truvalue
https://postimg.cc/gallery/CS6hmxM

https://www.pricesmart.com/site/tt/en/pdp/442113

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Rovin » October 29th, 2022, 4:42 pm

all kinda talk on d previous page - some of allyuh good yes

caraille doubles is an actual thing ? , i tort is joke allyuh making yes ...

Postby bluefete » October 29th, 2022, 5:00 pm

^^ LOL at Rovin. I not buying dat either(caraille doubles) not fuh nothing!

Agricultural Society boss: Record high food prices coming
19 hours ago
Fri Oct 28 2022

Radhica De Silva

T&T will see record-high prices of produce in the lead-up to Christmas because of the frequent flooding which has been affecting farmers, says Agricultural Society president Daryl Rampersad.

Speaking to Guardian Media following two days of floods which destroyed agricultural crops in Penal, Barrackpore and Woodland, Rampersad said before the recent flooding there was already a shortage of crops on the local market.

This led to produce being sold at exorbitant prices, Rampersad said.

However, he explained: “Based on additional rainfall that we received, the farmers were already absorbing a lot of losses. We already barely had enough produce for sale locally, and now with this latest rainfall from last week to now, it is safe to say that we can expect very, very high prices for this Christmas season here.”

Rampersad said farming had become tedious for many because of the rising cost of production.

“It is rather difficult now because we have to keep rebuilding from point A to point B and as of recently, the farmers have not been making a lot of profit because of these issues,” he added.

Rampersad said apart from the high cost of fertilizers and chemicals, climate change is also a major issue for farmers.

“We now see the need to see to have agriculture in protected controlled agricultural systems and building above-ground pens as it pertains to livestock farming,” he said.

https://guardian.co.tt/news/agricultura ... 70c5aeecfa

Postby paid_influencer » October 29th, 2022, 5:46 pm

Rovin wrote:all kinda talk on d previous page - some of allyuh good yes

caraille doubles is an actual thing ? , i tort is joke allyuh making yes ...

yes, caraile doubles available in sando since I small. Them right next to the NP gas station on royal road (opposite EBC office/La Cocina on Circular road) during regular doubles hours, but not every day.

the doubles itself unremarkable but sometimes you want the little bite from the caraile

Postby maj. tom » October 29th, 2022, 5:58 pm

you mean the carailee pickled in some fresh lime juice, salt, garlic and pepper for a few days? And used as a condiment? That wouldn't be bad. The salt and acid pickling will take care of the overt bitter melon cucurbitacin taste.

If they just using it fresh grated in the doubles, well wtf.

Postby paid_influencer » October 29th, 2022, 6:21 pm

yea that. a big plump chunk of bitter gourd bursting with flavor in the morning inside the doubles

Postby Rovin » October 29th, 2022, 6:52 pm

i have had various methods of cooked carailli from different ppl, in prayers food etc prepared "good & tasting good" as some wud say but i just dont care for it , it will never be something i will ask for, so nah i will skip even trying it in doubles ... :|

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2022, 7:05 pm

might as well make aloes chutney

maj. tom wrote:you mean the carailee pickled in some fresh lime juice, salt, garlic and pepper for a few days? And used as a condiment? That wouldn't be bad. The salt and acid pickling will take care of the overt bitter melon cucurbitacin taste.

If they just using it fresh grated in the doubles, well wtf.

Postby De Dragon » October 29th, 2022, 9:57 pm

88sins wrote:Ai in summary, the boy needs some actual food and a pair of balls :lol:

Throw in a functional cocoloks too.

Postby eliteauto » November 18th, 2022, 6:22 pm

Deal alerts, Food Basket in Mt Hope has Nestle 100% Milk Low Fat buy one get one free @$16 each ( $8 for 1) expiring 05/12/22, they also have the 1800g Jolly granulated sugar at $17 a pack, the cheapest I've seen since the pandemic. Better Deal in Aranguez has Moo evaporated listed on the shelf @ 6 for $19, which is less than half price but at the cashier it's reading as 12 for $20 as it's expiring on the 19th ( tomorrow)

Postby pugboy » November 18th, 2022, 7:33 pm

ponche de crème makers go buy out

Postby redmanjp » November 18th, 2022, 8:12 pm

eliteauto wrote:Deal alerts, Food Basket in Mt Hope has Nestle 100% Milk Low Fat buy one get one free @$16 each ( $8 for 1) expiring 05/12/22, they also have the 1800g Jolly granulated sugar at $17 a pack, the cheapest I've seen since the pandemic. Better Deal in Aranguez has Moo evaporated listed on the shelf @ 6 for $19, which is less than half price but at the cashier it's reading as 12 for $20 as it's expiring on the 19th ( tomorrow)

not sure if i trust milk that expiring the next day. short expirees is d only way we cud get deals these days? :roll:

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 18th, 2022, 8:16 pm

Thinking of starting a grocery. Seriously.

