Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2022, 10:02 am

dogg wrote:Expect increasing pain for the next few months if not years.

What pain?

Trinis seem just fine, they could more than handle some more increases and the Govt is fully aware of this.

Postby 88sins » May 19th, 2022, 10:11 am

timelapse wrote:If you can't get extra income, stop spending your money chuppid.Do you really need the latest phone and sneakers?Do you really need to be liming every day?The ones that will feel it the most are the ones that didn't prepare for it.Eat little,live long

a major part of the problem is that most people know very little about money management, and have a very strong addiction to the instant gratification sensation of impulse buying, and are of the impression that they have to keep up with what they see other people have.
basically, the majority of the population adheres to the recipe for the age old adage "a fool and his money are soon parted"

Postby adnj » May 19th, 2022, 10:22 am

dogg wrote:BBC is saying that millions of TONS of grain are stuck in Ukraine as the Russians are preventing it from being shipped out.

Expect increasing pain for the next few months if not years.

Red or yellow or green or rainbow govt can do nothing about it!

This.Image

dogg

Postby dogg » May 19th, 2022, 11:25 am

What pain?

Trinis seem just fine, they could more than handle some more increases and the Govt is fully aware of this.

Yeah, the 20% of the population who boast here about shopping at "exclusive" Massy stores and Walmart and Chin grocery, can handle it.

Its the other 80% that will feel the pain and transfer that pain to the 20% in some form or the other.

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2022, 12:05 pm

carnival jouvert fete every weekend since lockdowns eased normel
money spending

Postby RedVEVO » May 19th, 2022, 12:14 pm

What pain?

X3004

Yes yes correct statement . T&T is a food paradise !!

Vegetables, fish , fruits are in abundance at the Central Market !!

If you have friend with a food business it's such a pleasure to go to the Macoya Wholesale Market !!

Yes forget bread and flour products - eat vegetables and meat :D Corn beef and lamb only $20 !!

And fruits juices can be made with local mangoes, pineapple, oranges, limes etc.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 19th, 2022, 12:18 pm

For the bulk buyers, take my dotish advice and stock up on oil, dry goods, pampers and formula (if you have kids) as well as any other food item that can last long.

Cant say I didnt tell allyuh!

Postby RedVEVO » May 19th, 2022, 12:24 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:For the bulk buyers, take my dotish advice and stock up on oil, dry goods, pampers and formula (if you have kids) as well as any other food item that can last long.

x 3,000,000

Baby formula price is increasing :|

You talking truth and giving good advice .

ZR used to do the same and give good advice .

Where do we go now and "take bull" ?

dogg

Postby dogg » May 19th, 2022, 12:47 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:For the bulk buyers, take my dotish advice and stock up on oil, dry goods, pampers and formula (if you have kids) as well as any other food item that can last long.

The bulk buyers like myself already do that. Now go convince those who don't. Add cleaning products, canned goods, to that list. Everything is going up.

Also buy chicken at pluck shops and NOT at supermarkets. You save and you know you're getting fresh meat. For the fish lovers, head down to the fishing depots and buy freshly caught seafood from the fisherfolk. Save big. You gotta clean it yourself though.

weekend gone I couldn't find dried black beans at three different groceries. When I finally found some, I bought all on the shelf. There was no more in storage at that grocery. Might be temporary, but who knows.

Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby S_2NR » May 19th, 2022, 1:24 pm

Lol @ massy and Walmart being exclusive

dogg

Postby dogg » May 19th, 2022, 1:50 pm

S_2NR wrote:Lol @ massy and Walmart being exclusive

Only according to maxpower:
Exhibit one:
Sufferers are becoming a problem in Massy.

Only loafing and macooing just to update their social media status to say OH they “shopping” at Massy.

These are the same people that rearrange the isles and abuse the cashiers.

Exhibit Two:
Half of allyuh dont even have your visas.

So yes, Starbucks and Tgif is stush ting for allyuh.

Walmart is probably like a wonderland and an excitement for many of you….but in reality alot of american trash infest there and most outlets are ghetto holes with stink carparks with beggars…in certain areas that is. Target is actually a little better.

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2022, 2:10 pm

dogg wrote:

What pain?

Yeah, the 20% of the population who boast here about shopping at "exclusive" Massy stores and Walmart and Chin grocery, can handle it.

Its the other 80% that will feel the pain and transfer that pain to the 20% in some form or the other.

dogg,

80% is a big number.

Where are the voices of these people?

Where are the protests??

Postby RedVEVO » May 19th, 2022, 3:46 pm

80% is HUGE number of sufferers .

Is this in and only in the Dog House ?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 19th, 2022, 3:47 pm

What going on with Bodi price dey?

dogg

Postby dogg » May 19th, 2022, 4:08 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

80% is HUGE number of sufferers .

Is this in and only in the Dog House ?

What can I say, except that I'm a sufferer.

