Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Jerry84

Re: Lockdown Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Postby Jerry84 » August 28th, 2021, 7:21 pm

timelapse wrote:
Jerry84 wrote:So I'm thinking about planting a lot of land next door to me. My idea is to do about 10 "banks" 10 ft long by 2ft wide for small seasonings and herbs. I will do regular banks for bigger crops which require more space in between.

My major hurdle is time to irrigate daily as I have a full time job, so I want to run some pvc pipes on the banks with holes drilled into them on either side which would water the crops daily, maybe twice, who knows. Now to achieve this I would need a pump. A cost effective bare pump I saw in the hardware was a Leo 1/2hp. It has a 1"or 1.25" bore(not too sure) which would be reduced to 3/4" and then further reduced to 1/2" on the bed. This pump would be controlled by an electrical timer accordingly.

My concern is would this 1/2 hp pump be sufficient to irrigate the crops. Mind you I don't need the effect of the irrigation hoses where the water sprays up in the air a bit.

What are your thoughts, concerns, opinions.
Thanks in advance

Make some drip pipes with pvc, connect them together from a main pvc, then connect to a hose fitting.
You can connect it to your existing water system in your house via water hose
Thanks for the advice bro

Jerry84

Postby Jerry84 » August 28th, 2021, 7:30 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:using a water pump and holes in pvc means you would end up with water shooting at high pressure into the soil, digging holes, damaging roots etc

you need drip emitters that will control the flow of the water

google 1gph or .5 gph drip emitters

plant doctors has one for sale that threads into 5/32 hole in pvc pipe
Appreciate the advice bro. Much gratitude.

I'm just thinking that even if I drill holes with a bit that's 1/32.. on either side of the pvc approximately 6 inches apart would they still dig into the soil?
Also with about 8-10 beds.. And pvc running to each one.. Won't the pressure die down? Was planning to put a ball valve on each bed to regulate the pressure. Also would have put a return to the tote so excess "pressure" would "bleed off. "

Now you may ask why go through all this.. Basically I have no time Monday to Friday as I'm occupied with my full time job. With all this rain it has become a bit burdensome for me to maintain the lot. So I just thought that if I occupy it by planting some produce for home, the grass will automatically be kept low by me maintaining the crops.

Postby timelapse » September 1st, 2021, 2:41 pm

Jerry84 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:using a water pump and holes in pvc means you would end up with water shooting at high pressure into the soil, digging holes, damaging roots etc

you need drip emitters that will control the flow of the water

google 1gph or .5 gph drip emitters

plant doctors has one for sale that threads into 5/32 hole in pvc pipe
Appreciate the advice bro. Much gratitude.

I'm just thinking that even if I drill holes with a bit that's 1/32.. on either side of the pvc approximately 6 inches apart would they still dig into the soil?
Also with about 8-10 beds.. And pvc running to each one.. Won't the pressure die down? Was planning to put a ball valve on each bed to regulate the pressure. Also would have put a return to the tote so excess "pressure" would "bleed off. "

Now you may ask why go through all this.. Basically I have no time Monday to Friday as I'm occupied with my full time job. With all this rain it has become a bit burdensome for me to maintain the lot. So I just thought that if I occupy it by planting some produce for home, the grass will automatically be kept low by me maintaining the crops.
Stick matchsticks in the holes in the pvc

Postby Chimera » September 2nd, 2021, 10:28 am

you can use the ball valves to limit the pressure yes

you have to limit the pressure to a trickle

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » October 14th, 2021, 7:25 pm

carluva wrote:Compost heap update.

Day 45: Sunday July 4, 2021.

The heap is coming along beautifully.

Lost of heat inside. Wonderful smell. Dark rich colour. Lots of baby earthworms. Nice and moist. I'm happy about this first pile and kitchen scraps are added about 4 times a week and start to break down very quickly.
IMG_20210704_175759284.jpeg
IMG_20210704_175635101.jpeg
IMG_20210704_175829814.jpeg
IMG_20210704_175834282.jpeg

Looking good man. Had to go back to page 8 to find this oui. You used any yet or you still have the heap going adding stuff? I didn't have any earthworms sadly, just a snake, a spider and a few centipedes lol

I got this heap going after this thread for a next cherry tomato run. Filtered it through some mesh wire today and got 2 big buckets worth. Gona add some stuff to that and let it cure a bit while the tomato seedlings get a lil more hardy.

All I had was a potato to take the pic. Will see if I can get a decent pic of the filtered set 2mrw.
compost.jpg

carluva

Postby carluva » October 15th, 2021, 7:26 pm

Yes most of it was used. I tried to compost some old mint and it grew so we have that.

I had to start over. Was doing some cesspit work and the spoils were dumped close by. So I could not compost. I started back and have a lil heap going. Will keep it up this time.

DemiCelph

Postby DemiCelph » February 20th, 2024, 6:16 am

The other gardening thread is from 2015, so I thought maybe we could revive this one. I think others are still interested in gardening.

I love growing cherry tomatoes. There's something incredibly satisfying about plucking ripe, juicy tomatoes straight from the vine and popping them into your mouth.
I've also been growing basil, which is perfect for making homemade pesto or adding to pasta dishes. There's nothing quite like the smell of fresh basil wafting through the kitchen.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 20th, 2024, 3:47 pm

Imported bell peppers are $35-40 a lb, so I hatched some seeds and have some small plants about 12” tall now. The only thing I bought was some soil to plant in upcycled plant pots. Hopefully I can get a nice personal crop from them.

