Cellphone Import Tax

turbo_boy411

Cellphone Import Tax

Postby turbo_boy411 » December 3rd, 2020, 12:07 pm

Any update or exact date on when the taxes are exempted for importing cellphones? Government previously stated December in the budget

Re: Cellphone Import Tax

Postby st7 » December 3rd, 2020, 9:25 pm

y e s

Postby Ben_spanna » December 7th, 2020, 7:50 am

it was supposed to take effect from December, but not sure ... anyone ???

Postby mero » December 7th, 2020, 2:33 pm

Ordered a note 20 ultra so I'll let u know how it goes.

This applies to all electronics too?

Bought a kefq150 speaker set too.

My body isn't ready

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 7th, 2020, 2:36 pm

Give us the update, have a cell in my cart to order but wondering if the exemption active

Postby Chimera » December 7th, 2020, 2:43 pm

expected to happen 1st january

after taxes go back into full effect for laptops and tablets on the 31st december

so buy your tablets and laptops before christmas

and buy your cellphones in january

Postby teems1 » December 7th, 2020, 3:37 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:expected to happen 1st january

after taxes go back into full effect for laptops and tablets on the 31st december

What about pc parts? (case, CPU, GPU, RAM, Motherboard, PSU, SSD, heat sink, fans)

What about peripherals? (Monitor, keyboard, mouse, speakers)

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2020, 3:49 pm

So the laptop/tablet tax removal was temporary?

treeneeboi

Postby treeneeboi » December 7th, 2020, 4:23 pm

I believe it was until Dec 31st in the first instance. No idea if it will be extended, I hope it is but think it won't be.

Postby Redman » December 7th, 2020, 4:34 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:expected to happen 1st january

Well I certainly fked that up.

Postby Kenjo » December 7th, 2020, 4:50 pm

But what’s the incentive for cell phones . I understand computers but I feel like they will back peddle on the cell phones

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2020, 5:00 pm

not all parents can afford both phone and tablet/laptop
for many it may be better value to upgrade their phone to kill 2 birds with one stone

Postby Chimera » December 7th, 2020, 5:28 pm

Real people can't afford laptops.
A good cellphone is good enough for a tablet and for classes/meetings etc.

I assume they doing it after Christmas so the wholesalers and retailers won't benefit from it for Christmas sales.
January is always a terrible month for cellphone sales in any event so whoever need will buy. Real ppl waiting til janaury to purchase so Xmas sales gonna be slow as hell this year.

Postby adnj » December 7th, 2020, 7:52 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Real people can't afford laptops.
A good cellphone is good enough for a tablet and for classes/meetings etc.

I assume they doing it after Christmas so the wholesalers and retailers won't benefit from it for Christmas sales.
January is always a terrible month for cellphone sales in any event so whoever need will buy. Real ppl waiting til janaury to purchase so Xmas sales gonna be slow as hell this year.
Many ChromeOS and Windows laptops were selling for US$250 or less at online retailers, tablets were less than US$150, Fire tablets were less than US$100. Same deals are still available.

Other than Whatsapp and mobile data, a phone offers little in the way of online learning benefits.

https://slickdeals.net/laptop-deals/?pr ... page=1&r=1

turbo_boy411

Postby turbo_boy411 » December 9th, 2020, 9:41 am

Any other confirmation on this? And when it comes into effect?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 9th, 2020, 11:59 am

Hopefully this will drive prices down drastically..

Postby Dave » December 9th, 2020, 12:08 pm

It didn't work on laptops so not very optimistic it would for phones.
wtf wrote:Hopefully this will drive prices down drastically..

Postby adnj » December 9th, 2020, 12:45 pm

Dave wrote:It didn't work on laptops so not very optimistic it would for phones.
Most of the phone retailers I see seem to be avoiding duty and VAT when their prices are compared. At least the consumer can buy online without the need to pay 35% extra in duty and taxes.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 9th, 2020, 1:15 pm

adnj wrote:
Dave wrote:It didn't work on laptops so not very optimistic it would for phones.
Most of the phone retailers I see seem to be avoiding duty and VAT when their prices are compared. At least the consumer can buy online without the need to pay 35% extra in duty and taxes.
My line of logic.

