Rovin wrote:good for them ... :|

Barbados sugar hits Walmart shelves

https://caymanmarlroad.com/2023/01/16/b ... hhqw-gC3RM
Meanwhile our government have us too busy picking up snails

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby adnj » January 19th, 2023, 9:48 am

I'll accept road paving for any reason at any time. GAS bounty is 50¢ ea and complaining but they're picking up bottles for 5¢ ea with a smile.

Postby maj. tom » January 19th, 2023, 1:20 pm

pugboy wrote:if yuh have aircon in yuh house you not qualified to complain about prices eh

According to RIC $300 light bill is an above average household. Plenty bigshot running ac.

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=468727138809075

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 19th, 2023, 1:46 pm

So if you have an ac you a bigshot?

Postby adnj » January 19th, 2023, 5:32 pm

Let them raise the rates. That's small money AC or not.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 20th, 2023, 5:23 am

century old tactic an blax baldhead feel we the people dotish. Control the food control the people. control what the people need and you get them to support and love you. worldwide you hear flour and oil shortage but in TT there is full supply. PNM feel they can take the collective by stiring up that only rich should have AC or the masses need to go back to coal pot, donkey cart, planting yam and green fig an the idiots falling for it. allyuh pay taxes for good roads so dont feel rohani is king cause he paving roads. only idiots fall the the bs coming out of blax baldhead corn chip hole. ANSA Macal uses to do the same every christmas by tying up all courts containers and standards getting tru so customers will go by standards. ask yourself if US shortage do you think the chinese sending TT money back to china?

Postby bluefete » February 4th, 2023, 5:04 am

A crate (1 dozen) of eggs will increase by $3.00 from Monday.

This is just under a 30% increase.

Of course, if you are buying foreign, free range / organic eggs at Massy ($50. for about 14), this price increase will not affect you.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 4th, 2023, 6:57 am

Market prices this morning...no to bad

Tomatoes: $8 per lb
Cucumber: $20 for 5lbs
Pepper: 2 for $1
Pineapples: $5 per lb
Sweet pepper: $8 per lb
Bodi holding price:$10-$15 per lb....same as baigan

Sweet potato: $16 per lb
Yellow potato: 5lb for $15

Postby pugboy » February 4th, 2023, 7:18 am

drier season prices drop

Postby Rovin » February 4th, 2023, 11:16 am

25c\egg not so bad but when u add 25c to $5.00 price increase to everything on ur shopping list

if u go in d grocery every wk or 2 wks u must see d prices of something went up

few mths ago elbow & shell macaroni was 5 for $20 now is $7.50 each ...

Postby 88sins » February 4th, 2023, 6:54 pm

Rovin wrote:25c\egg not so bad but when u add 25c to $5.00 price increase to everything on ur shopping list

if u go in d grocery every wk or 2 wks u must see d prices of something went up

few mths ago elbow & shell macaroni was 5 for $20 now is $7.50 each ...

jes now ppl go hadda invest in rope, and tie deyself out to graze on a morning b4 dey go to wuk

Rx

Postby Rx » February 5th, 2023, 7:47 pm

Tomato get cheap now.
3 lbs for $20

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2023, 8:52 pm

and it now start, all who plant right after floods starting to reap now

by end of feb they gonna be abandoning crops like a couple years ago

Postby Chimera » February 5th, 2023, 9:09 pm

The thing with flood prices....only a few farmers benefit...thats why the price so high..little competition.

Postby paid_influencer » February 5th, 2023, 9:13 pm

agro-processors would benefit now..

packaged tomato choka for local and export

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2023, 9:39 pm

we have little agri processing in general
we should be pushing local ketchup instead of the purée from china the 1% using to make mix locally
notice i did not use word “mfg”

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2023, 9:41 pm

ppl with hydroponic setups can take advantage of the price swings every year

i planning to setup a covered hydroponic on a shed roof in pos this rainy season

Phone Surgeon wrote:The thing with flood prices....only a few farmers benefit...thats why the price so high..little competition.

