Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby maj. tom » May 10th, 2023, 6:48 pm

Yes! I hate when they put too much cumin in aloo pie or in the dhal-mix for roti. It's just a little needed especially when it's roasted, just like smoked paprika!

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » May 10th, 2023, 6:52 pm

I does buy the one where you have to grind, the little hard looking seeds. That is FAR better than the powdered one in the pack.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » May 10th, 2023, 7:47 pm

If allyuh men get some of this, you will never want Golden Ray ever again. If you know you know!

images (10).jpeg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 10th, 2023, 11:18 pm

I cyah eat egg without citrus to cut that fresh smell, worst is how the pan smells afterwards. But egg don't need much seasoning, just a lil fresh thyme and good to go

death365

Postby death365 » May 11th, 2023, 2:59 am

Thyme is seasoning too
viedcht wrote:I cyah eat egg without citrus to cut that fresh smell, worst is how the pan smells afterwards. But egg don't need much seasoning, just a lil fresh thyme and good to go

Postby adnj » May 11th, 2023, 4:04 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Thank you for correcting a minor mistake in my post g, hope u feel good now.

Salt is just essential for survival just like water, many people don't consider that seasoning

Seems like you're getting salty!

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 11th, 2023, 4:34 am

death365 wrote:Thyme is seasoning too
viedcht wrote:I cyah eat egg without citrus to cut that fresh smell, worst is how the pan smells afterwards. But egg don't need much seasoning, just a lil fresh thyme and good to go

thyme is a herb, salt is a seasoning, curry is a spice and ketchup is a condiment. yet trinis take a chicken put salt, green herbs and eat it with a condiment. an with all that seasonings and herbs and condiments you never taste the chicken so what sense does it make eating chicken? fry some flour dumplin prepared the same way and soak with ketchup and mustard and see it aint taste the same.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 11th, 2023, 4:43 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol allyuh fawkers watching too much YouTube and feel just salt and black pepper is seasoning.

The only place I ever get food that taste better than trinidad is in Suriname. And it was very much like our food.

my statement is not about if the food taste good or not. i meant that trinis dont taste the meat or fish but feel if they blend all them herbs and garlic and pepper together it tasting good but you still not tasting the meat. so why even eat the meat just cook two aloo the same way and please your mind.

i personally do not put lime in fish, i put vinegar to kill the bacteria and cook it, and i taste the sea and the fish. so i can say king fish has no taste worth paying $50 a pound.

Postby adnj » May 11th, 2023, 5:00 am

screwbash wrote:
death365 wrote:Thyme is seasoning too

thyme is a herb, salt is a seasoning, curry is a spice and ketchup is a condiment. yet trinis take a chicken put salt, green herbs and eat it with a condiment. an with all that seasonings and herbs and condiments you never taste the chicken so what sense does it make eating chicken? fry some flour dumplin prepared the same way and soak with ketchup and mustard and see it aint taste the same.

Salt is a mineral.
Collectively, spices, minerals, and herbs are seasonings.

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2023, 5:20 am

curry is a blend of spices

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 11th, 2023, 5:51 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Lol allyuh fawkers watching too much YouTube and feel just salt and black pepper is seasoning.

The only place I ever get food that taste better than trinidad is in Suriname. And it was very much like our food.

This!!!!!

Postby adnj » May 11th, 2023, 6:38 am

What are the approved seasonings for breakfast today?

Asking for a friend.

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2023, 6:38 am

so allyuh does eat ribeye steak with green seasonings ?

death365

Postby death365 » May 11th, 2023, 7:13 am

I know a guy who does season he ham before he bake it .... season overnight too

pugboy wrote:so allyuh does eat ribeye steak with green seasonings ?

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2023, 7:22 am

I challenge anybody to try this recipe of roasting a chicken with basically salt and black pepper
no green seasoning or vinegar lime washing

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWLt6G85zC4

key thing is proper roasting them 450f and not too long or dries out the bird

Postby mero » May 11th, 2023, 7:53 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

This!!!!!
Ent.

Men itt say no where else in the world they dey does season meat with blended green seasoning. Does know ppl who passport never get stamp

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 11th, 2023, 7:55 am

big man ting

Salt and black pepper for that. Cooking Technique matters more than the seasoning for this.

