carluva

Re: Lockdown Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Postby carluva » July 4th, 2021, 6:06 pm

Compost heap update.

Day 45: Sunday July 4, 2021.

The heap is coming along beautifully.

Lost of heat inside. Wonderful smell. Dark rich colour. Lots of baby earthworms. Nice and moist. I'm happy about this first pile and kitchen scraps are added about 4 times a week and start to break down very quickly.
IMG_20210704_175834282.jpeg
IMG_20210704_175829814.jpeg
IMG_20210704_175635101.jpeg
IMG_20210704_175759284.jpeg

litos

Postby litos » July 12th, 2021, 8:32 am

hope i am not j****ssing the scene.

common/ local coconut plants for sale.

seems resistant to the rhino beetle so far. fingers crossed.

nut size is very good water bearing capacity about 300 mls per unit.... Ideally.

cost is a nominal $3 each.

comparative nut size in photo...so please whatsapp if interested.

also dry coconuts for sale...$5 husked out. about 50 on hand.

ph # 3829246

Postby MG Man » July 19th, 2021, 6:43 pm

I was gonna do a fancy garden with lattice etc but then figured fk it. I have all kinda leftovers from the house, so used pvc, nylon line and some random poles from an old shoe rack so why not reuse that stuff
Some tomatoes, sweet peppers and cucumber. Nothing too exotic
The grow box is basically foundation bricks, and it’s filled with a mix of soil and compost from years of cutting grass and heaping it up in a corner
IMG_6654.JPG
IMG_6653.JPG
IMG_6652.JPG
IMG_6651.JPG
IMG_6650.JPG

Postby pugboy » July 19th, 2021, 6:57 pm

nice going, any issues with pests ?
i started a drip hydroponic and they taking for now
and well some pests showing up

Postby MG Man » July 19th, 2021, 6:59 pm

pugboy wrote:nice going, any issues with pests ?
i started a drip hydroponic and they taking for now
and well some pests showing up

In my experience tomatoes always attract moth caterpillars but eaten leaves are a dead giveaway. I examine them every day. Got some leaf fungus on the tomatoes too so occasionally I trim affected leaves
Caterpillars love cucumber leaves So far, neem oil is working well
Pic is of a caterpillar munching the cucumber. Buggers are hard to spot
IMG_6649.JPG

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 19th, 2021, 7:19 pm

That's the best way to go bro - reuse and recycle as much as you can. Set up looks neat and nice.

Btw, do you practice pruning your tomato plants? If you're using that nylon net to get more production, that's fine. But if you're not utilizing the net, you can probably start pruning off the suckers so that you have one main stem and all available nutrients from your soil will be diverted to those fruit only, in turn producing larger more desirable fruit, albeit fewer. That way, no energy is wasted on producing fruit/new growth on the countless suckers that can appear off the main stem if left unchecked.

If you're putting down any pimento or any kind of peppers, I highly recommend topping the plant. The difference in production will amaze you as opposed to one that's just left on its own.

Some ideas for your cucumbers
https://savvygardening.com/cucumber-trellis/
Last edited by Soul Collector on July 19th, 2021, 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » July 19th, 2021, 7:19 pm

have some tomatoes in pots too both regular soil and hydroponic

D9BB2F2F-72EF-4EED-8320-D3EC25350D67.jpeg

Postby MG Man » July 19th, 2021, 8:00 pm

Soul Collector wrote:That's the best way to go bro - reuse and recycle as much as you can. Set up looks neat and nice.

Btw, do you practice pruning your tomato plants? If you're using that nylon net to get more production, that's fine. But if you're not utilizing the net, you can probably start pruning off the suckers so that you have one main stem and all available nutrients from your soil will be diverted to those fruit only, in turn producing larger more desirable fruit, albeit fewer. That way, no energy is wasted on producing fruit/new growth on the countless suckers that can appear off the main stem if left unchecked.

If you're putting down any pimento or any kind of peppers, I highly recommend topping the plant. The difference in production will amaze you as opposed to one that's just left on its own.

