Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

daring dragoon

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby daring dragoon » February 12th, 2023, 8:18 pm

triniterribletim wrote:
bluefete wrote:Paid $2 / lb for cucumbers today.

On the other hand, Moo Milk is now $18.95 in Food basket and $16.95 in X-Tra Foods. New 10 year design on the box.

17 TTD for a litre of milk? How the hell are things more expensive in Trinidad than Switzerland and Norway now?

thank god babies once they stop breast feeding and start solid foods and all adults wasnt designed to drink milk so they can raise it how much they want. i always say every mammal under the sun once they stop nursing dont drink milk. stop drinking that cancer chemical they sell as milk, you dont need it. this is why so much people getting cancer. stop drink coffee or drink it black.

Postby maj. tom » February 12th, 2023, 8:24 pm

You're right. Humans are the only animals that drink milk from another animal. And only about 35% of humans are lactose tolerant due to a genetic mutation that maybe happened around 5000 BC in Ancient Egypt region that keeps the lactase gene permanently switched on. The intolerance rate is very high in East Indian descent ppl.

Postby pugboy » February 12th, 2023, 8:31 pm

asians too
locally we have been duped like americans to drink milk

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 13th, 2023, 7:41 am

yumm.jpg

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 13th, 2023, 7:47 am

Immortal joe gave us the best idea

Postby hover11 » February 13th, 2023, 7:47 am

triniterribletim wrote:

On the other hand, Moo Milk is now $18.95 in Food basket and $16.95 in X-Tra Foods. New 10 year design on the box.

17 TTD for a litre of milk? How the hell are things more expensive in Trinidad than Switzerland and Norway now?
Imagine working for a whole hour and still incapable of buying a box of milk or a loaf of bread. Something isn't right there.

Postby gastly369 » February 13th, 2023, 7:53 am

hover11 wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:

Imagine working for a whole hour and still incapable of buying a box of milk or a loaf of bread. Something isn't right there.
Doh study that boat ride, carnival and zess is priority

If cya make the money in 1hr go just thief it from a hard working citizen

Postby pugboy » February 13th, 2023, 7:55 am

why did it go up so much ?
years ago when nestle was only milk the price was around $13-14
then these brands came and price competition dropped to $11-12 sometimes cheaper

Postby adnj » February 13th, 2023, 8:09 am

When adjusted for inflation, wholesale prices of milk have steadily dropped over the last 30 years.

Postby adnj » February 13th, 2023, 8:13 am

hover11 wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:

Those are entry level jobs, unskilled jobs, or jobs that lack credentials. If a worker can't get a pay raise after two or three years, get a better job or move somewhere where you can get a better job.
Last edited by adnj on February 13th, 2023, 8:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » February 13th, 2023, 8:13 am

there was a lot of cheap milk available from europe also when the other companies started giving nestle pressure
some allegedly under dumping circumstances
adnj wrote:When adjusted for inflation, wholesale prices of milk have steadily dropped over the last 30 years.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 13th, 2023, 9:16 am

viedcht wrote:Immortal joe gave us the best idea

Immortan Joe

dogg

Postby dogg » February 13th, 2023, 9:35 am

daring dragoon wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:

thank god babies once they stop breast feeding and start solid foods and all adults wasnt designed to drink milk so they can raise it how much they want. i always say every mammal under the sun once they stop nursing dont drink milk. stop drinking that cancer chemical they sell as milk, you dont need it. this is why so much people getting cancer. stop drink coffee or drink it black.

So now we cancelling ice cream, pizza, macaroni pie, yogurt, cheesecake, and the like, or ONLY milk?
How about butter and ghee?

:D :D :D

dogg

Postby dogg » February 13th, 2023, 9:38 am

88sins wrote:Can anyone explain why the rassclat people buying hot peppers? And thyme?

dem is ting yuh supposed to have growing home. Is a small plant that does grow quickly, in a pot, and with proper care will bear multiple times before it dead.

Peppers are HARD to grow without careful daily care. I've tried many many times. The only type I was successful with was the cherry peppers, and even that only bore for a couple months before drying up.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 13th, 2023, 9:47 am

pugboy wrote:asians too

It predates Murica.
Milk and derivatives are a core part of the East Indian culture and the literature suggests a common ancestor between Europe and India over 10000 years ago where the lactose tolerance gene started
https://www.cam.ac.uk/research/news/ind ... milky-past

A cow is worth more alive than dead. It can feed you and your family for years.
Milk, butter, ghee, yoghurt/dahee, paneer, sweets, offerings etc.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » February 13th, 2023, 9:53 am

viedcht wrote:Immortal joe gave us the best idea

Immortan Joe
Autocorrect

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 13th, 2023, 12:42 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

It predates Murica.
Milk and derivatives are a core part of the East Indian culture and the literature suggests a common ancestor between Europe and India over 10000 years ago where the lactose tolerance gene started

Yes, it dates back to the time when the proto-Indo-Europeans managed to tame the aurochs and turn them into dairy cows. Our ancestors were really something, considering how much bigger an aurochs is compared to a cow. Had to be a real madman who decided that he wanted to try drinking the milk from this thing.

