wing

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby wing » March 8th, 2023, 8:37 am

adnj wrote:
wing wrote:
pugboy wrote:you have a good point
nobody complains about the price of starbux
The RIC is saying that after examining the financial reports of manufacturers, the cost of electricity amounts to no more than 3.5 % of costs. After the proposed increase is applied, the cost rises to 4.0 % of overhead. So a potential drop of 0.5% in profits, apparently causes many businesses to teeter on the brink of bankruptcy. The only remedy is to pass the increase to the consumer... tenfold.

Tuner beat up over red and yellow, while the elites knocking glass.

The average business profit margin is about 7%.
An increase in costs of 0.5% yields a 6.5% profit margin.
Analysts see that as a 7% profit reduction.

Grocery stores have a profit margin of 1% to 3%.

edit: also consider that overhead costs vary widely and are only a fraction of input total cost - that fraction directly affects the cost considered.
I am referencing real dollar values, not margins. These terms can be twisted to fit any narrative, especially with our population's financial ignorance. The issue is that the increase in electricity rate does not justify the increase in the product.

Postby adnj » March 8th, 2023, 9:14 am

wing wrote:
adnj wrote:
wing wrote:
The RIC is saying that after examining the financial reports of manufacturers, the cost of electricity amounts to no more than 3.5 % of costs. After the proposed increase is applied, the cost rises to 4.0 % of overhead. So a potential drop of 0.5% in profits, apparently causes many businesses to teeter on the brink of bankruptcy. The only remedy is to pass the increase to the consumer... tenfold.

edit: also consider that overhead costs vary widely and are only a fraction of input total cost - that fraction directly affects the cost considered.
I am referencing real dollar values, not margins. These terms can be twisted to fit any narrative, especially with our population's financial ignorance. The issue is that the increase in electricity rate does not justify the increase in the product.

What posted was:
wing wrote:After the proposed increase is applied, the cost rises to 4.0 % of overhead. So a potential drop of 0.5% in profits, apparently causes many businesses to teeter on the brink of bankruptcy.

You may not have meant to refer to margins but you backed into it the moment you mentioned profits; which is a margin.

On the other hand, if the prices are too high, protest with a sign, boycott, don't buy it, or move. Then you get to protest other prices and other costs from other vendors.

wing

Postby wing » March 8th, 2023, 9:41 am

adnj wrote:
wing wrote:
adnj wrote:
wing wrote:

What posted was:
wing wrote:After the proposed increase is applied, the cost rises to 4.0 % of overhead. So a potential drop of 0.5% in profits, apparently causes many businesses to teeter on the brink of bankruptcy.

You may not have meant to refer to margins but you backed into it the moment you mentioned profits; which is a margin.

On the other hand, if the prices are too high, protest with a sign, boycott, don't buy it, or move. Then you get to protest other prices and other costs from other vendors.
It's fine, I have always tried to be judicious with my spending. My point is the business people are openly price gouging while the majority studying red and yellow. No amount of definitions, semantics or obfuscation will change that.

Postby adnj » March 8th, 2023, 11:09 am

wing wrote:It's fine, I have always tried to be judicious with my spending. My point is the business people are openly price gouging while the majority studying red and yellow. No amount of definitions, semantics or obfuscation will change that.

Price gouging seems to be likely by a number of businesses, and I certainly agree with your point.

Personally, I would rather go out of my way to buy somewhere else or just do without, if the price or the service does not meet my expectations.

Postby pugboy » March 8th, 2023, 11:12 am

the issue here is that the majority of the populace are sheep who will complain but still pay which just makes the profiteers smile
at the expense of the more vigilant customers
just like a democracy

Postby Rovin » March 14th, 2023, 7:01 pm

a snack not food to full ur belly but right now price club have d plastic canister of lays stax [cheddar flavor only] for $10 each ... it expiring on 22/4/2023 , i think d reg price is around $18-20 , i buy/tried 1& to me it tasting normal

Postby Dave » March 14th, 2023, 7:28 pm

Trust Price club to always have those deals.
They had a Milo deal last year. Too good to pass up.
Still have in the fridge.

Postby bluefete » March 19th, 2023, 6:52 pm

Pumpkin was $1.00 / lb in Tunapuna market today. Watermelon -$3 / lb.

I got a big bag of pimentoes for $5. and 2 decent sized bags of hot peppers for $10 / each.

Unfortunately, Kerrygold butter in Massy is now $67. / lb (454 grams). Time to suck salt, oui.

Postby Rovin » March 19th, 2023, 7:10 pm

i thought i had mentioned it b4 but price club also has a expiring soon 12 cookies in a box, oat with cranberries & 1 with chocolate flavors, BERGEN is d brand for a piper price of $7\box ... it tasting bess, not sweet at all & i think normal price was either $20-25

Postby pugboy » March 19th, 2023, 8:01 pm

kerrygold still $52 in pricesmart

bluefete wrote:Pumpkin was $1.00 / lb in Tunapuna market today. Watermelon -$3 / lb.

