Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby zoom rader » May 5th, 2022, 7:30 am

hover11 wrote:CENTRAL BANK CONCERNED ABOUT UNEMPLOYMENT AND HIGH PRICES.

TRINIDAD and Tobago will, this year, participate in the world's slight rebound from the covid19 pandemic – as now dampened by fallout from Russia's invasion of the Ukraine – said the Central Bank's Annual Economic Survey 2021.

"TT’s short-term outlook is expected to improve in 2022," the report said.

With the reopening of the economy, growth is expected in TT's energy and non-energy sectors.

However, the report had concerns about jobs and high prices, especially in the building sector and for foodstuffs.

Higher freight prices and global shortages for raw materials drove up prices in the construction materials especially steel and lumber.

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/05/05/centra ... ng-prices/
Red government can fix it

Postby timelapse » May 5th, 2022, 7:40 am

^Max venes can fix it

Postby adnj » May 5th, 2022, 11:46 am

adnj wrote:
Ripe Chenette wrote:So the >80%of US dollars being printed in the past 2 and some years doesn't have a part to play?

I don't understand how you can see causality between US national debt and worldwide inflationary pressure.

Don't assume that all inflation is a bad thing, either.

There are a few reasons inflation makes it easier for a government to pay its debt, especially when inflation is higher than expected. In summary:

Higher inflation increases nominal tax revenues (if prices are higher, the government will collect more VAT, workers pay more income tax)

Higher inflation reduces the real value of debt, bondholders on fixed interest rates will see a fall in the real value of their bonds and it becomes easier for the government to pay back these bonds.

Higher inflation can enable the government to freeze income tax thresholds so more workers pay higher tax rates – it becomes a way to increase tax revenues without increasing tax rates.

Why inflation can benefit the government at the expense of bondholders

Let’s assume an economy has 0% inflation, and people expect inflation to remain at 0%.

Then let us assume the government needs to borrow £2bn by selling 30-year bonds worth £1,000 to the private sector. To attract people to buy bonds, the government may offer an interest rate of 2% a year.

The government will then have to pay back the full amount of the bonds £1,000, plus the annual interest payments on these bonds (£20 a year at 2%).

The investors who buy the bonds will make a profit. The bond yield (2%) is above the inflation rate. They get back their bonds plus the interest.

However, suppose, unexpectedly there was inflation of 10%. This reduces the value of money. As prices go up because of inflation, £1,000 would buy a lower quantity of goods and services.

Because of inflation, the government would get more tax revenue as wages and prices increase (e.g. if prices go up 10%, the government’s VAT receipts will increase 10%)Therefore, inflation helps government automatically get more tax revenue.

However, bondholders lose out. The government still only have to pay back £1,000. But, inflation has reduced the value of that £1,000 bond (real value is now £900.) The inflation rate (10%) is higher than the interest rate (2%) on the bond, so they are losing the real value of their savings.

Inflation means that repaying bondholders requires a smaller % of the government’s total tax revenue – so it is easier for government to pay back the original debt they borrowed.

The Government (borrower) is better off, bondholders (savers) are worse off as a result of inflation.

https://www.economicshelp.org/blog/3015 ... -pay-debt/
.....Image

Postby hover11 » May 5th, 2022, 2:49 pm

adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:
Ripe Chenette wrote:So the >80%of US dollars being printed in the past 2 and some years doesn't have a part to play?

I don't understand how you can see causality between US national debt and worldwide inflationary pressure.

Don't assume that all inflation is a bad thing, either.

There are a few reasons inflation makes it easier for a government to pay its debt, especially when inflation is higher than expected. In summary:

Higher inflation increases nominal tax revenues (if prices are higher, the government will collect more VAT, workers pay more income tax)

Higher inflation reduces the real value of debt, bondholders on fixed interest rates will see a fall in the real value of their bonds and it becomes easier for the government to pay back these bonds.

