viedcht

Re: Lockdown Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Postby viedcht » May 7th, 2021, 6:30 pm

X_Factor wrote:That was some ginger i planted last year
gingr.jpeg
Market ginger or local variety? I have a local, it kinda skinny and rell strong. If you get hands on a local variety try it. Just leave it on the surface, lightly covered, and under a shade (tree).
gingr.jpeg

Postby timelapse » May 15th, 2021, 6:57 am

Anybody ever tried growing fennel?I bought the seeds.Also, how does one eat a fennel?

Postby Chimera » May 15th, 2021, 8:58 am

So I have a massive pile of used pvc pipe from old irrigation projects...

For years they piled under some fruit trees and I feeling hard to just throw them away
Plenty of them have holes drilled and random lengths so not easily reusable..

The other day I was googling and see you could make trellis for cucumber or other light vine crops so I trying some.

What allyuh think

Would strap them together at the top to make an a frame.
Have plenty old lengths of wood from recent construction so considering resting two lengths on the ground and clamping the bottom of this to it.

Or putting 4 short pieces vertical and clamping the frame to the vertical pieces so it would be a bit off the ground.

20210515_085316.jpeg
20210515_085326.jpeg

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » May 15th, 2021, 9:20 am

Looks good. I would've used brc or wire instead of the blue string because it could dry rot over time from sun exposure. But I understand that you're using what you've got on hand at the moment for to start-up

Postby Chimera » May 15th, 2021, 9:29 am

I studying to use the fence wire yuh know
I have 2 full rolls that a bit rusted

Faster and easier than the string and would be stronger for real.

Postby timelapse » May 15th, 2021, 9:54 am

You can use that horizontally also to get some massive tomato crops.
Theres something called SCROG used as a method of supercropping cannabis.What works for cannabis generally works for tomato as well.You can tie strap the fence wire to that for trellis type grows.As guy above said, that blue twine has a short life in hot sun.

Postby MaxPower » May 15th, 2021, 10:01 am

I like the set up in Greenagefarms Chag.

Postby Chimera » May 15th, 2021, 11:04 am

I know the blue twine does really only last for like one crop. I will go the fence route for the rest.

Postby timelapse » May 17th, 2021, 7:35 am

SCROG
IMG_20210517_073354.jpeg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 18th, 2021, 4:31 pm

That's a very unique houseplant you have there

Postby timelapse » May 18th, 2021, 5:14 pm

Thats a birdseed plant.Grown for feeding singing picoplats and bullfinches.Very unique indeed
viedcht wrote:That's a very unique houseplant you have there

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » May 18th, 2021, 6:41 pm

timelapse wrote:Thats a birdseed plant.Grown for feeding singing picoplats and bullfinches.Very unique indeed
viedcht wrote:That's a very unique houseplant you have there

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » May 18th, 2021, 8:05 pm

Big son's attempts at purifying the air in the corner of the technology room

carluva

Postby carluva » May 18th, 2021, 9:49 pm

Snake plants are excellent for indoors. They actually purify the air and remove toxins.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » May 19th, 2021, 12:27 am

carluva wrote:Snake plants are excellent for indoors. They actually purify the air and remove toxins.

Taking forever to grow.
That was actually two sprouts, and one side died.

Doubt ScrOG will help either. Like. Other. Plants..

Postby timelapse » May 19th, 2021, 7:18 am

Lots of other plants you can screen of green indoor with, that you could eat/consume.mint, basil, bean sprouts, tomato.That snake plant needs reporting into a wider, shallower pot.If you in Chaguanas, I have some small cacti to spare if you so inclined.You can propogate snake plant by leaf also
FrankChag wrote:
carluva wrote:Snake plants are excellent for indoors. They actually purify the air and remove toxins.

Taking forever to grow.
That was actually two sprouts, and one side died.

Doubt ScrOG will help either. Like. Other. Plants..

Postby Chimera » May 19th, 2021, 11:19 am

allyuh feel cucumber would grow properly if rooted in a pigtail bucket full of soil?

i considering planting in buckets around the trellis rather than the ground as these days the rain kinda freaking up the land and dont want to go through the effort to fix the land

Postby timelapse » May 19th, 2021, 11:33 am

It would.Fill the bottom quarter with gravel.Then put your soil
Phone Surgeon wrote:allyuh feel cucumber would grow properly if rooted in a pigtail bucket full of soil?

i considering planting in buckets around the trellis rather than the ground as these days the rain kinda freaking up the land and dont want to go through the effort to fix the land

Postby De Dragon » May 19th, 2021, 11:49 am

Picked this morning to have with lunch at work today

Kale.JPG
Kale.JPG (50.06 KiB) Viewed 2105 times

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » May 19th, 2021, 12:21 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:allyuh feel cucumber would grow properly if rooted in a pigtail bucket full of soil?

