Re: Lockdown Home Garden thread. Post your homegrown plants here

Postby timelapse » May 24th, 2021, 4:35 pm

Noted.I won't collect dried grass in Rover dem area
Soul Collector wrote:
timelapse wrote:What about dog sheit?

I'd advise against that. You can compost it if you like, but you have to be extremely thorough in how you do it. There's parasites harmful to humans in there that won't break down unless a certain temperature is maintained consistently over the course of at least 5 days inside the pile.

Postby timelapse » May 25th, 2021, 4:59 pm

Portable scrog net.Took less than half hour to make
IMG-20210524-WA0012.jpeg
IMG-20210524-WA0011.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » May 25th, 2021, 7:48 pm

U in central bro? It'd be nice to get a free seeds to plant.

I started some last year. They got to about 4inches tall and then a hard breeze during a rain blow them down in water. They died after that.

Postby timelapse » May 25th, 2021, 8:43 pm

All mine is feminized seeds i bought from a guy.I trying to clone them.If that works well, not a prob to share
carluva wrote:U in central bro? It'd be nice to get a free seeds to plant.

I started some last year. They got to about 4inches tall and then a hard breeze during a rain blow them down in water. They died after that.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 27th, 2021, 6:28 pm

Compost Heap update.

Day 7: May 27 2021

I'm seeing some signs of decay. Kitchen scraps continuously added every other day. It's covered with a plastic bag and in a sunny area.

I found that the smell is quite earthy after mixing it up. Seems like that is a good sign as it is not smelling off.
IMG_20210527_180050780.jpeg
IMG_20210527_180057434.jpeg

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 27th, 2021, 7:31 pm

^^ Niceness bro. That earthy smell you mentioned will intensify a bit and smells so damn good once its finished breaking down. That rich earthy smell is also an indicator that the heap is ready to be used.

One thing I forgot to mention as I'm looking at the pics, is to cover any green layer with a brown layer. Especially a bunch of kitchen scraps. It's better to keep those scraps near the middle of the heap and not overly spread out to avoid drying out quickly. Think of it as a ball of heat you trying to create in the middle of the heap with the greens as the fuel.

Now I never kept adding scraps as often as you're saying but instead saved up batches to drop a nice amount of green material in there to make it worth going into the heap to turn. A tip is freezing your vege scraps etc so no need to rush to add them or to waste them. Nothing's wrong with doing what you're doing currently and the more you turn the heap, the faster the composting process will take place as you introduce more oxygen inside.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 27th, 2021, 9:40 pm

I actually do cover the greens. The pic was taken just after i threw the scraps on the heap. I had broken down the heap and was mixing it up after the pic were taken. It's now mounded back up and covered again. I'll try to create that ball of green in the middle next time.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 28th, 2021, 12:20 pm

^ Gotcha man. Good progress so far.

Postby timelapse » May 29th, 2021, 9:01 am

Now the boring part.Waiting for stuff to grow.
Snapdragons and poppies for the animals
Image%20(23).jpeg
Image%20(22).jpeg

Postby Chimera » May 30th, 2021, 9:43 am

Pumpkin iymc.

I wacker down the field yesterday completely . Had a dred African snail invasion. Gonna burn and hopefully organise to plant back on Thursday.

20210530_065857.jpeg
20210530_065909.jpeg

Postby meccalli » May 30th, 2021, 9:56 am

Oooh, Crappo back lol. I haven't seen that in so long.

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2021, 10:07 am

where and how u selling that pumpkin

Postby sMASH » May 30th, 2021, 10:10 am

carluva wrote:Compost Heap update.

Day 7: May 27 2021

I'm seeing some signs of decay. Kitchen scraps continuously added every other day. It's covered with a plastic bag and in a sunny area.

I found that the smell is quite earthy after mixing it up. Seems like that is a good sign as it is not smelling off.
IMG_20210527_180057434.jpeg
IMG_20210527_180050780.jpeg
Sunny area is really for cold countries to keep the microbes active.
Our area direct sun could dry it out too much.

I bar up a 4x4 with galvanize under a small fig patch and with tree shade. and like every two weeks had to add back material, fuss it decaying and compacting.

I dint cover mines, and added some water cause the top looked dry to me. Temps here seem to be good enough.
Will try covering to keep the moisture next time.

