Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 88944 (+964) cases, 2718 (+37) deaths, 16543 active, 696 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » January 3rd, 2022, 6:44 pm

virus can linger in body for months. and almost any organ including brain and heart. even among patients with asymptomatic to mild COVID-19.

https://thehill.com/policy/healthcare/587391-study-suggests-coronavirus-lingers-in-organs-for-months

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 88944 (+964) cases, 2718 (+37) deaths, 16543 active, 696 recovered in T&T

Postby st7 » January 3rd, 2022, 7:07 pm

Kenjo wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:Ontario closing schools and indoor dining in preparation of the #tsunamicron

Is this some place in Trinidad & Tobago ?

i think somewhere in maraval

PariaMan

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby PariaMan » January 5th, 2022, 1:31 pm

Kelly Ernby, a deputy district attorney in Orange County, California, who opposed vaccine mandates, died of complications from the coronavirus earlier this week – with her death quickly mocked by vaccine supporters on social media. 
Her husband confirmed she was unvaccinated, according to the San Francisco Chronicle.
"She was NOT vaccinated," he reportedly wrote on Facebook in response to someone who claimed she had been. "That was the problem."
Ernby joined the DA's office in 2011, according to FOX 11 in Los Angeles. She was 46 years old when she died and was poised for another run for a state assembly seat after losing in a primary in 2020, FOX 11 reported.  
"Guess she won’t be running for anything, anymore," one person wrote on her Facebook page, "Kelly Ernby for Assembly," after the news of her death.  
A couple of others added a GIF of Charles Darwin giving a thumbs-up, a likely reference to the "Darwin Awards," which mocks the way some people have died as proof of Darwin's "survival of the fittest" evolutionary theory. 
A third person wrote, "2022 is the year the very stupid are taken out by mother nature."

[https://a57]

People demonstrate against COVID-19 vaccine mandates for students in Huntington Beach, California, on Jan. 3, 2022.  (Getty Images)

Some also took to her Twitter to mock her death, leaving comments under her last post in early December before she fell ill. 
BIDEN WARNS OF ‘WINTER OF SEVERE ILLNESS AND DEATH’ FOR THE UNVACCINATED 
"The schadenfreude is delicious," one user said while another suggested she was the "winner of the Herman Cain Award." 
Cain, a Republican who ran for president in 2012, died in 2020 of coronavirus complications. 
Another person posted a meme that said, "Why argue with an Anti-Vaxer when you could just wait." 
Other anti-vaxxers who have died from the virus have faced similar remarks on social media. 

Not everyone was cruel in the comments, however. Many who disagreed with her political stances still offered condolences and others suggested her death should be an example of the importance of vaccines.
"I feel bad for your loss. Get vaccinated all," a commenter wrote on her husband’s Facebook page. 
Another wrote on his page, "I'm sorry for your loss, and TY for clarifying her unvaccinated status. Too bad you couldn;t persuade her to take it.. May her memory be a blessing. Stay Safe youself!" 

[https://global]

A Facebook user who said she was Ernby's sister said most of their family was vaccinated and asked people to let them mourn in privacy, according to the Orange County Register. 

‘Utterly heartbroken’

Many of Ernby’s colleagues mourned her death on social media.
The chairman of the Greater Costa Mesa Republicans, Ben Chapman, tweeted, "My heart is broken and I'm in tears. I lost a dear friend to Covid complications. I love you @KellyErnby! You’ve been nothing but an inspiration to many of us here in Orange County," according to the Chronicle. 
"The Orange County district attorney’s office is utterly heartbroken by the sudden and unexpected passing of Deputy District Atty. Kelly Ernby," Orange County DA Todd Spitzer said in a statement. "Kelly was an incredibly vibrant and passionate attorney who cared deeply about the work that we do as prosecutors — and deeply about the community we all fight so hard to protect."

Don Wagner, an Orange County supervisor, said he never heard her tell people not to get vaccinated, according to KNBC-TV in Los Angeles. 

