Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby eliteauto » April 13th, 2023, 2:32 pm

That has been questionable for some time. Even places like pricesmart seems to have varying qualities of cheese, one time it's melting easily other times it's flame resistant. Bought some cheese at a poultry store on George Street and it tasted and melted like long time parlor cheese, made a tack back and got more, very happy with it

Postby Chimera » April 13th, 2023, 4:15 pm

dogg wrote:anyone else find bulk cheese is weird these days?

An artificial plasticky look and feel? Is it just me?

several years now i finding that with alot of pricesmart cheese to the point where i stop buying it

i does buy blocks of parlour cheese alone now

Postby maj. tom » April 13th, 2023, 4:36 pm

The importer probably requested the bulk cheese maker to add more emulsifiers and reduce the fat content to stretch it for more profit locally. Longer shelf life too outside refrigerated conditions. More plasticky and rubbery cheese result.

Or a QA problem batch and they said "dat go sell in Trinidad doh worry."

Postby K74T » April 13th, 2023, 4:59 pm

I does buy cheese from Food Giant...no complaints.

dogg

Postby dogg » April 19th, 2023, 11:26 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
dogg wrote:anyone else find bulk cheese is weird these days?

An artificial plasticky look and feel? Is it just me?

several years now i finding that with alot of pricesmart cheese to the point where i stop buying it

i does buy blocks of parlour cheese alone now

Is parlour cheese self i talking about. Plasticky. Weird taste.

Postby 88sins » April 19th, 2023, 11:08 pm

Idk if allyuh aware of this eh
But cheese is one of those things that is very easily replicated with synthetics, specifically the one what we know as cheddar cheese.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 20th, 2023, 9:19 am

Saw on news the world is headed to a 20 year record on rice shortages.
The most important grain in the world. This won't end well.

https://www.cnbctv18.com/economy/global ... 436321.htm

screwbash

Postby screwbash » April 21st, 2023, 3:06 am

i sure i can get a year supply of rice to stay on the base of my freezer. some small 1lb bags. but the question is, this same nonsense was reported about flour and yet bread continues to sell, even kiss bread. does it make sense stockpiling the rice?

Postby adnj » April 21st, 2023, 6:37 am

screwbash wrote:i sure i can get a year supply of rice to stay on the base of my freezer. some small 1lb bags. but the question is, this same nonsense was reported about flour and yet bread continues to sell, even kiss bread. does it make sense stockpiling the rice?
Price increases always accompany commodity shortages. But commodity shortages don't necessarily mean that the commodity disappears from the market completely.

Pay more or stockpile; you get to decide.

Postby pugboy » April 21st, 2023, 6:46 am

time to start back growing rice

what about al the old talk of farm partnering with guyana some years ago and the africa farming trips they made?

Postby bluefete » April 21st, 2023, 7:45 am

pugboy wrote:time to start back growing rice

what about al the old talk of farm partnering with guyana some years ago and the africa farming trips they made?

We still waiting on the first shipment of yam from Africa.

Dotish PNM.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 21st, 2023, 9:28 am

pugboy wrote:time to start back growing rice

Guyana is doing quite well on rice production. In 2021 they exported almost 440k tonnes. We are also already their 4th largest export market for rice.
We just need to continue buying it from them.

death365

Postby death365 » May 8th, 2023, 12:34 pm

How d f golden Ray is $29 now...

That's madness ... BTW French maid is still 9 - 10 $

dogg

Postby dogg » May 8th, 2023, 12:53 pm

death365 wrote:How d f golden Ray is $29 now...

That's madness ... BTW French maid is still 9 - 10 $

I would venture that the madness is that people still choose to use Golden Ray.
it's nothing more than your average margarine with double the amount of salt and orange food colouring.

Postby Chimera » May 8th, 2023, 12:58 pm

for that rich creole flavour

a stick of golden ray does last REALLLLL long yunno

Postby eliteauto » May 8th, 2023, 1:15 pm

A bottle of Roucou will cost less than that Golden Ray and last longer, check your local market

viedcht

Postby viedcht » May 8th, 2023, 5:34 pm

What?!! Golden Ray is hummuch?!! Cheeezus Crix I ent buy that in years but lawd that is killah price.

