WhatsApp Image 2021-07-24 at 9.40.26 PM.jpeg

Re: Lockdown Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Postby Chimera » July 28th, 2021, 11:34 pm

ive started to walk the whole 3 acres every night 2 or 3 times a night

every rounds i picking up 2-3 full buckets of snails

spraying thiovin every other night as well

i dont think i can realistically stop it because the neighbours simply not doing their part and there are acres and acres around of land that arent maintained.

Postby De Dragon » July 28th, 2021, 11:43 pm

Broccoli, Red Cabbage and cauliflower

Broccoli.JPG
Broccoli.JPG (44.66 KiB) Viewed 2219 times
Cabbage.JPG
Cabbage.JPG (49.88 KiB) Viewed 2219 times
Cauliflower.JPG
Cauliflower.JPG (31.93 KiB) Viewed 2219 times

Postby MG Man » July 29th, 2021, 8:29 am

nice
I bought one of those rotoplastics 'self watering' grow box to put in my front porch, to plant some lettuce and cabbage
The whole porch screened off so I not too worried about pests and having to spray

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2021, 8:36 am

tomatoes plump

them sweet peppers come out long, where you got the seedling from ?

Postby MG Man » July 29th, 2021, 8:39 am

pugboy wrote:tomatoes plump

Wife bought them somewhere in Chase Village. I think the plant shop just north of Chandernagore Road junction, on the right side

Postby timelapse » July 29th, 2021, 11:01 am

pugboy wrote:tomatoes plump

Wife bought them somewhere in Chase Village. I think the plant shop just north of Chandernagore Road junction, on the right side
Theres a Guyanese lady in Brad Park also eh bro.She usually has really good stuff

Postby MG Man » July 29th, 2021, 11:29 am

no idea where Brad Park is

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 29th, 2021, 12:18 pm

Nice looking stuff there MG and Dragon. Keep growing ya thing home yes.

People who was looking to save a lil dollar going to the wholesale market now have to pay a $20 entry fee :|
Macoya market btw

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2021, 12:20 pm

yeah that entrance fee nonsense started with lockdown

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 29th, 2021, 12:24 pm

Never paid that until today, used to enter like normal before even during lockdown. No one seemed to know the reason for it either.

Postby MG Man » July 29th, 2021, 12:36 pm

fun fact, if you paying to use the chaguanas market car park, ALWAYS insist on your chit from the register, otherwise that dutty old tantie pockets all the money
One day she pointed to the sign and said I didn't ask for a receipt BEFORE paying, so she can't give me one
I say nah, you didn't put the money in the register so when you do, I will get my receipt
I switch off the car and watch her hard until she conceded while cussing under her breath
$6 is small ting, but that's revenue she is stealing from taxpayers, that could go to the borough
Imagine pocketing $6 x 200 every day

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2021, 3:21 pm

car park attendant is one of the oldest racket it have out there

Postby Chimera » July 29th, 2021, 3:32 pm

Soul Collector wrote:Nice looking stuff there MG and Dragon. Keep growing ya thing home yes.

People who was looking to save a lil dollar going to the wholesale market now have to pay a $20 entry fee :|
Macoya market btw

that does two things

avoids people cluttering up the market who just want to come and buy one or two things

and they use the extra money for the extra sanitation they have to do

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2021, 3:38 pm

went south today, tomato prices around 2-3lb / $20

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2021, 10:04 pm

Why do you spray thiovin so often?
I have some minor slug problems coming from neighbour

Phone Surgeon wrote:ive started to walk the whole 3 acres every night 2 or 3 times a night

every rounds i picking up 2-3 full buckets of snails

spraying thiovin every other night as well

i dont think i can realistically stop it because the neighbours simply not doing their part and there are acres and acres around of land that arent maintained.

