pugboy wrote:they bussing price but it grows easy like rambutan
so should come down
it’s a much juicier sweeter fleshier rambutan
real nice

viedcht wrote:
pugboy wrote:allyuh ever eat longan?
closest thing to a lychee

rambutan is same family but no comparison
Gourmet Genie had, but I didn't try. Was about 60.00 a pound? I think...

Why you always dropping food bombs so...rambutan is life. It is imperative I try this Longan now.

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 1st, 2022, 11:23 am

pugboy wrote:massy dropped kerrygold butter to $48
for december

Steups..picked up a KG in PM on Tuersday for $52. Was in Massy Monday as well but that price wasn't yet in effect.

On another note the prices in Massy (and PM) on a whole ranger of food items seem to be more than before. Saltfish and smoke herring gone up in both places. Makes me wonder once again how poor ppl survive?

That same 52 would be about 72 when the new ttec rates kick in

Postby paid_influencer » December 1st, 2022, 8:25 pm

mall popcorn reach $8

Postby MaxPower » December 1st, 2022, 8:31 pm

paid_influencer wrote:mall popcorn reach $8

Haven’t had that in ages.

Postby eliteauto » December 2nd, 2022, 9:31 am

Went to the wholesale market today for stuff to make chow chow. Prices are sky high, a bag of pimento that would be $15-20 is $50 ( 1 lady had it for $25) a bundle of chive normally $60 is $140, cauliflower is almost 3 times the price and tomatoes are going back $25 a lb. AND!!!!! It had no bodi anywhere, yes folks bodi prices are about to be affected

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2022, 9:51 am

gonna be a rough xmas for those small items with the flooding
expect high prices until at least mid january or later since farmers have to replant

Postby sMASH » December 2nd, 2022, 9:54 am

^^ ah man do a vid in a market showing he big bundle prices... yup, bhodi price affected.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 2nd, 2022, 10:32 am

eliteauto wrote:Went to the wholesale market today for stuff to make chow chow. Prices are sky high, a bag of pimento that would be $15-20 is $50 ( 1 lady had it for $25) a bundle of chive normally $60 is $140, cauliflower is almost 3 times the price and tomatoes are going back $25 a lb. AND!!!!! It had no bodi anywhere, yes folks bodi prices are about to be affected

I rarely buy breakfast but this morning had myself a bodi and roti. Everything else in trays but bodi was in a lil bowl she pull out from under the table. Understand why now oui!!

Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2022, 12:42 pm

Saw the price and thought was strawberries yes

Postby K74T » December 2nd, 2022, 1:11 pm

Yup. Tomatoes choka is shotta food now. $$

Postby bluefete » December 2nd, 2022, 3:12 pm

^^ Almost $30.00 / lb.

I doh understand why people beating up.

Is either yuh pay de price or do without.

Yuh go dead if yuh doh buy it at $100 / lb ent?

Postby Rovin » December 2nd, 2022, 6:17 pm

u hadda pay for d prestige & ambiance to shop in certain places ...

Postby bluefete » December 2nd, 2022, 6:26 pm

Rovin wrote:u hadda pay for d prestige & ambiance to shop in certain places ...

Correct is right. As well as spacious lanes and clean air.

Postby S_2NR » December 2nd, 2022, 6:42 pm

pricesmart have "ambiance" ? :lol: :lol: :lol:
thats news to me

Postby paid_influencer » December 2nd, 2022, 6:47 pm

bluefete wrote:^^ Almost $30.00 / lb.

yup.

1. grow your own tomatoes, make plenty money too if you think farmers making a killing, or

2. do without tomatoes. I lived on an island where tomatoes was scarce most of the year, and I survived.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 2nd, 2022, 6:49 pm

Ah hadda go set some lettuce and cucumber now wee.

Postby paid_influencer » December 2nd, 2022, 6:50 pm

S_2NR wrote:pricesmart have "ambiance" ? :lol: :lol: :lol:
thats news to me

if i in pricesmart for more than like 5 minutes, my head does hurt. I donno if is the lights, the flooring, the crowds, the giant everything, but that environment not made for people. completely unnatural and uncomfortable

Postby timelapse » December 2nd, 2022, 6:50 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
bluefete wrote:^^ Almost $30.00 / lb.

yup.

