Re: The price of tomatoes

Postby eliteauto » July 15th, 2021, 4:26 pm

Arima Market was at $12-12.50 a lb Sunday last

Postby pugboy » July 15th, 2021, 4:49 pm

on trinifarmers fb, somebody said macoya wholesale this morning was 8,9,10

i feel the low prices wont last too long since we had plenty intermittent heavy rain for the last month.
these low prices are surely a glut from when plenty farmers planted during the high price time few months ago.

Postby teems1 » July 15th, 2021, 5:44 pm

I highly recommend watching Clarkson's Farm on Amazon.

You get a much better insight to how farmers operate.

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 15th, 2021, 6:17 pm

teems1 wrote:I highly recommend watching Clarkson's Farm on Amazon.

Very insightful indeed. I think the only way we can achieve those levels of production is if farmers stop fighting down each other and come together, perhaps as co-ops.

But this is Trinidad.

death365

Postby death365 » July 15th, 2021, 7:00 pm

What are u a commie !!!!
NR8 wrote:
teems1 wrote:I highly recommend watching Clarkson's Farm on Amazon.

Very insightful indeed. I think the only way we can achieve those levels of production is if farmers stop fighting down each other and come together, perhaps as co-ops.

But this is Trinidad.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 15th, 2021, 8:26 pm

eliteauto wrote:Arima Market was at $12-12.50 a lb Sunday last

Tomato was $9.00/lb in Low Cost supermarket today

16b7d5d8-0cfa-478a-8cff-761787a306eb.jpg

Postby eliteauto » July 15th, 2021, 8:27 pm

Nice! Can make some sauce and freeze this weekend, have some basil plants to prune

Postby pugboy » July 15th, 2021, 8:59 pm

i passing there tomorrow to get a 12lb more

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 15th, 2021, 9:07 pm

Where is that? Cunupia?

Postby pugboy » July 15th, 2021, 9:11 pm

one location is on smr south of church st
and other is on munroe rd east of the mosque and cricket grounds

NR8 wrote:Where is that? Cunupia?

Postby sMASH » July 15th, 2021, 9:19 pm

bought some $8/lb in debe today.

Postby pugboy » July 15th, 2021, 9:20 pm

Me too opp debe bbq

sMASH wrote:bought some $8/lb in debe today.

Postby MaxPower » July 15th, 2021, 9:27 pm

Prices nice

Postby X_Factor » July 15th, 2021, 9:29 pm

the main reason why tomato and other produce was high is that namdevco is buying out large amounts of crops directly from the farmer to supply the food bag initiative
That is basically, 1000s of lbs not entering the regular supply chains

Expect even higher prices from next week since the demand will be greater for the little supply now that restaurants and food places are re opening

I did 8 crates of chive, roughly 1000 holes
300 for seedlings, fertilizers 400, when it was ready to sell, chive was less than $1.00 wholesale for 1

Postby pugboy » July 15th, 2021, 10:03 pm

So what price namdevco was paying?

U couldn’t hold the chive until good price?

X_Factor wrote:the main reason why tomato and other produce was high is that namdevco is buying out large amounts of crops directly from the farmer to supply the food bag initiative

Expect even higher prices from next week since the demand will be greater for the little supply now that restaurants and food places are re opening

300 for seedlings, fertilizers 400, when it was ready to sell, chive was less than $1.00 wholesale for 1

Postby X_Factor » July 15th, 2021, 10:26 pm

pugboy wrote:So what price namdevco was paying?

U couldn’t hold the chive until good price?

X_Factor wrote:the main reason why tomato and other produce was high is that namdevco is buying out large amounts of crops directly from the farmer to supply the food bag initiative

A few weeks ago, the minister of agriculture was calling out some amts paid to farmers and he called 6 digit numbers a couple times so i can only imagine the price paid for items
I would love to see a breakdown but you know that may never reach the public domain

Postby Gladiator » July 15th, 2021, 10:31 pm

I doubt tomatoes was affected by this... they didn't put tomatoes in the food bags, at least to my knowledge. I feel it has more to do with the farmers planting the crops without planning causing a glut. I remember them geing interviewed on CNC3vand the farmers said they cant pay people to reap so they leaving it ont he vine to rot. A scarcity then followed because farmers planted other crops. When the price start to go back up the farmers started planting again...could be wrong though....?

Postby sMASH » July 15th, 2021, 11:53 pm

even if the good passing tru namdevo, it still have to end up by the people using it. so just as the supply got curtailed, the demand supposed to be curtailed too. over all prices for goods not too crazy.

but i hear a talk like the goods they accumulating not going to the people. i not sure for what purpose it would be for and how could someone benefit from it.

but govt did allocate 500m for this food drive, not so? and if so, each back is approx 200. and they gave out like 17m, they said the otherday.... there is quite a lot of mils left over

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 16th, 2021, 3:13 am

place in calcuta have 3lbs for $20 and another place close by have $6. only bhaigan holding price from 4lbs for $20 to $9 a lb in calcuta.
one thing i notice is the foreign tomatoes eaten raw does not trigger my acid reflux like how the local grown variety does. i can only cook that local variety. probably the foreign is a better tomato.

Postby De Dragon » July 16th, 2021, 5:11 am

daring dragoon wrote:place in calcuta have 3lbs for $20 and another place close by have $6. only bhaigan holding price from 4lbs for $20 to $9 a lb in calcuta.
one thing i notice is the foreign tomatoes eaten raw does not trigger my acid reflux like how the local grown variety does. i can only cook that local variety. probably the foreign is a better tomato.

Where exactly?

Postby pugboy » July 16th, 2021, 7:06 am

off the couva highway exit, the place near double r normally have good prices

Postby De Dragon » July 16th, 2021, 7:50 am

pugboy wrote:off the couva highway exit, the place near double r normally have good prices

Thanks

Postby timelapse » July 16th, 2021, 8:23 am

I have a bread bag of frozen cherry peppers that were planted when this thread began.I gave away another bag the same size

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 16th, 2021, 8:27 am

daring dragoon wrote:place in calcuta have 3lbs for $20 and another place close by have $6. only bhaigan holding price from 4lbs for $20 to $9 a lb in calcuta.

Where exactly?

i think its calcuta #2. left turn before you reach st marys junction. big vegetable stall with parking to the back. you would pass 2 chicken shop by a 'S' bend and the place just after.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 16th, 2021, 8:28 am

timelapse wrote:I have a bread bag of frozen cherry peppers that were planted when this thread began.I gave away another bag the same size

where you get the plants ?

Postby timelapse » July 16th, 2021, 8:36 am

daring dragoon wrote:
timelapse wrote:I have a bread bag of frozen cherry peppers that were planted when this thread began.I gave away another bag the same size

where you get the plants ?
Grew from pieces that I took from by my mom

Postby Chimera » July 16th, 2021, 9:49 am

Moms plant seeds from a tomato she buy ...she get about 30 trees . Nice produce.

Them mc African snail is real pressure though.

Every night I picking up half bucket and burning them
Last night 10pm I in the yard spraying thiovin
20210716_094637.jpg

Postby pugboy » July 16th, 2021, 10:24 am

half bucket is a lot

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 16th, 2021, 11:16 am

cherry peppersauce!
I doh find frozen peppers good for anything tbh. It kills all the flavour badddd

Postby timelapse » July 16th, 2021, 11:50 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

cherry peppersauce!
I doh find frozen peppers good for anything tbh. It kills all the flavour badddd
Throw in pot with frozen tomatoes.I cloned them like how I cloned the Maryjane.I setting some seeds