I got a big bag of pimentoes for $5. and 2 decent sized bags of hot peppers for $10 / each.

Unfortunately, Kerrygold butter in Massy is now $67. / lb (454 grams). Time to suck salt, oui.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 20th, 2023, 6:59 am

pugboy wrote:kerrygold still $52 in pricesmart

bluefete wrote:Pumpkin was $1.00 / lb in Tunapuna market today. Watermelon -$3 / lb.

I tried anchor and it was pretty decent...almost same price as KG

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » March 20th, 2023, 7:56 am

pugboy wrote:kerrygold still $52 in pricesmart

Kerrygold Irish Creamery Butter 454 g / 1 lb
Now $58.95.
https://www.pricesmart.com/site/tt/en/pdp/124946

Postby pugboy » March 20th, 2023, 9:31 am

they raised to equal the competition
it was there yesterday at lower price

Postby bluefete » March 21st, 2023, 3:11 am

Seems like somebody in Pricesmart is monitoring this thread LOL.

Meanwhile: Grocery prices remain very high.

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... 2df56.html

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2023, 7:50 am

I have a stockpile of butter, bought the president when truvalu had one sale xmas time
doubt we will see price drop in butter anytime soon, maybe next divali

boxed milk is now on avg $18/liter

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 21st, 2023, 5:59 pm

pugboy wrote:I have a stockpile of butter, bought the president when truvalu had one sale xmas time
doubt we will see price drop in butter anytime soon, maybe next divali

boxed milk is now on avg $18/liter

drink up an cheers to all types of cancer.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 30th, 2023, 10:15 am

March 2023

prices.jpg

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2023, 10:58 am

massy have sale on haagen daz
toilet paper and some other stuff until tomorrow

dogg

Postby dogg » March 30th, 2023, 11:17 am

Yuh have to be carefull with toilet paper and paper towel sales eh.
You gotta look at the amount of sheets you getting.
Ah man tell me he stop buying toilet paper in Pricesmart cuz the same brand cheaper on them road stalls. I had to explain that he need to check the sheet count and calculate from there. Guy didn't even know toilet paper had varying sheet counts per roll.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 30th, 2023, 12:06 pm

When you eat Haagen Daz you will definitely need toilet paper after, good sale by Massy there.

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2023, 12:19 pm

it is not only the sheet count
you need to consider the rip factor and the abrasive factor
some ppl could use sandpaper others can’t
and some ppl need paper which don’t rip based on their wipe technique

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 30th, 2023, 12:29 pm

Wait how is this a sale? Better Deal has the Haagen Daz for the same $40

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 30th, 2023, 12:50 pm

dogg wrote:Yuh have to be carefull with toilet paper and paper towel sales eh.
You gotta look at the amount of sheets you getting.
Ah man tell me he stop buying toilet paper in Pricesmart cuz the same brand cheaper on them road stalls. I had to explain that he need to check the sheet count and calculate from there. Guy didn't even know toilet paper had varying sheet counts per roll.
Men tell me I wasting money when I used to buy cottonelle for that reason.

Postby Rovin » March 30th, 2023, 1:35 pm

we talking about TP in a food thread , lol

not all TP is created equally or is good quality, everybody only looking at price not as much as performance

there is a reason why over 50yrs ago a BIDET with modern indoor plumbing became popular in d other side of d world [google it] & if u ever used 1 u will know how much more hygienic it is than TP ...

Postby 88sins » March 30th, 2023, 3:52 pm

I pass thru San Juan market this morning, apparently the price of bodi officially get affected. Seeing ppl selling $4/bundle, and is nice size bundle too.

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2023, 3:54 pm

down from $15

Postby Dizzy28 » March 30th, 2023, 4:42 pm

Went Massy Trincity lunch time today. Of the deals in their four day flash sale they had no Hagen daz, no Nestle drumstick ice-cream, no cheese cake, no toilet paper.

Lots of the beers and Sunday roasters.

pugboy wrote:massy have sale on haagen daz
toilet paper and some other stuff until tomorrow

Postby 88sins » March 30th, 2023, 7:00 pm

pugboy wrote:down from $15

ent
I was pleasantly and happily surprised
So guess who making curry bodi and roti and ting for lunch Sunday :lol:

Postby pugboy » March 30th, 2023, 7:10 pm

boy I buy some veggies the other day in tru valu and was pleased that the bill didnt reach 3 digits

Postby 88sins » March 30th, 2023, 7:18 pm

yeah, it have a glut on some veggies these days, so prices reasonable. Tomatoes, bodi, pumpkin, and many others, prices significantly lower than they were only a month ago.

If only there was a way to preserve these things medium term without negatively affecting their quality when ready to use them.