"Everything I heard was, 'Make an informed decision. It is your decision to make,’" he said. 

Postby timelapse » January 5th, 2022, 4:23 pm

A horse walks into a bar and the bartender says "Why the long face?"
The horse replies,"Well , I used a Human covid vaccine for intestinal worms,but it didn't work!"

Postby st7 » January 5th, 2022, 4:45 pm

timelapse wrote:A horse walks into a bar and the bartender says "Why the long face?"
The horse replies,"Well , I used a Human covid vaccine for intestinal worms,but it didn't work!"

Postby RedVEVO » January 6th, 2022, 5:50 pm

Anti vaxxers is the technical medical name given to people who have died from COVID 19 .

poygone

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby poygone » January 7th, 2022, 11:34 am

https://www.theatlantic.com/health/arch ... rs/621193/

"Omicron Isn’t Mild for the Health-Care System
The new variant is spreading quickly enough to inundate hospitals that were already buckling under the cumulative toll of every previous surge.

When a health-care system crumbles, this is what it looks like. Much of what’s wrong happens invisibly. At first, there’s just a lot of waiting. Emergency rooms get so full that “you’ll wait hours and hours, and you may not be able to get surgery when you need it,” Megan Ranney, an emergency physician in Rhode Island, told me. When patients are seen, they might not get the tests they need, because technicians or necessary chemicals are in short supply. Then delay becomes absence. The little acts of compassion that make hospital stays tolerable disappear. Next go the acts of necessity that make stays survivable. Nurses might be so swamped that they can’t check whether a patient has their pain medications or if a ventilator is working correctly. People who would’ve been fine will get sicker. Eventually, people who would have lived will die. This is not conjecture; it is happening now, across the United States. “It’s not a dramatic Armageddon; it happens inch by inch,”

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 94213 (+579) cases, 2973 (+22) deaths, 15436 active, 75804 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » January 7th, 2022, 12:21 pm

Supreme Court weighs vaccine rules affecting more than 80M

WASHINGTON (AP) — The Supreme Court is taking up two major Biden administration efforts to bump up the nation’s vaccination rate against COVID-19 at a time of spiking coronavirus cases because of the omicron variant.
The justices on the conservative-oriented court are hearing arguments Friday about whether to allow the administration to enforce a vaccine-or-testing requirement that applies to large employers and a separate vaccine mandate for most health care workers. The arguments were expected to last at least two hours.
Legal challenges to the policies from Republican-led states and business groups are in their early stages, but the outcome at the high court probably will determine the fate of vaccine requirements affecting more than 80 million people.
“I think effectively what is at stake is whether these mandates are going to go into effect at all,” said Sean Marotta, a Washington lawyer whose clients include the American Hospital Association. The trade group is not involved in the Supreme Court cases.
The challengers argue that the vaccine rules exceed the administration’s authority, but Solicitor General Elizabeth Prelogar, the administration’s top Supreme Court lawyer, wrote that both are needed to avoid unnecessary hospitalizations and deaths.
Keeping the vaccine mandate for health care workers on hold “will likely result in hundreds or thousands of deaths and serious illnesses from COVID-19 that could otherwise be prevented,” Prelogar wrote.
Nearly 207 million Americans, 62.3% of the population, are fully vaccinated, and more than a third of the country has received a booster shot, including the nine justices.
The court said Friday that Justice Sonia Sotomayor would not be on the bench with her colleagues, opting instead to take part remotely from her office at the court. Sotomayor, who has had diabetes since childhood, has been the only justice who wore a mask to previous argument sessions in the courtroom.

Andy Slavitt, a former adviser to the Biden administration on COVID-19, said the vaccine requirements are extremely effective for 15% to 20% of Americans “who don’t like to get a shot, but they will and don’t have any strenuous objection.”
The high court will be weighing in on administration vaccine policies for the first time, although the justices have turned away pleas to block state-level mandates.
But a conservative majority concerned about federal overreach did bring an end to the federal moratorium on evictions put in place because of the pandemic.
Three conservatives, Chief Justice John Roberts and Justices Brett Kavanaugh and Amy Coney Barrett, probably hold the key to the outcome, Marotta said.

