Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 30th, 2023, 4:40 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:And all you need is a membership that will cost you money.

Why aren't more people taking advantage of this hack??
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:This exact thing is $100 in pricesmart

It works for some...doesn't work for others...shrugs shoulders....I stopped wasting time shopping around for "best prices"...I shop where convenient to my commute. The time taken looking for best deals, you'd end spending in gas...to each his own

Postby adnj » May 30th, 2023, 5:26 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

and a car to reach there

being poor is expensive
Pricesmart delivers to your home or business.

dogg

Postby dogg » May 30th, 2023, 5:36 pm

bluefete wrote:^^ Milo is Living in the rural area price.

Got banded Anchor butter 2 / 1 227g for $32 in Food Basket. Worked out to be $32 for 1 lb instead of $65.

Today better deal in Aranguez had the same banded offer for a slightly cheaper price.
I just bought most of it though.

There might be no more than 2 left.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » June 5th, 2023, 5:13 am

anyone know what happen to the man what used to sell the vegetables by sammy vegetable mart in aranguez? (the one with the grocery) i havent seen him in a while and the lady there looking to miserable to ask. did he die?

Postby bluefete » June 5th, 2023, 9:51 am

dogg wrote:
bluefete wrote:^^ Milo is Living in the rural area price.

Got banded Anchor butter 2 / 1 227g for $32 in Food Basket. Worked out to be $32 for 1 lb instead of $65.

Today better deal in Aranguez had the same banded offer for a slightly cheaper price.
I just bought most of it though.

There might be no more than 2 left.

What is for you is for you.

Got Kerrygold powdered milk (1800 g) 2/1 for $120.00 in Food Basket yesterday.

I find these 2/1 getting more expensive, eh.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 5th, 2023, 10:02 am

Allya not making use of Plenty for Twenty?

Postby Rovin » June 5th, 2023, 1:30 pm

i send my worker to get d 4 paper towels for $20

so about 6mths ago frozen goat in d supermarket was $40\50 a lb for cut up shoulder\leg

jes saturday gone i see it for $27\30 lb by price club, good to see price gone down quite alot when ppl does say price doh drop in T&T ...

Postby bluefete » June 5th, 2023, 2:12 pm

DMan7 wrote:Allya not making use of Plenty for Twenty?

Depends on if they have what I need.

Sometimes, you have to shop smart. Example - X-Tra Foods have Lipton (made in UAE) 100 pack tea for $50.00 - save $10.00 but I can get, at Big Deal in Aranjuez, a Lipton 104 pack tea - made in USA for about $38.00.

X-tra Foods has carrots 5 packs / $20 but Better Deal has 6/$20.

Postby bluefete » June 5th, 2023, 2:13 pm

Rovin wrote:i send my worker to get d 4 paper towels for $20

so about 6mths ago frozen goat in d supermarket was $40\50 a lb for cut up shoulder\leg

jes saturday gone i see it for $27\30 lb by price club, good to see price gone down quite alot when ppl does say price doh drop in T&T ...

Nice to see.

death365

Postby death365 » June 5th, 2023, 5:51 pm

For the people who run around to various groceries to " get d best deals"

how much gas it costing to go those places ???

How much time u loose running around???

And most importantly to me how many man hours are wasted to get d best prices???

Ah jus askin 4 a friend... of course

Postby pugboy » June 5th, 2023, 6:07 pm

depends which places you go and if you happen to be on the road a lot

death365 wrote:For the people who run around to various groceries to " get d best deals"

And most importantly to me how many man hours are wasted to get d best prices???

Postby bluefete » June 5th, 2023, 6:32 pm

It depends on where you live. For some people, depending on where they live, Big Deal / Better Deal / Food Basket / Massy / X-tra Foods / Bicks / Bermudez / Solo / Tru Valu are all a 5 or 10 minute drive away.

death365 wrote:For the people who run around to various groceries to " get d best deals"

Postby eliteauto » June 5th, 2023, 6:33 pm

Exactly, being a taxi driver allows me to shop in various places based on where I am for work, so it's like a convenient 2-4-1 situation

Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby MaxPower » June 5th, 2023, 6:41 pm

death,

The average typical dotish Trini will spend $40 in gas to save a $2 and wasting a set of time as usual and along with everything else.

A smart Trini will do as bluefete said. If unable, it will be a cost you will have to unfortunately bear.

Postby paid_influencer » June 5th, 2023, 6:48 pm

these days I shopping by the Chinese grocery opposite Gulf City and I get real real confused when I realize their prices cheaper than Massy

death365

Postby death365 » June 6th, 2023, 7:33 am

i do .... pricesmart/ xtra foods / pennywise all in central.

1 set ah gas anything else is a chinese grocery bout 3 mins drive away

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 6th, 2023, 10:19 am

If you have a big fam and can afford it, it comes in handy when buying things in bulk

Postby Dizzy28 » June 6th, 2023, 10:31 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:

If you have a big fam and can afford it, it comes in handy when buying things in bulk

Statistically the average Trini does not live in a big household. In the last census the average size of a household was 3.3 which is almost 1 less than in 1990.

By now it's probably less than 3 as we have declining birth rates and the older generations in extended family households die out.

Postby bluefete » June 6th, 2023, 11:53 am

^^ That does not mean you cannot buy in bulk, if you can afford it. My family fits the median but we buy stuff in bulk.

Works out much cheaper in the long run - but it really works better if you are single. LOLZ.

Postby bluefete » June 19th, 2023, 12:49 am

Massy MC!!!!!!

Massy was selling their sandwich loaf for $15.50.

The wicked heartless management, cut the sandwich loaf in half and selling it for $12.50.

Let it stay right there. Dey too wicked!

Postby paid_influencer » June 19th, 2023, 8:46 am

counterpoint:

by me, we doesn't make to eat the whole loaf anyway

and $12.50 is less money than $15.50

Postby bluefete » June 19th, 2023, 9:12 am

paid_influencer wrote:counterpoint:

by me, we doesn't make to eat the whole loaf anyway

and $12.50 is less money than $15.50

1/2 loaf should be around $7.75-$10.00 (if this much).

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 19th, 2023, 9:18 am

Why allya don't make allya own bread? It have bread makers inno.

I bought a cheap bread maker on amazon and have been making fresh bread every week for months. Does whole wheat too. Within 2 hrs I have freshly baked bread.

Postby MaxPower » June 19th, 2023, 9:43 am

DMan7 wrote:Why allya don't make allya own bread? It have bread makers inno.

I bought a cheap bread maker on amazon and have been making fresh bread every week for months. Does whole wheat too. Within 2 hrs I have freshly baked bread.

X3000.

We would be surprised how much ability we have in ourselves to make it work rather than the complaining.

Wise decisions are mandatory in a challenging economy.

Postby pugboy » June 23rd, 2023, 9:13 am

massy have modelo/presidente beer cheap today

viedcht

Postby viedcht » June 23rd, 2023, 2:17 pm

^Wam the JWB 75cl/225.00 deal gone thru? Like it was a mistake?

Postby pugboy » June 23rd, 2023, 2:40 pm

no
it adbertised same page

Postby K74T » July 3rd, 2023, 6:50 pm

FB_IMG_1688424556700.jpg

Postby Rovin » July 3rd, 2023, 7:29 pm

nice to see food prices actually going down & they passing on d savings to consumers ... lets see if nfm & others will do d same for their products

death365

Postby death365 » July 4th, 2023, 11:58 am

so yuh friendly neighborhood doubl;es/pie man price going down too $5 doubles back soon then ?

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1688424556700.jpg