The wypipo got it right with that one. Don't knock it till you try it. Nothing wrong with a simple meal every now and then.

But everything else local (aka cheap), season he arse, meen wa no minimalist curry.

Postby adnj » May 11th, 2023, 7:56 am

What are the twelve sauces and dressings that I need to make my pizza slice tasty?

Postby mero » May 11th, 2023, 7:57 am

maj. tom wrote:Yes! I hate when they put too much cumin aloo pie or in the dhal-mix for roti

Wha kinda talk is that tom?

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2023, 8:04 am

its more how you squirt them bro
even spiral motion like a cockset mosquito coil

adnj wrote:What are the twelve sauces and dressings that I need to make my pizza slice tasty?

Postby mero » May 11th, 2023, 8:22 am

Good steak don't need no setta setta seasoning but you not gonna be abused by Chef Ramsay if u choose to add in minor dry seasoning to your suit.

Lil mustard rub before I add the coarse salt and pepper. The mccormick steak rub can be used too just for additional spices. Coming down to the end add in a 2 clove of garlic and some butter, and a sprig of fresh rosemary to brush the steak with.. Fresh portabella mushrooms is a must as well esp if u finishing in the oven.

Trinis fixation with sauce is an abomination though

Postby adnj » May 11th, 2023, 8:41 am

How long do I need to grill my steak so that it is nice and gray throughout, with none of that nasty pink juice?

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 11th, 2023, 9:25 am

mero wrote:Good steak don't need no setta setta seasoning but you not gonna be abused by Chef Ramsay if u choose to add in minor dry seasoning to your suit.

Lil mustard rub before I add the coarse salt and pepper. The mccormick steak rub can be used too just for additional spices. Coming down to the end add in a 2 clove of garlic and some butter, and a sprig of fresh rosemary to brush the steak with.. Fresh portabella mushrooms is a must as well esp if u finishing in the oven.

Trinis fixation with sauce is an abomination though

That sounds good tbh

Less is more. You can taste the individual flavors more an ting

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2023, 10:22 am

adnj wrote:How long do I need to grill my steak so that it is nice and gray throughout, with none of that nasty pink juice?

Love my medium rare steak.

dogg

Postby dogg » May 11th, 2023, 10:47 am

adnj wrote:How long do I need to grill my steak so that it is nice and gray throughout, with none of that nasty pink juice?

Do you all eat capybara steak in Guyana?

A steak meal is typically too much meat to comfortably eat in one sitting.
Anyway, this is the food prices thread. Beef and pork prices have been fairly stable over the last few months thankfully.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 11th, 2023, 10:53 am

dogg wrote:

Do you all eat capybara steak in Guyana?

A steak meal is typically too much meat to comfortably eat in one sitting.
Anyway, this is the food prices thread. Beef and pork prices have been fairly stable over the last few months thankfully.

well doh eat d whole ting?

Also yeah, which is surprising seeing that chicken shoot up

Postby alfa » May 11th, 2023, 10:56 am

I use a homemade rub with powered onion garlic paprika brown sugar ginger and a few other things along with salt and pepper and yes I do sometimes put a tiny bit of the green stuff all before tossing on the grill I tried the salt and pepper alone once but it was kinda bland, maybe it's just Trini taste buds lol

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2023, 11:00 am

I is use the white people recipe on Youtube.

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2023, 11:03 am

who going by salty dog for the $95 rib eye today?

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » May 11th, 2023, 12:40 pm

pugboy wrote:I challenge anybody to try this recipe of roasting a chicken with basically salt and black pepper
no green seasoning or vinegar lime washing

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EWLt6G85zC4

key thing is proper roasting them 450f and not too long or dries out the bird

That is the truth. Ate a chicken here roasted over wood and charcoal, just salt and black pepper. It was better than any barbeque I've ever had anywhere around the world. Even better than Braai in South Africa, better than jerk in Jamaica, better than South Korean skewers, better than Greek souvlaki, better than any Trini barbeque. Same thing for steak, filet mignon, picanha, sirloin, skirt etc. Minimal seasonings so you can taste the cuts of meat. The fat in the meat and the cooking process is what matters. Texas de Brazil is a pale shadow of a real Brazilian churrasco experience. The all you can eat is also only like 75 TTD per person in most places, some even cheaper, so like a quarter of the price.