Postby Chimera » May 30th, 2021, 10:32 am

I eh selling. If yuh want 1 or 2 and yuh passing Freeport to collect it den msg me.
Offer available for anyone here.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 30th, 2021, 11:11 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Pumpkin iymc.

Ah boi, nice haul there! Sorry I eh living a lil closer, woulda take you up on the offer.

Postby bluefete » May 30th, 2021, 11:34 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Pumpkin iymc.

I wacker down the field yesterday completely . Had a dred African snail invasion. Gonna burn and hopefully organise to plant back on Thursday.

How do you deal with that snail invasion. I have the same problem. Salt works but I can't be around all the time.

Postby Chimera » May 30th, 2021, 12:29 pm

For the snail dem

Postby Chimera » May 30th, 2021, 12:33 pm

Pellets
I only discover the snail scene recently. Was wondering wtf eating pumpkin and whole tomato plants.

I does walk around in the night with torchlight and a bucket as well.

Salt water in yuh muddac**t and then burn the bodies.
20210530_123019.jpeg

Postby Chimera » May 30th, 2021, 12:34 pm

BTW that pumpkin is from no maintenance eh. Like I hit it some liquid litter and Xtra power once when it start to vine and never do anything after.

Postby sMASH » May 30th, 2021, 1:07 pm

some on the fb got this salt chemical thing from the agro shop, specifically for nail. sprinkled it around one night and next day was collecting dead snail like easter eggs.
will find out the name,
tropigo snail and slug bait. active ingredient is metaldehyde 6%

carluva

Postby carluva » May 30th, 2021, 2:43 pm

Will message you on Tuesday to come collect a pumpkin. I want a crapaud back.
Phone Surgeon wrote:I eh selling. If yuh want 1 or 2 and yuh passing Freeport to collect it den msg me.

Postby Chimera » May 30th, 2021, 3:24 pm

No scene . Whatsapp me on 360 3996
carluva wrote:Will message you on Tuesday to come collect a pumpkin. I want a crapaud back.
Phone Surgeon wrote:I eh selling. If yuh want 1 or 2 and yuh passing Freeport to collect it den msg me.

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2021, 3:40 pm

spray down my lime trees with fasttac today
getting the stupid white mealy crap
will prob have to do again in a few days as not as effective as systemic chemicals but i going cheap

put some high green fertilizer on tomato seedlings i potted, they started to take off this week.

Postby Chimera » May 30th, 2021, 4:13 pm

Soap water does firetruck up them mealy bugs u know.

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2021, 4:45 pm

I tried it with some soap powder but it didn’t work.
How soapy the water has to be?

Phone Surgeon wrote:Soap water does firetruck up them mealy bugs u know.

Postby Chimera » May 30th, 2021, 5:03 pm

Mealy
Screenshot_20210530-170251_Chrome.jpeg
Screenshot_20210530-170216_Chrome.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » May 30th, 2021, 5:13 pm

Rogor blue works well. Just double check with the agro store folks. The fastac will work. For a bad infestation, you will have to reapply in about one or two weeks.

It's very noxious. Like really horrible. So do on a still day with no wind or late in the evening. Wear proper protection and definitely eye wear and some sort of face mask.

I've also found that spraying in the evening is best. Less wind, minimal evaporation and maximum dwell time (for maximum kill). I always spray pesticides on plants in the evening, like after 6 or so.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 30th, 2021, 5:16 pm

And get one of these. Makes spraying easier with a hose. There is a dial which makes for proper batching per gallon of water sprayed. Add the concentrated liquid in the bottle, set your dose and spray. Easy peasy with a hose compared to any other pump up sprayer.
Screenshot_20210530-171532.jpeg

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 30th, 2021, 7:40 pm

pugboy wrote:I tried it with some soap powder but it didn’t work.
How soapy the water has to be?

Phone Surgeon wrote:Soap water does firetruck up them mealy bugs u know.

You have to reapply at least once a week until it's gone. A tbsp of rubbing alcohol per gallon in the mix also helps. Worked for me on citrus and guava.

Postby pugboy » May 30th, 2021, 9:37 pm

I got a plastic 1 gal spray can from motees in grande
italian made, real powerful.

the pump plunger piston part is real big, like twice what other sprayers use