Christmas COVID Food and drink options

Postby Monk BANzai » October 24th, 2020, 9:44 pm

So with COVID in these streets, budget is everything. Last year if a man was buying 4 cases of drinks, this year is 2 cases. Same with food. If someone was spending to buy an entire ham, this year they looking at ham slices?

What budget Christmas food options are there? What about food services (coming to your home and preparing a meal for your family).... is that in existence?

Was looking at last year's prices of some hotels and guest houses blah blah averaging around $250 (taxes included) per person sans drinks....with the Catering houses averaging around $140-$160...

What kind of prices are we expecting to look at this year for seasonal food and drink?

Re: Christmas COVID Food and drink options

Postby K74T » October 24th, 2020, 10:15 pm

FB_IMG_1603592087640.jpeg

Postby redmanjp » October 24th, 2020, 10:16 pm

this year u won't need 4 cases, assuming u are not having big GATHERINGS in your house with friends which can spread covid. u might not even need 2. 1-2 might be enough for your family, and 2 friends maybe.

same with the others- a whole ham probably not needed this year unless u save up some of it in d freezer and have for breakfast lunch for a few days well.

Postby Les Bain » October 24th, 2020, 10:35 pm

We going back to the days when you gave your guests cold water and your valued guests, ice water in a fancy glass.

Postby eliteauto » October 24th, 2020, 10:39 pm

Les Bain wrote:We going back to the days when you gave your guests cold water and your valued guests, ice water in a fancy glass.

The glasses from the hutch that only for guests

Postby pugboy » October 24th, 2020, 10:48 pm

moscato flavored lol

Postby De Dragon » October 24th, 2020, 10:52 pm

You'll be saving lots of money by having no visitors. Eating and drinking in enclosed spaces like a home, is not conducive to mask wearing and Covid-19 protocols. Online chat with a glass, or beer and toast to a hopefully better 2021.

Postby redmanjp » October 24th, 2020, 11:46 pm

^ yup. we want to see more Christmases, not to get sick by New Years

Postby Gladiator » October 25th, 2020, 3:07 pm

I decided to cancel Christmas this year... Will not have my usual party and no Family visits on Christmas day. Just keeping it simple and home...

Postby redmanjp » October 25th, 2020, 3:10 pm

De Dragon wrote:You'll be saving lots of money by having no visitors. Eating and drinking in enclosed spaces like a home, is not conducive to mask wearing and Covid-19 protocols. Online chat with a glass, or beer and toast to a hopefully better 2021.

that's a good idea

Postby eliteauto » October 25th, 2020, 3:51 pm

People will be simplifying but will still enjoy it at home as best as they can. I've already gotten orders for pastelles, did about 4 doz for the month already and have 2 1/2doz to make for tomorrow. Similarly ppl have already ordered ponche creme, rum punch and eggnog for Christmas and I expect to get quite a bit of bread orders. Food and drink is the one area ppl would still try to spend something to celebrate the season, gifts and household items is where you would see the biggest reductions

Postby Chimera » October 25th, 2020, 7:33 pm

could real pick and choose who to invite this year,
no longer have to invite family yuh dont like just because they're family lol

Postby Ted_v2 » October 25th, 2020, 7:54 pm

This year i rell drinking.

Postby shogun » October 25th, 2020, 8:24 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:could real pick and choose who to invite this year,
no longer have to invite family yuh dont like just because they're family lol

Postby 88sins » October 25th, 2020, 8:40 pm

Waz dis? The sufferer thread version 3.0 ?

All kix aside
Nuttn changed food and beverage wise here, other than a bit less of a variety of local wildmeat in d freezer and on the table, and the usual big boxing day lime getting put off. Same budget as usual. Only real difference would be that guests will be categorized according to importance and invited and allowed entry accordingly.

Well, that, and I thinking about trying meh hand at rabbit pastels for the lucky invited guests instead of the usual chicken/beef/turkey/shrimp/etc.
But short of those minor changes, same as usual.

Postby RedVEVO » October 25th, 2020, 8:58 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:This year i rell drinking.

That is the Spirit :lol: :lol:

WE - family and friends - intend to party party party ..