Higher inflation can enable the government to freeze income tax thresholds so more workers pay higher tax rates – it becomes a way to increase tax revenues without increasing tax rates.

Why inflation can benefit the government at the expense of bondholders

Let’s assume an economy has 0% inflation, and people expect inflation to remain at 0%.

Then let us assume the government needs to borrow £2bn by selling 30-year bonds worth £1,000 to the private sector. To attract people to buy bonds, the government may offer an interest rate of 2% a year.

The government will then have to pay back the full amount of the bonds £1,000, plus the annual interest payments on these bonds (£20 a year at 2%).

The investors who buy the bonds will make a profit. The bond yield (2%) is above the inflation rate. They get back their bonds plus the interest.

However, suppose, unexpectedly there was inflation of 10%. This reduces the value of money. As prices go up because of inflation, £1,000 would buy a lower quantity of goods and services.

Because of inflation, the government would get more tax revenue as wages and prices increase (e.g. if prices go up 10%, the government’s VAT receipts will increase 10%)Therefore, inflation helps government automatically get more tax revenue.

However, bondholders lose out. The government still only have to pay back £1,000. But, inflation has reduced the value of that £1,000 bond (real value is now £900.) The inflation rate (10%) is higher than the interest rate (2%) on the bond, so they are losing the real value of their savings.

Inflation means that repaying bondholders requires a smaller % of the government’s total tax revenue – so it is easier for government to pay back the original debt they borrowed.

The Government (borrower) is better off, bondholders (savers) are worse off as a result of inflation.

https://www.economicshelp.org/blog/3015 ... -pay-debt/
.....Image
A country simply cannot print more money to fix it's problems, it doesn't work like that. The US will simply borrow again because that's how their economy is built on debt

Postby RedVEVO » May 5th, 2022, 4:27 pm

The price of tomatoes have plummeted !

Time to make pasta , pizza and polourie .

Postby Dave » May 5th, 2022, 4:35 pm

What is polourie? Tomatoes are used to make that?

Postby 88sins » May 5th, 2022, 5:30 pm

Dave wrote:What is polourie? Tomatoes are used to make that?

I'm a tad more concerned that for as long as you have been on tuner that you took the time and effort involved to actually read and respond the digital ravings of a proven internet lunatic.

buh wha ah go tell yuh? If it wukkin for u, wuk it :lol:

Postby pugboy » May 5th, 2022, 5:35 pm

eat as much tomato as you can now, when rains come next month dont complain when prices back in double digits for the rest of the year

Postby Dave » May 5th, 2022, 5:37 pm

A person of his alleged caliber and his carefully typed gourmet meals I would have expected more from him.....NOT!

I'm a tad more concerned that for as long as you have been on tuner that you took the time and effort involved to actually read and respond the digital ravings of a proven internet lunatic.

buh wha ah go tell yuh? If it wukkin for u, wuk it

Postby timelapse » May 5th, 2022, 5:43 pm

Heed my words.Plant your tomato seeds now.Or if seedlings, keep them in the shade

Postby Chimera » May 5th, 2022, 5:43 pm

Dave wrote:A person of his alleged caliber and his carefully typed gourmet meals I would have expected more from him.....NOT!

buh wha ah go tell yuh? If it wukkin for u, wuk it
He does still post up those fantasy meals that he has with his Chinese friends for Sunday tea?

FuadAdnan

Postby FuadAdnan » May 5th, 2022, 5:46 pm

RedVEVO wrote:The price of tomatoes have plummeted !

Hey girl, sup.

My venezolana girl makes pholourie with tomatoes....that is what you talking about?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 5th, 2022, 5:46 pm

Government lay out any food security plans as yet?

They will eat the money and drink the oil?

Ok carry on.

Postby De Dragon » May 5th, 2022, 5:48 pm

Redress10 wrote:Government lay out any food security plans as yet?

Ok carry on.

