Beers in Trinidad Review Ched

bamfo_dennis

Re: Beers in Trinidad Review Ched

Postby bamfo_dennis » October 29th, 2021, 6:07 pm

ahem perhaps that is not what they meant by "dark chocolate" maybe it was instructions
*ardent cut-eye glances at Kevin's peach fruit basket*

Postby K74T » October 29th, 2021, 7:17 pm

Just had the Mackeson. I actually prefer it than the regular one.

carluva

Postby carluva » October 29th, 2021, 7:33 pm

Different strokes for different folks yes.

I had to discard half bottle as the taste was really getting to me.

Reverted to another one I like.
IMG_20211029_193431161_HDR.jpg

Postby Gladiator » October 30th, 2021, 3:37 pm

Just cracked the cap on the first one I ever had about 2 mins ago. Finishing it right now actually and all I have to say is WOW.... its incredible. It totally blew me away. The complexity of the flavor is like nothing i have tasted before. This gets a 10/10. Well done Mackeson ...

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2021, 6:43 pm

just buy one to try later
the bottle doesn’t say trinitario tho

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » October 30th, 2021, 7:03 pm

How do we upload photos on this site?

Postby st7 » October 30th, 2021, 9:23 pm

Trinispougla wrote:How do we upload photos on this site?

when you enter the Full Editor from desktop site, you will see the 3 horizontal bars next to Options when you scroll down. you can attach images there.

or you can upload it to imgur or something, right click on the photo and select Copy Image Address and use that URL inside the img tags

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 31st, 2021, 1:55 am

There's also the option to use the free TriniTuner mobile app on the AppStore or Google Play Store.
That way you can add photos from your phone camera roll by clicking the camera or image icon.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » October 31st, 2021, 1:27 pm

Loot from the latest St Christophers run. Excellent beer. Have a rell kick though
20211031_082246.jpg

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » October 31st, 2021, 1:30 pm

carluva wrote:Different strokes for different folks yes.

I had to discard half bottle as the taste was really getting to me.

Reverted to another one I like.IMG_20211029_193431161_HDR.jpg

Bellhaven is another great beer. Yuh hadda drink it when it beastly cold though because it has whiskey in it. Yuh does get de whiskey taste if it not super cold.

Postby st7 » October 31st, 2021, 2:33 pm

Trinispougla wrote:Loot from the latest St Christophers run. Excellent beer. Have a rell kick though20211031_082246.jpg

ohh i liked this. Real smooth ale and it leaves a warm feeling. i got this for 20$ but i dont rem where.

i give this 7.5/10

Postby st7 » October 31st, 2021, 7:09 pm

Gladiator wrote:Just cracked the cap on the first one I ever had about 2 mins ago. Finishing it right now actually and all I have to say is WOW.... its incredible. It totally blew me away. The complexity of the flavor is like nothing i have tasted before. This gets a 10/10. Well done Mackeson ...

i had this a while ago. nice taste. i never had a mackeson before but it tastes good. minus the bitter after taste u get.

i'd give it a 7/10. would buy again.

carluva

Postby carluva » November 3rd, 2021, 6:00 pm

Having one of these at the moment.

Absolutely fantastic. The chocolate flavour is very mild, almost non-existent. But the overall flavour is wonderful. Not at all bitter. Rich and full bodied.

Mackeson absolutely failed when compared to this. IMO, Mackeson attempted to create too much of a chocolate profile and ended up with too much bitterness.

This Trinitario is a much better brew. Love it!!!! If you like Guinness draft (not the local foreign extra) or even a regular Mackeson, I am sure you'll like this.
IMG_20211103_175755059_PORTRAIT.jpg
IMG_20211103_175055915_PORTRAIT.jpg

dogg

Postby dogg » November 3rd, 2021, 6:08 pm

I don't drink Mackeson or Royal extra cuz its way too sweet. Guinness for me.

How sweet is this one?

Gladiator wrote:Just cracked the cap on the first one I ever had about 2 mins ago. Finishing it right now actually and all I have to say is WOW.... its incredible. It totally blew me away. The complexity of the flavor is like nothing i have tasted before. This gets a 10/10. Well done Mackeson ...

death365

Postby death365 » November 3rd, 2021, 6:10 pm

Hey ... stop this tread for now na .... start back after davali....

Alyuh making my mind stray

carluva

Postby carluva » November 3rd, 2021, 6:10 pm

I dont find it is sweet. On the contrary I've found it was bitter. If you like Guinness, you may like this. Try it and see for yourself.
dogg wrote:I don't drink Mackeson or Royal extra cuz its way too sweet. Guinness for me.

How sweet is this one?