8291211184_e99e5ca896_o.jpg

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 13th, 2023, 12:58 pm

dogg wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:

So now we cancelling ice cream, pizza, macaroni pie, yogurt, cheesecake, and the like, or ONLY milk?

butter and ghee is just the fat from the milk and anyhow none of those this you mentioned good for you. did you great grandparents or grandparents eat them things? was cancer rampant with that generation?

Postby adnj » February 13th, 2023, 2:07 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
dogg wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:

butter and ghee is just the fat from the milk and anyhow none of those this you mentioned good for you. did you great grandparents or grandparents eat them things? was cancer rampant with that generation?

Did they survive long enough to die from cancer instead of something else?

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 14th, 2023, 3:59 am

my grand father was almost 90 and great grand father worked caroni and was in his 80's. now as most turn 40 you hadda go on meds for blood pressure, cholesterol, diabetes among others. now have the best medical advice as what to eat. dont eat egg, drink skimmed milk, stay away from coconut oil and use soyabean oil instead. go brave.

Postby adnj » February 14th, 2023, 4:27 am

daring dragoon wrote:my grand father was almost 90 and great grand father worked caroni and was in his 80's. now as most turn 40 you hadda go on meds for blood pressure, cholesterol, diabetes among others. now have the best medical advice as what to eat. dont eat egg, drink skimmed milk, stay away from coconut oil and use soyabean oil instead. go brave.

Really? Most? No one in my family has ever had those problems. More like most people don't know what their cholesterol level, blood pressure and fasting blood sugar level is.

Half of the world doesn't even have access to basic essential medical care. Look it up. If half of the people can't get basic medical care, how can most of the people be on medication by the time that they're forty years old?

When you post, you really, really need to stick to what you know; and about all you seem to know about is where to buy doubles and the price of bodi. Anything else is outside of your wheelhouse.

Postby timelapse » February 14th, 2023, 7:16 am

adnj wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:my grand father was almost 90 and great grand father worked caroni and was in his 80's. now as most turn 40 you hadda go on meds for blood pressure, cholesterol, diabetes among others. now have the best medical advice as what to eat. dont eat egg, drink skimmed milk, stay away from coconut oil and use soyabean oil instead. go brave.

Really? Most? No one in my family has ever had those problems. More like most people don't know what their cholesterol level, blood pressure and fasting blood sugar level is.

Half of the world doesn't even have access to basic essential medical care. Look it up. If half of the people can't get basic medical care, how can most of the people be on medication by the time that they're forty years old?

When you post, you really, really need to stick to what you know; and about all you seem to know about is where to buy doubles and the price of bodi. Anything else is outside of your wheelhouse.
The part you forgot to mention;
Half or more of the people that have access to medical care and more importantly,the education behind it do not give a rats arse about their health.Lifestyle diseases are a big middle finger to all the progress that has been made in the health science field.

Postby maj. tom » February 14th, 2023, 1:33 pm

I wonder if Saffron can grow here. Would be nice to find local saffron instead of always needing to import it from Iran or Spain.

Postby timelapse » February 14th, 2023, 2:11 pm

maj. tom wrote:I wonder if Saffron can grow here. Would be nice to find local saffron instead of always needing to import it from Iran or Spain.
Its a crocus, I don't see why not

Postby gastly369 » February 14th, 2023, 2:14 pm

maj. tom wrote:I wonder if Saffron can grow here. Would be nice to find local saffron instead of always needing to import it from Iran or Spain.
Saw friends parents growing them

death365

Postby death365 » February 14th, 2023, 3:32 pm

thats a picture of a bull eh ... u dont want milk from that :mrgreen:

triniterribletim wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

It predates Murica.

Yes, it dates back to the time when the proto-Indo-Europeans managed to tame the aurochs and turn them into dairy cows. Our ancestors were really something, considering how much bigger an aurochs is compared to a cow. Had to be a real madman who decided that he wanted to try drinking the milk from this thing.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 14th, 2023, 11:10 pm

death365 wrote:thats a picture of a bull eh ... u dont want milk from that :mrgreen:

triniterribletim wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

It predates Murica.

All the human size comparisons that I could find used bulls, I would assume the dimorphism would be roughly on par with bulls to cows from most breeds today. I assume they would have had to kill the wild bulls and then somehow get the cows and the calves to start with and then try something from there. Many props to Grug Stonesman, the first dairy farmer. He is the reason we can enjoy wagyu.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » February 15th, 2023, 5:59 am

adnj wrote:

try an make some sense nah. just like always you ramble on with data you copy from google.

Postby adnj » February 15th, 2023, 8:09 am

daring dragoon wrote:
adnj wrote:

try an make some sense nah. just like always you ramble on with data you copy from google.
It seems as if you're sensitive to having your outlandish claims called out.

dogg

Postby dogg » February 15th, 2023, 1:51 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
dogg wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
triniterribletim wrote:

Dunno, but Trinidad and Tobago's life expectancy was 10 years less in the 1960's than it is today.
Maybe they should have drunk more milk.