Cellphone Import Tax

ruffrider27

Cellphone Import Tax

Postby ruffrider27 » January 11th, 2021, 9:26 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:Let us know how it goes! Especially the Apple Watch....

ruffrider27 wrote:
car wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

Ah still want to know if smart watch under that. Someone import one and tell us please.

Only exemption is duty. Everything else is still on.

Shipping these today for my nephews late Christmas gifts

The Apple Watch is the GPS version
The rest I know got to pay duties and taxes on the 2 nikes , the PS5 looking to see I’ll keep you guys posted .

So I paid in total $134 CAD to ship everything
On the declaration
As Gift
One cellular GPS watch
One Gaming Personal CPU Console
One Nike sz 11
One Nike sz 10.5

Total value i put $750 cad

Put everything fitted good size box with bubble wrapping inside
When DHL CSR lady said $134 I was shocked and okyyyy they will get it by Friday 3 day shipping no rush

Let’s see what happens next

christopherwilliams2

Re: Cellphone Import Tax

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 11th, 2021, 9:48 pm

Was that too much? the 134.

ruffrider27 wrote:
christopherwilliams2 wrote:Let us know how it goes! Especially the Apple Watch....

ruffrider27 wrote:
car wrote:

Ah still want to know if smart watch under that. Someone import one and tell us please.

The rest I know got to pay duties and taxes on the 2 nikes , the PS5 looking to see I’ll keep you guys posted .

On the declaration
As Gift
One cellular GPS watch
One Nike sz 11
One Nike sz 10.5

When DHL CSR lady said $134 I was shocked and okyyyy they will get it by Friday 3 day shipping no rush

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 11th, 2021, 9:48 pm

brought in a phone case, screen protector, charger....no duties, tax, OPT.

car

Postby car » January 11th, 2021, 9:51 pm

christopherwilliams2 wrote:brought in a phone case, screen protector, charger....no duties, tax, OPT.

Time to buy that Apple Watch u longing for.

Postby pugboy » January 11th, 2021, 9:51 pm

Phone shop business gonna be a little more competitive as a level of margin has been removed

stark_007

Postby stark_007 » January 12th, 2021, 6:01 am

christopherwilliams2 wrote:brought in a phone case, screen protector, charger....no duties, tax, OPT.
Which phone are you using bro?

jackal

Postby jackal » January 12th, 2021, 6:27 am

jackal wrote:Paid $95.40 to clear Samsung Tab S6 today.

That was shipping and handling or taxes?

Yep!! :D

Freight Charge: $58.22
ZipX Protection: $13.70
Service Fee: $13.00
Carrier Surcharge: $10.48
Total Charge TT : $95.40

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2021, 8:27 am

Prices drop all over. Its really the big wholesalers get screwed up. Now all the retail shops could somewhat easily bring their own stock once they have access to the usd.
pugboy wrote:Phone shop business gonna be a little more competitive as a level of margin has been removed

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2021, 9:21 am

and it won’t make sense to keep much stock either
which may be less outlay

there are big wholesalers carrying premium phones like new model iphones and samsung ?
i gather samsung. easier to purchase wholesale whilst apple doesnt

Phone Surgeon wrote:Prices drop all over. Its really the big wholesalers get screwed up. Now all the retail shops could somewhat easily bring their own stock once they have access to the usd.
pugboy wrote:Phone shop business gonna be a little more competitive as a level of margin has been removed

Postby Chimera » January 12th, 2021, 9:31 am

i dont think theres really a wholesale price for apple.

the most you would get off is in certain states you wouldnt pay purchase tax and then theres a commercial account you get like a 5% off if you purchasing big. but thats usaully a walk in and purchase kind of scene .

and honestly all the wholesales down here were never paying taxes so phones here were always sort of cheap.

and again, the difference in price is like $10 usd when buying 500 phones from a wholesaler in miami and buying a single phone on amazon

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » January 12th, 2021, 12:17 pm

Customs does confuse me when they ready.
Same wyze security cams ordered 3 weeks apart.
IMG_20210112_121329.jpeg
IMG_20210112_121308.jpeg

Postby teems1 » January 12th, 2021, 12:33 pm

tropi_flakes wrote:Customs does confuse me when they ready.
Same wyze security cams ordered 3 weeks apart.IMG_20210112_121308.jpegIMG_20210112_121329.jpeg

Was this before and after Jan 1st?

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » January 12th, 2021, 9:52 pm

Was ordered on the 4th and came in on the 6th. The first set was ordered in December and came just before Christmas

Zalos

Postby Zalos » January 13th, 2021, 8:38 am

So airpods would still have duties?

car

Postby car » January 13th, 2021, 6:43 pm

Zalos wrote:So airpods would still have duties?

Good question. Bluetooth and head set suppose to have no duty. Headphones will. Not sure what they going to categorize it as.

trinivibes

Postby trinivibes » January 14th, 2021, 9:31 am

Got an iPhone today that I ordered through CSF, no VAT, duty or online purchase tax.
20210114_092857.jpeg

Postby Chimera » January 14th, 2021, 11:02 am

GREAT IS THE PNM

great great great great

i campaigning with them next year time yes.

