Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby MaxPower » September 30th, 2022, 4:54 am

daring dragoon wrote:i visited massy trincity and then went tru value in the mall and i have to say its massy shopping for me yes. prices not too bad and in fact cheaper than some places for some items. i have to visit them more often now.

X3000

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2022, 7:31 am

i buy a bag of 10kg flour in anands the other day,
their 10kg prices a little cheaper than everywhere else but the 2kg is about the same

dogg

Postby dogg » September 30th, 2022, 9:25 am

daring dragoon wrote:i visited massy trincity and then went tru value in the mall and i have to say its massy shopping for me yes. prices not too bad and in fact cheaper than some places for some items. i have to visit them more often now.

Yeah, if you ignore month-end specials, Massy's prices are no different on average than elsewhere and often cheaper.
And the points add up quickly with the card. Its a satisfying feeling paying for groceries with accumulated points :)

Just don't do like the Guyanese poster Maxipad and take selfies while you're there.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2022, 9:29 am

Not to hijack the thread but I have seen multiple places having sales on Kellogs cereals. Massy been offering 2-1 and now $22 Kellogs Special K since last month and St Christophers also had sale on them. Is there a glut locally?
The cereal cheaper than supermarkets in the US when you look at the prices.

Postby eliteauto » September 30th, 2022, 9:30 am

Been on sale in various versions for over a year now, I dunno if it's dumping or a glut but after a year it's still on special?

Postby eliteauto » September 30th, 2022, 9:33 am

Allyuh feel it will have rush?
Screenshot 2022-09-30 at 9.32.50 AM.png

dogg

Postby dogg » September 30th, 2022, 9:40 am

Dizzy28 wrote:Not to hijack the thread but I have seen multiple places having sales on Kellogs cereals. Massy been offering 2-1 and now $22 Kellogs Special K since last month and St Christophers also had sale on them. Is there a glut locally?
The cereal cheaper than supermarkets in the US when you look at the prices.
I don't think the kellogs we get in the caribbean is manufactured in the US. Probably Mexico. Less stringent standards. So that's probably why its cheaper.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 30th, 2022, 9:44 am

eliteauto wrote:Been on sale in various versions for over a year now, I dunno if it's dumping or a glut but after a year it's still on special?

Only really started noticing the specials since Aug of this year.
Massy initially had 2-1 for one on select flavours (not the yogurt flavour, not the red berries) in Aug. Now they have the Blue Berries one for $21.95 a box.

Capture.JPG

Postby bluefete » September 30th, 2022, 11:28 am

Postby Rovin » September 30th, 2022, 11:36 am

eliteauto wrote:Allyuh feel it will have rush?

be wary if its ham they have in a freezer from since last year & want to push it out b4 d season starts to bring in d new stocks - not saying its d case here but trust me groceries does do dat eh ...

Postby gastly369 » September 30th, 2022, 12:55 pm

Freezer burn last year ting for sure... They always that that stock when I went so.. Most likely

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2022, 1:17 pm

I find they should list the ingredients of the glue in making those hams

Postby 88sins » September 30th, 2022, 5:27 pm

d lolz in here wit all dis ham speculation. Buy or don't buy, the choice is yours, whatever tickle your pickle.

Just know for yourself that them kinda preserved meats REALLY ain't no good for humans to be consuming. Year old and freezer burned of not.

Postby Rovin » September 30th, 2022, 5:58 pm

i advise to buy ur frozen xmas meats closer to xmas & not too early in d season, wait for others to buy out all d last year & older stocks so hopefully u get d fresher current stuff ...

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » September 30th, 2022, 6:46 pm

88sins wrote:d lolz in here wit all dis ham speculation. Buy or don't buy, the choice is yours, whatever tickle your pickle.

Just know for yourself that them kinda preserved meats REALLY ain't no good for humans to be consuming. Year old and freezer burned of not.

once a year aint go kill you i am sure.

