Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby MaxPower » October 10th, 2022, 7:32 pm

pugboy wrote:it’s not a culture issue
it’s a hater issue

Ok let’s go with a culture hater issue….

:P

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » October 18th, 2022, 7:46 am

anyone know the prices for market goods right now e.g. bodi, pumpkin, peppers, dasheen bush etc

Postby adnj » October 18th, 2022, 7:54 am

rexsmith wrote:anyone know the prices for market goods right now e.g. bodi, pumpkin, peppers, dasheen bush etc
Wholesale prices.

http://www.namistt.com/Image

Postby Rovin » October 18th, 2022, 10:33 am

with diwali just a few days away d price of everything in d market will magically raise ...

Postby Chimera » October 18th, 2022, 10:37 am

rexsmith wrote:anyone know the prices for market goods right now e.g. bodi, pumpkin, peppers, dasheen bush etc

pumpkin is about $10 a lb retail
baigan i paid $8 lb in farmers market weekend but most sheds have it for $12 and up per lb

eh sure about any of the others

Postby pugboy » October 18th, 2022, 11:38 am

pumpkin was real scarce last few weeks and retail at $8
seeing plenty now but price gone up
i feel they was holding back the pumpkin until now divali

death365

Postby death365 » October 18th, 2022, 11:52 am

i actually buy squash not pumpkin, cooks nicer

Phone Surgeon wrote:

pumpkin is about $10 a lb retail
baigan i paid $8 lb in farmers market weekend but most sheds have it for $12 and up per lb

eh sure about any of the others

Postby Chimera » October 18th, 2022, 11:54 am

pugboy wrote:pumpkin was real scarce last few weeks and retail at $8

yeah alot of persons probably hold back for this week but alot of farmers get flooded as well eh

Postby Chimera » October 18th, 2022, 11:55 am

i watching a padna with a truckload of pumpkin the other day, the pumpkin worth about 30,000

one big pumpkin is near $200

Postby Dizzy28 » October 18th, 2022, 12:17 pm

Rovin wrote:with diwali just a few days away d price of everything in d market will magically raise ...

Demand and Supply is not magic

Postby pugboy » October 18th, 2022, 12:38 pm

tomato went down a little in last week though

if there are some sureties is that come august tomato price triples until end of year
and month before divali prices go up
followed by seasoning prices going up for xmas

Postby adnj » October 18th, 2022, 12:42 pm

pugboy wrote:tomato went down a little in last week though

if there are some sureties is that come august tomato price triples until end of year
and month before divali prices go up
followed by seasoning prices going up for xmas

El Niño will cause warmer, dryer weather this winter that will help Mexico's winter crop production, like tomatoes.

Postby Chimera » October 18th, 2022, 12:43 pm

tomato price is heavily based on weather

tomato is a very hard and expensive crop to grow

with current weather...pressure in yuh mc

Postby 88sins » October 18th, 2022, 1:19 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:tomato price is heavily based on weather

tomato is a very hard and expensive crop to grow

with current weather...pressure in yuh mc

if u kno how ppl don't remember/know/consider this eh. And lettuce too, one small flood and is the entire crop lost.

Some farmers I kno already abandon the idea of certain crops like lettuce, tomatoes and pumpkin as an option till January.

Postby Chimera » October 18th, 2022, 1:46 pm

african snails are making persons abandon acres of land as well.....

people doh understand the struggles of farmers na

Postby 88sins » October 18th, 2022, 2:11 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:african snails are making persons abandon acres of land as well.....

people doh understand the struggles of farmers na

Ent
Snails, locusts, fungi, flood, drought, theft, animals, bad batch of salts, that is just a few things that can destroy entire crops.

Postby pugboy » October 18th, 2022, 2:54 pm

you can add counterfeit seeds to that list
last couple years has seen many seedlings sold being fakes from india

the converse is also true in that many tomato farmers have also abandoned crops in february and march when prices are too low

Postby Chimera » October 18th, 2022, 2:59 pm

that rain really drives prices up like hell, plenty more pests so plenty more chemicals....and chemicals expensive as firetruck

every 2 weeks i does consider planting my 2 acres of land that i've more or less given up on, and then when i look at the plant guides and the list of chemicals...i doesnt bother

all i does do is spray basta/carista/sunquat/paraquat to keep down the grass and even that expensive like hell

i have coconut trees and these muddac**t snails in the heart of the coconut trees living

the chemicals like they not working or they more watered down

basta normally works great to keep down grass

it useless now i find

Postby Rovin » October 18th, 2022, 4:12 pm

Rovin wrote:with diwali just a few days away d price of everything in d market will magically raise ...