Postby Chimera » December 9th, 2020, 1:23 pm

probably only for very high end phones or expensive apple phones it will take the price down a little.

wholesalers and big retailers locally sell new phones for less than the price abroad, or with very little mark up

plenty money laundering going on so prices dog cheap

take a base model A11 32gb
its $140 US on amazon ($1000 TT)
say a $150 to ship IF taxes are removed
Total price. $1150 without any taxes

Local price from wholesalers right now $1300

and with the EXTREME limits on forex, prices not going to drop

scotia bank has limited credit card US allowance to like $500

most local people going through all kinda hoops to make orders

so US is basically valued $8 or $9 for most of us

but thats ONLINE US money eh, US cash has little use now because you cant easily deposit it or travel with it

so if you have 100k or 200k or 500k US in a US bank account or local bank account that can transfer , you getting $8,$9, $10 per USD for that

so lets redo that earlier calculation

A11 $140 US from amazon (and realistically, you not getting phones much cheaper than from amazon, you could be buying 1000 Units from a wholesaler and it might be $135 instead of $140 US)

SO $140 US x $8 =$1120
Plus $150 shipping (IF there is no tax)

Done reach $1270

On the apple line of things, if you have access to a credit card yourself and can order, you can save alot when taxes are removed. but the majority of people not doing that.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » December 9th, 2020, 2:00 pm

Banks aren't paying 8 or 9.They pay the daily quoted rate when buying and selling US dollars.
If you have US in a local account and want to withdraw, most likely they might give you it in local currency and pay there daily price for it..
Phone Surgeon wrote:

probably only for very high end phones or expensive apple phones it will take the price down a little.

wholesalers and big retailers locally sell new phones for less than the price abroad, or with very little mark up

plenty money laundering going on so prices dog cheap

take a base model A11 32gb
its $140 US on amazon ($1000 TT)
say a $150 to ship IF taxes are removed
Total price. $1150 without any taxes

Local price from wholesalers right now $1300

and with the EXTREME limits on forex, prices not going to drop

scotia bank has limited credit card US allowance to like $500

most local people going through all kinda hoops to make orders

so US is basically valued $8 or $9 for most of us

but thats ONLINE US money eh, US cash has little use now because you cant easily deposit it or travel with it

so if you have 100k or 200k or 500k US in a US bank account or local bank account that can transfer , you getting $8,$9, $10 per USD for that

so lets redo that earlier calculation

A11 $140 US from amazon (and realistically, you not getting phones much cheaper than from amazon, you could be buying 1000 Units from a wholesaler and it might be $135 instead of $140 US)

SO $140 US x $8 =$1120
Plus $150 shipping (IF there is no tax)

Done reach $1270

On the apple line of things, if you have access to a credit card yourself and can order, you can save alot when taxes are removed. but the majority of people not doing that.

Postby Chimera » December 9th, 2020, 2:09 pm

who said anything about what banks are paying?

if you have 100k US in an account and someone wants to buy it, they will give you a supplier abroad to wire the money to and they will give you 800 or 900k or 1mil cash or transfer it to your account.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » December 9th, 2020, 8:48 pm

Not really. No reason. At least not for Samsung (and Apple)
If you check the price of a brand new unlocked S series, you will find the local prices are around the same as online and sometimes even better.

For example: S20 series.
The phone was released in the United States on 6 March[8] and in Europe on 13 March. The Galaxy S20, S20+ and S20 Ultra launch prices started at $999, $1,199 and $1,399.

1200USD for a S20+
1200x6.8 = $8160TTD - then add Vat, Duty, OPT, Shipping and Handling etc (I using 50%)
$8160 x 150% = $12,240TTD

Yet the regular prices in TT from the more well-known tuner sellers were about 6800-7000 TTD for that same phone within a few days of release - getting it same day as purchase, could see if it working same time, and warranty etc.

