pugboy wrote:down from $15

ent
I was pleasantly and happily surprised
So guess who making curry bodi and roti and ting for lunch Sunday :lol:

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby bluefete » April 7th, 2023, 1:41 pm

Pumpkin -$1. / lb. Tomatoes - $3 / $4 /$5 a lb. Christophene - $5 /lb.

New powdered milk - Jus Milk in groceries. But Vemco lying like hell and saying it is Full Cream Filled Milk when it is Skimmed MIlk. Price good though - $49.95 for 1200 grams.

Now check this out in the UK.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... tting.html

Postby eliteauto » April 7th, 2023, 6:09 pm

bluefete wrote:
New powdered milk - Jus Milk in groceries. But Vemco lying like hell and saying it is Full Cream Filled Milk when it is Skimmed MIlk. Price good though - $49.95 for 1200 grams.

Be careful that is not the only lie being told. "Filled" milk is usually milk reconstituted with vegetable oil. Green Butterfly evaporated and most condensed milks on the marked are similarly "filled" now
Screenshot 2023-04-07 at 6.06.31 PM.png
Screenshot 2023-04-07 at 6.06.00 PM.png

Postby K74T » April 7th, 2023, 6:33 pm

The only good condensed milks are Nestle and Moo. All others are trash.

Postby eliteauto » April 7th, 2023, 6:35 pm

K74T wrote:The only good condensed milks are Nestle and Moo. All others are trash.

Lulu Belle as well, they're probably to only 3 actual condensed milk locally

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2023, 6:42 pm

aren’t there some other ones from indonesia or something?

Postby adnj » April 7th, 2023, 7:08 pm

This has been talked about for years. But call it a lie when you still haven't bothered to read the label.

ABOUT FILLED MILK

17 November 2018
Aiyegoro Ome

Many customers may not have paid attention to a low-cost food labelled “filled milk”. Our groceries and parlours sell different brands of evaporated filled milk and condensed filled milk but the average T&T consumer may not be aware of the difference between filled milk and whole milk, despite the advice of health administrators and nutritionists that we should read labels.

Every day consumers are using this particular food and with Christmas a few weeks away, homemakers and caterers are going to be putting filled milk into their shopping baskets to prepare the extra special delicacies that they intend to enjoy during the season.

The matter of filled milk is symptomatic about how little we know about the nature of food products that are imported into T&T.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/opinion/abou ... 454a7686a5

Postby bluefete » April 8th, 2023, 6:37 am

Dang. You made me go in my kitchen and pull a pack of full cream powered milk -

Kerrygold Full Cream Milk Powder - Ingredients: Full Cream Milk, Vitamin A and Vitamin D.

Anchor Full Cream Milk Powder - Ingredients: Full Cream Milk Powder, Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin)(This is not a good ingredient), Vitamins A & D.

Compared to Jus Milk ingredients - chalk and cheese.

eliteauto wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Be careful that is not the only lie being told. "Filled" milk is usually milk reconstituted with vegetable oil. Green Butterfly evaporated and most condensed milks on the marked are similarly "filled" now

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2023, 7:55 am

suspect products are all over
I watched a documentary on global tomato economics the other day
China has taken over as largest producer of tomato puree
many factories add fillers, colouring , soy fiber to bulk it up.

Postby bluefete » April 8th, 2023, 10:22 am

pugboy wrote:suspect products are all over
I watched a documentary on global tomato economics the other day
China has taken over as largest producer of tomato puree
many factories add fillers, colouring , soy fiber to bulk it up.

Yuck. But you are right.

Pigeon peas for the win!

Postby Chimera » April 8th, 2023, 10:56 am

what allyuh think about them chinese branded cartoon character sweets that all the groceries selling

like crabby patty etc

no sort of proper labelling or ingredients but little kids run them down .

how come those sorts of things are being allowed to be imported and sold without issue?

Postby MaxPower » April 8th, 2023, 11:20 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
how come those sorts of things are being allowed to be imported and sold without issue?

U really feel all shipments are inspected thoroughly? The kinda rackets going on is insane.

Postby Chimera » April 8th, 2023, 11:25 am

i know the shipments wouldnt really get inspected but theyre being openly sold in groceries........

trinidad dont have any kinda of FDA that checks on good on supermarkets?

what stopping me from lacing a set of candy with cocaine or lanate and labelling it up nice and putting it to sell in a set of groceries or parlours across the country?

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2023, 11:29 am

it’s the japanese who started the fancy packaging
they are known for nice packing
the chinese copy it now

Postby Rovin » April 8th, 2023, 8:02 pm

is it just me or orchard 1 liter juice drinks have become way more thicker higher quality compared to d watery stuff they used to make long time

i guessing stiff competition from other brands fighting up for a piece of d market share made orchard step up its game ...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 8th, 2023, 8:47 pm

^Sounds like you leave it too long the fridge.

