Trinispougla

Beers in Trinidad Review Ched

Postby Trinispougla » September 27th, 2021, 10:27 am

Hobgoblin Beer: what allyuh tink?

I personally find its a really good beer
Last edited by Trinispougla on September 27th, 2021, 12:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Hobgoblin Beer: what allyuh tink?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 27th, 2021, 10:55 am

Good, but on the expensive side. Make this a beer review thread ;)

Postby Dizzy28 » September 27th, 2021, 10:59 am

Only ever had the Hobgoblin IPA but in general I don't like Ales so wasn't a fan.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » September 27th, 2021, 11:20 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Good, but on the expensive side. Make this a beer review thread ;)

Will do

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » September 27th, 2021, 11:45 am

Me and a padna watch that Hobgoblin beer up to yesterday but ended up trying something else called Innis & Gunn. The use of whiskey barrels and rum casks to mature the beer caught my eye and we had to give that a try!

https://www.innisandgunn.com/row/

I had The Original. Amazingly smooth, great flavours and refreshing.
This Scottish Golden Beer is cask-matured using single malt whisky casks for unparalleled smoothness.

We brew a beautiful honey-hued, malty, golden Scottish beer. We then carefully mature it using hand selected single malt whisky casks; the best we can source. This maturation lends the beer an incredible smoothness and depth of flavour with hints of vanilla, toffee, and oak.

Padna had the Caribbean Rum Cask. Looked rich and dark in colour and had a depth of flavour, he enjoyed it. He paid so not sure of the cost, but will obviously be a bit more than the usual fare. They're definitely worth a try.
Formerly known as Blood Red Sky, Caribbean rum casks meet Scottish red beer in an explosion of cool, spicy rum notes, vanilla and rich fruit.

We don't accept any borders or boundaries when it comes to our quest for innovation. We want to create flavour combinations that are worth crossing an ocean for. Our Innis & Gunn Caribbean Rum Cask offers just that. It combines the best of Scotland and the Caribbean to create something entirely new and truly special. Scottish red beer meets the finest Caribbean rum casks.

The first sip follows through on that promise. The aromas give way to palate-pleasingly punchy notes of fruit, rum and chocolate. This full bodied flavour is enhanced by the use of Innis & Gunn Ale Malt, Chocolate Malt and Roasted Barley. The finish in this one of a kind 6.8% ABV drop is warming yet mellow.

This has the makings of a good thread OP :mrgreen: :drinking:

Postby MaxPower » September 27th, 2021, 12:09 pm

I does drink meh lil Stag now and then.

Beer is beer for me once it nice and cold.

Postby timelapse » September 27th, 2021, 12:30 pm

MaxPower wrote:I does drink meh lil Stag now and then.

Aye beer Haram my muslim bro.

Re: Beers in Trinidad Review Ched

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 27th, 2021, 12:56 pm

I won't snobbishly describe all the notes and profiles, but I'll drop a rating out of 10 for those I sampled and 'grammed about. Might be nice to drop a pic on these, but I feeling hard to do that atm

Hobgoblin Ruby Red: 8/10
Hobgoblin Gold: 6/10
Hobgoblin IPA: 5/10
King Goblin special reserve: 7/10
Young's double chocolate stout: 8/10
Peroni: 7/10
Tommy's apple ale: 5/10
Tommy's rasperry nitro: 3/10
Tommy's devil woodyard: 7/10
Tommy's shipwreck: 6/10
Tommy's golden ale: 6/10
Tommy's sorrel ale: 3/10
Tommy's bonfire: 5/10
Tommy's steelpan stout: 7/10
Stella: 7/10

Just to benchmark against other normal brews:

Carib: 5/10
Stag: 1/10
Carib Pilsner: 6/10
Heine light: 7/10
Coors light: 6/10
Guinness: 8/10
Mack: 5/10
Royal: 5/10

Might have some more to add, I'll have to crawl through my socials to remember.

Bear in mind I'm not a heavy drinker anymore, but I'll enjoy a few brews socially or when bbq'ing etc.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 27th, 2021, 2:00 pm

Off the widely available non-snobbish beers on the market my rank order without getting into scores are
1. Blue Moon
2. Hoegarden
3. Modelo
4. Heineken Light
5. Peroni
5. Carib Pilsner

I would buy 1 bottle in the expensivish stuff like the Hobgoblin, Speckled Hen etc and have not had enough of a sample range IMO. I only ever been to Tommy's once and bought the Flight with the 4 varieties and never bought the bottled stuff except two bottles of the apple ale which was meh for me.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » September 27th, 2021, 2:16 pm

Tommy's dark beers are better than the light ones to me.
Sam Adams Boston lager for me when available.

