The price of tomatoes

death365

The price of tomatoes

Postby death365 » June 11th, 2021, 1:55 pm

Recently I noticed the price and quality of tomatoes where price going up and quality going down. I was trying to figure out why.

After talking to meh peoples ... I figured out that is namdevco buying out all the vegetables and tomatoes at high prices. 20 ah pound

Re: The price of tomatoes

Postby paid_influencer » June 11th, 2021, 2:34 pm

I bought some local artisan heirloom cherry tomatoes in Massy for about $60 a pack. well worth it imo

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2021, 3:07 pm

the rain from last month affected production and the middle men bobol with namdevco surely made it worse

Postby timelapse » June 11th, 2021, 3:36 pm

What's sad is that tomato is by far one of the easiest crops to grow.There was one that grew in a crack in the concrete by my mom.We got quite a bit of fruit from it.Grow your own.It doesn't take long, and minimal effort.

Postby Chimera » June 11th, 2021, 3:38 pm

Tomato is one of the hardest and most expensive crops to grow large scale.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 11th, 2021, 3:39 pm

usual market fluctuation.
at one point either last year or in 2019, it hit 35/lb at veg stalls.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 11th, 2021, 4:05 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:usual market fluctuation.
at one point either last year or in 2019, it hit 35/lb at veg stalls.

Fluctuations is one ting but the spread on Tomatoes redonks though

Last time I went Market was back in March and it was $4/lb. Last time I went to physical place for vegs it was $25 and that was April. In the space of a month you looking at a 500% difference.

Bought twice since - once in a market box where it was already included and once yesterday from a market delivery person but individually (not a prepackaged bag). Paid $20/lb

Postby timelapse » June 11th, 2021, 4:21 pm

Also true.
But if the average joe had enough at home, farmers could focus on other crops that are more efficient.
And prices would be lower.
Phone Surgeon wrote:Tomato is one of the hardest and most expensive crops to grow large scale.

Postby teems1 » June 11th, 2021, 4:29 pm

I've heard the opposite.

Lots of manual labour to keep them standing up with sticks.

Also they are very susceptible to cat face disease.
timelapse wrote:What's sad is that tomato is by far one of the easiest crops to grow.There was one that grew in a crack in the concrete by my mom.We got quite a bit of fruit from it.Grow your own.It doesn't take long, and minimal effort.

Postby timelapse » June 11th, 2021, 7:20 pm

1.Build a trellis.Tie down on top.
2.Tie to chain link.Weave the branches
3.Make a cylinder with brc around it and pull branches through.

Again , I am talking about home use, not large scale commercial operations.

Seedlings cheap and available.

Traditional staking methods not that difficult either.How hard is tying a plant to a stick?
Ive grown tomatoes many times.

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2021, 8:15 pm

yeah i put down 4 in pots and gonna try a hydroponic setup very soon

Postby De Dragon » June 11th, 2021, 9:04 pm

Tomato prices sickening. I plant about 8 trees when I realize the $25-27/lb sheit start happening. Oddly, the large beefsteak ones at a vege stall in Central were $16/lb

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2021, 9:06 pm

those might have been imported

De Dragon wrote:Tomato prices sickening. I plant about 8 trees when I realize the $25-27/lb sheit start happening. Oddly, the large beefsteak ones at a vege stall in Central were $16/lb

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2021, 9:06 pm

those might have been imported

De Dragon wrote:Tomato prices sickening. I plant about 8 trees when I realize the $25-27/lb sheit start happening. Oddly, the large beefsteak ones at a vege stall in Central were $16/lb

Postby Chimera » June 11th, 2021, 9:24 pm

All crops fluctuate. Celery could be $12 a wholesale bundle tonight because 10 or 25 big sellers come out in the wholesale market and tomorrow rain fall and people flood and only one man come out and price is $60 a bundle.

Chemicals get reallllll expensive too.
I pay $450 for a prestar last week and $350 for one last month.

Postby eliteauto » June 11th, 2021, 9:27 pm

The price increases was due to heavy rainfall which affected the crop. But tomato price extremes are normal from 6lbs for $20 to $25 a lb. I don't buy when they get high and when they cheap I buy like crazy for salads, juice and homemade pasta/pizza sauces

Postby pugboy » June 11th, 2021, 9:55 pm

could possibly have very cheap tomato in 2 months when all that planted last few weeks start to bear all things equal and so the cycle goes.

Postby MaxPower » June 11th, 2021, 10:02 pm

Massy was around $30/pound.

But the service is fantastic and the place is always clean.

Why not.

Postby De Dragon » June 11th, 2021, 11:27 pm

pugboy wrote:those might have been imported

The second one yes, but the first was local grown.

Postby RedVEVO » June 12th, 2021, 1:35 am

Why Trini peeps ( people ) like tomatoes sooooooo much ?

Tomatoes give you acid reflux and it spoils in 2 days .

It's a non essential fruit . It's not even a vegetable - so pull the plug .

Buy apples :roll:

Apple choka salsa and sada is awesome .

Look @ Trini Life with Vesdesh on Youtube :D

Postby Dave » June 12th, 2021, 5:56 am

Clearly you never heard about lycopene.
As usual your mouth is bigger than your brain.

Postby De Dragon » June 12th, 2021, 6:07 am

You know you're well and truly irritating when Dave insults you. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby bluefete » June 12th, 2021, 7:41 am

MaxPower wrote:Massy was around $30/pound.

Why not.

Trying to determine if you are being sarcastic or not.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 12th, 2021, 8:00 am

Poe's law at work, man hate trinis that much.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 12th, 2021, 9:11 am

bluefete wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Massy was around $30/pound.

Why not.

Trying to determine if you are being sarcastic or not.

I think he's serious but shouldn't be taken seriously.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 12th, 2021, 9:12 am

Dave wrote:Clearly you never heard about lycopene.
As usual your mouth is bigger than your brain.

Lmao. Trinituner is a lawless place.

Postby MaxPower » June 12th, 2021, 11:28 am

IMG_7113.JPG

Postby eliteauto » June 12th, 2021, 12:16 pm

That's around $29.55 a lb. Why would anyone buy that? I'd adjust my menu before I say I need that

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 12th, 2021, 12:54 pm

thats a lot of bread

Postby MaxPower » June 12th, 2021, 12:56 pm

eliteauto wrote:That's around $29.55 a lb. Why would anyone buy that? I'd adjust my menu before I say I need that

Convenience bro.

Price hot, very hot but this is what i was getting that.

Those fortunate, choose service and comfort over price….and most importantly safety.

Especially in these times, why go to the market or vegetable stall where the chances of breeched covid protocols are significantly higher?

When last did u get your temperature checked in the market or washed your hands at the non-existent wash bays at the veggie stall?

Most of these other places WILL have items cheaper but there is an increased risk factor.

The consumer is entitled to his own choice.