Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby pugboy » January 11th, 2023, 12:51 pm

just buy a pelau, savoring the fact that it have pumpkin in it

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 11th, 2023, 2:33 pm

Pumpkin prices gonna drop by March...the amount of men trying to capitalize on these prices eh...they might gt or break even

Postby Chimera » January 11th, 2023, 2:47 pm

on the whole dry season produce is cheaper

excessive rain really f#%ks things up

from having to use alot more chemicals to the pests the rains bring and then the flooding

with chemical prices being what they are....i doubt pumpking dropping below $5 a lb retail ever again

ppl accustom to 50 cents and 75 cents a lb wholesale.....$2 retail

Postby Rovin » January 11th, 2023, 2:56 pm

pugboy wrote:just buy a pelau, savoring the fact that it have pumpkin in it

funny u shud mention dat , so recently i saw ur fav chief chef making a pelau & putting punkin in it , well for me foss time i see somebody putting punkin in pelau :oops: , i heard from others that some ppl do it cause i never put any in mine b4 .... :|

Postby Rovin » January 11th, 2023, 2:59 pm

at d beginning of every year its topi tambo season , heard it done have ppl selling .... i rel like it so by wk end i might get some

Postby pugboy » January 11th, 2023, 5:22 pm

lot of farmers would have been jumping the gun since before the floods and certainly after

I myself, I didnt start back my hydroponic stuff since divali as I thought prices would drop a little
boy was I wrong

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Pumpkin prices gonna drop by March...the amount of men trying to capitalize on these prices eh...they might gt or break even

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » January 11th, 2023, 6:35 pm

Rovin wrote:at d beginning of every year its topi tambo season , heard it done have ppl selling .... i rel like it so by wk end i might get some
Yea, saw it selling since the last week of December gone

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 11th, 2023, 6:36 pm

Is $25 a pound really going to bankrupt someone?

Postby bluefete » January 11th, 2023, 6:39 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Is $25 a pound really going to bankrupt someone?

Yuh living up to your name.

You go and pay it and come back and tell us nah!

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 11th, 2023, 6:50 pm

Uncle Blue lashing hard today bai

Postby alfa » January 11th, 2023, 6:51 pm

Talking about pumpkin I went to the grocery recently to purchase a calaloo pack and i kid you not there was a sliver of pumpkin in it probably like 4mm thick and 10cm long and I think three small ochros. What was the point of even putting it in? Ended up buying a dasheen bush pack and got the ochros and pumpkin seperate

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 11th, 2023, 6:55 pm

bluefete wrote:

It wouldn't buss my bank account. But my advice to these people would be, instead of using all that brain power to remember the price of everything and how much which grocery selling it for, go and get some more qualifications so you can make more $$$
Last edited by Mmoney607 on January 11th, 2023, 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rovin » January 11th, 2023, 7:02 pm

alfa wrote:Talking about pumpkin I went to the grocery recently to purchase a calaloo pack and i kid you not there was a sliver of pumpkin in it probably like 4mm thick and 10cm long and I think three small ochros. What was the point of even putting it in? Ended up buying a dasheen bush pack and got the ochros and pumpkin seperate

man give we d dimensions in metric yes .... :lol:

Postby bluefete » January 11th, 2023, 7:44 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

It wouldn't buss my bank account. But my advice to these people would be, instead of using all that brain power to remember the price of everything and how much which grocery selling it for, go and get some more qualifications so you can make more $$$

Getting higher qualifications to make more is not necessarily the solution. That is a driver of inflation as well. More money chasing the same goods = higher prices. There are many people with "qualifications" who are struggling to make ends meet.

The majority of the population are making less than $8,000.00 per month. $25.00 a pound for pumpkin will hit the minimum wage earner much harder than someone like your good-self making $100,000 per month!

But even some high income earners are always looking for bargains and BOGO specials.

Postby bluefete » January 11th, 2023, 7:47 pm

DMan7 wrote:Uncle Blue lashing hard today bai

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :P :P :P :P

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 11th, 2023, 7:52 pm

Man can't survive on Punkin alone. What else allya buying besides that?

Postby pugboy » January 11th, 2023, 9:00 pm

bodi my friend
it’s what we grow up on
helps keep the separator functioning

DMan7 wrote:Man can't survive on Punkin alone. What else allya buying besides that?

Postby 88sins » January 12th, 2023, 8:55 pm

pugboy wrote:bodi my friend
it’s what we grow up on
helps keep the separator functioning

DMan7 wrote:Man can't survive on Punkin alone. What else allya buying besides that?

bodi is life

dogg

Postby dogg » January 13th, 2023, 9:49 am

eh, KFC running some specials today. Extra pcs chicken with bucket purchases.
Like it cheaper to buy chicken there than to cook home!

Postby MaxPower » January 13th, 2023, 10:13 am

Morning Team

Just a reminder to make healthy eating choices.

Postby timelapse » January 13th, 2023, 10:16 am

MaxPower wrote:Morning Team

Kfc can be a healthy choice.Just eat the chicken alone.No sauce,no sides, just chicken

Postby hover11 » January 13th, 2023, 10:24 am

timelapse wrote:

Kfc can be a healthy choice.Just eat the chicken alone.No sauce,no sides, just chicken
Isn't the chicken carcinogenic

Postby st7 » January 13th, 2023, 1:00 pm

dogg wrote:eh, KFC running some specials today. Extra pcs chicken with bucket purchases.
Like it cheaper to buy chicken there than to cook home!

Postby Chimera » January 13th, 2023, 1:27 pm

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Like almost everything else we consume?

Postby timelapse » January 13th, 2023, 1:40 pm

hover11 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

The biggest carcinogens are in the airwaves.Radio,internet,electricity,you name it

Postby paid_influencer » January 13th, 2023, 5:36 pm

at one point kfc had grill chicken and that did lash

they also sold skinless breasts too

both options were awesome and healthier than the oil down

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 14th, 2023, 7:24 pm

Pumpkin $15/lb in massy

Postby Rovin » January 14th, 2023, 7:44 pm

everybody on fb sharing d $364 pricetag on a punkin from west bees, but it look like nobody eh noticing its $12\lb on d sticker so that is roughly a decent size 30lb whole punkin for d $364 ...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » January 14th, 2023, 7:50 pm

Didn't know Trini's like ponkin soo much.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 14th, 2023, 8:01 pm

Rovin wrote:everybody on fb sharing d $364 pricetag on a punkin from west bees, but it look like nobody eh noticing its $12\lb on d sticker so that is roughly a decent size 30lb whole punkin for d $364 ...

What was the price before all this beat up?