1. grow your own tomatoes, make plenty money too if you think farmers making a killing, or

2. do without tomatoes. I lived on an island where tomatoes was scarce most of the year, and I survived.
2 .Carrera?

Postby Rovin » December 2nd, 2022, 7:02 pm

some ppl doh get sarcasm ...

Postby S_2NR » December 2nd, 2022, 7:11 pm

Rovin wrote:some ppl doh get sarcasm ...

it have ppl on this forum who call massy fancy so it not hard to believe ppl would think so

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2022, 9:08 pm

you have a point, the large scale layout is very similar to them
big casinos abroad
they suck you into the environment

paid_influencer wrote:
S_2NR wrote:pricesmart have "ambiance" ? :lol: :lol: :lol:
thats news to me

if i in pricesmart for more than like 5 minutes, my head does hurt. I donno if is the lights, the flooring, the crowds, the giant everything, but that environment not made for people. completely unnatural and uncomfortable

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 2nd, 2022, 9:58 pm

What happens in the event of a major earthquake while shopping in pricemart?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 3rd, 2022, 2:01 am

just a reminder to anyone going to the market this weekend to wash all vegetables with vinegar before storing or consuming especially veggies that is consumed raw.

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2022, 4:28 am

Small anchor cheese was $30 now it's $41 ....we going good

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2022, 4:40 am

use bleach
tsp to bucket

daring dragoon wrote:just a reminder to anyone going to the market this weekend to wash all vegetables with vinegar before storing or consuming especially veggies that is consumed raw.

Postby hover11 » December 3rd, 2022, 9:57 am

Nutrimix has announced that for Christmas, they will be offering a FREE 10kg bag of flour-------for every 10 bags purchased.

Postby Rovin » December 3rd, 2022, 6:23 pm

i was just now in a supermarket that makes some of u feel prestigious to shop at , chaguanas branch

out of d corner of my eye i notice a lady taking up a pack of shortcake biscuits & 1 fell off d shelf onto d ground, d lady just casually kicked it to d base of d shelf & walk off normel, she must be feel i eh see

i told d cashier a lady [didnt sell out anybody] kick d pack of biscuit to d side , cashier say they will find it when they go to pack d shelves later :?

jes a cool story moment for some of u who feel special shopping in these nice places ... 8-)

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2022, 6:52 pm

supermarkets have a huge amount of damages, and expired goods they churn continually
the supplier merchandisers spend a lot of time tallying those exchanges

Rovin wrote:i was just now in a supermarket that makes some of u feel prestigious to shop at , chaguanas branch

out of d corner of my eye i notice a lady taking up a pack of shortcake biscuits & 1 fell off d shelf onto d ground, d lady just casually kicked it to d base of d shelf & walk off normel, she must be feel i eh see

i told d cashier a lady [didnt sell out anybody] kick d pack of biscuit to d side , cashier say they will find it when they go to pack d shelves later :?

jes a cool story moment for some of u who feel special shopping in these nice places ... 8-)

Postby Rovin » December 3rd, 2022, 6:58 pm

buh wa about if a worker rest it back on d shelf not knowing what i saw but thinking well it must be jes fall off d shelf jesso so no biggie nothing really happen to it , d lady eh kick it hard like a football, a lil nudge but jes d tort nuh ...

Postby paid_influencer » December 3rd, 2022, 7:03 pm

counterpoint: I went to shop this Morning at Massy and I had to get 25 snacks for a school class party. I asked for assistance, and I got some of the best customer service I've ever had on the island. The kind lady pointed out that the snacks on the shelf ("Doritos") were $6.10, but they also had some new sizes in front for $4. She lead me to them, counted them out for me, and put them in my cart.

I could go elsewhere for the snacks, but for service, convenience and cleanliness, it is hard to beat Massy.