Demand and Supply is not magic

sarcasm flew right pass u ...

Postby pugboy » October 18th, 2022, 4:12 pm

locally the extreme swings between very hot to rained out days messes with plant grow cycles too

farmers have to resort to biostimulants to get a proper response
it not easy having to spend money upfront for a month to hope you can get some kind of results and them some crap happen

Postby Chimera » October 18th, 2022, 4:26 pm

i see a farmer put up his pawpaw field the other day
his first picking....9 months he caring for his plants and he only pick once......

floods come and wipe out everything, with the watersoaked land the trees collapse with the weight

real heartbreaking

Postby paid_influencer » October 18th, 2022, 4:59 pm

dais why i do not quarrel about vegetable price

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » October 18th, 2022, 6:10 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

yeah alot of persons probably hold back for this week but alot of farmers get flooded as well eh

hymc people who hold back the ponkin.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 18th, 2022, 6:13 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

hymc people who hold back the ponkin.

Postby 88sins » October 18th, 2022, 6:37 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i see a farmer put up his pawpaw field the other day
his first picking....9 months he caring for his plants and he only pick once......

floods come and wipe out everything, with the watersoaked land the trees collapse with the weight

real heartbreaking

dat so hard it friggin painful. is dem kinda thing does make ppl give up and abandon planting altogether, especially when similar happens every year.

Is only so much losses a man can take before he decides to quit.

Postby bluefete » October 22nd, 2022, 1:53 pm

Rovin wrote:like we hadda do like d amish ppl & churn we own real butter ...
- 8th October Rovin posted .. now comes:

A butter shortage is looming, so I tried churning my own at home. Here's what I learned.
Jamie Davis Smith
Thu, October 20, 2022 at 10:29 AM

There may be a butter shortage coming, right around the time many of us need to stock up on sticks for holiday baking. Rather than foregoing cakes, cookies and other high-fat treats this year, TikTok has the baking world covered with tutorials on making homemade butter using everything from specialty hand-churners to the ubiquitous stand mixer.

I don't want to live in a world without butter, so I tried two ways of making my own. It wasn't as hard I thought it would be and the taste can't be beat. Even if the feared butter shortage does not materialize, I love knowing I can whip up homemade butter for special occasions.

While I probably won't be a permanent convert because it's hard to beat the convenience of store-bought butter, I do sleep easier at night knowing I have an easy and economical solution in my back pocket if the butter shelves are ever bare.

What do you need to make your own butter?
Homemade butter is incredibly simple to make. It only requires one ingredient: heavy cream. You also need something to churn your butter. The good news is you probably already have a kitchen gadget that will work, like a stand mixer or electric hand-held mixer. Some TikTokers like using the manual Kilner Butter Churner to churn their own butter. It's old-timey, but I like it best.

Read the rest on how to make butter here:

https://www.yahoo.com/lifestyle/how-to- ... 36357.html

Postby eliteauto » October 22nd, 2022, 2:28 pm

That's only applicable to home cooks so inclined to use butter in baking, most commercial-made baked goods don't use butter, instead, they use oil, lard, and margarine. Heavy cream ain't cheap either

Postby paid_influencer » October 22nd, 2022, 3:00 pm

karailee doubles went up to $7

Postby pugboy » October 22nd, 2022, 3:15 pm

yeah, commercial shops use cookeen type shortening
gives that nice greasy mouth feel
only the real high end shops use butter

boy I sorry I didnt buy out the kerrygold shelf that day in trinicity truvalu
looks like i will be using a fair bit with panettone soon

Postby eliteauto » October 22nd, 2022, 3:42 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah, commercial shops use cookeen type shortening
gives that nice greasy mouth feel
only the real high end shops use butter

boy I sorry I didnt buy out the kerrygold shelf that day in trinicity truvalu
looks like i will be using a fair bit with panettone soon

Remember you passed after me :lol: I still have in the freeze, but I've told the wife anytime we encounter that again buy AWL!!