Which EQ did you use in the 70s or early 80s?

mikehende

Which EQ did you use in the 70s or early 80s?

Postby mikehende » June 3rd, 2021, 2:23 pm

Ok guys, I am completing my 70s/80s system and now have only the EQ to track down. Can you guys tell me which brands you had used back then please? I don't expect anyone to remember the Model numbers so just the brands will do for me to research, thx.

Re: Which EQ did you use in the 70s or early 80s?

Postby eliteauto » June 3rd, 2021, 2:28 pm

ADC Sound Shaper One, still own two now

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2021, 2:33 pm

commander?
clarion?

Postby Dave » June 3rd, 2021, 2:34 pm

Sound barrier and pyramid.
Some realistic and Unisound as well.

abbow

Postby abbow » June 3rd, 2021, 2:49 pm

Rondo 7 band eq - Model AE-207

Postby SR » June 3rd, 2021, 3:06 pm

Home audio
ADC
Pioneer
Soundcraftsman

Car audio
Sound barrier commander II III V
Signal
Clarion
JSE jet sound electronics
Alpine
Pioneer

Postby Rovin » June 3rd, 2021, 4:27 pm

still have Sound Shaper Two that my older brother bought when it was new ....

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2021, 4:30 pm

and eq in a V knob shape

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 3rd, 2021, 6:58 pm

abbow wrote:Rondo 7 band eq - Model AE-207

Screenshot 2021-06-03 at 6.58.07 PM.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 3rd, 2021, 7:02 pm

Had a Pyramid 808 in the 90's and then upgraded to a 718 in the early 2000's

Postby Gladiator » June 3rd, 2021, 8:55 pm

Allyuh fellas real old boy.... I was still breastfeeding back then :)

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2021, 8:57 pm

“graphic “ was a real high tech term back then
who have a clock face still?

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 4th, 2021, 1:17 pm

Thanks guys, I found this list here few minutes ago:

https://www.pinterest.com/alaingroeme/v ... equalizer/

Will need to check with my bud to find out which he had back around 1980.

abbow

Postby abbow » June 4th, 2021, 2:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Had a Pyramid 808 in the 90's and then upgraded to a 718 in the early 2000's

Had both yellow and red button ones...Yellow(Volume), Red (Echo)
Also a 7 band spectrum analyzer pre-amp sometime then as well.

The Rondo's were powerful little units....

abbow

Postby abbow » June 4th, 2021, 3:01 pm

pugboy wrote:“graphic “ was a real high tech term back then

Would love to get back one and a Commander EQ paired with 2 Sound Barrrier 8" or 10"

Postby gt4tified » June 4th, 2021, 4:50 pm

Pioneer
Fisher (Studio Standard)
ADC

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 8th, 2021, 2:34 pm

My bud said it was identical to this ADC but only difference is his had 2 VU Meters below. I am trying to find what he has but wondering if his was an ADC model?

ADC-IC.jpg

Postby eliteauto » June 8th, 2021, 2:49 pm

Based on your pic he probably had an ADC Sound Shaper Two/ Two Ten.

There was also a Sound Shaper Two Mk II but that replaced the UV meters with spectrum analyzers
adc_sound_shaper_two_equalizer.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 8th, 2021, 3:01 pm

pugboy wrote:“graphic “ was a real high tech term back then

I wasn't even a thought :lol:

mragoobir

Postby mragoobir » June 9th, 2021, 1:37 am

Wen maxi had thing
Screenshot_20210606-012749_Photos.jpeg

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 9th, 2021, 7:13 am

mragoobir wrote:Wen maxi had thingScreenshot_20210606-012749_Photos.jpeg

Wow! This certainly brings back some memories. My uncle had that deck in his 2 door Escort back in the 70s. Thanks for posting!

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2021, 7:21 am

clockface came in 8track model too
doubt anybody will have that still though

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 9th, 2021, 7:24 am

Yes, my Uncle's unit was an 8 track, don't remember which one but there are different ones seen here:

https://www.google.com/search?q=pioneer ... 4&bih=1274

Postby pugboy » June 9th, 2021, 7:41 am

8track was notorious for tape busting inside

my dad used to do a lot of the tape repairing of those cartridges
splicing them back etc

mikehende wrote:Yes, my Uncle's unit was an 8 track,

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 9th, 2021, 7:43 am

Check my previous revised post for pics. Yeah, we used nail polish to repair tapes back then.

demented

Postby demented » June 9th, 2021, 9:58 am

abbow wrote:Rondo 7 band eq - Model AE-207

Screenshot 2021-06-03 at 6.58.07 PM.jpg

that is the thing self!

mikehende

Postby mikehende » June 10th, 2021, 7:14 am

eliteauto wrote:Based on your pic he probably had an ADC Sound Shaper Two/ Two Ten.

There was also a Sound Shaper Two Mk II but that replaced the UV meters with spectrum analyzers

Yes, this was it, thanks for the help and info!