Trinidad under British Rule

Redress10

Re: Trinidad under British Rule

Postby Redress10 » September 16th, 2021, 9:35 pm

88sins wrote:Nah, let them feel the English are all nice and happy go lucky.
They eh kno, black people that born there often get called West Indian as an insult, and that asians and indians are simply tolerated, not truly accepted.
Them people perfected the art of invisible racism. They will smile with your, speak politely and pleasantly, because by law they can face consequences if they do otherwise. And they will screw you as much as they can legally get away with.
But to say you not white and they want and embrace you for you being you and that's all? That not happening unless it serves their purpose in some way or another.

Exactly it's more tolerance than respect. When I went to school the ones most likely to be bullied etc were the asians. It was sad to witness as it was blatant discrimination simply because kids were asians. By asian I don't mean chinese, korean etc

Prince Harry also famously called an indian fella a "paki" I believe. That is strictly to increase Britain's access to India again. Need to remember that India and Russia are improving relations so there is also that.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 16th, 2021, 9:39 pm

Redress10 wrote:
They eh kno, black people that born there often get called West Indian as an insult, and that asians and indians are simply tolerated, not truly accepted.
Them people perfected the art of invisible racism. They will smile with your, speak politely and pleasantly, because by law they can face consequences if they do otherwise. And they will screw you as much as they can legally get away with.
But to say you not white and they want and embrace you for you being you and that's all? That not happening unless it serves their purpose in some way or another.

Exactly it's more tolerance than respect. When I went to school the ones most likely to be bullied etc were the asians. It was sad to witness as it was blatant discrimination simply because kids were asians.

Just curious, are you Indian or "asian"?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 16th, 2021, 9:58 pm

I'm mixed.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » September 17th, 2021, 12:24 am

Redress10 wrote:I'm mixed.

Ok, I was wondering why you weren't bullied too for a min there but I understand now.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » September 17th, 2021, 2:42 am

Redress10 wrote:Ppl have this myth about the British empire. It didn't benefit ppl who looked like you. The british have always been a very classist society so even amongst white people there was a class hierarchy. The most educated,articulate and connected non white person would still be viewed beneath the lowest common white person. Your money and status might grant you access but never respect.

Most colonies never experienced aristocracy. The aristocracy doesn't even mingle with the regular peeps in the UK etc. Most whites who came here to oversee plantations were commoners and even criminals. Who served their time in the colonies instead of the mainland. They were more or less "banished". A rich plantation owner never even saw his plantation in real life. It was a distant investment.

During colonisation the goal was extraction. It was never about development so if they needed to build roads etc they would build the road from the airport directly to the settlement where they lived or the road was built from the processing plant to the port for export. There was no development. Hospitals,schools,banks etc were built to meet white demand for these things. If you tried to riot then they would send the army/navy etc

Redress10 wrote:
FrankChag wrote:We're in the longrun now (60yrs), soo, was it worth it? Independence from GB. And being a Republic...
Made a handful of people very wealthy over the decades, but is the population and the economy better or worse than if we didn't become independant/republic? Thinking of Barbados, Canada, BVI, Falklands..

Imagine being a UK citizen vs. being a TT citizen.
Pound notes...

Was it really worth it?
Asking objectively. I don't know the answer.

Someone (knowledgable) should objectively answer this question for the 60th...

Independence was a con to put state resources in the hands of a few under the guise of the "State". Williams then orchestrated the political system to benefit the leader and friends/family of the leader. Most wealthy ppl in TT get wealthy based on political connections. That stifles innovation and essentially keeps a country back. The cream needs to rise to the top. Watch Singapore etc.

There was never any plan for development. The goal was to own state resources that is why everything was/still is nationalised. To create dependency syndrome within the country. We are essentially living within a socialist state it's just marketed to use differently.

Being a UK citizen has no real benefit unless you are white, upper class and living on the mainland UK. If you are from a colonial outpost then your life isn't viewed as equal to those back in the UK. You may simply have been living in the caribbean and just have to settle for being a bell boy or chamber maid as those would be the roles offered to you because of "tourism". The caribbean outposts are viewed as nothing more than places for white tourists to come and put their legs up on "holiday". It's not a place they care to develop tbh. They are already focused on the mainland.

Remember when disaster hit a dutch island how the dutch government made sure and evacuated all of the white islanders first? They also sent the military to protect the white owner's assets from looting etc.

That's the reality of colonial life.

Another good answer.