Postby hover11 » May 19th, 2022, 5:20 pm

Expect to pay up to $9 per pound for fresh chicken

Postby S_2NR » May 19th, 2022, 5:21 pm

dogg wrote:

Exhibit one:

Only loafing and macooing just to update their social media status to say OH they “shopping” at Massy.

Exhibit Two:

Walmart is probably like a wonderland and an excitement for many of you….but in reality alot of american trash infest there and most outlets are ghetto holes with stink carparks with beggars…in certain areas that is. Target is actually a little better.

Tuner like a courthouse yes. Can't say nothing and have it forgotten

Postby RedVEVO » May 19th, 2022, 9:14 pm

hover11 wrote:Expect to pay up to $9 per pound for fresh chicken

Peeps paying $10 with no problem - fresh chicken is always the best ! :D

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2022, 9:18 pm

boy it have ppl who wouldn’t be seen dead shopping at a roadside vendor

dogg

Postby dogg » May 19th, 2022, 9:21 pm

Yeah, so when I say

This is the kinda thing we'll see more and more often. Cable theft was just the beginning:
Arsonists destroy 4 road paving vehicles at Santa Cruz worksite
After waiting months for the restoration of parts of Saddle Road in Santa Cruz, residents awoke this morning to find that the equipment being used to pave the road had been destroyed by fire in an apparent arson attack.

The equipment belonged to contractors Kallco Limited, which had begun paving the road just one day prior.

Postby RedVEVO » May 19th, 2022, 9:30 pm

S_2NR wrote:
dogg wrote:

Exhibit one:

Exhibit Two:

Tuner like a courthouse yes. Can't say nothing and have it forgotten

:D funny ..

It's more accurately described as " the tote."

Lots of peeps like to spend money and enjoy themselves to the fullest !

But beware of the " tote man " :lol:

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2022, 9:30 pm

you remember the bourdain episode with the 1% when peter george talk about the middle class buffer

Postby RedVEVO » May 19th, 2022, 9:32 pm

pugboy wrote:you remember the bourdain episode with the 1% when peter george talk about the middle class buffer

Example of a tote :D

Postby RedVEVO » May 19th, 2022, 9:39 pm

Corner of Carlos and Ariapita is a TACO BELL clone !! Great food !!

Everybody stress in one form or another but you need go out with friends and family in the middle of the week !

Eat some great food and have a few drinks - it does not have to be alcoholic .

And it's NOT expensive .

But when you stay home and worry and tote ( living in the past ) and thinking about this bill and that bill - then you forget you are alive TODAY !!

So enjoy your best life tonight !!!

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 19th, 2022, 10:07 pm

Everybody stress in one form or another but you need go out with friends and family in the middle of the week !

And it's NOT expensive .

But when you stay home and worry and tote ( living in the past ) and thinking about this bill and that bill - then you forget you are alive TODAY !!

Almost a sensible post from you.

Btw do you happen to suffer from tourette's in real life? Everytime I read one of your post I get that kinda vibe from you.

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » May 19th, 2022, 10:16 pm

Redress10 wrote:

And it's NOT expensive .

Btw do you happen to suffer from tourette's in real life? Everytime I read one of your post I get that kinda vibe from you.

Lol go easy on Red nah bhaio. He’s the new booblie since Zoom gone

Postby RedVEVO » May 19th, 2022, 10:51 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

And it's NOT expensive .

Lol go easy on Red nah bhaio. He’s the new booblie since Zoom gone

It's RedVEVO :D

" Booblie" is such a term of endearment - so let's cuddle :wink:

Rando tuner peeps not hearing from you - long time - tells what happening ?

We care so much about you and you alone :wink:

Are you going to tell us about where to get the BEST prison food prices tonight ?

Postby Rovin » May 20th, 2022, 12:21 pm

so chicken gone up by 5%

GRATE IS D U KNOW WHO ...

Consumers paying more for chicken

AS of this week consumers are paying five per cent more for local chicken, due to the price adjustment of feed.

This is the second price increase in a few weeks as chicken prices increased last month, owing to the escalation in price of feed.

Speaking to the Express yesterday Broiler Growers Association president Sudesh Ramkissoon said it was earlier this week that he saw the bill from a supermarket owner that the wholesale cost of processed chicken now stands at $16 per pound from the previous increased price of $13 per pound, from the various processors in the country.

Ramkissoon said he was baffled by this increase as in the last 20 years the farmers growing the chickens have not increased their prices to the processors such as Arawak and Nutrimix.

“We operate under very old contracts, our price of production has not changed, so it’s not the farmers who have increased the cost. A poultry farmer generates anywhere from a dollar to two dollars per head sold from his farm.

So for growing a chicken for six weeks, a farmer earns a dollar or two,” he lamented.

Ramkissoon indicated that the processor’s production cost has not increased, or the minimum wage has not been increased, so the second price hike is not justifiable at this time...especially at this time.

He said consumers are now paying between $16 to $18 per pound at their local pluck shops or directly from the processors.