They broke with the other justices on the right over state mandates for health-care workers, but joined them to allow evictions to resume.
Both vaccine rules will exacerbate labor shortages and be costly to businesses, opponents said. “People are going to quit. It will make a bad situation worse and they’re not going to come back,” said Karen Harned, executive director of the National Federation of Independent Business’ Small Business Legal Center.
Her group is among those challenging an emergency rule adopted by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration under which workers at businesses with 100 or more employees must be vaccinated or get tested weekly and wear masks while working. The rule has exceptions for those who work alone or mostly outdoors.
The OSHA rule is supposed to take effect Monday, although the agency has said it would not impose fines on businesses that don’t comply before late February.

The vaccine mandate, for its part, applies to virtually all health care staff in the country. It covers health care providers that receive federal Medicare or Medicaid funding, potentially affecting 76,000 health care facilities as well as home health care providers. The rule has medical and religious exemptions.
Decisions by federal appeals courts in New Orleans and St. Louis have blocked the mandate in about half the states. The administration has said it is taking steps to enforce it in the rest.
Both cases are coming to the court on an emergency basis and the court took the unusual step of scheduling arguments rather than just ruling on briefs submitted by the parties. Unlike in other cases the court hears, a decision from the justices could come in weeks if not days.
Because of the pandemic the justices will hear the cases in a courtroom closed to the public. Only the justices, lawyers involved in the cases, court staff and journalists will be present. The public can listen live, however, a change made earlier in the pandemic when the justices for nearly 19 months heard cases via telephone.

Postby hover11 » January 7th, 2022, 12:21 pm

We shall see what the courts have to say...Let's go Brandon

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 7th, 2022, 12:35 pm

Screenshot_20220107_123204.jpg

The science keeps changing. Funny thing is that it is changing to what crazy, deranged, Donald Trump alt-right, nazi conspiracy theorist have been saying since March 2020.

Expect this change to reach Trinidad in about 2025.

Postby adnj » January 7th, 2022, 12:41 pm

hover11 wrote:We shall see what the courts have to say...Let's go Brandon
You're late to the party.

Half of the states in the US currently have vaccine mandates. The US Supreme Court has refused to hear arguments regarding any challenges to state-created vaccine mandates.

Vaccine Mandates by State: Who is, Who isn't, and How?

WORKFORCE | DECEMBER 22, 2021 | BY DEE PEKRUHN

LeadingAge has started to track the vaccine mandate trends in each state; as of today’s date, we find that 25 states have vaccine mandates; 13 states (so far) have vaccine mandate bans. Sixteen of the states with mandates have language specific to healthcare settings or long term care. Some states’ mandates are strictly ‘vaccinate or terminate;’ others have a ‘vaccinate or weekly testing’ dichotomy.  This article will be subject to change and updated as there are new developments.

So far, there are 25 states that require vaccination for employees of various categories. Of those, twenty-one specify requirements for healthcare workers, and the majority of those states require vaccination or regular testing of unvaccinated employees. Six states have taken a “vaccinate or terminate” approach, only permitting healthcare workers to be unvaccinated if they have a valid religion or medical exemption as defined by the EEOC. Thirteen states have passed laws that ban employers from mandating vaccines for workers; three more states are expected to enact such bans in the near future.

Three states (Michigan, Ohio, South Carolina) are rumored to be working on vaccine mandates for state workers, but these mandates have not yet materialized.

https://leadingage.org/workforce/vaccin ... nt-and-how

Postby hover11 » January 7th, 2022, 12:52 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:We shall see what the courts have to say...Let's go Brandon
You're late to the party.

Half of the states in the US currently have vaccine mandates. The US Supreme Court has refused to hear arguments regarding any challenges to state-created vaccine mandates.