Postby Chimera » February 5th, 2023, 10:11 pm

I trying to finish a hydroponic system since December as well but simply not finding the time.

Hoping to use carnival Monday and Tuesday to finish it

Postby timelapse » February 6th, 2023, 7:03 am

pugboy wrote:ppl with hydroponic setups can take advantage of the price swings every year

i planning to setup a covered hydroponic on a shed roof in pos this rainy season

Phone Surgeon wrote:The thing with flood prices....only a few farmers benefit...thats why the price so high..little competition.
No grow tent as yet?
Not only tomato prices fluctuate eh .

Postby pugboy » February 6th, 2023, 7:38 am

boy is just laziness as usual, i have all the steel to make up the framing for posts etc

gonna hire a pro to do final upper frame and run the plastic
where i doing this is on top a flattish roof in woodbrook, very little pests and airy.

I studying to run 4" pvc above the tomato/pepper fabric pots so could grow both bearing and greens in same place.

Postby maj. tom » February 6th, 2023, 10:29 am

The price of anything in Trinidad ever went down? Even after supply chains normalize again? Oil and flour should drop right? Doubles and Kiss bread should drop back too right?

No you see it was all about corporate greed and profits, not hard times.

While prices remain high on local shelves –Global food prices decline
https://newsday.co.tt/2023/02/05/while-prices-remain-high-on-local-shelves-global-food-prices-decline/
EVEN as the price of food remains very high on local shelves, with businesses giving a myriad of excuses for this – including the war in Ukraine and climate change – a release from the United Nations' Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is pointing to a decline in January of the benchmark index of international food commodity prices.

January was the tenth (10) consecutive month the FAO has noted a decline in the benchmark index

wing

Postby wing » February 6th, 2023, 11:20 am

maj. tom wrote:The price of anything in Trinidad ever went down? Even after supply chains normalize again? Oil and flour should drop right? Doubles and Kiss bread should drop back too right?

No you see it was all about corporate greed and profits, not hard times.

While prices remain high on local shelves –Global food prices decline
https://newsday.co.tt/2023/02/05/while-prices-remain-high-on-local-shelves-global-food-prices-decline/
EVEN as the price of food remains very high on local shelves, with businesses giving a myriad of excuses for this – including the war in Ukraine and climate change – a release from the United Nations' Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) is pointing to a decline in January of the benchmark index of international food commodity prices.

January was the tenth (10) consecutive month the FAO has noted a decline in the benchmark index
But isn't it the PNM fault? Doesn't Rowley set prices?

Postby timelapse » February 6th, 2023, 3:12 pm

pugboy wrote:boy is just laziness as usual, i have all the steel to make up the framing for posts etc

gonna hire a pro to do final upper frame and run the plastic
where i doing this is on top a flattish roof in woodbrook, very little pests and airy.

I studying to run 4" pvc above the tomato/pepper fabric pots so could grow both bearing and greens in same place.
Vertical might also be an option.Is a quick diy with some 6 inch pvc

death365

Postby death365 » February 7th, 2023, 5:46 pm

Ah man gone Hyatt for a date, he want to show off so when the waiter comes the woman orders and he wanting to show off orders loudly " I want the most expensive drink of whisky and the most expensive food"...

The waiters shocked at his order asked him if he's sure ... he say yeps.

When the waiters return with the food and drink for him, it's much fanfare... a procession of 34 different waiters.... one with the bottle of whisky and they pour it out for him.... 1 of the others is holding a huge covered plater while a next 1 holds a smoke machine under it....

Time for the big reveal .... the cover is lifted .... the smoke rises up... all very special ...

The dish .... fry egg and tomatoes

Postby Rovin » February 7th, 2023, 6:35 pm

eh

relative tell me in new york a dozen eggs is currently us8-9 ... here is about half of that