“Consumers are also now paying $52 for a three-pound bird, so you are getting two chickens for a $100… that is crazy, it is out of proportion for the man on the ground. I am against this price increase, because if the farmers are not the ones increasing the cost and we are not benefiting from the price increase, then why the hike? The processors will have to answer those questions,” Ramkissoon explained.

...Salaries the same

However, when the Express contacted Robin Phillips, director of marketing at Arawak, he said there was not another price increase by Arawak as the last one was at the end of last month.

“The prices were adjusted then and since then there has not been a further increase on our end,” Phillips said.

Chicken must be affordable

The Broiler Growers Association president highlighted that the demand for the chicken was also a factor as it was one of the more affordable meats, but with this increase consumers will be cutting back their spend.

Another issue Ramkissoon said that is looming is some pluck shops are also not being supplied with their daily request quota.

“Some shops may want 1,000 chickens to sell every three or four days, but they are now getting very reduced supplies, maybe only 100 to 200. This is not good for business.”

He called for dialogue with the Ministries of Trade as well as Agriculture together with the stakeholders to address ongoing matters which can lead to the reduction in costs and by extension the food import bill.

Sherron Thomas from San Fernando said she was paying an average of $13 per pound and her new bill as of Wednesday was $16.

“This is madness; everything is just increasing every month, but our salaries. What is the reason for this increase again?” Thomas lamented.

Sean Collins of Gasparillo said if there is a third increase, his family will have to turn vegetarian.

“We will get our proteins elsewhere, I cannot afford to buy four chickens at $200 and then still have other groceries to buy, along with other expenses,” Collins remarked.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/c ... IqXgWQGmdQ

dogg

Postby dogg » May 20th, 2022, 1:21 pm

You all realise that regular bulk cheese selling at close to $70 kg??

Double from 2 years ago.

Postby 88sins » May 20th, 2022, 5:23 pm

Rovin wrote:so chicken gone up by 5%

GRATE IS D U KNOW WHO ...

Consumers paying more for chicken

AS of this week consumers are paying five per cent more for local chicken, due to the price adjustment of feed.

This is the second price increase in a few weeks as chicken prices increased last month, owing to the escalation in price of feed.

Speaking to the Express yesterday Broiler Growers Association president Sudesh Ramkissoon said it was earlier this week that he saw the bill from a supermarket owner that the wholesale cost of processed chicken now stands at $16 per pound from the previous increased price of $13 per pound, from the various processors in the country.

Ramkissoon said he was baffled by this increase as in the last 20 years the farmers growing the chickens have not increased their prices to the processors such as Arawak and Nutrimix.

“We operate under very old contracts, our price of production has not changed, so it’s not the farmers who have increased the cost. A poultry farmer generates anywhere from a dollar to two dollars per head sold from his farm.

So for growing a chicken for six weeks, a farmer earns a dollar or two,” he lamented.

Ramkissoon indicated that the processor’s production cost has not increased, or the minimum wage has not been increased, so the second price hike is not justifiable at this time...especially at this time.

He said consumers are now paying between $16 to $18 per pound at their local pluck shops or directly from the processors.

“Consumers are also now paying $52 for a three-pound bird, so you are getting two chickens for a $100… that is crazy, it is out of proportion for the man on the ground. I am against this price increase, because if the farmers are not the ones increasing the cost and we are not benefiting from the price increase, then why the hike? The processors will have to answer those questions,” Ramkissoon explained.

...Salaries the same

However, when the Express contacted Robin Phillips, director of marketing at Arawak, he said there was not another price increase by Arawak as the last one was at the end of last month.

“The prices were adjusted then and since then there has not been a further increase on our end,” Phillips said.

Chicken must be affordable

The Broiler Growers Association president highlighted that the demand for the chicken was also a factor as it was one of the more affordable meats, but with this increase consumers will be cutting back their spend.

Another issue Ramkissoon said that is looming is some pluck shops are also not being supplied with their daily request quota.

“Some shops may want 1,000 chickens to sell every three or four days, but they are now getting very reduced supplies, maybe only 100 to 200. This is not good for business.”

He called for dialogue with the Ministries of Trade as well as Agriculture together with the stakeholders to address ongoing matters which can lead to the reduction in costs and by extension the food import bill.

Sherron Thomas from San Fernando said she was paying an average of $13 per pound and her new bill as of Wednesday was $16.

“This is madness; everything is just increasing every month, but our salaries. What is the reason for this increase again?” Thomas lamented.

Sean Collins of Gasparillo said if there is a third increase, his family will have to turn vegetarian.

“We will get our proteins elsewhere, I cannot afford to buy four chickens at $200 and then still have other groceries to buy, along with other expenses,” Collins remarked.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/c ... IqXgWQGmdQ

The people chose this, it's what they wanted, so let them have.
By year end brace allyuh selves to pay 23-25 a lb, and mark my words.
And just kno, when chicken reach that price, all other meat will increase as well.