Some ideas for your cucumbers
https://savvygardening.com/cucumber-trellis/

thanks man. Tbh I've always left my tomatoes to grow however they want to. Yield is always good and I've been happy with the quality. Last set ran like vines. The stakes were six feet tall and I just let them grow, and double over. This is the first time using the nylon line for support for tomatoes, vs stakes (stole the idea from this ched, with guy who used it for his cucumbers

Would topping apply to sweet peppers too?

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 19th, 2021, 10:02 pm

MG Man wrote:thanks man. Tbh I've always left my tomatoes to grow however they want to. Yield is always good and I've been happy with the quality. Last set ran like vines. The stakes were six feet tall and I just let them grow, and double over. This is the first time using the nylon line for support for tomatoes, vs stakes (stole the idea from this ched, with guy who used it for his cucumbers

Would topping apply to sweet peppers too?

Well that sounding real good! How many crops of tomatoes you got so far out of the initial soil mix? Or is it that you have extra compost you keep adding throughout?

Last time I did cherry tomatoes in buckets, so I kept one main vine on a stake and did the extra pruning to get them as plump as possible. I'll try some with a net next time and let some of the suckers grow out and compare the yields. Got inspired from this thread too, lol

And yes to the sweet pepper! If you already familiar with that type of pruning, give it a go next rounds. Also, pruning in general can help in deterring pests by maintaining good airflow/temps throughout the plants, preventing an environment for anything unwanted to thrive.

Postby timelapse » July 20th, 2021, 7:13 am

Try the cherry tomatoes horizontal if you can.I have managed to get about 8 main stems from one plant using the small scrog I posted above.More main stems= more bud sites.
Will post pictures when I can.The heavy rain has my yard soggy still, and I can't go out to clean up.
Stay tuned for tomato progress, lettuce,carrot and peppers.

Postby MG Man » July 20th, 2021, 9:53 pm

Soul Collector wrote: How many crops of tomatoes you got so far out of the initial soil mix? Or is it that you have extra compost you keep adding throughout?

I always have compost so it's easy to add more, but this is my second crop on this soil. So far, so good

Postby MG Man » July 21st, 2021, 8:53 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Pellets
I only discover the snail scene recently. Was wondering wtf eating pumpkin and whole tomato plants.

I does walk around in the night with torchlight and a bucket as well.

Salt water in yuh muddac**t and then burn the bodies.20210530_123019.jpeg

those slow bastards started invading my area too
We used to walk along our street every night, picking up and drowning as many as we could
Started seeing a couple big ones in the yard recently, which I'd kill in chlorine solutions
Then literally overnight, I saw hundreds of them all between 2 mm and 1.5 cm. Spent a night picking up as many as I could, and then laced the are with that same snail bait, which seems to have been very effective
Now nightly strolls through the yard is a norm
It doesn't appear anyone else in my area is concerned with snails, so this will be an ongoing fight

Postby timelapse » July 21st, 2021, 12:56 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Pellets
I only discover the snail scene recently. Was wondering wtf eating pumpkin and whole tomato plants.

I does walk around in the night with torchlight and a bucket as well.

Salt water in yuh muddac**t and then burn the bodies.20210530_123019.jpeg

those slow bastards started invading my area too
We used to walk along our street every night, picking up and drowning as many as we could
Started seeing a couple big ones in the yard recently, which I'd kill in chlorine solutions
Then literally overnight, I saw hundreds of them all between 2 mm and 1.5 cm. Spent a night picking up as many as I could, and then laced the are with that same snail bait, which seems to have been very effective
Now nightly strolls through the yard is a norm
It doesn't appear anyone else in my area is concerned with snails, so this will be an ongoing fight
I keep car paint thinners in a spray bottle for these bastards.