Postby eliteauto » September 30th, 2022, 7:19 pm

I'll admit I laughed a little at the comments regarding the ham, meat processors make thousands of hams in a run, to assume a "fresh" ham closer to a season is incorrect, it'll probably be the same hams available now, I've never seen a freezer burn ham either maybe I'm not looking. Anyways as someone whose relatives have been employed in the meat processing field for decades, I can tell you that these hams don't have a manufacturing date they are inspected and sold with a shelf life date, I always have hams and turkeys in my freeze and just checked them they have an inspected date till 2025

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 30th, 2022, 7:21 pm

Hams are a Sham.

Postby timelapse » September 30th, 2022, 9:57 pm

Doh buy the ham.Get the whole hog

Postby pugboy » September 30th, 2022, 10:07 pm

they don’t spoil so indeed
but tell us about the meat glue nah

eliteauto wrote:I'll admit I laughed a little at the comments regarding the ham, meat processors make thousands of hams in a run, to assume a "fresh" ham closer to a season is incorrect, it'll probably be the same hams available now, I've never seen a freezer burn ham either maybe I'm not looking. Anyways as someone whose relatives have been employed in the meat processing field for decades, I can tell you that these hams don't have a manufacturing date they are inspected and sold with a shelf life date, I always have hams and turkeys in my freeze and just checked them they have an inspected date till 2025

shaha87

Postby shaha87 » September 30th, 2022, 10:22 pm

Fellas invest in a 1/4 Oz or so of Prague powder #1 and a digital kitchen scale. Make your own ham and you’ll never go back to store bought. It’s mostly hands off doing it.

What is this meat glue you speak of Pugboy?

Postby paid_influencer » September 30th, 2022, 10:23 pm

what part of the turkey is the ham

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2022, 6:44 am

you ain’t realize them lil boneless hams they selling are made by squeezing together a bunch of little pieces of leftovers together in the oval shape ?
also the outside is treated to recreate a “skin”

shaha87 wrote:
What is this meat glue you speak of Pugboy?

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2022, 6:45 am

heading westmall this morning
oops that ham flash sale over

Postby MaxPower » October 1st, 2022, 9:18 am

Happy Saturday Massy shoppers!

Enjoy the great products and services!

Postby Rovin » October 1st, 2022, 12:40 pm

when somebody say fresh or fresher it doh mean like they made it recently cause from research they make these things mths in advance to properly cure or age it & obviously not wait last minute for d mad xmas rush where a single grocery wud easily take 25-50+ cases of ham in a bundle buy

of course they wont slaughter\process all d animals in a single session but in gradual batches, it will obviously have some older than others so d processors sell out older stock as sales progress, who sells newer batches 1st & leave d older stuff ... this goes for any kind of products, if u want to buy anything & keep it safely stored for later then thats up to u :|

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2022, 6:07 pm

went and bought some of the strip loin beef and pork belly strips on sale
the chicken cutup packs good price too

they said they sold 75cases of hams yesterday

Postby paid_influencer » October 1st, 2022, 6:12 pm

Sabga calling $6 for a handful of potato chips ("Ripples"). I cannot for the life of me understand why that so expensive. that is more than a doubles.

Postby timelapse » October 1st, 2022, 6:15 pm

paid_influencer wrote:Sabga calling $6 for a handful of potato chips ("Ripples"). I cannot for the life of me understand why that so expensive. that is more than a doubles.
Make your own.Air fryer recipes easy to come by

Postby pugboy » October 1st, 2022, 6:51 pm

them chips is air you paying for
imbert should tax that crap

paid_influencer wrote:Sabga calling $6 for a handful of potato chips ("Ripples"). I cannot for the life of me understand why that so expensive. that is more than a doubles.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 1st, 2022, 6:52 pm

pugboy wrote:went and bought some of the strip loin beef and pork belly strips on sale
the chicken cutup packs good price too

they said they sold 75cases of hams yesterday

this is what i am saying abt massy. i going to make it my first stop when grocery shopping before i go xtra food.