What fast food, buy food, you miss the most during lockdown?

Re: What fast food, buy food, you miss the most during lockdown?

Postby S_2NR » July 20th, 2021, 1:21 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Trinidad need an obesity tax. Too many fast food places have free reign and messing up our health sector with lifestyle diseases

Can't have KFC boasting about how easy it is to open in TT. There are 60 kfcs in TT now for a population of just over 1.4 million ppl. In comparison NYC have 146 for a population of 8.5 million. London has a population of 8.9 million people but have 145 branches.

It is time those things are taxed to ease the burden on the health sector.

Dude, are you trying to imply NYC has less fast food than trini when America is the fast food capital of the world. It is everywhere and much easier to access.

Trini generally have unhealthy lifestyle. From too much alcohol consumption at every trini family event to too much aloo comsumption. Stress also targets the mig section with releasw of cortisol in the blood an the only stress relever trini know is liming with alcohol.
Most indian grow up on roti an aloo. Too much carbs equals overweight. These days a lot of black men have pot belly an is stress an in the last 15 years or so i notice increase puncheon consumption among black men. Our lives are changing an it stressing out everyone. Having to loose the freeness mentality, increase prices, want what we cant afford just killing we.

Everything you mentioned is a problem in every developed country.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » July 20th, 2021, 1:24 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Level FB and Insta stories were filled with Starbucks cups
Ssshhhh... The smallies are hungry bro, it's hunting time

:stalk:

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » July 20th, 2021, 4:06 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Trinidad need an obesity tax. Too many fast food places have free reign and messing up our health sector with lifestyle diseases

Can't have KFC boasting about how easy it is to open in TT. There are 60 kfcs in TT now for a population of just over 1.4 million ppl. In comparison NYC have 146 for a population of 8.5 million. London has a population of 8.9 million people but have 145 branches.

It is time those things are taxed to ease the burden on the health sector.

Dude, are you trying to imply NYC has less fast food than trini when America is the fast food capital of the world. It is everywhere and much easier to access.

Didn't I single out KFC specifically to make a direct comparison? How did other fast food get into this. Do you really want to go there and start counting the numerous doubles and gyro vendors at the side of the road as well?

I made the comparison to show just how many kfcs we have compared to the big cities that have a larger population. In light of Prestige's boast that TT continues to be an easy market to penetrate.

Postby De Dragon » July 20th, 2021, 4:13 pm

You'd swear KFC was curing Covid, the lines I saw yesterday.

Postby eliteauto » July 20th, 2021, 4:24 pm

De Dragon wrote:You'd swear KFC was curing Covid, the lines I saw yesterday.

Couva or south? Cause the E-W corridor was actually pretty sparse

Postby RedVEVO » July 20th, 2021, 4:31 pm

eliteauto wrote:

KFC Movie Towne was empty .

Royal Castle on the Avenue was empty .

Doubles on Avenue was like 2 million people :lol:

Postby De Dragon » July 20th, 2021, 4:32 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Couva.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 20th, 2021, 5:13 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:dem new kfc price matching royal castle. kfc does always do this then restructure and drop the price to bring back the customers. i dont really fancy kfc but i will go for the noodle poodle but later in the week when new chicken delivered.i does done spend 4-5 thousand a month on grocery and market so why buy food to cook and still buy fast food.

Why you alway with personal family problems ?

What fast food YOU miss ?

Simple question ole timer :D

i would ah say i miss doubles until i make it myself an see the amount of oil that goes into making that poison. them chirren survive without the mcdonalds and noodle poodle so maybe a wing wah next saturday depending on the crowds. i man get accustomed to have the crix in the car, kiss small butter bread and the little fancy tuna for $10 and lunch cost $14 if i do buy lunch.

You should video YOUR life and put it on YouTube :D

Suggested name: " Dragoon Eating Tuner for $14 "

Now a Message to my Fan Base :

Sushi on SALE everywhere !!

12 Volcano rolls for $60

Movie Town Kaizan :D

do they have curb side pickup?

Postby eliteauto » July 20th, 2021, 5:25 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Couva.

Dai Estate ppl, dem glad not to cook or smuggle no more :lol:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 20th, 2021, 5:38 pm

pass the royal castle on the hiway after 9am and men buying, pass valencia about 9.30 an people buying, pass grande about 20 min after and them open also all before 10am

Postby De Dragon » July 20th, 2021, 5:41 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Couva.

Dai Estate ppl, dem glad not to cook or smuggle no more :lol:

All dem doubles people out this morning as well. Didn't notice any huge crowds, but it was real early.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 21st, 2021, 10:52 am

Postby Dizzy28 » July 21st, 2021, 11:02 am

Could it be that some ppl are still on work from home, food sales suffering from the work crowds?

Postby Dave » July 21st, 2021, 11:40 am

Or middle of month and funds low for some?

Postby Dizzy28 » July 21st, 2021, 12:03 pm

Dave wrote:Or middle of month and funds low for some?

Yea I guess its actually a combination of a lot of factors.

Personally I still haven't bought any food since the reopening Monday and probably wouldn't till weekend.

Postby Redman » July 21st, 2021, 12:17 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Could it be that some ppl are still on work from home, food sales suffering from the work crowds?

People still home- so its now convenient to eat at home.
Plus its now the normal-buying food is the 'new' habit to restart.

Also there are a bunch of New providers that started up during the lockdown-and are sticking with it, some people were forced to try their hand at a food business--and many of them are successful at it and making more than they were working for some one else...

