Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Redman » October 29th, 2021, 11:00 am

Redress10 wrote:
pugboy wrote:meats in north america have already gone up, but not here yet
surely new stocks this month for xmas will see higher prices for those with fancy meat tastes

Why would you buy meats from america with everything we know about their use of anti biotics and enhanced growth hormones etc.

Meats from america aren't even sold in the EU/UK. Stop importing and comsuming garbage.

We are going through a period of inflation in response to external problems that will take a few years to work themselves out.

Brace yourself

Postby Ben_spanna » October 29th, 2021, 11:08 am

Just wait for it... come December and into the first few months of 2022 , only then will this supply chain start to really affect us, when you go to the grocery and notice how many products you cant get dont be surprised.
Garlic, butters, boxed cereals, Special milks and drinks that cater to allergies, spreads, processed meats, canned foods, you will see how many of them will not be there.

death365

Postby death365 » October 29th, 2021, 12:40 pm

dont forget medicines .. which quietly going up an up too

Ben_spanna wrote:Just wait for it... come December and into the first few months of 2022 , only then will this supply chain start to really affect us, when you go to the grocery and notice how many products you cant get dont be surprised.
Garlic, butters, boxed cereals, Special milks and drinks that cater to allergies, spreads, processed meats, canned foods, you will see how many of them will not be there.

Postby 88sins » October 29th, 2021, 3:16 pm

Nah, doh worry about prices and availability. This is normal. When it eh have, we can do without.
No need to study self sustainability at all.

Postby The_Honourable » October 30th, 2021, 2:44 am

From a globalized perspective

Saagar provides a break down of the supply chain issues across the globe causing major food inflation in America as opposed to the convenient explanations being given for who to blame.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 30th, 2021, 5:01 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Just wait for it... come December and into the first few months of 2022 , only then will this supply chain start to really affect us, when you go to the grocery and notice how many products you cant get dont be surprised.

a lot of the items you mention not good for you so its for the best.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 30th, 2021, 5:07 am

The_Honourable wrote:From a globalized perspective

Saagar provides a break down of the supply chain issues across the globe causing major food inflation in America as opposed to the convenient explanations being given for who to blame.

hear that kant talk nah, typical american fanatical thinking that they are better than everyone else that coal prices in china shouldnt affect fertilizer prices in US or drought in south america affect corn in the US. blaming the rest of the world for high prices in the US. y he aint talk about they cause the covid, all the wars they fuel to sell bullets and do forth. Them kants in the US pollute the world the most and cause ALL the trouble the world has seen and this arse talking liken them alone have to have low food prices and live a good life. if them so smart why is it after all the vaccine they pushing in fools in amerca they still have high infections? it reach a point that on monday no vaccine no wuk. at least the US shortage and high price for american made products will make everyone stop buying american made products and fork away when them.

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2021, 11:40 am

X-tra Foods has some really good month end specials today.

Time to stock up for Christmas.

Shop wisely.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 30th, 2021, 3:50 pm

bluefete wrote:X-tra Foods has some really good month end specials today.

Shop wisely.

they put out turkeys yet? i done stock up to avoid the rush and possible another lockdown, just need a turkey.

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2021, 9:47 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

Shop wisely.

they put out turkeys yet? i done stock up to avoid the rush and possible another lockdown, just need a turkey.

Better Deal in Aranjuez was selling Butterball 3lb Turkey Boneless breast for $100.00

$30.00 cheaper than massy or X-tra Foods. Not sure about whole turkeys.

Postby eliteauto » October 31st, 2021, 1:45 am

Shop wisely.

Very few of their specials are good particularly if you shop around, they have become one of the more expensive supermarkets now, as you said shop wisely

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 31st, 2021, 3:17 am

eliteauto wrote:

Shop wisely.

Very few of their specials are good particularly if you shop around, they have become one of the more expensive supermarkets now, as you said shop wisely

one thing i noticed is that if you keep whatever you purchase from xtra foods to long it gets weevils very fast. beans,pasta,rice i noticed before the month done it gets weevils. you have to use it fast. you have to shop around from grocery to grocery every month to take advantage of specials.

Postby K74T » November 2nd, 2021, 11:12 am

Screenshot_20211102-111130_Facebook.jpg

Postby eliteauto » November 2nd, 2021, 11:23 am

If you look at the items that became "zero rated" as of yesterday and compare their increases in the months before you may be tempted to assume there was a collusion of sorts because the "new" prices as of yesterday hover closely to the pre-increased prices of earlier this year. Consumers may have been played by the supermarkets and mamaguiled by the Gov't here.