This thread: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=763655#p10201426

Postby Dizzy28 » September 17th, 2021, 8:48 am

Redress10 wrote:

Exactly it's more tolerance than respect. When I went to school the ones most likely to be bullied etc were the asians. It was sad to witness as it was blatant discrimination simply because kids were asians. By asian I don't mean chinese, korean etc

Prince Harry also famously called an indian fella a "paki" I believe. That is strictly to increase Britain's access to India again. Need to remember that India and Russia are improving relations so there is also that.

India and Russia have had exceptional relations over the years. The USA were never supporters of India instead throwing their lot in with Pakistan. In the Indo/Pak War of 1971 (Bangladeshi Independence War) the US sent a carrier group to the region to which the Soviets sent destroyers and subs. Nearing the conclusion of the war the US asked the Russians to ask the Indians to ease Pakistan up when it turned out the rout in was utter and comprehensive.
http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NAVY/Hist ... Games.html

If anything Indian/Russian relations is decreasing as India increasingly looks to the West for their next gen of armaments.
Currently the IAF is dominated by MiGs and Sukhois and the Army's armoured divisions are almost only T72s and T90s.
As we saw in Afghanistan last month the IAF ferried Indians out on C17s (they would be the 2nd largest operator of that) and they are purchasing Apaches, C130s, Chinooks. They are replacing their old jets with Rafales from France and other tech from Israel.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 8th, 2022, 7:27 am

What you fellas think of this video?

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » April 8th, 2022, 2:40 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:What you fellas think of this video?

Only seen a few empire of dust videos, I have to watch it. The chinee man doesn't have ill intent and talking truth but the congos dont want to hear it. The translator definately above average and know what has to happen but it will never be thought of much less realized due to his peoples mindest.

Same thing happening down here with afros and even lower indos, you tell them what is the problem and why we are in this position but is only a set a sheit talk about this and that or whitey/victim mindset in play if they even acknowledge those words.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 8th, 2022, 6:56 pm

Perfectly sums up pnm people. They vex when the bank make a huge profit but drinking carib and eating KFC everyday

Postby Rovin » April 8th, 2022, 8:09 pm

i jes aksin, if d word whites were removed & substituted with low class/low income COLORED OR COLORED PPL , wud d same suggestion be applied here ? .... :|
Anywhere in the world that low class/low income COLORED OR COLORED PPL could go and be waited on is modern day slavery. That's the sort of "tourism" these countries like to promote. It have no money in that. Our tourism model still based off the ideals of colonialism.

Redress10 wrote:Service tourism shouldn't even be in the discussion when it comes to diversification. Unless is high end tourism such as sports tourism like formula 1 etc then it's just modern day slavery.

Anywhere in the world that low class/low income whites could go and be waited on is modern day slavery. That's the sort of "tourism" these countries like to promote. It have no money in that. Our tourism model still based off the ideals of colonialism.

If you want to emulate tourism then you need to start looking at places such as Croatia ,Mykonos, st Barts etc

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 8th, 2022, 8:18 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

Perfectly sums up pnm people. They vex when the bank make a huge profit but drinking carib and eating KFC everyday

True. Glad someone made the connection.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 8th, 2022, 8:19 pm

Ripe Chenette wrote:

Only seen a few empire of dust videos, I have to watch it. The chinee man doesn't have ill intent and talking truth but the congos dont want to hear it. The translator definately above average and know what has to happen but it will never be thought of much less realized due to his peoples mindest.

Same thing happening down here with afros and even lower indos, you tell them what is the problem and why we are in this position but is only a set a sheit talk about this and that or whitey/victim mindset in play if they even acknowledge those words.

Oh that's the name of the movie....thanks I might check it out.

Postby matr1x » April 8th, 2022, 9:52 pm

There is an interesting perspective for sure. Without understanding the context of the resources left behind, it's easy for stuff to be left to deteriorate.

Make no mistake, the British left it because it was no longer of use, not that they were presenting gifts.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 8th, 2022, 10:46 pm

Rovin wrote:i jes aksin, if d word whites were removed & substituted with low class/low income COLORED OR COLORED PPL , wud d same suggestion be applied here ? .... :|
Anywhere in the world that low class/low income COLORED OR COLORED PPL could go and be waited on is modern day slavery. That's the sort of "tourism" these countries like to promote. It have no money in that. Our tourism model still based off the ideals of colonialism.

Redress10 wrote:Service tourism shouldn't even be in the discussion when it comes to diversification. Unless is high end tourism such as sports tourism like formula 1 etc then it's just modern day slavery.