Postby pugboy » February 20th, 2024, 3:52 pm

don’t expect too much
they are usually hybrid plants
ie the child seeds may not come out like the parent fruit

VexXx Dogg wrote:Imported bell peppers are $35-40 a lb, so I hatched some seeds and have some small plants about 12” tall now. The only thing I bought was some soil to plant in upcycled plant pots. Hopefully I can get a nice personal crop from them.

Postby maj. tom » February 20th, 2024, 4:35 pm

I see some purple ones last weekend

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 20th, 2024, 5:39 pm

pugboy wrote:don’t expect too much

VexXx Dogg wrote:Imported bell peppers are $35-40 a lb, so I hatched some seeds and have some small plants about 12” tall now. The only thing I bought was some soil to plant in upcycled plant pots. Hopefully I can get a nice personal crop from them.

I’m only about $100 dollars in. Anything more than 5 peppers is “profit” in terms of reaping

Postby Chimera » February 20th, 2024, 6:50 pm

pugboy wrote:don’t expect too much

i have a padna who child doh resemble him at all
u feel his wife is a hybrid?

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » February 21st, 2024, 11:52 am

I've cultivated a diverse collection of roses, sunflowers, and lavender. Their blooms attract bees and butterflies, contributing to the health and vitality of my garden ecosystem. Each flower brings its own unique charm and color palette.
In a corner of my garden, I've set a small vegetable patch where I grow juicy tomatoes, crisp cucumbers, and crunchy bell peppers. Harvesting these homegrown vegetables fills me with a sense of pride and satisfaction.
With spring on the horizon, I've been considering updating my old outdoor wood furniture. I've been thinking about investing in this rattan corner sofa dining set. I've had my eye on it for a while, and it looks like the perfect combination of style and comfort for enjoying those warm spring days ahead. If anyone had any experience with this kind of material, I'd love to hear your opinions.
Overall, my garden is a peaceful retreat where I can connect with the rhythms of the natural world. I love spending my free time there.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 25th, 2024, 10:09 pm

Hydroponic people, I want to try on my own.
Can I use seedlings bought at the plant shop?
If I can, do I use it with the soil or wash it off to bare roots?
I've seen the clay pebbles being used but I cant imagine a seedling being properly supported by those. Can I use cocopeat?

Postby Chimera » February 25th, 2024, 11:10 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Hydroponic people, I want to try on my own.
I've seen the clay pebbles being used but I cant imagine a seedling being properly supported by those. Can I use cocopeat?

yes same seedlings from plant shop

yes you can use clay pebbles in a net pot

yes you can use coco peat in a net pot

you can leave it in the soil and just put a strainer or netting at the reservoir return to catch the soil particles before it ends up in the reservoir

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2024, 7:02 am

i gave cocopeat drip hydroponic setup
you put the seedlings straight in

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 26th, 2024, 9:29 am

got a batch of super sweet and juicy tangerine/Portugals and Ortinique oranges in the market a couple weeks ago. Kept seeds, gonna see if they will sprout. If they remain true to the seed, they should be fantastic fruits when mature.

Pepper plants about 15" tall now, coming along nice on straight Thompsons soil.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 26th, 2024, 9:39 pm

Chimera wrote:

you can leave it in the soil and just put a strainer or netting at the reservoir return to catch the soil particles before it ends up in the reservoir

Thanks.

Postby Chimera » February 27th, 2024, 6:07 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
Chimera wrote:

Thanks.

youtube would tell you everything you need to know

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XD7QvXRNZSk

check abugreens on facebook for the cheapest hydroponic stuff you could find these days

qpsl also having regular sales on hydro stuff

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 7th, 2024, 12:43 pm

aphids on the growing pepper plants. They're about 18" tall now. Some leaf curl too.

soil is a mixture of agro shop generic soil and Thompsons. Watered daily, well drained.

Any tips?

Postby Chimera » March 7th, 2024, 12:51 pm

Bemisan or Caprid or Regent or any Neemicide

or if u wanna go natural, blend some garlic and strain the liquid into a spray bottle and add a little bit of cooking oil and spray the plants in the evening or night

Postby 88sins » March 7th, 2024, 1:56 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:aphids on the growing pepper plants. They're about 18" tall now. Some leaf curl too.

soil is a mixture of agro shop generic soil and Thompsons. Watered daily, well drained.

Any tips?

Crush/blend/liquefy garlic, add diahwashing liquid, a pinch of sevin powder, and water.
Spray and watch white aphids turn brown.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 7th, 2024, 3:55 pm

Scn I’ll try the garlic hack tnx

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 11th, 2024, 6:07 pm

Tried it.
Will repeat and see how the plants look weekend. See ants on them today bwdmc

Re: Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Postby Chimera » March 11th, 2024, 8:11 pm

Sevin powder around plant for the ants

Postby 88sins » March 11th, 2024, 8:57 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Tried it.
Will repeat and see how the plants look weekend. See ants on them today bwdmc

Yeah, it will kill the aphids, but not the ants.
Ants and bachac tougher than some ppl might think