*disclaimer to this would be the supply chain disruptions and the inherent cost increases but it still seems convenient

Postby Dizzy28 » November 2nd, 2021, 11:29 am

K74T wrote:Screenshot_20211102-111130_Facebook.jpg

The 6 pack banded offer in Pennywise for this never changed from the $10 AFAIK!!

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » November 2nd, 2021, 11:43 am

K74T wrote:Screenshot_20211102-111130_Facebook.jpg

The 6 pack banded offer in Pennywise for this never changed from the $10 AFAIK!!

The system is rigged. Imagine there are local products produced by local companies that are cheaper abroad than it is in Trinidad, this should be illegal. Even after additional shipping costs and taxes the product is still cheaper abroad. There is a sustained effort by the government, banks and companies to maintain a high cost of living for citizens in Trinidad.

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2021, 12:18 pm

correct
a bag of nfm flour is $16 there
$13.50-14.50 everywhere else

a highly commoditized item

eliteauto wrote:

Shop wisely.

Postby st7 » November 2nd, 2021, 3:01 pm

eliteauto wrote:If you look at the items that became "zero rated" as of yesterday and compare their increases in the months before you may be tempted to assume there was a collusion of sorts because the "new" prices as of yesterday hover closely to the pre-increased prices of earlier this year. Consumers may have been played by the supermarkets and mamaguiled by the Gov't here.

*disclaimer to this would be the supply chain disruptions and the inherent cost increases but it still seems convenient

forget supermarkets. it's the suppliers who control the cost of goods. whatever justifications suppliers give to supermarkets wrt increases of goods by case/pallet etc, the supermarkets hadda raise prices accordingly to get a profit. i was speaking with a purchasing manager last week about how their price changes were going (used to work for them before), and they said that AS Bryden, HADCO, etc etc raise their prices again.

and who owns those big companies? yep. they have seen the biggest of profits since the pandemic started. they benefit a lot when lockdowns happen. people head to the groceries more, and groceries need supplies...

Postby K74T » November 3rd, 2021, 12:24 pm

Notice: Due to changes in the recent National Budget we have adjusted all of our prices as follows for the Trinidad and Tobago market only. These prices are in TTD.

FB_IMG_1635953451806.jpg

Postby hover11 » November 3rd, 2021, 1:16 pm

K74T wrote:Notice: Due to changes in the recent National Budget we have adjusted all of our prices as follows for the Trinidad and Tobago market only. These prices are in TTD.

FB_IMG_1635953451806.jpg
Diabetes in a pack no thanks

Postby gastly369 » November 3rd, 2021, 1:43 pm

daring dragoon wrote:$6 doubles in debe by green shed. rest of sheds $5
Green shed

death365

Postby death365 » November 3rd, 2021, 6:00 pm

3 doubles/pie/ what ever else ... ah juice...

$28 to $30...
gastly369 wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:$6 doubles in debe by green shed. rest of sheds $5
Green shed

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 3rd, 2021, 6:16 pm

Forget about tightening your belt, it's time to start eating dirt.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » November 3rd, 2021, 6:42 pm

dont buy from them thats all. fork away with them moslem it never taste good anyhow and them always feel once you park in front them stall you must buy from them. it level quarrel if you park in front them and go else ware to buy. arby ali in barataria went up to $6 from 1st now and i stop buying. pigtail gone done in price what reason arby ali have to send up he doubles price.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » November 3rd, 2021, 6:44 pm

K74T wrote:Notice: Due to changes in the recent National Budget we have adjusted all of our prices as follows for the Trinidad and Tobago market only. These prices are in TTD.

FB_IMG_1635953451806.jpg

this burbon cream gone up instead? all the time i seeing this was $6 an now is $6.25 and now it tasting more like flour. just stop buying them none essential items.back to the days of sugar roti for your children as snack.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 3rd, 2021, 7:27 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

FB_IMG_1635953451806.jpg

this burbon cream gone up instead? all the time i seeing this was $6 an now is $6.25 and now it tasting more like flour. just stop buying them none essential items.back to the days of sugar roti for your children as snack.

Roti and condense milk! 8-)

Postby timelapse » November 3rd, 2021, 7:28 pm

Just do like me and eat pommecythere chow all day.Mini pommecythere bears like mad

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 3rd, 2021, 7:29 pm

Hook meh up with some of that nah!

Postby 88sins » November 3rd, 2021, 9:06 pm

timelapse wrote:Just do like me and eat pommecythere chow all day.Mini pommecythere bears like mad

Blasphemy

Postby Redman » November 4th, 2021, 8:17 am

pugboy wrote:correct
a bag of nfm flour is $16 there
$13.50-14.50 everywhere else

a highly commoditized item

eliteauto wrote:

Shop wisely.

Check Bel air stores online.
we paid 12.25 for NFM premium grade.

Excellent prices and sanitized delivery.
Fantastic service.