Check my past post for pics. If I could plant cucumber in water bottles and they yielded, then buckets would definitely work too...

Postby timelapse » May 19th, 2021, 1:03 pm

Any of you guys make your own compost?I thinking about that and some small scale vermiculture

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 19th, 2021, 1:57 pm

Buckets more than usable for the cucumbers.

timelapse wrote:Any of you guys make your own compost?I thinking about that and some small scale vermiculture

And yeah I make compost using dried leaves plus kitchen scraps and lawn cuttings.
Pile should be 3x3 at least to really get things going in there.
First layer should be some sticks/small branches to keep things loose and aerated at the bottom.
Then add layers of carbon (dried leaves, cardboard like toilet paper rolls, used paper towels etc) back to back with a green layer (green grass cuttings, egg shells, coffee grounds kitchen vegetable scraps - keep cooked food like bones etc out cuz it will attract extra critters plus the smell. This green layer will be the nitrogen component.
Wet each layer with water but don't over do it.
Turn every week or however often you'd like, while deciding if to add a few more layers as the pile drops. Add water to each layer once again. It's according to how fast you want the compost really.
Turning the pile will allow more air to get in there to aid the decomposition process.

Have a compost bucket as well for a slightly faster process according to how regular you turn and add stuff to it. I usually break down the leaves and kitchen scraps finer to help speed things up in the bucket. Wanted to start up the vermiculture same as you but ain't get around to that nuh.

Postby timelapse » May 19th, 2021, 3:24 pm

Trying a ting.Will do some pics.Correct me along the way.

Postby timelapse » May 19th, 2021, 4:32 pm

My green grass mixed up with the dry.Would that be a problem?Also didn't have much cardboard etc. Can I add as a layer on top?
IMG_20210519_161908.jpeg
IMG_20210519_160849.jpeg

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 19th, 2021, 5:31 pm

I duno if it will be easier or harder for you to turn/mix inside the container. You could decide how you wanna work that part. Maybe if you had a matching piece, you could dump one into the other while adding stuff and getting a turn in one time. Also you'll want to put a tarp over it to keep rain from soaking it, matting up everything.

And that's no probs with the grass. Try and source some nice brown dried leaves though, and alot. I keep garbage bags in the car all the time in case I see a nice pile of leaves anywhere, lol. Some ppl in agri groups used to offer to drop off leaves too and I got a lot like that.

As for the cardboard or anything else you're adding, all you aiming at in the heap is keeping a ratio of brown to green stuff with enough moisture and air to start heating up. I try to keep a 3:1 ratio (3 parts brown: 1 part green) but nothing exact. Just watch yuh heap and average and see if the heap getting hot after a while, and if not, adjust the amounts to suit. Real nice to see ya starting up a compost pile bro, goodluck! You will love what ya see when that time fly by.

Postby timelapse » May 19th, 2021, 5:36 pm

Looking to make supersoil for my next year outdoor ganja grow.I will be filling an ibc with soil, hoping for a monster tree.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 19th, 2021, 5:56 pm

^ Goodluck yo. It will help to promote a nice healthy environment within the soil once added, just don't add too much and use it in conjunction with your other fertilizers.

assassin

Postby assassin » May 19th, 2021, 9:41 pm

Ideally make more holes in the bottom of the container to allow earthworms to move in and out later on

If you have a big shears cut up the grass into smaller pieces it will compost faster

Wet the layers. Cover the pile to keep it damp

You off to a good start

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 20th, 2021, 12:21 am

Just a lil tip for the composting... I experiment once with just dumping all my kitchen scraps;: alloo/all peels, carrot shaving, cabbage bits, etc... And then I make some coconut oil, and dump the gratings in it... Kill the compost one time, was never useable. Don't know if it was the residue oil or what.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 20th, 2021, 4:51 am

I tried it with aloo an sweet potato an after 5 months got aloo grown in TT. Got abt 2 lbs from 1 bucket. I go try the cucumber but anywhere open to get seeds or plants? Also looking for carralie seeds/ plants.