Cruise Ship Travel

Premchand1976

Cruise / Trip ideas for family with kids

Postby Premchand1976 » July 24th, 2018, 6:25 pm

Recommendations for a 4-5 days cruise or a nice kids fun filled vacation package for family with kids ages 4&6......been to Disney and Sea world already......time fuh fresh ting .......thanks

Re: Cruise / Trip ideas for family with kids

Postby gastly369 » July 24th, 2018, 6:31 pm

Tobago... Cruise on the galleons passage

Should take 4-5 days
Fresh ting

rebound

Postby rebound » July 24th, 2018, 6:41 pm

gastly369 wrote:Tobago... Cruise on the galleons passage

Should take 4-5 days
Fresh ting

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » July 24th, 2018, 6:58 pm

gastly369 wrote:Tobago... Cruise on the galleons passage

Should take 4-5 days
Fresh ting
Bess response

Postby hydroep » July 24th, 2018, 7:00 pm

^^^ :rofl:...yuh make mih spit out meh food with that one.

But seriously OP, my sis and her family took Carnival's Western Caribbean Cruise a few years ago when the kids were teens and they enjoyed it tremendously. Lots of activities on board and food fuh so. They stopped off at Cozumel and Jamaica IIRC.

air wick

Postby air wick » July 24th, 2018, 7:43 pm

Check out Royal Caribbean or Carnival website lots of information.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 24th, 2018, 8:01 pm

I just came from my 4th cruise...I started with NCL, tried Carnival second time around and went back to NCL for 3rd and 4th because Carnival is nowhere close in terms of food and activities. NCL is a bit more expensive but worth it...things to look for with most cruise lines:

1: shore excursions are the money makers for the cruise line but if you have a good sense of direction you can save a lot.

2: cater at least $14usd per day for tips
3: prices on the cruise website does not include taxes
4: if you have more than 4-5 people in a room you will benefit from nice discounts...

if this is your first time I would recommend the bahamas cruise from Miami...there is a fun filled beach day known at a stop known as Great Stirrup Cay(owned by ncl) great for kids and well you stop off at nassau and grand bahama islands. Most time the ship would be Norweigan SKY...really nice boat but if you decide to take it up a notch and get the NCL JADE (it's a dream come true).

You have activities both on and off the boat, shows every night, shows for kids etc etc....and the list goes on..feel free to PM for more details...I just did a 10day Caribbean from Mia on the NCL JADE and it was worth every penny.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » July 24th, 2018, 8:12 pm

^^^^^^ check pm urgently.....lol

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 24th, 2018, 10:13 pm

Cruise ships are a waste of fuel.

Go Disney instead.

Teach them to save the environment.

Postby RedVEVO » July 25th, 2018, 12:51 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:Cruise ships are a waste of fuel.

Go Disney instead.

OP went Disney already Powder_neck .

OP for an adventure , go Cuba :D

Margarita in Vene is very safe .

$18 USD per night for an excellent hotel with breakfast .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 25th, 2018, 4:42 am

RedVEVO wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:Cruise ships are a waste of fuel.

Go Disney instead.

OP went Disney already Powder_neck .

OP for an adventure , go Cuba :D

Margarita in Vene is very safe .

$18 USD per night for an excellent hotel with breakfast .

there are actually cruises to Cuba(where the ship stays one night)

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 25th, 2018, 7:06 am

Congrats on contributing to the decline of the environment fellas :)

enjoy allyuh day fellas

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 25th, 2018, 8:02 am

Still worth every penny...no regrets at all

Postby RedVEVO » July 25th, 2018, 8:26 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Still worth every penny...no regrets at all

Yup .. Cruise trip to Cuba or Venezuela is inexpensive .

Postby goalpost » July 7th, 2019, 10:23 pm

Is Margarita still a safe place, looking to carry the family there for a short vacay in August.

francis1979

Cruise / Trip ideas for family with kids

Postby francis1979 » July 7th, 2019, 11:28 pm

Based on research
Margarita safe once you stick to hotel/ mall with hotel recommended transport.
There are some good hotels with good reviews on TripAdvisor

The problem I had with margarita was medical in case of an emergency
Last edited by francis1979 on July 7th, 2019, 11:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » July 7th, 2019, 11:35 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:Recommendations for a 4-5 days cruise or a nice kids fun filled vacation package for family with kids ages 4&6......been to Disney and Sea world already......time fuh fresh ting .......thanks

Why don’t you go to a high quality family all inclusive

Some of them have water parks, kids play area, nightly entertainment similar to a cruise

https://www.nickresortpuntacana.com
https://thegrand.moonpalace.com/en

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 8th, 2019, 5:10 am

goalpost wrote:Is Margarita still a safe place, looking to carry the family there for a short vacay in August.

is like leaving Trinidad to go see ah set ah trinis :? I wouldn't chance it though, given the current situation across there....plenty other all inclusive available

Postby De Dragon » July 8th, 2019, 5:14 am

Cruises are nice and have activities not only for families, but for children as well. Shows, karaoke, bingo are on every night. The food is plentiful, and available basically anytime. As someone said beware of the cruise line shore tours, as they tend to be pricier than organizing for yourself. Please pay attention to sailing times, as they will NOT wait on you!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 8th, 2019, 6:10 am

