Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby RedVEVO » August 17th, 2022, 1:12 pm

DMan7 wrote:Also looking at some of those people in this "gocerant", they should be the last people I would expect indulging in all that gluttony.

If they not your wife or BF why you worrying ? :D

dogg

Postby dogg » August 17th, 2022, 4:53 pm

While Maxipad busy taking selfies in front of Anand Low Cost to send to his family in Guyana, and while others complaining about supermarkets selling beard-flavoured food, The rest of the world struggle to adapt.

We have it nice oui! via BBC
Murika: When suppliers don't deliver she has to be resourceful. Recently she couldn't get peanut butter, which the children love, so she replaced it with a bean dip.
Sri Lanka- until recently, people took no notice of jackfruit
Nigeria - "flour has gone up by more than 200%, sugar has gone up by almost 150%, eggs that we use for baking have gone up by about 120%," Despite his costs tripling, Mr Onuorah says he can only raise his prices by 10-12%.
Peru- Recently, because of rising costs, Ms Flores had to stop serving meat. She had used blood, liver, bones and gizzard because they were affordable, then giblets got too expensive, and she replaced them with fried eggs. When the price of oil shot up she gave families eggs to cook at home. Now, there are no eggs either.
Jordan- On 22 May an anonymous account tweeting in Arabic called on people to tag pictures of chicken products with the hashtag #Boycott_Greedy_Chicken_Companies.

Postby maj. tom » August 17th, 2022, 6:19 pm

Irony, the zesty flavour of forums.

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2022, 6:22 pm

who gone to the grocerant so far?
looking to pass tomorrow

Postby adnj » August 17th, 2022, 6:23 pm

How much extra do they charge to get an order of food with no hair in it?

Postby pugboy » August 17th, 2022, 6:31 pm

i going under guise of free samples

adnj wrote:How much extra do they charge to get an order of food with no hair in it?

Postby K74T » August 17th, 2022, 10:08 pm

pugbelina previews

Postby st7 » August 17th, 2022, 10:21 pm

i hear from a couple people who went... grocery items much more expensive there, there's plenty room but not enough items so people felt they had to hit tru value after to get the rest.

someone also had food and said 1/10

Postby RedVEVO » August 18th, 2022, 10:09 am

st7 wrote:i hear from a couple people who went... grocery items much more expensive there, there's plenty room but not enough items so people felt they had to hit tru value after to get the rest.

someone also had food and said 1/10

They need to continue to go to && Supermarket and Hop Sing .

Just stay in your neighborhood :D

Postby timelapse » August 18th, 2022, 12:09 pm

Here's a thought for any enterprising food industry person.A full buss up shot restaurant with the full works.Like a indian prayers,but with meat also,that opens in the evening for dinner.Sometimes people does feel for buss up shot and channa and chataigne and dem ting in the evening but don't want the stress of cooking it at home

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 18th, 2022, 12:16 pm

Yea I always wondered why Roti Shops dont open during the night time like every other fast food places in T&T.

Postby maj. tom » August 18th, 2022, 12:29 pm

Worker rotation and crime.

Postby Dave » August 18th, 2022, 12:29 pm

Savannah has two.
St James has a few as well.
Roti when the sun sets...
DMan7 wrote:Yea I always wondered why Roti Shops dont open during the night time like every other fast food places in T&T.

Postby Chimera » August 18th, 2022, 12:35 pm

st james have a good few, they come out like 5pm and are there until 10-11

hot roti on the spot

they're more roadside vendors than roti shops though.

Postby RedVEVO » August 18th, 2022, 12:40 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:st james have a good few, they come out like 5pm and are there until 10-11

hot roti on the spot

And "On the Avenue" next to Lucky Chinese Restaurant :D
Only sufferers and alcoholics look for roti at 11 pm

And the " roti women " are a extinct people - Indian woman like freedom :D

And Linda's.
And Freddy's.

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2022, 2:37 pm

i passed thru food hall
place is nice and very spacious

no free samples, good bit of ppl going there to scope it out
prices just slightly higher

the restaurant ain’t nothing to talk about but there is a live pizza station which drew a crowd esp as many had kids

the whole east side car park was almost full
supported them buying a cokes and tunnocks

btw beard man was present with mask covering mouth but not beard

Postby 88sins » August 18th, 2022, 5:08 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:st james have a good few, they come out like 5pm and are there until 10-11

hot roti on the spot

As you say St. James
You remember the fish sandwich man back in the days? Tall dark rasta fella, used to have all kinda different fish, mostly fried or grilled. Man used to make a wicked evil delicious grilled marlin, with some nice sauces.

Postby Chimera » August 18th, 2022, 5:16 pm

I feel your back in the day is my parents back in the day lol

matix

Postby matix » August 18th, 2022, 7:11 pm

DMan7 wrote:Yea I always wondered why Roti Shops dont open during the night time like every other fast food places in T&T.

People want sada roti for dinner, not burst up shirt and dhalpourie

Postby 88sins » August 18th, 2022, 9:01 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I feel your back in the day is my parents back in the day lol

ah eh go doubt it :lol:

Postby 88sins » August 18th, 2022, 9:03 pm

matix wrote:

None of those things should be consumed late in the evening/night.
But trinis different. We does carb load to go and sleep, then wonder why we gaining weight in a rush

Postby pugboy » August 18th, 2022, 9:16 pm

yeah but that carb blood sugar roller coaster is what does make we feel contented and lethargic to sleep at night
doh mind the extra load it putting on the endocrine system

matix wrote:

But trinis different. We does carb load to go and sleep, then wonder why we gaining weight in a rush

Postby timelapse » August 18th, 2022, 9:41 pm

matix wrote:

People doing it anyways.KFC ,Gyro, burger,arepa,cachapa, doubles,beer.
Might as well make a business out of it

Postby paid_influencer » August 18th, 2022, 9:53 pm

i loss plenty friends to murders in the late night food scene. i donno if i alone in that.

i wouldn't encourage anybody to go into that scene. Avoid it as an owner/employee/customer.

Postby Chimera » August 18th, 2022, 10:38 pm

matix wrote:

Ppl does real run down them dhalpouri roti sellers in st james and the savannah though.

Postby pugboy » August 19th, 2022, 3:55 pm

the most popular one in st james is dosti though

Phone Surgeon wrote:
matix wrote:

Ppl does real run down them dhalpouri roti sellers in st james and the savannah though.

Postby hover11 » August 22nd, 2022, 6:15 pm

Rowley on agriculture: 'not enough land

"Agriculture will never be as commercially viable to the TT economy as oil and gas because the country simply does not have the land space to be a major global player in the field" - PM Keith Christopher Rowley

https://newsday.co.tt/2018/10/04/rowley ... 0.facebook

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » August 22nd, 2022, 6:26 pm

More reason to move to Guyana.

Postby timelapse » August 22nd, 2022, 6:40 pm

hover11 wrote:Rowley on agriculture: 'not enough land

"Agriculture will never be as commercially viable to the TT economy as oil and gas because the country simply does not have the land space to be a major global player in the field" - PM Keith Christopher Rowley

Yet he wants to open a berry farm in Tobago?
This man going mad yes

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 22nd, 2022, 6:44 pm

hover11 wrote:Rowley on agriculture: 'not enough land

You need to highlight that this was 2018.

If anyone in Trinidad cared about agriculture why wouldn't ansa or massy get into it? They hundreds of millions on their balance sheet