Postby Chimera » July 29th, 2021, 10:06 pm

thiovin is to kill the small snails

its thousands upon thousands of small african snails that i realistically cant pick up

the thiovin kills them

Postby pugboy » July 29th, 2021, 10:19 pm

It washes away and requires respraying ?
I see in a uwi paper they say farmers make a bait concoction with it, using cabbage and any nice stuff it like to eat

Postby Chimera » July 30th, 2021, 6:10 am

pugboy wrote:It washes away and requires respraying ?
I see in a uwi paper they say farmers make a bait concoction with it, using cabbage and any nice stuff it like to eat

i dont even know if it stays on the ground and kills snails when they pass through it
but with all the heavy rain i doubt that have any long lasting effect

and its new snails crawling across to my land every single day, you would be shocked at how much i picking up at the fence line and along the road coming from the neighbours

i have alot of crops recently planted so i trying to control them as much as i could

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2021, 8:03 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
pugboy wrote:It washes away and requires respraying ?

i dont even know if it stays on the ground and kills snails when they pass through it
but with all the heavy rain i doubt that have any long lasting effect

and its new snails crawling across to my land every single day, you would be shocked at how much i picking up at the fence line and along the road coming from the neighbours

i have alot of crops recently planted so i trying to control them as much as i could

yup, you creating an island surrounded by a sea of snails. I have the same problem. Most you can do is keep checking every night but it becomes a tedious ritual

Drea

Postby Drea » July 30th, 2021, 8:23 am

Yesterday I had my first encounter with one of the GAS, it was a small one though. But I figure if there's a young one it had to come from somewhere. We checked but didn't see any others and we don't have plants/crops around. Really baffled as it was just attached to the side of a barrel. Definitely keeping an eye out as my neighbours on 2 sides have quite a few potted plants around their yards.

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2021, 8:44 am

Drea wrote:Yesterday I had my first encounter with one of the GAS, it was a small one though. But I figure if there's a young one it had to come from somewhere. We checked but didn't see any others and we don't have plants/crops around. Really baffled as it was just attached to the side of a barrel. Definitely keeping an eye out as my neighbours on 2 sides have quite a few potted plants around their yards.

you see on and think, well hmm, that's odd, and then suddenly, BAM, they all over the damn place. Best thing is start sprinkling the bait / poison one time, becuase if you see one, you can be damn sure they already invaded

Postby pugboy » July 30th, 2021, 9:01 am

i hear the bait washes out in rain and not cheap wonder if it is effective in those plastic covered rat bait boxes

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2021, 9:04 am

pugboy wrote:i hear the bait washes out in rain and not cheap wonder if it is effective in those plastic covered rat bait boxes

it takes more than one shower to wash it out though. My first set lasted a good week. And it's like 15 pellets per sq ft so not overly expensive if used sparingly, especially around perimeters
Once I got my whole yard rid of the initial swarm, I just use it along the base of the walls and where my yard drains pass under the walls...so basically the property access points

Postby timelapse » July 30th, 2021, 9:47 am

If the area is fenced around, borrow a couple of ducks or geese.My dad's geese does giddem fyahs

Postby Chimera » July 30th, 2021, 10:35 am

they does move with vehicles and garbage to you know

they does be all in your wheel well and then drop off random places

check your outside garbage bin, you will always find them.

surprised to hear that ducks/geese eating them, will look into that

Postby Chimera » July 30th, 2021, 10:41 am

interesting info here

https://permies.com/t/28461/African-Lan ... ol-tropics

seems like ducks will firetruck em up

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2021, 10:50 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:they does move with vehicles and garbage to you know

they does be all in your wheel well and then drop off random places

check your outside garbage bin, you will always find them.

surprised to hear that ducks/geese eating them, will look into that

I'm the only ass in my street who will take a walk and pick up as many as I can find. The other nitwits will drive over them -__-
I've resigned my self to jut building a snail bait fortress around my property and taking 10:00 pm walks with a flashlight

Postby Chimera » July 30th, 2021, 12:50 pm

i does walk the road outside my fence (900 feet)
does get a good half bucket or more there

i gonna try 2 things over the weekend

a towel soaked with beer and old cabbage/lettuce/cherry etc
probably some bait in the middle of it

and i have some old 4 inch pvc pipe

will put some pieces of pumpkin and bait inside them and leave them different spots

Postby Chimera » July 31st, 2021, 8:37 am

Snail trap wukking
Screenshot_20210731-083557_WhatsAppBusiness.jpg