Vaccine Mandates by State: Who is, Who isn't, and How?

WORKFORCE | DECEMBER 22, 2021 | BY DEE PEKRUHN

LeadingAge has started to track the vaccine mandate trends in each state; as of today’s date, we find that 25 states have vaccine mandates; 13 states (so far) have vaccine mandate bans. Sixteen of the states with mandates have language specific to healthcare settings or long term care. Some states’ mandates are strictly ‘vaccinate or terminate;’ others have a ‘vaccinate or weekly testing’ dichotomy.  This article will be subject to change and updated as there are new developments.

So far, there are 25 states that require vaccination for employees of various categories. Of those, twenty-one specify requirements for healthcare workers, and the majority of those states require vaccination or regular testing of unvaccinated employees. Six states have taken a “vaccinate or terminate” approach, only permitting healthcare workers to be unvaccinated if they have a valid religion or medical exemption as defined by the EEOC. Thirteen states have passed laws that ban employers from mandating vaccines for workers; three more states are expected to enact such bans in the near future.

Three states (Michigan, Ohio, South Carolina) are rumored to be working on vaccine mandates for state workers, but these mandates have not yet materialized.

https://leadingage.org/workforce/vaccin ... nt-and-how
Wrong.

The constitution does not allow the president to be a dictator. Unconstitutional. Easy win

Let's see...

Postby The_Honourable » January 7th, 2022, 4:02 pm

chooking ting

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 7th, 2022, 4:38 pm

The_Honourable wrote:chooking ting

Who is the second person?

Postby The_Honourable » January 7th, 2022, 4:58 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Who is the second person?

Gabe O'Souna - https://www.facebook.com/imdoctorreal

Postby meccalli » January 8th, 2022, 8:35 am

Redman wrote:It's not me talking unknown...that quote is from THE FDA ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBER...one of the people that voted to give Pfizer the Emergency approval.So he doesn't know.

There is a section in Pfizers Evaluation of the vax trials On the sub 16 year old age group that says is titled LIMITATIONS AND REMAINING QUESTIONS....this is where they state what they don't know about the vax: 3 points
-LONGER TERM IMMUNE RESPONSE,SAFETY AND EFFICACY OF BNT162b2 Covid 19 VACCINE ON THIS AGE GROUP.
-POTENTIAL FOR RARE ADVERSE EFFECTS
-How our vax interacts with other vaccines.
So Pfizer doesn't know.

Capitals are exact quotes of the Evaluation doc.
While it is the sub 16 age group it is the same vax, and this was the last age group to be approved so it also the point in time where the vax has already been in use.

Save your breath man, people will always hear what they want to hear. It's nothing new, these companies expect to pay up and they weigh their outcomes. The loose pocket change they have to shake out is no concern when the profits are 1000 fold. It's nothing new.
https://www.bmj.com/content/375/bmj.n2635
Covid-19: Researcher blows the whistle on data integrity issues in Pfizer’s vaccine trial
A regional director who was employed at the research organisation Ventavia Research Group has told The BMJ that the company falsified data, unblinded patients, employed inadequately trained vaccinators, and was slow to follow up on adverse events reported in Pfizer’s pivotal phase III trial. Staff who conducted quality control checks were overwhelmed by the volume of problems they were finding. After repeatedly notifying Ventavia of these problems, the regional director, Brook Jackson, emailed a complaint to the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). Ventavia fired her later the same day. Jackson has provided The BMJ with dozens of internal company documents, photos, audio recordings, and emails.
https://www.nature.com/articles/nm0707-763
Pfizer lawsuit spotlights ethics of developing world clinical trials
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2875889/
Tough on Crime? Pfizer and the CIHR
The appointment of Dr. Bernard Prigent, vice-president and medical director of Pfizer Canada, to the Governing Council of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, outraged many Canadian health researchers. Pfizer has been a “habitual offender,” persistently engaging in illegal and corrupt marketing practices, bribing physicians and suppressing adverse trial results. Since 2002 the company and its subsidiaries have been assessed $3 billion in criminal convictions, civil penalties and jury awards. The $2.3-billion settlement in September 2009 – a month before Dr. Prigent's appointment – set a new record for both criminal fines and total penalties. A link with Pfizer might well advance the commercialization of Canadian research – unhindered by law or morality. Is that now the only mandate, Dr. Beaudet?
One of the more recent, lovely incidents of a 'stomach ache', and then she was pulled from the study.