As soon as a way is found to t'ief mega millions from food security by the LFD RFD PNM, there will plans up the wazoo.

dogg

Postby dogg » May 5th, 2022, 5:56 pm

Ok carry on.

what's being done in other countries?

Postby bluefete » May 5th, 2022, 5:58 pm

pugboy wrote:eat as much tomato as you can now, when rains come next month dont complain when prices back in double digits for the rest of the year

QFT!

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 5th, 2022, 6:05 pm

dogg wrote:

Ok carry on.

Countries such as? What's your point?

Postby zoom rader » May 5th, 2022, 6:28 pm

Ok carry on.
Well they in the weed business now.

Weed > food

Red government logic

Postby RedVEVO » May 5th, 2022, 7:29 pm

There is also a plethora of cucumbers and eggplant at the local grocery. Get them NOW !!

Tomatoes you can prepare with basil and store in containers - mason jars .

On Sundays there is a plenitude of different chinese teas - no Lipton or Rose - Chinese peeps / comrades entertain with a special dish of "cucumber and eggs" as we talk about the opportunities in investment and stocks & bonds.

Then there is the everlasting glorious "eggplant with the salted cod " that we savor.

There is laughter and smiles with the Chinese over the glorious dasheen cakes etc.

Postby RedVEVO » May 5th, 2022, 7:33 pm

FuadAdnan wrote:

Hey girl, sup.

My venezolana girl makes pholourie with tomatoes....that is what you talking about?

Hey black girl sup,

YES !! Your Venezuelan BF is a keeper :D

dogg

Postby dogg » May 5th, 2022, 9:16 pm

Redress10 wrote:
dogg wrote:

Ok carry on.

What are governments in other countries doing about food security? What plans can we copy?

Postby adnj » May 5th, 2022, 9:35 pm

dogg wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
dogg wrote:

Ok carry on.

What are governments in other countries doing about food security? What plans can we copy?
You can copy what Barbados is doing with Guyana. Or did Barbados copy T&T?

To be sure Barbados has long possessed a small but energetic agricultural sector though it is patently obvious that it is modest compared with Guyana’s much more formidable agricultural prowess. Beyond that, Prime Minister Mottley is acutely aware of the ongoing vulnerability of her small island state to climate change-related challenges. Accordingly, one feels that the closeness which she has developed with Guyana at this time derives from a strategic position that takes into account the particular vulnerabilities of her own country vis a vis how Guyana can contribute to its development, going forward.

There is an important challenge here for Guyana. There can be no doubt that the previous regional food security undertakings in which the government of Guyana has been involved, the most recent one being an initiative involving Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago more than five years ago  ‘crashed and burned.’ It came down, one recalls, in part, to vigorous opposition by farmers in Trinidad and Tobago to millions of dollars in funds from the T&T private sector being pumped into mega-farm investment projects in Guyana in circumstances where, so the T&T farmers contended, there was more than sufficient land in the twin-island Republic on which to pursue large scale agricultural projects using the funds that investors were contemplating shifting to Guyana.

What Prime Minister Mottley understands is that not too far down the road Guyana, one hopes, will, through its oil and gas resources and the attendant investments that the country will attract from beyond the region, become the economic powerhouse of the Caribbean and that there is no good reason why Barbados should not deploy its CARICOM ‘connection’ to benefit from Guyana’s good fortune.  Indeed, if the recent pronouncement by the Mottley administration is anything to go by Barbados’ relationship with Guyana, going forward, will focus, in large measure, on working to secure greater access to food supplies through boosting (Barbados’) agriculture sector and by ensuring the continuation and expansion of imports from Guyana to help meet local needs. Prime Minister Mottley’s mission could hardly be clearer.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/expert- ... ers-energy

Postby timelapse » May 6th, 2022, 7:04 am

RedVEVO wrote:There is also a plethora of cucumbers and eggplant at the local grocery. Get them NOW !!