Postby paid_influencer » April 8th, 2023, 8:52 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i know the shipments wouldnt really get inspected but theyre being openly sold in groceries........

trinidad dont have any kinda of FDA that checks on good on supermarkets?

what stopping me from lacing a set of candy with cocaine or lanate and labelling it up nice and putting it to sell in a set of groceries or parlours across the country?

cost mostly. cocaine is expensive stuff.

Postby maj. tom » April 8th, 2023, 8:53 pm

Rovin wrote:is it just me or orchard 1 liter juice drinks have become way more thicker higher quality compared to d watery stuff they used to make long time

i guessing stiff competition from other brands fighting up for a piece of d market share made orchard step up its game ...
Xanatham gum.

snatman

Postby snatman » April 8th, 2023, 9:08 pm

Talking about xanthan gum.

Allyuh ent find Berties going a lil heavy on the starch of late??

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2023, 9:11 pm

fruta loaded with it too
the guava one has a slimey mouthfeel

maj. tom wrote:
Rovin wrote:is it just me or orchard 1 liter juice drinks have become way more thicker higher quality compared to d watery stuff they used to make long time

Xanatham gum.

Postby paid_influencer » April 8th, 2023, 9:11 pm

I notice KC Confectionery shifted to chinese imported product a while now. I do not buy. Plenty of stuff also coming in from Turkey and that set is by far the worse. Nothing in english but they giving little children to eat. and the quality horrible, but it cheap cheap so all the parlours buying. Lots of latin american stuff available too but generally those are better quality than local or even sometimes US/UK products (imo).

IIRC, the body responsible for import inspection is the TTBS. Labeling (in English) being the big thing. We also have a Food and Drug division in the MoH but them does only crack down on small chinese groceries selling non-WITCO cigarettes.

I will say this tho:
I does go by Chen's Fortune shop all the time and a good half the stuff I buy is not in english and it doesn't really bother me. All that stuff comes from giant corporations in Asia that have factories and industrial processes bigger and better than anything we have locally. It very anglo-centric to think if it not in english it inferior. Anglo-centricity is our conditioning, not our reality.

but all that crap cheap chocolate/candy from Turkey is garbage and needs to be banned imo how is it even allowed who is the distributor how did he get around the law

Postby K74T » April 8th, 2023, 9:30 pm

Adam's Pepper Sauce FTW!!

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2023, 9:52 pm

yeah them turkey biscuits and chocolate is failure
the local stuff way better

Postby Dizzy28 » April 8th, 2023, 9:58 pm

Chemistry Food and Drug responsible for food inspection not TTBS
paid_influencer wrote:I notice KC Confectionery shifted to chinese imported product a while now. I do not buy. Plenty of stuff also coming in from Turkey and that set is by far the worse. Nothing in english but they giving little children to eat. and the quality horrible, but it cheap cheap so all the parlours buying. Lots of latin american stuff available too but generally those are better quality than local or even sometimes US/UK products (imo).

IIRC, the body responsible for import inspection is the TTBS. Labeling (in English) being the big thing. We also have a Food and Drug division in the MoH but them does only crack down on small chinese groceries selling non-WITCO cigarettes.

I will say this tho:
I does go by Chen's Fortune shop all the time and a good half the stuff I buy is not in english and it doesn't really bother me. All that stuff comes from giant corporations in Asia that have factories and industrial processes bigger and better than anything we have locally. It very anglo-centric to think if it not in english it inferior. Anglo-centricity is our conditioning, not our reality.

but all that crap cheap chocolate/candy from Turkey is garbage and needs to be banned imo how is it even allowed who is the distributor how did he get around the law

Postby paid_influencer » April 8th, 2023, 10:46 pm

^i thought it was both but you're right. seems once food is involved the ttbs disappear themselves

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2023, 10:48 pm

you mean they eat ah food and gone their way

years ago a ttbs guy said the white usb cellphone chargers looked like apple fakes
he seemed to think only apple could make white chargers

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 9th, 2023, 4:30 am

idk what the beat up is with ttbs,ema,an who eva else. THE ONLY POLICE THAT DOES WUK IN TT IS THE TRAFFIC POLICE . If you dont drive or own or sit in a car you will neva get ketch. put $50000000.00 in cocaine in a wheel barrow an push it up and down in front the police barracks, president house and pm house, from east to west on the main road in front arima, arouca, tunapuna, san juan police station and you WILL NEVA get stop.put in a car and traffic police will ketch yuh quick quick.
report the bad chocolate to traffic police and dem go fix it once it in a car eh.

Postby MaxPower » April 9th, 2023, 7:49 am

Man like screws yes.

Postby bluefete » April 13th, 2023, 9:54 am

Passed through X-Tra Foods- Arima yesterday.

Presidente Butter - 200 grams (less than 1/2lb) - Sign had - $52.99 crossed out and $27.00 as current price.

The normal price of Presidente butter that size, in other groceries, is between $25 - $27 anyway.

So who X-tra Foods fooling with that sign?

dogg

Postby dogg » April 13th, 2023, 10:37 am

anyone else find bulk cheese is weird these days?

An artificial plasticky look and feel? Is it just me?