Postby Chimera » July 21st, 2021, 1:11 pm

every night i picking up between a quarter bucket to a full bucket and burning and burying them
every night i spraying thiovin now as well

it real bad
i does pick up 3 or 4 times in my front yard from 7pm to 12 pm
but its 3 acres i on, the neighbours eh really doing anything to stop the spread by them

on the roadside at the fence line from 7pm you does see them coming across by the hundreds

every bucket picture is from a different day eh

btw MG
that snailbait you have to throw a little bit alone everyday eh
not a big batch at once

also, i learnt that theres a massive difference between the 6% Metaldehyde and the 4%

the 4% slow poisons thems so they die and their eggs die

the 6% quickly poisons them and they realize they dying and they release their eggs

these things real dred
snail 1.jpeg
snail 1.jpeg (103.7 KiB) Viewed 1682 times
snail 2.jpeg
snail 2.jpeg (85.43 KiB) Viewed 1682 times
snail 3.jpeg
snail 3.jpeg (74.92 KiB) Viewed 1682 times
snail 4.jpeg
snail 4.jpeg (51.61 KiB) Viewed 1682 times
snail 5.jpeg
snail 6.jpeg
snail 6.jpeg (87.29 KiB) Viewed 1682 times

Postby timelapse » July 21st, 2021, 1:21 pm

I forgot to water plants yesterday and the lettuce wilted.All that tomato is one plant .As for the carrots, I got curious.They taste pretty good
IMG_20210721_131704.jpg
IMG_20210721_130833.jpg
IMG_20210721_130108.jpg
IMG_20210721_130051.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2021, 2:45 pm

that is insane amount of snails

Postby sMASH » July 21st, 2021, 3:50 pm

By chance u all know if matte would eat the snails?

Postby MG Man » July 21st, 2021, 4:06 pm

Holy crap Phone Surgeon
My lil infestation jokey by comparison

Postby timelapse » July 21st, 2021, 4:45 pm

sMASH wrote:By chance u all know if matte would eat the snails?
Not sure about Matte, but my neighbor Rakesh does

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2021, 4:53 pm

they use plenty garlic and butter
simple to prepare
but need to keep them for a week to empty the poo out of them

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 21st, 2021, 4:55 pm

Soul Collector wrote: How many crops of tomatoes you got so far out of the initial soil mix? Or is it that you have extra compost you keep adding throughout?

I always have compost so it's easy to add more, but this is my second crop on this soil. So far, so good

Ok man, that's awesome. Happy growing!

Snail migration, wtfook :shock: Never had to deal with anywhere near those amounts. Good luck boi Surgeon, look like you gonna need it.

timelapse, how long were those carrots going for? Never tried my hand with them before.

Postby timelapse » July 21st, 2021, 5:04 pm

Seeds planted on 21st of Feb.
I didn't expect it to grow.I got impatient and dug them up.I have a second batch in better soil

Postby Chimera » July 21st, 2021, 5:10 pm

I doubt you talking about the African snails that does spread meningitis and rat lung worm
pugboy wrote:they use plenty garlic and butter
simple to prepare

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2021, 5:15 pm

it is alleged that an italian expat living in petit valley brought them in for his consumption and they got away

Phone Surgeon wrote:I doubt you talking about the African snails that does spread meningitis and rat lung worm
simple to prepare

Postby timelapse » July 21st, 2021, 5:34 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I doubt you talking about the African snails that does spread meningitis and rat lung worm
simple to prepare
These fellas down by me marinating in white oak.They believe that cleans it properly before currying.I have also seen them curry Caimate.Smfh

Postby sMASH » July 21st, 2021, 5:34 pm

no, srs, any body know if matte doe eat it? or willing to find out?

i might be able to organize a matte, but dont want to bring the snail here.

Postby Chimera » July 21st, 2021, 5:34 pm

Yes and they started to feast on garbage and rat sheit and dog sheit and all kind of other stuff and now they're diseased

Postby eliteauto » July 21st, 2021, 7:25 pm

Noticed some changes in the bearing patterns of some of my plants during the pandemic, my passionfruit bore for almost the entire 2020, my soursop has been bearing continuously ( picked this one today, nice big one), lime trees under 3' tall in 10" setter pots are bearing ( not grafted, I grew them from seeds) and coconut trees with about 4-5' of trunk have started to bear. The reduction of human activity has done the environment and the plants good
IMG_20210721_094000_583.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2021, 8:23 pm

i have two lime trees
one bear first part of the year and other still bearing plenty

Postby pugboy » July 21st, 2021, 8:24 pm

matte does taste like iguana ?

they are a common pet in north america
called tegu, have the ability to detach their tail like the small lizards

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yes and they started to feast on garbage and rat sheit and dog sheit and all kind of other stuff and now they're diseased