Anywhere in the world that low class/low income whites could go and be waited on is modern day slavery. That's the sort of "tourism" these countries like to promote. It have no money in that. Our tourism model still based off the ideals of colonialism.

If you want to emulate tourism then you need to start looking at places such as Croatia ,Mykonos, st Barts etc

No because the very notion of that form of tourism is rooted in colonialism and slavery. The other way simply won't exist. Where would "coloured" people go in the world to be waited on by whites?

A white working class family goes on holiday to a resort to the developed world because their foreign exchange advantages etc allow it. Compare that to the type of tourism their country tries to retain and you would see the difference. In order to be given a visa to travel to europe etc you need to show healthy bank statements and sufficient ties to your home country. That basically ensures that their tourism product remains high end and comes at a high price whether it is luxury goods shopping or even high end hotel stays. That aint servitude my G.

Postby timelapse » April 8th, 2022, 11:31 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Rovin wrote:i jes aksin, if d word whites were removed & substituted with low class/low income COLORED OR COLORED PPL , wud d same suggestion be applied here ? .... :|

No because the very notion of that form of tourism is rooted in colonialism and slavery. The other way simply won't exist. Where would "coloured" people go in the world to be waited on by whites?

A white working class family goes on holiday to a resort to the developed world because their foreign exchange advantages etc allow it. Compare that to the type of tourism their country tries to retain and you would see the difference. In order to be given a visa to travel to europe etc you need to show healthy bank statements and sufficient ties to your home country. That basically ensures that their tourism product remains high end and comes at a high price whether it is luxury goods shopping or even high end hotel stays. That aint servitude my G.
I keep saying that the Caribbean countries need a visa system.As a region, our border controls are sheit.

Postby matr1x » April 9th, 2022, 7:21 am

Look at how max does be salivating at the white skinned venes. Talk done

Postby Rovin » April 9th, 2022, 11:39 am

i feel u living in a strange bubble yes, i doubt most white ppl choose to deliberately go somewhere where they can feel like a white slave master by paying to have d colored folks attend to their needs .... now is not pre 1950s - massa days loooong gone

wealthy well off colored professionals, actors, singers, musicians, rappers, sportmen, entertainers & business ppl regardless of their color can buy whatever they feel, marry d whitest blondest most pretty women, eat\drink d richest foods\drinks & socialize with anybody, go anywhere & same white folk workers will gladly tend to ANY of their needs cause they are getting paid to do whatever services

in these modern times not jes d super rich but any kind of ppl go where they like & can afford once they feel safe doing so too, if d workers happen to be colored most normal ppl dont even look at that anymore ...

Redress10 wrote:

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » May 12th, 2022, 10:28 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
timelapse wrote:On a more serious note, to answer your question.
Trinidad was better economically under the British rule, but mostly beneficial to the British.Locals got the scraps, unless you had connections or a good business sense (Indos, Chinese and Syrians)
The economic system globally was stacked in favour of the British.They created their own markets and ruled with force.Costs were minimized due to exploitation of labour forces.
That sheit would never fly today.

People doh remember that colonial oppression at all.

Most people woulda start working after primary school, a few made it to secondary school and only the elite$ got tertiary ed.

Top brass everywhere would have been non-native, and locals woulda play subservient/clerical/labour roles.

The rose-tinted lens, aye.
But we now an islands of waiters and chambermaids .

We went from industrial/trade schools to hotel schools to train chamber maids and waiters.

Red government has been pushing this hotel serving BS by bringing shady sandals hotel here.

This is to further enslave one group of people

No parent should be proud to say that their daughter a chamber maid and son is a waiter.

All who duz tink zoomradar duz lie n talk sheit. look d pnm moving with d plan........lay off all d skill worker from petrotrin buss caroni n mash up anythin with produciton......pnm have d plan rite vote 4 dem again boy

2,000 jobs available to nationals on Royal Caribbean Cruise Ships
Close to 2,000 T&T citizens will soon have a chance at employment with Royal Caribbean International as the Ministry of Tourism will sign a historic Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Royal Caribbean International.

According to Tourism Minister Randall Mitchell the MOU will be signed during a ceremony at the Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre .
https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/200 ... f325a5c39f

Postby RedVEVO » May 12th, 2022, 10:53 am

bamfo_dennis wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:
timelapse wrote:On a more serious note, to answer your question.
Trinidad was better economically under the British rule, but mostly beneficial to the British.Locals got the scraps, unless you had connections or a good business sense (Indos, Chinese and Syrians)
The economic system globally was stacked in favour of the British.They created their own markets and ruled with force.Costs were minimized due to exploitation of labour forces.
That sheit would never fly today.

