

bluefete wrote:And then she went to the Climate conference in Scotland and delivered this BOSS of a speech today and EVERYBODY listened:

this is the BEST speech from the Caribbean...period

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 2nd, 2021, 3:23 am

bluefete wrote:And then she went to the Climate conference in Scotland and delivered this BOSS of a speech today and EVERYBODY listened:

I love this woman, such a great and smart leader.

Postby matr1x » November 2nd, 2021, 5:16 am

It's a facade.

Postby zoom rader » November 2nd, 2021, 7:48 am

Meanwhile Rowlair plays golf

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » November 2nd, 2021, 8:29 am

Don't be fooled by Mia. She's just a charming Paula-Mae Weekes. Speaks nice but without having good intentions.

Postby timelapse » November 2nd, 2021, 8:39 am

Wraith King wrote:Don't be fooled by Mia. She's just a charming Paula-Mae Weekes. Speaks nice but without having good intentions.
Intentions fall wherever they may, but the conversation has started.
All our political morons are interested in is themselves and their bank accounts.They have nothing good to contribute to humanity.But that's them.
Be the change you want to see and not a salty anybody can complain about things.Offering solutions is what sets you apart.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 2nd, 2021, 10:53 am

Mottley to Amanpour: A lot of us that are going to be affected before Shanghai and Miami

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 2nd, 2021, 1:02 pm

All that simping in this thread for that speech!? Even Rowley gives better speeches than that.

Postby timelapse » November 2nd, 2021, 1:19 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:All that simping in this thread for that speech!? Even Rowley gives better speeches than that.
Rowley gives speeches about things that only affect him and his party. This affects humanity.
As the age old saying goes, 'Only when there are no plants and animals remaining, and there is no longer water fit to drink, will they realise that you can't eat money'.
Global pollution affects us all bro.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 2nd, 2021, 1:56 pm

timelapse wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:All that simping in this thread for that speech!? Even Rowley gives better speeches than that.
Rowley gives speeches about things that only affect him and his party. This affects humanity.
As the age old saying goes, 'Only when there are no plants and animals remaining, and there is no longer water fit to drink, will they realise that you can't eat money'.
Global pollution affects us all bro.

Didn't Rowley make a speech about global warming or pollution recently? Sure he did.

Postby MaxPower » November 2nd, 2021, 2:08 pm

Trinis ever “inspired” by anything?

No wonder T&T is so filthy and backward.

One lil speech and Trinis only hear 2 word and it’s the best thing ever.

Allyuh Trinis easy to take chain up yes.

Postby 88sins » November 2nd, 2021, 2:31 pm

Mia inspired nothing. Just another long winded bajan yapfest.
You want her to "inspire" someone?

Let her dip in that Bajan pocket & spend some bajan coin to start fixing the problems she talking about that need addressing, instead of talkin about resolve & commitment & watching to see who dips first.
D bajans known well for that old kaiso "tek yuh meat out meh roice"

Postby zoom rader » November 2nd, 2021, 2:59 pm

Dis we Jackarse speech

https://fb.watch/918-xn-Wgy/

Postby timelapse » November 2nd, 2021, 3:16 pm

Wait for it,I called it first here.
Solar energy tax.It coming

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 2nd, 2021, 3:23 pm

zoom rader wrote:Dis we Jackarse speech

Zoom please don't describe the leader of our nation like that.

Postby zoom rader » November 2nd, 2021, 3:36 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

HYMC

He is what I say he is , so kiss my black arse

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 2nd, 2021, 3:40 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

HYMC

He is what I say he is , so kiss my black arse

Zoom come nah man, Divali coming. Please refrain from such behavior.

Postby De Dragon » November 2nd, 2021, 4:20 pm

88sins wrote:Mia inspired nothing. Just another long winded bajan yapfest.
You want her to "inspire" someone?

Let her dip in that Bajan pocket & spend some bajan coin to start fixing the problems she talking about that need addressing, instead of talkin about resolve & commitment & watching to see who dips first.
D bajans known well for that old kaiso "tek yuh meat out meh roice"

So where does that leave us? We don't even have a leader who could even speak that way, genuine or not :roll:
We have "cyat" "groom like golf course", "me eh in yuh bedroom" "bodily fluids" jammetry"................