Where to get fresh shellfish?

Smallie girl1

Where to get fresh shellfish?

Postby Smallie girl1 » March 23rd, 2021, 7:39 am

Looking for fresh large and extra large shrimp and crab that isn't too expensive. Need about 5-10lbs in the shrimp. Anyone knows where I can go?

abducted

Re: Where to get fresh shellfish?

Postby abducted » March 23rd, 2021, 9:01 am

What is your location? There are Ocean Delight, Seafood Differently Ltd., Trinidad Seafoods Ltd

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » March 23rd, 2021, 9:37 am

be careful. i bought some scallops from ocean delight. when i ready to use it (let's say 6 days from the freezer) i realise it had turn. i had that same experience buying their mussels. since then i have stopped buying from them.

Nexus

Postby Nexus » March 23rd, 2021, 9:51 am

For shrimp, best to check out orange valley fish market, but you have to go super early, before sunrise!

Smallie girl1

Postby Smallie girl1 » March 23rd, 2021, 11:04 am

I got some from Seafood Differently and Ocean Delight and it tastes really frozen. Any contact number for Trinidad seafoods?

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2021, 11:51 am

most of the prepacked or farmed stuff is treated with phosphate chemicals
read the fine print

elec2020 wrote:be careful. i bought some scallops from ocean delight. when i ready to use it (let's say 6 days from the freezer) i realise it had turn. i had that same experience buying their mussels. since then i have stopped buying from them.

Postby Gladiator » March 23rd, 2021, 11:56 am

Smallie girl1 wrote:Looking for fresh large and extra large shrimp and crab that isn't too expensive. Need about 5-10lbs in the shrimp. Anyone knows where I can go?

For shrimp take a drive down Caroni Savannah road and Pierre Road. The fishermen sell their catch on evenings. that's as fresh as it comes...

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2021, 11:57 am

Nexus wrote:For shrimp, best to check out orange valley fish market, but you have to go super early, before sunrise!

you hadda go there like 4 am lol . sometimes by 5 am they done washing down and closing up the market

them spanish by st helena does have some nice fresh seafood though

i does buy them from often

Postby Rovin » March 23rd, 2021, 1:09 pm

exactly what dem guys say bout orange valley , u hadda go rel early ...
Last edited by Rovin on March 23rd, 2021, 6:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Smallie girl1

Postby Smallie girl1 » March 23rd, 2021, 1:42 pm

Which brand of the frozen seafood is better?

Postby timelapse » March 23rd, 2021, 1:49 pm

Orange valley good too

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » March 23rd, 2021, 2:00 pm

pugboy wrote:most of the prepacked or farmed stuff is treated with phosphate chemicals
read the fine print

elec2020 wrote:be careful. i bought some scallops from ocean delight. when i ready to use it (let's say 6 days from the freezer) i realise it had turn. i had that same experience buying their mussels. since then i have stopped buying from them.

could you kindly explain the implications of the treatment?

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2021, 4:42 pm

supposed to reduce chances of product getting mushy ie make it seem more fresh
shrimp tend to be more firm to a point
but they taste less fresh and the liquids when thawed out have a soapy feel

elec2020 wrote:
pugboy wrote:most of the prepacked or farmed stuff is treated with phosphate chemicals
read the fine print

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 23rd, 2021, 6:09 pm

Caroni Roundabout

Postby Gladiator » March 23rd, 2021, 6:57 pm

PM me if you want a crab man contact. Blue crab and hairy crab eh not no fancy king crab and daddy long leg ting.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 23rd, 2021, 7:11 pm

Shrimp was designed by God to eat dead things like dead fish and other dead scavengers off the bottom of the sea. They work similar to the catfish which is also a scavenger along with crabs and lobsters, snails and God whatever else crawls on the bottom of the ocean. shrimp is not ital. ras doh eat shrimp.

Postby pugboy » March 23rd, 2021, 7:43 pm

I looking for the sea crabs they does catch with the shrimp
siric ? they call them I think
who have ?

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » March 23rd, 2021, 9:35 pm

pugboy wrote:supposed to reduce chances of product getting mushy ie make it seem more fresh

elec2020 wrote:
read the fine print

ok got you. thanks for clearing that up

Postby timelapse » March 24th, 2021, 7:52 am

You hadda check down felicity side for ciric

Kay_B

Postby Kay_B » March 24th, 2021, 9:35 am

pugboy wrote:supposed to reduce chances of product getting mushy ie make it seem more fresh

elec2020 wrote:
read the fine print

Frozen seafood and fresh chilled seafood are always different in taste and texture. Although I do not often get fresh seafood, but when they come across, I do not regret the money for such a purchase.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » March 24th, 2021, 10:06 am

^ noted. Next time when i feeling it i might try buying fresh. This thread has some good recommendations.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 24th, 2021, 10:11 am

I really need to start back buying fresh seafood.
My brother in law supplies RHAs with supplies and Swai fillets is the fish they order. Because the RHAs (specifically NCRHA) been buying so much since Covid he got quite a lot of Swai free from the supplier and my freezer been stocked with it.
Its nice but nothing beats fresh ( and well the conditions of aquaculture farms in the far east is also a concern)

Postby Chimera » March 24th, 2021, 10:12 am

Fresh seafood does really taste twice as good.

Check the Spanish in st Helena. Between madras road and camachie bar.

Yuh won't regret it

Postby Dizzy28 » March 24th, 2021, 10:13 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Fresh seafood does really taste twice as good.

Check the Spanish in st Helena. Between madras road and camachie bar.

Yuh won't regret it

For me I find the quality of seafood in Tunapuna Market does generally be good. On Saturdays if you go early the variety is also pretty expansive.

Postby Chimera » March 24th, 2021, 12:40 pm

Yea I use to go tunapuna regularly to get seafood but since coronavirus i stop going market.

Postby pugboy » March 24th, 2021, 12:44 pm

nothing wrong with buying frozen once it was properly prepared and sealed

i buy and freeze seafood all the time
portion out and wrap tightly in glad wrap so no air contact and then put in a sealed plastic bag.
cleaned shrimp keeps for several months like that.

them swai catfish allegedly loaded with antibiotics from them farms in vietnam

you can get good quality fresh fish from a tuner ryan99tt