People doh remember that colonial oppression at all.

Most people woulda start working after primary school, a few made it to secondary school and only the elite$ got tertiary ed.

Top brass everywhere would have been non-native, and locals woulda play subservient/clerical/labour roles.

The rose-tinted lens, aye.
But we now an islands of waiters and chambermaids .

We went from industrial/trade schools to hotel schools to train chamber maids and waiters.

Red government has been pushing this hotel serving BS by bringing shady sandals hotel here.

This is to further enslave one group of people

No parent should be proud to say that their daughter a chamber maid and son is a waiter.

All who duz tink zoomradar duz lie n talk sheit. look d pnm moving with d plan........lay off all d skill worker from petrotrin buss caroni n mash up anythin with produciton......pnm have d plan rite vote 4 dem again boy

2,000 jobs available to nationals on Royal Caribbean Cruise Ships
Close to 2,000 T&T citizens will soon have a chance at employment with Royal Caribbean International as the Ministry of Tourism will sign a historic Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Royal Caribbean International.

According to Tourism Minister Randall Mitchell the MOU will be signed during a ceremony at the Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre .
https://www.guardian.co.tt/business/200 ... f325a5c39f

And there a train for transport ..

And no traffic on the high ways :D

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » May 12th, 2022, 12:17 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:yeah yeah yeah

But if the British ruled us today, cancel culture would ensure that they shared their wealth with us.

Our business would be inna gear

This would actually be a good approach. Just cry racism for anything you don't agree with.
But Indian people are known to lick USA/UK buttom, they would sit by and let UK do the same things that PNM doing and lap it up eagerly while asking for more taxes and higher gas prices.

Postby zoom rader » May 12th, 2022, 1:28 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:

But if the British ruled us today, cancel culture would ensure that they shared their wealth with us.

This would actually be a good approach. Just cry racism for anything you don't agree with.
But Indian people are known to lick USA/UK buttom, they would sit by and let UK do the same things that PNM doing and lap it up eagerly while asking for more taxes and higher gas prices.
Injuns caught the British out .

Look who's running the British government.

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfr ... tive-party

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 14th, 2022, 9:00 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:

Zoom, those indos are the equivalent of house n... they wouldn't hesitate to sell or enslave their fellow indians for a quick buck.

Postby zoom rader » May 14th, 2022, 9:03 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Blaze d Chalice wrote:

Zoom, those indos are the equivalent of house n... they wouldn't hesitate to sell or enslave their fellow indians for a quick buck.
Bramins

Postby 88sins » May 15th, 2022, 6:59 am

Redress10 wrote:
Blaze d Chalice wrote:

Bramins

tokens

Postby matr1x » May 15th, 2022, 7:08 am

No lie, I seen afro trini coworkers run to service white customers faster than warp speed

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 15th, 2022, 7:17 am

matr1x wrote:No lie, I seen afro trini coworkers run to service white customers faster than warp speed

I ain’t gonna disagree. I do the same with my business, but lemme tell u why, I get down payment and my contract and payment times are upheld with those customers. After a good few years I tired get run around after completing jobs and fight down AFTER the local and colored people get their stuff fixed. So I ain’t shame to say it, my preference will always be with the persons who treat my business and time properly

Postby matr1x » May 15th, 2022, 8:26 am

White know at the end of the day, they on top thr chain, and across know they service them. Prove me wrong

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 16th, 2022, 12:16 pm

Chancellor of the Exchequer Rishi Sunak

what a name.

Hopefully he takes over from Boris soon after and becomes PM. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Truly a good role model for young children.

Postby zoom rader » May 16th, 2022, 12:45 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Chancellor of the Exchequer Rishi Sunak

what a name.

Hopefully he takes over from Boris soon after and becomes PM.

Injun time now

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 16th, 2022, 1:41 pm

:angel:
SuperiorMan wrote:Chancellor of the Exchequer Rishi Sunak

what a name.

Hopefully he takes over from Boris soon after and becomes PM. :lol: :lol: :lol:

No he won't. His political aspirations are already done and dusted. Clearly you weren't paying attention to the politics in the UK last couple of months. White britain already put to bed his prime minister aspirations.

White uk will never allow themselves to be ruled by no indo etc. They will use them etc and let them do the heavy lifting etc but never give them control. You all truly don't understand those ppl. They are nothing more than their tokens. Indos should just focus on taking their money and leaving them to continue to mess up their economy and government etc.

You really think they will give a non white person control of their economy and nukes etc? Ha