I don't know what discount wholesalers get, but you might come out better if you buying older flagship phones, or Chinese phones like Xiaomi Redmi Vivo ZTE etc, or phone with discounts.
I was looking at one of them Sony Xperia but I wouldn't take the chance unless I see something in writing from Colmos.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 10th, 2020, 8:14 am

Samsung S20+ is more like 750USD not 1200USD
https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-SM-G985F-Display-Unlocked-International/dp/B085F3VMT8/ref=sr_1_6?dchild=1&keywords=samsung+s20+plus&qid=1607601978&sr=8-6

So using your maths:

750USD x 6.8 = 5,100
5,100 x 150% = 7650

Another thing to consider is alot of the local resellers when selling not the lastest phones are selling used/traded in/returned items hence why sometimes you dont get the power brick or accessories with them so there is that those phones are even cheaper.

Renewed on Amazon 600USD
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0891VNDNT/ref=dp_cr_wdg_tit_rfb

600USD x 6.8 = 4080
4080 x 150% = 6120

Generally this is why I would bring in a newer phone.

S21 coming out in January those S20's are going to get a whole lot cheaper my understanding S21 wont be a significant upgrade over the S20 and will have a lesser price new than the S20 when it was new but let us see.

Postby Chimera » December 10th, 2020, 8:46 am

All those high end phones are sold cheaper locally than you can buy online. Especially if you get hit legal taxes

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » December 10th, 2020, 9:04 am

timothymcdavid wrote:Samsung S20+ is more like 750USD not 1200USD
https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-SM-G985F-Display-Unlocked-International/dp/B085F3VMT8/ref=sr_1_6?dchild=1&keywords=samsung+s20+plus&qid=1607601978&sr=8-6

So using your maths:

750USD x 6.8 = 5,100
5,100 x 150% = 7650

Yeah it is currently about 700-750 USD.
So the maths part is right.
But I talking about when the phones now come out and the price was higher.
Eg. Using Titan Procurement page you would see around May/June S20+ was about 7000 TTD,

Now with reduced US prices (and as of November) same phone for 5800TTD - which is still better than the new 7650 or used 6120 TTD

S21 coming out in January those S20's are going to get a whole lot cheaper my understanding S21 wont be a significant upgrade over the S20 and will have a lesser price new than the S20 when it was new but let us see.

https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_starts_blind_preorders_in_india_prices_revealed_too-news-46659.php
An unnamed Samsung insider spoke to Indian publication TechQuila, revealing some spicy details about the upcoming Galaxy S21 series.

The prices of the trio won't change compared to this year's Galaxy S20-series pricing. That would mean INR 67,000 for the Galaxy S20, INR 74,000 for the S20+ and the Ultra will ask INR 93,000. If that carries over to the other major markets we should see prices of $900/€900, $999/€999 and $1,399/€1,399 respectively in the US and Europe.

Graph of S20+ US prices over the months so you can compare to your local sellers

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » December 10th, 2020, 12:49 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:I was looking at one of them Sony Xperia but I wouldn't take the chance unless I see something in writing from Colmos.

Same here. Still rocking my Xperia from five years ago and it's time to upgrade but holding out for the taxes to be dropped because no local seller seems to bring them in anymore.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » December 13th, 2020, 2:02 pm

MOF indicated that the exemptions take effect from Jan 1 2021. No indication of the duration.

Postby hover11 » December 13th, 2020, 5:56 pm

Seems legit the same day tax is removed the gas stations will be privatized and the concessions off hybrid vehicles will be removed to compensate for the loss of revenue from duty removed from cellphones but hey at least we will have cheaper phones.
FB_IMG_1607896399571.jpeg

Postby pugboy » December 13th, 2020, 6:01 pm

buy allyuh new fone in the new year and enjoy using it
hope that enjoyment offset the fuel increases and property tax