Postby adnj » January 8th, 2022, 9:11 am

There is hope that vaccination coverage, improved medical treatment and the milder characteristics of the Omicron variant will mean that fewer infections end in death. But the unprecedented number of cases may still lead to high levels of mortality.

“Are we going to see deaths increase? Yes, we are,” said Ms. Hamilton of the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists. “And they are going to go up if cases keep increasing this way.”

Experience throughout the pandemic shows it takes at least three weeks after an increase in cases to see a resulting increase in deaths, which may explain why death counts have risen only slightly so far.

Trends in deaths lag behind cases and hospitalizations by weeks because of the time it takes for people to become seriously ill and the time needed to complete and file death records. This lag varies by state and often becomes longer in times when there are more deaths, or when a case surge is overwhelming the public health system, as it is now.

Already, there are some troubling early signs of death counts rising in some of the Northeast states first hit with Omicron, including New York, Connecticut, New Jersey and Massachusetts.

Deaths can generally be predicted by looking at hospitalizations and counting backward by three weeks, suggesting that deaths will almost double in the next three weeks, said Dr. David Dowdy, an epidemiologist at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. But it's still possible that deaths will not rise as sharply as cases and hospitalizations have, he added.

“This linkage between hospitalizations and deaths is being broken as well now, as more people are getting hospitalized for milder illness,” Dr. Dowdy said. “So I actually anticipate that deaths will not reach quite that level.”

“In any case, though, in the midst of major surges,” he said, “we can't wait three weeks for data in order to act appropriately now.”

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/202 ... ained.html

Postby Redman » January 8th, 2022, 9:15 am

So the death rate is expected to decline...
Hospitalizations going down

Kids are the lowest risk since the start

Why we vaxxing kids if the risks arethus far becoming more manageable?

Postby hover11 » January 8th, 2022, 9:18 am

Redman wrote:So the death rate is expected to decline...

Million dollar question Redman, why are you exposing your children to myocarditis and other complications if they are the lowest risk of death from the virus

Postby aaron17 » January 8th, 2022, 9:20 am

I think we are numbed in side effects and bad things
Just like Proctor and gamble recently.. they recalled using certain things that cause cancer in shampoo etc... and it feels like normal for everyone to dont care ...'carry on behaviour'
I remembered using old spice regularly...
Maybe everything has cancer in it as as a defense....
Or maybe the company is 'good ' for actually admitting the truth.
(hope u all understand what i mean)

Postby adnj » January 8th, 2022, 9:44 am

aaron17 wrote:I think we are numbed in side effects and bad things
Just like Proctor and gamble recently.. they recalled using certain things that cause cancer in shampoo etc... and it feels like normal for everyone to dont care ...'carry on behaviour'
I remembered using old spice regularly...
Maybe everything has cancer in it as as a defense....
Or maybe the company is 'good ' for actually admitting the truth.
(hope u all understand what i mean)
Your heavy use of Old Spice aside, the carcinogen detected was benzene. You will also find benzene in gasoline, LPG (cooking gas) and cigatte smoke.

You may need to stop using those also.
Some industries use benzene to make other chemicals that are used to make plastics, resins, and nylon and synthetic fibers. Benzene is also used to make some types of lubricants, rubbers, dyes, detergents, drugs, and pesticides.