These days some People only want money via tax tax tax ..

Well they just gotta wait :lol: :lol: :lol:

Sue Twins just came in my brothers :lol: :lol:

screwbash

Postby screwbash » October 26th, 2020, 4:11 am

buy the best, lime the most and enjoy to the fullest cause you cant tell if this will be yuh last christmas and new year. spend the money so when tax come yuh have nothing to tax. but covid stress and lack of exercise can lead to death so make yuhself happy.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 26th, 2020, 10:05 am

The big extended family gatherings will have to take a backseat this year. Not just from a financial perspective, but also a safety concern.

Postby aaron17 » October 26th, 2020, 10:12 am

screwbash wrote:buy the best, lime the most and enjoy to the fullest cause you cant tell if this will be yuh last christmas and new year. spend the money so when tax come yuh have nothing to tax. but covid stress and lack of exercise can lead to death so make yuhself happy.
Just make sure lime with nobody...

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » October 26th, 2020, 10:41 am

White Oak and a basic boneless easy bake ham . Christmas sorted

death365

Postby death365 » October 26th, 2020, 2:11 pm

KM_2NR wrote:babbash and cold water and crix and cheeze . Christmas sorted

corrected for error.

Hwells

Postby Hwells » October 26th, 2020, 3:17 pm

whiteoak sorrel, cold and straight on the rocks.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2020, 3:40 pm

Christmas will be low key but my son's bd is New Years Day. Will do something really small for him.
Have some bottles of this for the adults who come (my personal favourite mainstream Scotch)

Because the last two years were low key because of deaths in the respective years there are some bottles holdover for who wants other stuff.

death365

Postby death365 » October 26th, 2020, 6:26 pm

Good stf there.... Ice an water is the best mixer for that.

If you have to do a chaser try tonic water or clubsoda an bitters either normal or orange.
Dizzy28 wrote:Christmas will be low key but my son's bd is New Years Day. Will do something really small for him.
Have some bottles of this for the adults who come (my personal favourite mainstream Scotch)

Because the last two years were low key because of deaths in the respective years there are some bottles holdover for who wants other stuff.

Postby 88sins » October 26th, 2020, 7:15 pm

Buh Dizzy you eh easy. Didn't know yuh had such refined tastes.
If you can there's a 24 y.o. single cask you should try. It sips beautifully neat, but on the rocks good too.
May not want to put that out for the masses tho, cuz it eh easy to find locally and expensive AF when you do.

@death365
Yuh don't ever lose the proper functions of your mind and contaminate good whiskey with dem ting boi. Ice water? Bitters? Blasphemy!!! Might as well add a orange juice and a lime and done.
I'll give yuh some insight my gramps gave me. A good whiskey goes well with anything, but a great whiskey needs nothing but a clean glass.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 26th, 2020, 7:59 pm

88sins wrote:I'll give yuh some insight my gramps gave me. A good whiskey goes well with anything, but a great whiskey needs nothing but a clean glass.

Good advice to heed

Postby Chimera » October 26th, 2020, 8:10 pm

*pulls out styrofoam cup and 20 oz coke and party ice"

Postby Dizzy28 » October 26th, 2020, 8:24 pm

Nah no water. On the rocks for me.
Two Saturdays ago me and my 2 brothers in law finish a bottle in a few hours, just ice.

I'll invest in the stainless ice cubes which wouldn't water down drinks soon.
death365 wrote:Good stf there.... Ice an water is the best mixer for that.

If you have to do a chaser try tonic water or clubsoda an bitters either normal or orange.
Dizzy28 wrote:Christmas will be low key but my son's bd is New Years Day. Will do something really small for him.

Postby eliteauto » October 26th, 2020, 8:55 pm

Dizzy, not the stainless, get the whisky rocks if you're a quick drinker or an ice mould ( sphere or wedge). Adds some novelty to the experience and doesn't melt as quickly

death365

Postby death365 » October 26th, 2020, 8:58 pm

Freezing grapes works well as ice too....

I see ah man take old par 12 Yr old, put ice cokes an a salt prunes in it... I just stueps an walk out