Can you support my cousin's dreams of becoming a doctor?

Postby redmanjp » June 17th, 2021, 1:00 pm

Christin is my cousin. Very bright, first in a lot of things as you can read in the article but can't afford the tuition for her to do a medical degree. Gov't only gave her a partial scholarship which is not enough to cover all expenses.

A Go Fund Me page has been setup for her as even employment or other fundraising has been affected by the pandemic. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. If you are unable to support please share the link so others can support as well.

https://www.gofundme.com/f/x259d-help-christin-become-a-doctor

Here's her story:

"My name is Christin-Lee Maharaj. I am 19 years old and a graduate of St Joseph Convent Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago. I am a dedicated, well-rounded student who has been committed to voluntary community service while constantly pursuing academic excellence, and I have many wonderful people in my life who would attest to this on my behalf.

For most of my childhood, I have been a medical patient due to my asthma and endometriosis, and it is my sincere hope I will have the privilege of becoming Dr. Christin-Lee Maharaj. I hope to care for others as I was cared for, and to serve my patients in the way that dedicated frontline health workers have been doing throughout this pandemic.

Last year, I was accepted by Leicester Medical School in the UK, securing 1 of under 20 places offered to international students by this competitive and prestigious institution...

...Then COVID-19 hit. Due to the economic fallout of the pandemic, the Government of Trinidad and Tobago reduced the number of National Scholarships from 180 to 50, only 5 of which were available for students in my course of study. Every one of my fellow students who had been working hard toward earning a 2020 scholarship was caught off guard.

Thankfully, I had been preparing for years. I had dreamt of studying medicine for as long as I could remember, and with the help of my family, had made some outstanding academic achievements (see below) which ensured I was in the running. Earning a place in the top 5 in the Caribbean region for three consecutive years would surely have meant I would be awarded the full scholarship I desperately needed.

Despite my persistence and hard work, and against my family’s reasonable expectations, I was disappointed to learn I had not been awarded the scholarship that would have covered the cost of my studies, as were dozens of other deserving students who had consistently performed at the top in other fields. However, the Government of Trinidad and Tobago awarded me a partial Scholarship, despite the economic challenges Covid-19 brought, and for that, I am so very thankful.

But the dream of pursuing my calling, and of helping the people of my country through advanced medicine, is now in jeopardy. Without the scholarship I had been working towards since I was 13 years old, financing my medical education has become very tenuous. The partial scholarship can only cover 16% of my medical school expenses, and I have searched for and applied to every other grant for which I am eligible.

My amazing parents, who have supported me in all my academic efforts while diligently serving Trinidad’s youth as teachers for over 23 years, are simply unable to undertake this cost alone.

It is for this reason I am humbly asking for your generous assistance in funding my 5-year medical degree, which amounts to approximately 354,000 USD, with a starting goal of 60,000 USD. I ask for your assistance in any way possible, by sharing my story and/or making a donation.

Anything helps. Everything counts. I am truly grateful for your kindness and humanity.

Yours sincerely,

Christin-Lee Maharaj

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/lack-of-fundraisers-leave-scholarship-students-grounded-6.2.1343712.e4201bfc6c
Last edited by redmanjp on June 17th, 2021, 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Can you support my cousin's dreams of becoming a doctor?

Postby MG Man » June 17th, 2021, 1:22 pm

saw this on news last night
What happened to Mt Hope?

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2021, 1:27 pm

i have dreams too

Postby *KRONIK* » June 17th, 2021, 1:30 pm

Same
pugboy wrote:i have dreams too

Postby K74T » June 17th, 2021, 1:31 pm

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2021, 1:38 pm

gg son have dreams of being a pro footballer too

tarzan

Postby tarzan » June 17th, 2021, 1:53 pm

MG Man wrote:saw this on news last night
What happened to Mt Hope?

same thing im thinking.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 17th, 2021, 2:08 pm

Hmmm. Thats a very expensive degree.

Postby Chimera » June 17th, 2021, 2:09 pm

right now donations should be for needy families who starving and cant afford to feed their children locally......

not this.

sucre251

Postby sucre251 » June 17th, 2021, 2:14 pm

Too good for Mt. Hope like the 200 other students. Too good for Barbados. Too good for St. George's. Too good for Mona. Not good enough for a full scholarship but want to go UK. Begging for money. Will never return to Trinidad to pay back the citizens in service who literally give from their pockets when she get the foreign papers.

Yeah... well it have a thing about dreams called reality. Nobody is envious or jealous of what you want to achieve in your life, nor do they doubt you, but you have to make do with what life gives you. Tell your cousin that. She wants to start out her career begging. Have some dignity for yourself woman. And what happens when there are bumps in the road next 3 to 5 years, or serious financial questions during the later part of specialisation? Beg some more?

WhiteAnalyst

Postby WhiteAnalyst » June 17th, 2021, 2:25 pm

Why she don't study local?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 17th, 2021, 2:56 pm

Not going to be salty. Good luck to the youth, going to need it.

Some points raised are valid though none more so that the Mt Hope one. Given the global scenario Mt Hope now and foreign later on wouldn't necessarily be a bad choice. Its the route of many of the specialists in our health care system now.

Postby bluefete » June 17th, 2021, 3:06 pm

Don't hang your hat where your hand cannot reach!

I agree that she should look at regional unis first -Mt. Hope, Mona.

Did she even apply to these institutions?

