MikeyRTT wrote:Dear Fellow Enthusiasts,
I'm looking to switch careers, and considering Accounting as my primary alternative.
Are there any Accountants in this forum who can share their experiences about the following?
1) What kind of tasks do Accountants perform on a daily basis? Depends on where they are working and what's required. Prepare taxes, payroll, evaluation of data on revenue and expenditures, some aspects of hr, bank reconciliations, etc. When it comes to the tasks they do it's quite varied
2) What courses would you recommend for someone starting from scratch and want to know all the basics from ground, i.e. how can I gain practical experience on the tactical side of accounting?ACCA offers a good program, widely available in various schools locally.
3) What are the best books/reading materials?the school will tell you this, acca produces their own books and practice kits, but they change up some things in them from year to year, so you will need to get the most current years text for the paper you are doing.
4) What kind of software do Accountants use? Peachtree and Quickbooks are commonly used
5) Are there global or local standards that guide the work Accountants do? Yes, most follow the ifrs standards.
6) Is the Accounting market saturated? Overly and exceedingly so.
7) Is there a local or global database of best practices and lessons learnt to help guide Accountants? Not to my knowledgeAre there local and international regulations for Accounting practice? Yes. Hundreds. And more are added and change from one year to the next.
9) Do companies in Trinidad offer internships/co-ops (even without pay) for new starters? Not really. Some will hire a beginner but they may only allow them to perform data collection or input with no analytic functions that may require more experienced and qualified people. But I don't recommend this for a beginner.
10) Are there legacies within Trinidad that the Accounting community consider as the "Best Accountants"? No. Globally, as far as the description of"the best accountants" goes, this doesn't exist in Trinidad. The ones that are considered the best in the field are generally speaking the people that develop and set industry standards and protocols, and all local accountants have to follow these standards to remain qualified and licensed to work in Trinidad.
I'm looking to switch careers, and considering Accounting as my primary alternative.
Are there any Accountants in this forum who can share their experiences about the following?
1) What kind of tasks do Accountants perform on a daily basis?
2) What courses would you recommend for someone starting from scratch and want to know all the basics from ground, i.e. how can I gain practical experience on the tactical side of accounting?
3) What are the best books/reading materials?
4) What kind of software do Accountants use?
5) Are there global or local standards that guide the work Accountants do?
6) Is the Accounting market saturated?
7) Is there a local or global database of best practices and lessons learnt to help guide Accountants?Are there local and international regulations for Accounting practice?
9) Do companies in Trinidad offer internships/co-ops (even without pay) for new starters?
10) Are there legacies within Trinidad that the Accounting community consider as the "Best Accountants"?
2) What courses would you recommend for someone starting from scratch and want to know all the basics from ground, i.e. how can I gain practical experience on the tactical side of accounting?
7) Is there a local or global database of best practices and lessons learnt to help guide Accountants?Are there local and international regulations for Accounting practice?
9) Do companies in Trinidad offer internships/co-ops (even without pay) for new starters?
10) Are there legacies within Trinidad that the Accounting community consider as the "Best Accountants"?
viedcht wrote:^I have a good idea of what my relative went thru to get where he is. It eh no easy feat. Imagine to do higher level accounting/finance/Econ, Yuh need add maths. I laff at that til he show me in-depth work. I use to snub all business studies as just being cost-sales-profit... not again.
timelapse wrote:Most accountants and auditors I have met can't live without Excel.My 2¢
daron wrote:out of curiosity what is your present job?MikeyRTT wrote:Dear Fellow Enthusiasts,
ruffneck_12 wrote:I hear Rowley mother count HAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAA
ALLYUH GET THE JOKE?
I WAS REFERRING TO THAT SONG MASSIVE GOSINE MADE WHERE HE MADE A SEXUAL INNUENDO HAHA GOOD TIMES GOOD TIMES, SO THE JOKE IS THAT, BUT ALSO ME OVER EXPLAINING THE JOKE IS THE SECOND PART OF IT SO THERE IS LEVELS TO THIS JOKE HAHAAAA
FrankChag wrote:Oh, and
7. Maths, lots of Maths/Statistics, especially if you're working in the CFO's office, and you're doing budgetary modelling, etc.
bluefete wrote:FrankChag wrote:Oh, and
7. Maths, lots of Maths/Statistics, especially if you're working in the CFO's office, and you're doing budgetary modelling, etc.
First time people see Black-Scholes Model for stock options valuation = very glassy eyes.