Postby adnj » January 14th, 2021, 3:19 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:GREAT IS THE PNM

great great great great

Was: T-shirt, mug and mini roti
Now: tax free phones

stark_007

Postby stark_007 » January 14th, 2021, 6:59 pm

adnj wrote:

great great great great

Phones/laptops were always tax free fyi... Government is who put taxes on it ._. glad things were back how they were now though :)

Postby pugboy » January 14th, 2021, 7:48 pm

got a phone delivered to aeropost yesterday
hope i can get it saturday

Postby adnj » January 14th, 2021, 8:31 pm

stark_007 wrote:
adnj wrote:

great great great great

Phones/laptops were always tax free fyi... Government is who put taxes on it ._. glad things were back how they were now though :)

Sorry, but no. Laptops and PCs were tax free - then 12.5% VAT was added.

Phones were 20% duty and 15% VAT added, then VAT dropped to 12.5%

http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vie ... p?t=305552

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 14th, 2021, 9:05 pm

adnj wrote:
stark_007 wrote:
adnj wrote:

great great great great

Sorry, but no. Laptops and PCs were tax free - then 12.5% VAT was added.

Phones were 20% duty and 15% VAT added, then VAT dropped to 12.5%

http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vie ... p?t=305552

It was Panday who removed all taxes on laptops and desktops in the late 90s. Also all duties and VAT was removed on books as well.

What sucks right now is that Desktop PCs are still subject to 12.5% tax and 7% OPT.

Postby Chimera » January 14th, 2021, 10:33 pm

me eh care who put it 30 years ago when no one even had a cellphone

the fact is now you have no idea how much money they losing by removing those taxes.

imagine 100k in phones ....suppose to be 35k in tax

that landing for like 300-400 in just shipment fees now . (high end phones, 8-12k each

in december the iphone 12 pro max was $15k
now i selling it for $10,400

orders raining in.
doh hadda fight up with no jackass in customs or give people gifts or appreciation tokens or none of that flabbergastery
doh hadda fight up with local wholesalers who picking and choosing who to sell too when covid firetruck up the supply chain for most of 2020

them wholesalers cud hull dey mudda BUGWAAANAAA straight across the board.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » January 14th, 2021, 10:38 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:me eh care who put it 30 years ago when no one even had a cellphone

the fact is now you have no idea how much money they losing by removing those taxes.

imagine 100k in phones ....suppose to be 35k in tax

that landing for like 300-400 in just shipment fees now . (high end phones, 8-12k each

in december the iphone 12 pro max was $15k
now i selling it for $10,400

orders raining in.
doh hadda fight up with no jackass in customs or give people gifts or appreciation tokens or none of that flabbergastery
doh hadda fight up with local wholesalers who picking and choosing who to sell too when covid firetruck up the supply chain for most of 2020

them wholesalers cud hull dey mudda BUGWAAANAAA straight across the board.

In my opinion, there was never any need to remove taxes on cellphones. Maybe 5 years ago, but phones nowadays have matured and even cheap phones offer pretty much all the processing power you need.

Desktops are a big issue here as many businesses need them (versus laptops) to stay productive and competitive.

Camera, music and art equipment should be had their taxes removed since they allow entrepreneurs to earn money, even earning forex for the country.

Postby Chimera » January 15th, 2021, 7:35 am

On the next hand if yuh think about it.....removing taxes have some nice results.

Customs officers use to real collect bribes for clearing that....and a few wholesalers locally was controlling the customs officers who clearing the big shipments....all small retailers like me use to get jam

So that "cartel" gone tru.....

Then with covid everyone really need electronic devices so you can simply order your own....and prices drop locally...so everyone benefit.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 15th, 2021, 7:41 am

Well yea...
Phone Surgeon wrote:On the next hand if yuh think about it.....removing taxes have some nice results.

Customs officers use to real collect bribes for clearing that....and a few wholesalers locally was controlling the customs officers who clearing the big shipments....all small retailers like me use to get jam

Then with covid everyone really need electronic devices so you can simply order your own....and prices drop locally...so everyone benefit.

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2021, 7:57 am

sure right about them fellas eating less food now

but dont forget this cellphone tax relief is not permanent.

the real big boy officers who eating ah food are the ones who organize whole containers of tires and electronics like car decks through

Phone Surgeon wrote:On the next hand if yuh think about it.....removing taxes have some nice results.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » January 15th, 2021, 12:28 pm

ruffrider27 wrote:

car wrote:

On the declaration
As Gift
One cellular GPS watch
One Nike sz 11
One Nike sz 10.5

My nephew just received the box from DHL no extra taxes paid in all $134 about $720 TTD , shipping and handling wow a DEAL,,,,

Postby pugboy » January 15th, 2021, 2:36 pm

get away with that playstation
like them officers belly still full from xmas

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » January 15th, 2021, 8:11 pm

pugboy wrote:get away with that playstation
like them officers belly still full from xmas

The Personal gaming computer console and Cellular watch was looking out for guess the customs just watch the first 2 items and passed do they run the items tru X-ray scanners it rely shocked me but glad to know my nephews are happy , dint cost them nothing .