Only bad thing about cruising is ...there are lots of hidden costs...Make sure and read those fine prints...other than that, best way to vacation if you ask me...you have absolutely nothing to do...just relax and enjoy

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » July 8th, 2019, 10:43 am

shakes is right , just did a Disney cruise left Miami to Cozumel then to castaway keys . Excellent
Next year going on an Alaskan cruise.
As shakes said if you can put out the extra few dollars stay away from Carnival unless you going as a vip . There is Royal Caribbean, NCL, Disney etc
And cruises are not to bad in terms of price and the amount of activity you have available.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 8th, 2019, 11:58 am

hong kong phooey wrote:shakes is right , just did a Disney cruise left Miami to Cozumel then to castaway keys . Excellent
Next year going on an Alaskan cruise.
As shakes said if you can put out the extra few dollars stay away from Carnival unless you going as a vip . There is Royal Caribbean, NCL, Disney etc
And cruises are not to bad in terms of price and the amount of activity you have available.

I looking at Alaska next year too bai...but with NCL...prices hovering around $750-$800...link up???

Postby Gem_in_i » July 8th, 2019, 4:06 pm

I looking into taking a Cruise next year. But how do I even start to research. I am a bit overwhelmed by how much info there is.

How is a cruise for an old person with knee problems. Would it be to much walking to do on the ship?

Also, am hearing and reading alot about hidden cost.

How many can stay in a room? 4 max? The more the cheaper?

Why stay away from Carnival?

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » July 8th, 2019, 4:19 pm

Planning my trip next year good info for reference.

Postby MG Man » July 8th, 2019, 4:27 pm

tobago, Catamaran cruise
Picante is a nice option

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 8th, 2019, 4:28 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:I looking into taking a Cruise next year. But how do I even start to research. I am a bit overwhelmed by how much info there is.

How is a cruise for an old person with knee problems. Would it be to much walking to do on the ship?

Also, am hearing and reading alot about hidden cost.

How many can stay in a room? 4 max? The more the cheaper?

Why stay away from Carnival?

I'd start from the bottom...Carnival is what it is(a carnival, more suited for younger folks, food not so great and well no "class" per say...if you are in to that vibes...perfect for you..

Look at NCL, MSC or Royal Caribbean for that classy experience..if this is your first try a 4 day cruise...if you don't do well in tight spaces, don't book the inner rooms or the oceanview..Balcony and up will suit you( at a higher cost)...each room can hold up to 4 persons and its priced per person...rooms like the suites can hold more..

Hidden costs: in those fine prints you will see for each day you have to pay a $15usd tip(depending on cruise line, prices vary)...wifi costs a lot and it still sucks, excursions can be costly but nice...if you have a good sense of direction, you can see more for way less...

There are activities for all...and I mean all...Ships are usually big..but you can just choose a room closer to elevators...there are shows every night, casinos etc...You dont have to do a thing on the boat but relax..your cabins are cleaned three times daily and all the food you can eat...

Message me if you need more

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 8th, 2019, 4:33 pm

I forgot to mention...you can sail from any where in the world(just depends on your budget)...most common for first timers are from Miami...when you land at mia intl you can arrange to have the cruise line shuttle pick you up..it's around $16usd per person..I usually use the lyft...If you dont have a visa...london is also good....how many people you looking to cruise with? Where you wanna go? The bahamas cruise is really nice(did it twice)..my next cruise will be alaska but that has a lot of planning in it...Don't go to a travel agency, they will milk you..you can do it yourself

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 8th, 2019, 4:34 pm

NCL has a jinks package which a lotta people go for. So it tends to be less of a family oriented cruise line than others.

But its still a good product IMHO.

Postby Gem_in_i » July 8th, 2019, 5:22 pm

Good info shake d livin wake d dead.

Dont think Carnival will suit us. Will have older people. So far it might be 7-10 of us. My inlaws in their late 70’s

The tip per day is per person?

Do you have to book their excursions or can do your own thing?

All my travels I book myself so looking to do the same for the Cruise. Is there a particular time of the year tht is best?

We looking at doing a Bahamas Cruise.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 8th, 2019, 5:31 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:Good info shake d livin wake d dead.

Dont think Carnival will suit us. Will have older people. So far it might be 7-10 of us. My inlaws in their 70’s

The tip per day is per person?

Do you have to book their excursions or can do your own thing?

All my travels I book myself so looking to do the same for the Cruise. Is there a particular time of the year tht is best?

We looking at doing a Bahamas Cruise.

So the NCL is best suited for...they have a 5 day bahamas cruise, they stop at freeport grand bahama, atlantis and great stirrup cay ( your beach day and well this little island is owned by NCL)

your in laws will enjoy the shows in the theatre..You dont have to book their excursions, saves ah whole lot doing it yourself..the tips are per day, per person...most likely the ship will be the NCL sky...ship was decentish but nothing compared to the NCL JADE...You will see a price at around $420 being advertised for the entire cruise per person...but add at least $100usd more for taxes...

Best time to cruise to the is between Jan-May(prices are best around this time)...Note: the ship will rock a lot on the first night after leaving Mia..other than that...cool as ever