Doubles men under real pressure -with all the alternatives that pop up since Feb 2020.

fkin Covid. :lol:

Postby De Dragon » July 21st, 2021, 12:43 pm

Stupid traffic and jackarse parking start already

Postby MaxPower » July 21st, 2021, 12:49 pm

All these businesses crying about low sales.

They werent crying when their underground sales were booming when they were instructed to remain closed?

Steups

Postby Chimera » July 21st, 2021, 12:53 pm

fatman checking in

kfc order.jpeg

zinger was besssssssssssssssssssssss

Postby redmanjp » July 21st, 2021, 1:09 pm

Dave wrote:Or middle of month and funds low for some?

on sunday i went massy in trincity and there was like 5 cars in the entire parking lot- i say dey closed. :lol: but they were open but hardly had anyone inside. 2 weeks from now go be a different thing- they might close early due to overcrowding like they did last month

perhaps things were slow all week- i but a pack of cucumber and it spoil in 2 days :x prolly had it there whole week and nobody buying

Postby MaxPower » July 21st, 2021, 1:27 pm

Hope you Trinis are enjoying your freezer burn lockdown old meat and produce in your fast food orders.

Remember to chew your food 17 times, close your mouth, wipe your mouth and no littering.

Postby hover11 » July 21st, 2021, 1:33 pm

On top of paying more for it we really are a different breed of humans
MaxPower wrote:Hope you Trinis are enjoying your freezer burn lockdown old meat and produce in your fast food orders.

Remember to chew your food 17 times, close your mouth, wipe your mouth and no littering.

Postby RedVEVO » July 21st, 2021, 1:37 pm

MaxPower wrote:Hope you Trinis are enjoying your freezer burn lockdown old meat and produce in your fast food orders.

Max,

Just about to post a similar comment :D

The logical procedure is to wait at least 2-3 weeks for fresh chicken etc.

NOBODY in fast food and street food have FRESH now since it is NOT possible .

ALL the imported meats are NOT fresh .

Takes about 2 months to arrive and clear meat from foreign which thaws and then freezes over again.

Home made is best with fresh produce and fresh meat - buy local :D

Postby Habit7 » July 21st, 2021, 2:19 pm

Trini culture has changed. Ppl have been forced to appreciate home-cooked food more, we have gotten accustomed to staying home and doing things at home. Many ppl are unemployed or have less income. This is not unique to us but several places around the world. Plus media is pumping 1000 deaths fear and/or delta variant.

It will take a while for things to be like 2019.

Postby De Dragon » July 21st, 2021, 3:14 pm

Habit7 wrote:Trini culture has changed. Ppl have been forced to appreciate home-cooked food more, we have gotten accustomed to staying home and doing things at home. Many ppl are unemployed or have less income. This is not unique to us but several places around the world. Plus media is pumping 1000 deaths fear and/or delta variant.

"Pumping?" ,"fear?" so 1000 people didn't die? :? :?
Are they not supposed to report it? What purpose does not reporting it solve?
Maybe we should have done a better job of getting vaccines and preventing the 1000 deaths, then there would be nothing to report on and pump any fear :roll:

Postby MaxPower » July 21st, 2021, 3:24 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Max,

Takes about 2 months to arrive and clear meat from foreign which thaws and then freezes over again.

VEV,

Very true my good man.

But Trinis want that oily fast food and they want it now!

Buy local i can support.

Postby De Dragon » July 21st, 2021, 3:26 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Max,

VEV,

Very true my good man.

But Trinis want that oily fast food and they want it now!

Buy local i can support.

I've been telling people to wait a 2-3 weeks, but some of the =m you would swear have the junk food as their only option :roll:

Postby Habit7 » July 21st, 2021, 4:36 pm

Habit7 wrote:Trini culture has changed. Ppl have been forced to appreciate home-cooked food more, we have gotten accustomed to staying home and doing things at home. Many ppl are unemployed or have less income. This is not unique to us but several places around the world. Plus media is pumping 1000 deaths fear and/or delta variant.

Maybe we should have done a better job of getting vaccines and preventing the 1000 deaths, then there would be nothing to report on and pump any fear :roll:

It is our craving of the unhealth foods that we were restricted from doing the lockdown that is the major problem. Then it is further complicated by our unhealthy eating of some home-cooked meals. Maybe that is why we are one of the most obese countries in the world and have a high rate of NCDs.

So when covid-19 comes around, we dont stand a chance. Maybe newspapers should publish front pages for all the cardiovascular disease, cancer, diabetes and obesity death milestones we reach so that ppl will pay more attention to it.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/covid19 ... d3addff8ce

Postby De Dragon » July 21st, 2021, 4:44 pm

Habit7 wrote:

It is our craving of the unhealth foods that we were restricted from doing the lockdown that is the major problem. Then it is further complicated by our unhealthy eating of some home-cooked meals. Maybe that is why we are one of the most obese countries in the world and have a high rate of NCDs.

So when covid-19 comes around, we dont stand a chance. Maybe newspapers should publish front pages for all the cardiovascular disease, cancer, diabetes and obesity death milestones we reach so that ppl will pay more attention to it.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/covid19 ... d3addff8ce

Yes, but still a 1000 people died. How many news conferences by the MoH focused on lifestyle diseases, as opposed to frivolous nonsense like crying over W.O. drinkers and Kamla?

Postby timelapse » July 21st, 2021, 5:40 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Max,

Not buy Vennie? What have you done with Vevo?Vevo is the impostor