Soup price maybe cracking 50.00 now?

Postby paid_influencer » May 8th, 2023, 6:07 pm

crix and golden ray is brand name now hoss. hadda pay for advertising.

Postby Rovin » May 8th, 2023, 8:00 pm

i stop buying golden ray & using french maid yrsss going, works d same way for far less $ & for me 1 stick lasts mthsss ...

Postby 88sins » May 9th, 2023, 12:10 pm

Rovin wrote:i stop buying golden ray & using french maid yrsss going, works d same way for far less $ & for me 1 stick lasts mthsss ...

I eh cook with that golden ray poison in over 30 years, didn't miss it then, don't miss it now, and don't want or need it.
I learned long ago, there's more flavorful natural sources for fats you can use besides that block of orange coloring

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2023, 12:44 pm

when you buy a soup and the styrotex stained with that rich creole flavour

Postby Rovin » May 9th, 2023, 2:06 pm

i think most of us wud know golden ray & others like it not healthy which is why i use very little of it but what allyuh does use as a substitute to give that rich creole flavor ? ...

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2023, 2:26 pm

maggi seasonup and msg :lol:

Postby Chimera » May 9th, 2023, 2:30 pm

Rovin wrote:i think most of us wud know golden ray & others like it not healthy which is why i use very little of it but what allyuh does use as a substitute to give that rich creole flavor ? ...
A pt fortin gyul

dogg

Postby dogg » May 9th, 2023, 2:55 pm

Rovin wrote:i think most of us wud know golden ray & others like it not healthy which is why i use very little of it but what allyuh does use as a substitute to give that rich creole flavor ? ...

Salt meat

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 9th, 2023, 3:06 pm

Butter

The rich creole flavor isn't a flavor

Its a feeling, it's in the name... "rich"

Butter gives food a nice texture and the after effects are good for you as well.

Lard might be vibes too but I ain't experiment much with that.

However I feel the main reason golden ray came about was because they wanted to replace Roucou by making golden ray a readily available colorant
(doh quote me on that)

So just use this instead for the coloring

dogg

Postby dogg » May 9th, 2023, 3:52 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:

Butter

The rich creole flavor isn't a flavor

Its a feeling, it's in the name... "rich"

Butter gives food a nice texture and the after effects are good for you as well.

Lard might be vibes too but I ain't experiment much with that.

However I feel the main reason golden ray came about was because they wanted to replace Roucou by making golden ray a readily available colorant
(doh quote me on that)

So just use this instead for the coloring

you might be right. The original Golden ray used annatto (rocou) for the colouring. I doubt they using that now!

In any case, the "creole flavour" Golden Ray adds are salt and fat.

Postby 88sins » May 9th, 2023, 8:25 pm

Bro, when u use proper fresh seasoning, in the correct amounts, yuh does get to realize how dem ting really unnecessary. Notice I eh say over seasoning eh. don't hadda overdo it.
For a little extra fat, since fat adds flavor, actual butter is one way to go. Then there's animal fats (beef tallow, duck fat, chicken grease, etc), all easy to make and store, some you can buy.

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2023, 9:25 pm

for those you into yoghurt
the locally made guiltless one is real good and way cheaper than the imported ones

screwbash

Postby screwbash » May 10th, 2023, 2:57 am

Bro, when u use proper fresh seasoning, in the correct amounts, yuh does get to realize how dem ting really unnecessary. Notice I eh say over seasoning eh. don't hadda overdo it.
For a little extra fat, since fat adds flavor, actual butter is one way to go. Then there's animal fats (beef tallow, duck fat, chicken grease, etc), all easy to make and store, some you can buy.

trinis dont know how to cook. everything is too much green seasoning. trinis feel chive, bandania, fine leaf thyme, big leaf thyme, celery, pimento, garlic all blended and the meat soak in that with salt is best seasoning. no where else in the flipping world does that. the meat absorb the seasoning flavor, so better you just curry the seasoning and eat that yes and call it best curry.