Postby De Dragon » November 3rd, 2021, 8:50 pm

Have two Mackeson chocolates in the fridge to try after Divali

carluva

Postby carluva » November 3rd, 2021, 9:50 pm

De Dragon wrote:Have two Mackeson chocolates in the fridge to try after Divali
Hope you enjoy them more than I did. Like you, I had two chilling and ended up drinking one and a third. Discarded the rest as it was not that appealing to me.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » November 3rd, 2021, 9:57 pm

Had this last week tasted good

Postby De Dragon » November 3rd, 2021, 10:09 pm

carluva wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Have two Mackeson chocolates in the fridge to try after Divali
Hope you enjoy them more than I did. Like you, I had two chilling and ended up drinking one and a third. Discarded the rest as it was not that appealing to me.

Just bought to try, not really a lover of stout to the point where it's my go to drink, but when I see ones that I've never had, I'll usually try them.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 4th, 2021, 11:51 am

ruffrider27 wrote:Image

Had this last week tasted good

WAT
:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 6th, 2021, 10:57 pm

Got around to the Mack Dark Chocolate.

Strong notes of cocoa from the first sip. I had mine at the pre-ice point, so it was cold AF.

Very smooth, easily a 7 or 8/10. Not overtly sweet, nice balance. Much better than regular Mack. Hell, this actually beats back guinness in my book.

Not something you can run like regular brews tho - I'd say 2-3 should be good for social drinking.

Postby eliteauto » November 12th, 2021, 9:51 pm

Been looking forward to this comparison. The mackeson has a more chocolaty nose and is sweeter and has more body, it's also darker and has a velvety mouthfeel, the flavor is akin to using actual chocolate in the brew. Conversely the Trinitario is lighter in color and nose and tastes like an infused ale but with less bite than a traditional ale, the chocolate comes in the aftertaste but seems slightly metallic ( artificial?) The flavor is consistent with it being made by infusing nibs and pods. At the price point vs taste I'll take the $13 Makeson vs the $45 Trinitario ( although I paid $22)
IMG_20211112_213123_050.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » November 14th, 2021, 12:55 am

Tried the Carib Blue today. Was beastly cold and it wasn't bad at all. Would need a second bottle to make a judgement but was fairly smooth IMO.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » November 14th, 2021, 5:12 am

eliteauto wrote:Been looking forward to this comparison. The mackeson has a more chocolaty nose and is sweeter and has more body, it's also darker and has a velvety mouthfeel, the flavor is akin to using actual chocolate in the brew. Conversely the Trinitario is lighter in color and nose and tastes like an infused ale but with less bite than a traditional ale, the chocolate comes in the aftertaste but seems slightly metallic ( artificial?) The flavor is consistent with it being made by infusing nibs and pods. At the price point vs taste I'll take the $13 Makeson vs the $45 Trinitario ( although I paid $22) IMG_20211112_213123_050.jpg

Off the beers for now. Trying to lose some weight. I want to go back to Vienna next year. Vienna had gorgeous women so I hadda look presentable lol

death365

Postby death365 » November 14th, 2021, 7:02 am

I tried the chocolate mack, it's good unique flavoring, but I don't think they used trinitairo chocolate because our chocolate has a pronounced after taste and flavor profile.

Over all 8 out of 10.

Going to try the carib blue today

Postby st7 » November 14th, 2021, 11:27 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Been looking forward to this comparison. The mackeson has a more chocolaty nose and is sweeter and has more body, it's also darker and has a velvety mouthfeel, the flavor is akin to using actual chocolate in the brew. Conversely the Trinitario is lighter in color and nose and tastes like an infused ale but with less bite than a traditional ale, the chocolate comes in the aftertaste but seems slightly metallic ( artificial?) The flavor is consistent with it being made by infusing nibs and pods. At the price point vs taste I'll take the $13 Makeson vs the $45 Trinitario ( although I paid $22) IMG_20211112_213123_050.jpg

Off the beers for now. Trying to lose some weight. I want to go back to Vienna next year. Vienna had gorgeous women so I hadda look presentable lol

boiiiiiiii

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » November 14th, 2021, 11:50 pm

st7 wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:

boiiiiiiii

From the time yuh enter the airport. Women in Barcelona was kinda skinny.....like model-type, does eat twice every week kinda skinny but Vienna was poppin. And I doubt its because I went with no expectations.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 28th, 2021, 3:51 pm

Had this last week.
Not bad. Smooth, not overly bitter after taste.

A few would be a good Sunday evening drink.
IMG_20211119_175246.jpg

Postby st7 » November 28th, 2021, 5:46 pm

yeahhh boy... although i prefer the caribbean rum cask. a real cold one goes down good