On Sundays there is a plenitude of different chinese teas - no Lipton or Rose - Chinese peeps / comrades entertain with a special dish of "cucumber and eggs" as we talk about the opportunities in investment and stocks & bonds.

Then there is the everlasting glorious "eggplant with the salted cod " that we savor.

There is laughter and smiles with the Chinese over the glorious dasheen cakes etc.
Veves, I have plenty basil.How do you prepare the tomatoes exactly?What preservative, vinegar etc?

FuadAdnan

Postby FuadAdnan » May 6th, 2022, 7:17 am

RedVEVO wrote:
FuadAdnan wrote:

Hey girl, sup.

Hey black girl sup,

YES !! Your Venezuelan BF is a keeper :D

Hey girl,

She is a girl, she cooks, cleans just like you!
She has something missing in between just like you!
She also has something missing up top like all venezolanas lol :lol:

Postby Chimera » May 6th, 2022, 7:18 am

dogg wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
dogg wrote:

Ok carry on.

Guyana doing real thing but they have endless foreign investors lining up because they wanna jump in the oil boom.

Soy bean crops. Commercial shrimp farming.
I see they want to import 2000 milking cows from Brazil to cut down on their dairy import bill.

They also starting to export coconut plants to the usa.

Den have real thing in motion

Postby 88sins » May 6th, 2022, 12:41 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
dogg wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
dogg wrote:

Ok carry on.

Guyana doing real thing but they have endless foreign investors lining up because they wanna jump in the oil boom.

Soy bean crops. Commercial shrimp farming.
I see they want to import 2000 milking cows from Brazil to cut down on their dairy import bill.

They also starting to export coconut plants to the usa.

Den have real thing in motion

only thing in motion here is the smoke & mirrors and the wool being pulled over ppl eyes.

I waiting for the fertilizer & seed shortage to kick into gear. when it does, it have certain produce ppl go wish they could find, and when they do find it they go wish they could afford it.

Postby De Dragon » May 6th, 2022, 9:08 pm

timelapse wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:There is also a plethora of cucumbers and eggplant at the local grocery. Get them NOW !!

Veves, I have plenty basil.How do you prepare the tomatoes exactly?What preservative, vinegar etc?

He puts them in his arse apparently

Postby hover11 » May 7th, 2022, 7:06 am

OVER 9,000 CARDS PURGED FROM THE FOOD SUPPORT PROGRAMME.

Cox said the review of the programme had thus far also confirmed people have been abusing the system.

“One of the main issues that we have found is that there are some families in receipt of many grants amounting to some, as much as seven thousand dollars and are also on food support and they should not be, because they would have failed the means tests because the household income would have been above the amount,” Cox told Guardian Media.

The review has also found that there were many recipients who were not using the cards.

“We have found that persons have months backed up on their food cards, so it tells us that there is no need for the food card,” Cox said.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/cox-9000-ca ... 3c8a9b6abc

Postby hover11 » May 7th, 2022, 7:07 am

Simple fix abolish the programme, Peter pay for Paul and Paul pay for all . The ppl that need the help not receiving it. Can't be wasting tax dollars like this

Postby paid_influencer » May 7th, 2022, 3:34 pm

hover11 wrote:OVER 9,000 CARDS PURGED FROM THE FOOD SUPPORT PROGRAMME.

Cox said the review of the programme had thus far also confirmed people have been abusing the system.

“One of the main issues that we have found is that there are some families in receipt of many grants amounting to some, as much as seven thousand dollars and are also on food support and they should not be, because they would have failed the means tests because the household income would have been above the amount,” Cox told Guardian Media.

The review has also found that there were many recipients who were not using the cards.

“We have found that persons have months backed up on their food cards, so it tells us that there is no need for the food card,” Cox said.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/cox-9000-ca ... 3c8a9b6abc

purges necessary to remind the foot soldiers who is the hand that feeds them

if kamla did do that... :drinking: