HBO Max in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: HBO Max T&T launch thread

Postby st7 » June 29th, 2021, 7:01 pm

ah get thru with subscribing. plenty of content i'd watch on here as compared to disney plus. the platform is even better.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 29th, 2021, 7:58 pm

Was able to link Flow account and create an account/profile. Streaming successfully. Yay!

lancer_man

Postby lancer_man » June 29th, 2021, 10:22 pm

ed360123 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Amplia offering free HBO Max if you are an HBO subscriber with them

95e27909-dded-412c-9b48-8ce755ad1b07.jpg
Flow too:
https://discoverflow.co/hbo-max

You sure it’s free? They responded to a comment on their Facebook page saying the subscription cost is $57 per month.

Postby paid_influencer » June 29th, 2021, 11:06 pm

lancer_man wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Amplia offering free HBO Max if you are an HBO subscriber with them

95e27909-dded-412c-9b48-8ce755ad1b07.jpg
Flow too:
https://discoverflow.co/hbo-max

You sure it’s free? They responded to a comment on their Facebook page saying the subscription cost is $57 per month.

yea it's only "free" if you are already paying for the HBO package on Cable TV (either in a bundle or as an add-on).

seeing the new bundle packages have removed HBO from the $500 tier. :?

daring dragoon

Re: HBO Max in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby daring dragoon » June 30th, 2021, 5:33 am

still not accepting TT CC for sign up on the site. has no other forms of payment other than CC so go alone know WTF them position is or if flow and them blocking it.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » June 30th, 2021, 8:44 am

daring dragoon wrote:still not accepting TT CC for sign up on the site. has no other forms of payment other than CC so go alone know WTF them position is or if flow and them blocking it.
No option for PayPal?

Postby paid_influencer » June 30th, 2021, 8:59 am

reading this part...

https://help.hbomax.com/tt/Answer/Detail/000001195

Which payment methods are accepted?

Please note that your credit or debit card needs to be U.S. issued and support automatic recurring payments.

App store: Check with your app store (Amazon, Apple, Google Play, Roku, or Samsung TV) to find out which payment methods are accepted.

TV or mobile provider: Check with your provider to find out which payment methods are accepted.

HBOMax.com: If you sign up through us at HBOMax.com, you can use Visa or Mastercard. Additional payment methods are accepted in the following countries:

Argentina: Argencard, Cabal (credit or debit), Diners, Falabella, Maestro Debit, and Naranja
etc..

"Please note that your credit or debit card needs to be U.S. issued and support automatic recurring payments."

I hope this is a misprint because otherwise... laff.

maybe they mean it has to have a US$ balance? anyone GT with a local card?
Last edited by paid_influencer on June 30th, 2021, 9:06 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby paid_influencer » June 30th, 2021, 9:01 am

I GT with signing in thru Flow but the PS4 HBO Max app still not connecting, saying it outside the US and not available. Working in browser tho.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » June 30th, 2021, 9:06 am

I use a local card on the US site

Postby st7 » June 30th, 2021, 8:26 pm

i get thru yesterday with my local visa card as well on hbomax.com

btw, i saw this article

https://www.engadget.com/hbo-max-expand ... 04619.html?

To entire new subscribers, the company is offering the service at a 50 percent discount with no time limit, as long as they sign up before July 31st.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » June 30th, 2021, 10:03 pm

I was studying to give this a try, but then I realize I already have Netflix and Disney and even that Amazon sheit that hardly ever works. HBO will just be a next white elephant.

teems1 wrote:Netflix, Disney+, Hulu, Amazon Prime, Paramount+, CBS All Access, HBO Max.

It's getting ridiculous now.

We're back to the point where it's way more expensive than cable and the cord cutters would be up in arms.

I know this is an old comment, but in my case the Netflix and Disney+ is enough for me and the total is like 850TT for the year and sometimes I don't have time to watch.
Compare to Flow cheapest cable package which is about $200 inc.vat = $2400 and you searching and scraping and crying to find something to watch.
Amplia cheapest cable with more channels than the Flow is $350 x12 = $4200

Yes you have to count the internet cost too, but that should be an overhead cost since most people who have internet, use it for other things beside watching "flim"
And 4K streaming works fine for a single user on Amplia slowest $200/month/25Mbps.
Multiple users might prefer Flow $275/month/100Mbps.

Also there are things like Youtube TV and Hulu+Live TV (Not available in TT) but cost like $65US/month.

Postby st7 » June 30th, 2021, 10:44 pm

i find disney+ dont have much to offer. i realised the only time i used it was when a new marvel show came out. hbomax have more content i can get to watch and enjoy. the interface way better than disney's and i would recommend it over disney atm.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » June 30th, 2021, 11:53 pm

Well then in your case it would be the hbomax instead of disney (and maybe you have netflix too)

But it would still be cheaper.
As I mention Flow cheapest cable is 2400 - if someone was comfortable spending that amount on TV (but dont like flow content) they would be comfortable paying for about 5 of these online services.

If they find 2400 is too much, pick out all the shows you want to see and find whichever one (or more depending on budget) has the most covered.
Other option which cable does not offer is to pay for one month. Might be slightly more expensive (and time consuming to keep signing up and cancelling) as compared to signing up for a whole year, but then you can have access to much more stuff (providing these other services become available)

Postby st7 » July 1st, 2021, 12:13 am

yeah boy...netflix and prime video too. i doh even watch cable, so will sometimes hoist the flag

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » July 1st, 2021, 10:34 am

Amazon Prime Video is a non starter. It only makes sense if you order a lot of stuff from Amazon.
Disney Plus is worth it if there are kids to entertain.
HBO Max has a wide library for everyone.
Netflix is ok if you enjoy watching mind numbing TV series and subpar movies.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 1st, 2021, 10:41 am

^ This reminds me I got a next trial month of Prime recently still to use.
Only ever watched AP twice when I used the trial months. But the selections there wouldn't entice me to take the service. I watched Jack Ryan, Man in the High Castle and a few episodes of Mrs Maisel and Carnival Row.

Too much region blocked content.

Postby mero » July 1st, 2021, 11:13 am

Any streaming services that offer sports only?

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » July 1st, 2021, 11:35 am

I got thru, initially did not seem to be accepting my republic bank credit card but a quick call to the bank and they sorted it out. I tried again ten minutes later and went through like normal.

Postby st7 » July 1st, 2021, 4:41 pm

i take in real shows on amazon prime - buffy, sneaky pete, malcolm in the middle, everybody hates chris, the boys, truthseekers, spaced, etc

Postby teems1 » July 1st, 2021, 4:53 pm

mero wrote:Any streaming services that offer sports only?

DAZN

Lots of boxing, UFC and such.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » July 2nd, 2021, 9:14 am

Soundstream_626 wrote:I got thru, initially did not seem to be accepting my republic bank credit card but a quick call to the bank and they sorted it out. I tried again ten minutes later and went through like normal.

Soundstream_626 what did they do? I called but the rep had no idea what I was talking about.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » July 2nd, 2021, 11:03 am

Not sure, I explained to the rep the issue I was having and he told me sometimes there are restrictions on their ( the bank`s) end with certain merchants/providers. He sorted it out on his side and told me try back in 5 minutes, which I did and it went through first try. I assume he applied an exemption on their system.

Postby redmanjp » July 2nd, 2021, 12:15 pm

There is a difference in what shows u can access depending on whether u use a VPN. I have Windscribe which i pay US$2 a month and use it in Chrome browser.

Both the Just added movies as well as movies available via search is different. i searched for 'Zero Days' and found it in the US version ( was also in the Just Added section). then with the vpn off, searched it again and didn't find it. searched for 'IT', both Chp. 1 & 2 shows up in the US version, TT version only seems to have Chp. 2.

Postby st7 » July 2nd, 2021, 5:28 pm

hoss... thanks eh... windscribe wokking! hahaha... i using the free version atm... hoping that nordvpn sort themself out

Postby st7 » July 2nd, 2021, 6:51 pm

ok just made a discovery... u can switch off the windscribe vpn and hbomax will still work
prolly because it registered the session as US until it times out or you refresh the page lol

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 2nd, 2021, 7:04 pm

st7 wrote:ok just made a discovery... u can switch off the windscribe vpn and hbomax will still work
prolly because it registered the session as US until it times out or you refresh the page lol

as of June 29th 2021 HBO Max became available in T&T which means you no longer need a VPN to access it.

Postby st7 » July 2nd, 2021, 7:22 pm

st7 wrote:ok just made a discovery... u can switch off the windscribe vpn and hbomax will still work

as of June 29th 2021 HBO Max became available in T&T which means you no longer need a VPN to access it.

i know... this is to access the US content which has a lot more

Postby paid_influencer » July 2nd, 2021, 8:10 pm

still blocking me out on PS4 tho.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 2nd, 2021, 8:14 pm

Why not use Browsec Chrome VPN addon?

Postby st7 » July 2nd, 2021, 11:36 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

still blocking me out on PS4 tho.

i'm hearing firestick users are having issues with the app as well