Sometimes, reality bites hard and you have to go with what your funding can afford.

There are always alternatives.

Postby Gem_in_i » June 17th, 2021, 3:08 pm

Did she even apply to Mt Hope or anywhere else as a backup plan.

Postby gastly369 » June 17th, 2021, 3:23 pm

Hey have you heard about imarketlive?
Right here on 2nr have all the info
she can retire at age 20

Postby eliteauto » June 17th, 2021, 3:23 pm

wtf wrote:You supposed to know better than that Red. Spending that amount of money on a medicine degree isn't worth it.
Can be better utilized.
With 2.4 million, her entire family can retire right now once properly invested.
She is young and naive but the adults around her supposed to know better...

The value of this post is severely underated

Postby bluefete » June 17th, 2021, 3:25 pm

gastly369 wrote:Hey have you heard about imarketlive?
Right here on 2nr have all the info
she can retire at age 20

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Why?

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 17th, 2021, 3:47 pm

Looks like someone Googled, "How does it cost to become a doctor in the UK." converted the number into TTD and make an appeal.

So if she get through and see $2.2 million in their bank account, what's to say they don't go, "Well Mt. Hope is a good place too yuh know." or just rest back on the nest egg?

Postby meccalli » June 17th, 2021, 4:00 pm

Obvious that she has the drive and ambition, good luck to her. I'm sure she'll attain the title even if it doesn't pan out exactly how she planned or dreamt.

Postby paid_influencer » June 17th, 2021, 4:26 pm

the market value of $345,000 USD is approx $3.5 million TTD.

Undergraduate degree (MBBS) takes 5 years
An intern gets ~$15,000/month, regardless of which school you attended
Goes up for junior house occifer, senior house occifer.
Consultant gets ~$30,000 month, requires post-graduate training at additional cost

so you looking at working like a dog under high-stress conditions for 15+ years before you even reach a break-even point on the money you've put in. Doctors have higher rates suicide because of the stress they encounter as part of their job.

not trying to discourage anyone, but yea, think real hard before going down that route. And Mt. Hope being significantly cheaper and closer to home and all the support resources- changes the equation a lot.

and as a young person, she has tons of potential. People can always make new dreams. The important thing is to try to attach to Krishna and chant and be happy.

Postby paid_influencer » June 17th, 2021, 4:27 pm

I would help but I am unbanked at this time.

Postby S_2NR » June 17th, 2021, 4:36 pm

It’s not mandatory to go to the UK to become a doctor. It’s good to have dreams but that cost is unrealistic

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » June 17th, 2021, 4:40 pm

My amazing parents, who have supported me in all my academic efforts while diligently serving Trinidad’s youth as teachers for over 23 years, are simply unable to undertake this cost alone.

With over 23 years teaching service, both parents should have a decent combined savings to put out though.

Postby Chimera » June 17th, 2021, 4:43 pm

Looks like she only lose out because of the scholarships amount cut.

From 180 to 50 real hard

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 17th, 2021, 5:09 pm

d.d.s. wrote:

With over 23 years teaching service, both parents should have a decent combined savings to put out though.

Studying away is expensive so while they could possibly afford it, you don't know what other expenses they may have. In the UK she would be paying roughly £20k a year (tuition, accommodation and spending) for 5 years. That's a million TT.

Most banks have stopped giving student loans (to go away) about 2 years now, at least Scotia and RBC, due to Forex issues.

Studying abroad is something I highly recommend, the education system in the UK and USA is vastly superior to UWI. She's ambitious so I give credit for making the right choice by not wanting to study here.

But if she can't afford, an excellent alternative is doing her MBBS here and specialising abroad afterwards.

Postby The_Honourable » June 17th, 2021, 5:23 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
d.d.s. wrote:

Studying away is expensive so while they could possibly afford it, you don't know what other expenses they may have. In the UK she would be paying roughly £20k a year (tuition, accommodation and spending) for 5 years. That's a million TT.

Most banks have stopped giving student loans (to go away) about 2 years now, at least Scotia and RBC, due to Forex issues.

Studying abroad is something I highly recommend, the education system in the UK and USA is vastly superior to UWI. She's ambitious so I give credit for making the right choice by not wanting to study here.

But if she can't afford, an excellent alternative is doing her MBBS here and specialising abroad afterwards.

Agreed, and many potential donors will feel that she would not come back T&T to serve in the medical system... and she doesn't have too. Many local doctors already stated that if they have children that want to become doctors, they will be encouraged to practice away. I would not be surprised she got this advice.

It's sad she did get through with all that competition but don't have the funds.

I'll make a donation.

Dmodisahbullah

Postby Dmodisahbullah » June 17th, 2021, 5:27 pm

I wish your cousin all the best.

She may not be given the assistance she requires from locals because of the economic situation caused by the pandemic and the hate a lot of persons carry around.

However she seems like she has the intelligence and mindset to achieve her dreams so she'll be fine even though she may not be able to immediately pursue her dreams.

Sissy

Postby Sissy » June 17th, 2021, 5:51 pm

The girl right yes.

Education in US/UK (mostly US) is vastly superior to UWI.

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2021, 6:05 pm

she better hope to work outside if she so inclined and best option close to home is st georges

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » June 17th, 2021, 6:22 pm

That's a lot of foreign $$$. While a foreign education has it's advantages, local is better value for the money and Post Doctoral can be done abroad. As others have already chimed in!

My niece has done this and did her OB-GYN in the UK.