Postby bluefete » November 19th, 2022, 3:31 pm

22lb bag of Ibis flour cost $54.00 at Better Deal in January 2022.

Same thing is now $94.00 in November 2022.

NFM just announced another loss, so brace for more flour price increases.

Postby paid_influencer » November 19th, 2022, 3:59 pm

I went through my grocery bill today and get a few shockers. a small tub of cream cheese that used to cost ~$30 at the start of the year reach $49. powdered seasoning way up from what I remembered. any brand-name imported food thing gone up significantly. Local-branded stuff (made in t&t, or product-of-foreign in local branding eg Matouk's Pizza sauce for $17) plenty cheaper and same quality generally.

massy finally get back strawberries too. $90. Lady in front of my say naaahhhh, that staying right there!
(I put a tray of them in my cart right after. good quality too, and delicious).

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 19th, 2022, 7:32 pm

$90 for how much? a pound?

Postby eliteauto » November 19th, 2022, 8:05 pm

$90 strawberries? I agree with the lady that was staying right there

Postby S_2NR » November 19th, 2022, 8:42 pm

He sound like one of those trinis who have to show everybody they 'unaffected' by prices

matix

Postby matix » November 19th, 2022, 9:21 pm

S_2NR wrote:He sound like one of those trinis who have to show everybody they 'unaffected' by prices

Many posers on the forum these days.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 19th, 2022, 9:29 pm

paid_influencer wrote:I went through my grocery bill today and get a few shockers. a small tub of cream cheese that used to cost ~$30 at the start of the year reach $49. powdered seasoning way up from what I remembered. any brand-name imported food thing gone up significantly. Local-branded stuff (made in t&t, or product-of-foreign in local branding eg Matouk's Pizza sauce for $17) plenty cheaper and same quality generally.

massy finally get back strawberries too. $90. Lady in front of my say naaahhhh, that staying right there!
(I put a tray of them in my cart right after. good quality too, and delicious).

Where the hell are they importing those strawberries from? I wonder if there would be a market in TT for Brazilian strawberries. Supermarket prices here are around 5.6 BRL which is 7.06 TTD for 250 g so they must be something like 4 BRL wholesale or less per package. I would assume it's Driscoll's, which is California based which probably explains the prices.
IMG_20221119_222411.jpg

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 19th, 2022, 9:37 pm

I pay $5 for a pound of Driscolls strawberries here in FL but it says it's a product of Mexico. $90 is surprising.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » November 19th, 2022, 9:42 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:I pay $5 for a pound of Driscolls strawberries here in FL but it says it's a product of Mexico. $90 is surprising.

$90 TTD a pound is Beetham highway robbery.

Postby paid_influencer » November 19th, 2022, 10:29 pm

As a strawberry lover, I will say Strawberry prices vary wildly on the island. I've seen it bounce from $40 earlier this year (yes $40), up to the current $90, and to every price in between.

that is the nature of the beast. Strawberry is a luxury food, and is highly perishable

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 20th, 2022, 10:04 am

Most strawberries for export are picked just underripe to keep 'fresh'.
Frozen is mostly naturally ripened

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2022, 10:37 am

them imported ones really lacking on flavour
and get mold soon after

they selling like hot bread still even though price went from 55 to 90

Postby maj. tom » November 20th, 2022, 10:42 am

weren't they doing strawberry farms in Tobago? Or maybe I'm remembering something wrong.
Takes about 3 or 4 months so we should get it by now in the markets?

Postby matr1x » November 20th, 2022, 11:15 am

When local sellers spritz their strawberries to make it look fresh and shiny, that's the worse thing you can do

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 20th, 2022, 2:21 pm

Anybody know where in South area have Angostura cocoa bitters for sale?

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2022, 2:41 pm

massy?

viedcht wrote:Anybody know where in South area have Angostura cocoa bitters for sale?

Postby Dizzy28 » November 20th, 2022, 3:14 pm

Strawberries aren't particularly cheap now. The large Driscoll's in Costco was $8 this morning.
IMG_20221120_102214.jpg