Natural sources of benzene include volcanoes and forest fires. Benzene is also a natural part of crude oil, gasoline, and cigarette smoke.

https://emergency.cdc.gov/agent/benzene ... /facts.asp

Procter & Gamble recalls 32 dry shampoo and conditioner products over benzene concern

https://www.npr.org/2021/12/21/10662758 ... ter-gamble

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 8th, 2022, 10:18 am

Someone who is hesitant about getting the vaccine and I've been trying to get him to take it sent me this video

What would you tell him?

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » January 8th, 2022, 11:09 am

SuperiorMan wrote:Someone who is hesitant about getting the vaccine and I've been trying to get him to take it sent me this video

What would you tell him?
You could probably point out that It says at the end that 90% of the hospital's staff is vaccinated, so the majority of the others in that hospital clearly don't agree with him.

Edit: Also this man is an anaesthetist, which is closer to a nurse than a doctor.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 8th, 2022, 11:46 am

ed360123 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Someone who is hesitant about getting the vaccine and I've been trying to get him to take it sent me this video

What would you tell him?
You could probably point out that It says at the end that 90% of the hospital's staff is vaccinated, so the majority of the others in that hospital clearly don't agree with him.

Edit: Also this man is an anaesthetist, which is closer to a nurse than a doctor.

Thanks. This makes sense. If 90% takes it then his views may be in a minority.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 8th, 2022, 11:50 am

hover11 wrote:
Redman wrote:So the death rate is expected to decline...

Million dollar question Redman, why are you exposing your children to myocarditis and other complications if they are the lowest risk of death from the virus

Because myocarditis risk is considerably lower than the risk of young people getting Covid, long Covid and hospitalization.

https://www.cidrap.umn.edu/news-perspec ... tudies-say

Postby Kenjo » January 8th, 2022, 11:54 am

ed360123 wrote:

What would you tell him?

I’m not even going to watch this video but do you know what an anaesthetist is buddy ? Men need to bat in their crease yes . See why from form 5 to form 6 or even I should say common entrance / SEA why someone people shouldn’t even dream of applying to medical school locally , regionally or internationally

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » January 8th, 2022, 11:58 am

Kenjo wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

What would you tell him?

I’m not even going to watch this video but do you know what an anaesthetist is buddy ? Men need to bat in their crease yes . See why from form 5 to form 6 or even I should say common entrance / SEA why someone people shouldn’t even dream of applying to medical school locally , regionally or internationally
You want to explain what the issue with my comment is?

Postby adnj » January 8th, 2022, 12:07 pm

ed360123 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

What would you tell him?

Certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs) are the nurses that work independently to administer anesthesia, or may collaborate with and assist doctors, dentists, surgeons, and other medical professionals in anesthesia administration.

Anesthesiologists are physicians that specialize in the administration of anesthesia.

The major difference between these two professions is that anesthesiologist are medical doctors that administer anesthesia, while nurse anesthetists are registered nurses who may assist or collaborate with doctors in administering anesthesia, or may work entirely independently as they administer anesthesia. 

https://www.wgu.edu/blog/nurse-anesthet ... html#close

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » January 8th, 2022, 12:17 pm

adnj wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

What would you tell him?

Certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs) are the nurses that work independently to administer anesthesia, or may collaborate with and assist doctors, dentists, surgeons, and other medical professionals in anesthesia administration.

Anesthesiologists are physicians that specialize in the administration of anesthesia.

The major difference between these two professions is that anesthesiologist are medical doctors that administer anesthesia, while nurse anesthetists are registered nurses who may assist or collaborate with doctors in administering anesthesia, or may work entirely independently as they administer anesthesia. 

Yeah, that's what I said, they're nurses.

Postby Kenjo » January 8th, 2022, 1:31 pm

ed360123 wrote:
adnj wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
ed360123 wrote:

What would you tell him?

Yeah, that's what I said, they're nurses.

Oh dear someone please help . This person sees an explanation that an Anaesthetist is a specialist doctor and says that they are just nurses. A 3rd party puts an explanation of a nurse assistant in Anaesthtics and equates them all