Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby timelapse » November 20th, 2022, 5:46 pm

Macoya wholesale market for strawberries if you like them that much.They are very perishable and you have some wiggle room to haggle for better prices.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 20th, 2022, 9:38 pm

pugboy wrote:massy?

viedcht wrote:Anybody know where in South area have Angostura cocoa bitters for sale?
Got in Southland Chinese supermarket, was heading Massy though

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » November 21st, 2022, 2:57 am

paid_influencer wrote:As a strawberry lover, I will say Strawberry prices vary wildly on the island. I've seen it bounce from $40 earlier this year (yes $40), up to the current $90, and to every price in between.

that is the nature of the beast. Strawberry is a luxury food, and is highly perishable

why alluh dont support local instead. look for local strawberry or buy 2 orange or a piece of sugar cane. stop buying foreign support local and keep locals employed.

dogg

Postby dogg » November 21st, 2022, 12:41 pm

A lil chinese grocery in Tunapuna had 2/1 on Nescafe instant 50g pouches.
Needless to say, I have coffee for the next 2 yrs

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2022, 4:12 pm

pugboy wrote:them imported ones really lacking on flavour
and get mold soon after

they selling like hot bread still even though price went from 55 to 90
I doh think ppl buying strawberries care about the price.

I myself does feel hard to pay $20 for 6 orange when I know I could pass tru d wholesale market and pay $100 for 100 orange

Postby paid_influencer » November 21st, 2022, 5:16 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:As a strawberry lover, I will say Strawberry prices vary wildly on the island. I've seen it bounce from $40 earlier this year (yes $40), up to the current $90, and to every price in between.

that is the nature of the beast. Strawberry is a luxury food, and is highly perishable

why alluh dont support local instead. look for local strawberry or buy 2 orange or a piece of sugar cane. stop buying foreign support local and keep locals employed.

bossman, the other day I pay like $20 for a small bag of sugar cane chow by "Kulfi Fruits" and when I reach home it tasting off.

i does pay all kinda ridiculous price for pommerac, too. problem is availability.

Portugal in season and I cutting down on that. Have one in the fridge right now (best eaten cold).

Postby paid_influencer » November 21st, 2022, 5:30 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
and get mold soon after

I myself does feel hard to pay $20 for 6 orange when I know I could pass tru d wholesale market and pay $100 for 100 orange

what do you do with 100 oranges what do you do with them

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2022, 5:43 pm

lol you ain’t know when that chow made
and i hear they does add back extra sauce from previous day to next batch for added flavour

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2022, 6:47 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:
and get mold soon after

what do you do with 100 oranges what do you do with them
Normally me and my brother in law would split it.

That lasting a week or more with plenty juice and chow.

Postby eliteauto » November 21st, 2022, 7:25 pm

I squeeze citrus and other fruits I grow like passion fruit and bottle them and store them in the freeze, great for making juice when they're out of season

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2022, 7:30 pm

you don’t find they get pulp separation after?

them companies use xanthan gum as a thickener to keep the pulp suspended

eliteauto wrote:I squeeze citrus and other fruits I grow like passion fruit and bottle them and store them in the freeze, great for making juice when they're out of season

Postby timelapse » November 21st, 2022, 7:32 pm

I marking a patch of 'pingwing' on a hiking trail.Foreign fruits want nothing with this.Only problem is that it rare.
For those who don't know,the plant itself looks like pineapple,the fruits are kinda small and taste like a creamy pineapple ice cream.
Will take a pic of the plant.Hope nobody else marking the one I marking

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2022, 7:49 pm

Boy when I buy a bag of 100 orange I eating orange morning noon and night lol I eh even feeling for food.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 21st, 2022, 7:55 pm

timelapse wrote:I marking a patch of 'pingwing' on a hiking trail.Foreign fruits want nothing with this.Only problem is that it rare.
For those who don't know,the plant itself looks like pineapple,the fruits are kinda small and taste like a creamy pineapple ice cream.
Lawd I looking for some plants a few years now. Which part that is?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 21st, 2022, 7:59 pm

I use to pay 50.00 for a 100+orange, from dem caroni estate tief dem. Eating 30 over ah 8hrs. Good old days

Postby pugboy » November 21st, 2022, 8:11 pm

allyuh ever eat longan?
closest thing to a lychee

rambutan is same family but no comparison

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 21st, 2022, 8:12 pm

I love buying and juicing oranges. 20 kg boxes cost around 40 TTD here. Nothing better than a fresh, cold glass with breakfast or lunch.

Postby timelapse » November 21st, 2022, 8:18 pm

viedcht wrote:
timelapse wrote:I marking a patch of 'pingwing' on a hiking trail.Foreign fruits want nothing with this.Only problem is that it rare.
One patch on bamboo cathedral trail,near #8
Other one up on toco side

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2022, 8:22 pm

Orange is 100 to 150 a bag of 100 these days

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 21st, 2022, 10:21 pm

viedcht wrote:I use to pay 50.00 for a 100+orange, from dem caroni estate tief dem. Eating 30 over ah 8hrs. Good old days

Oh yes, I remember those from up caparo.

small, thin skin, dark colour pulp and SUPER SWEET

Postby timelapse » November 22nd, 2022, 6:09 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
viedcht wrote:I use to pay 50.00 for a 100+orange, from dem caroni estate tief dem. Eating 30 over ah 8hrs. Good old days

Sadly, most of that orange plantations has gone to sheit.Overgrown with bush, and the flooding doesn't help.

Postby Chimera » November 22nd, 2022, 6:31 am

It have some kind of citrus disease wipe out plenty plantations as well

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 22nd, 2022, 8:47 am

triniterribletim wrote:I love buying and juicing oranges. 20 kg boxes cost around 40 TTD here. Nothing better than a fresh, cold glass with breakfast or lunch.
Cherish that, brother. In a couple years whole foods/fruits will be scarce as its perishable, and more costly. Processed foods are becoming more acceptable for convenience.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 22nd, 2022, 8:49 am

timelapse wrote:
viedcht wrote:
Thanks, hopefully I can get some or at least one in time. Someone told me to check plant farm in reform but I yet to visit.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 22nd, 2022, 8:50 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:

What we call cocoa orange in the coffee/cocoa estates. One variety sweet, one sour like fus time.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 22nd, 2022, 8:52 am

pugboy wrote:allyuh ever eat longan?

Gourmet Genie had, but I didn't try. Was about 60.00 a pound? I think...

Postby timelapse » November 22nd, 2022, 8:59 am

viedcht wrote:
timelapse wrote:
viedcht wrote:
Thanks, hopefully I can get some or at least one in time. Someone told me to check plant farm in reform but I yet to visit.
Be prepared to dig.

Postby pugboy » November 22nd, 2022, 9:19 am

they bussing price but it grows easy like rambutan
so should come down
it’s a much juicier sweeter fleshier rambutan
real nice

viedcht wrote:
pugboy wrote:allyuh ever eat longan?

Gourmet Genie had, but I didn't try. Was about 60.00 a pound? I think...

Postby pugboy » December 1st, 2022, 8:50 am

massy dropped kerrygold butter to $48
for december

Postby Dizzy28 » December 1st, 2022, 9:18 am

pugboy wrote:massy dropped kerrygold butter to $48
for december

Steups..picked up a KG in PM on Tuersday for $52. Was in Massy Monday as well but that price wasn't yet in effect.

On another note the prices in Massy (and PM) on a whole ranger of food items seem to be more than before. Saltfish and smoke herring gone up in both places. Makes me wonder once again how poor ppl survive?