Postby st7 » September 27th, 2021, 2:51 pm

Soul Collector wrote:Me and a padna watch that Hobgoblin beer up to yesterday but ended up trying something else called Innis & Gunn. The use of whiskey barrels and rum casks to mature the beer caught my eye and we had to give that a try!

https://www.innisandgunn.com/row/

I had The Original. Amazingly smooth, great flavours and refreshing.
This Scottish Golden Beer is cask-matured using single malt whisky casks for unparalleled smoothness.

We brew a beautiful honey-hued, malty, golden Scottish beer. We then carefully mature it using hand selected single malt whisky casks; the best we can source. This maturation lends the beer an incredible smoothness and depth of flavour with hints of vanilla, toffee, and oak.

Padna had the Caribbean Rum Cask. Looked rich and dark in colour and had a depth of flavour, he enjoyed it. He paid so not sure of the cost, but will obviously be a bit more than the usual fare. They're definitely worth a try.
Formerly known as Blood Red Sky, Caribbean rum casks meet Scottish red beer in an explosion of cool, spicy rum notes, vanilla and rich fruit.

We don't accept any borders or boundaries when it comes to our quest for innovation. We want to create flavour combinations that are worth crossing an ocean for. Our Innis & Gunn Caribbean Rum Cask offers just that. It combines the best of Scotland and the Caribbean to create something entirely new and truly special. Scottish red beer meets the finest Caribbean rum casks.

The first sip follows through on that promise. The aromas give way to palate-pleasingly punchy notes of fruit, rum and chocolate. This full bodied flavour is enhanced by the use of Innis & Gunn Ale Malt, Chocolate Malt and Roasted Barley. The finish in this one of a kind 6.8% ABV drop is warming yet mellow.

This has the makings of a good thread OP :mrgreen: :drinking:

the Caribbean Rum Musk is the best beer i've ever had so far. the prices vary.. i saw it in Best Deal Supermarket for 23$, JTA supermarket for $25, and gas stations have it for $27

Postby st7 » September 27th, 2021, 2:58 pm

Goblin King - 7/10
Paulander - Weissbier Dunkel (Dark Wheat Beer) - 7/10

Kona Big Wave Golden Ale (Hawaii) - 7.5/10 - A taste so smooth, it feels soft with a hint of ale aftertaste - kinda expensive though but i'll buy again (28.55 @ Best Deal)
Old Speckled Hen - 7.5/10... pretty good too
Old Tom Strong Ale - 7.5/10 - realll smoooth ale

Stella Artois - 8/10
Stag (beastly cold) - 8/10

Innis & Gunn Caribbean Rum Musk - 8.5/10 favourite so far

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » September 27th, 2021, 6:34 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I won't snobbishly describe all the notes and profiles, but I'll drop a rating out of 10 for those I sampled and 'grammed about. Might be nice to drop a pic on these, but I feeling hard to do that atm

Bear in mind I'm not a heavy drinker anymore, but I'll enjoy a few brews socially or when bbq'ing etc.

You like Tommy's? Not me. To be fair, the only one I had was the Steel Pan and it taste like Tusedril, coffee and soda water. Wasn't impressed at all. But seeing that you rate it, I'll try the others. Should try Blue Moon. It's magnificent

Postby st7 » September 27th, 2021, 7:05 pm

i've had a couple of Tommy's and stowaway is the worst one...and i had it after a couple beers too

Postby matr1x » September 27th, 2021, 7:17 pm

MaxPower wrote:I does drink meh lil Stag now and then.

Well that explains alot

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 27th, 2021, 7:38 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:I won't snobbishly describe all the notes and profiles, but I'll drop a rating out of 10 for those I sampled and 'grammed about. Might be nice to drop a pic on these, but I feeling hard to do that atm

You like Tommy's? Not me. To be fair, the only one I had was the Steel Pan and it taste like Tusedril, coffee and soda water. Wasn't impressed at all. But seeing that you rate it, I'll try the others. Should try Blue Moon. It's magnificent

Honestly everyone's beer taste different, and it also depends on what you're eating etc. Kinda like wine, they have complimentary and contrasting reactions.

The dark beers and the stout were really good from Tommy's. The ales meh.
Their stuff tastes better on tap than from the bottles, at least the ones I sampled. Dunno why. I'd say do the flights and find what you like.

I might adjust that rating on the golden and apple. When looking at comparable beers they really score lower than that.

I like blue moon when combined with sweet local orange slices. It's a solid 7/10 but it needs to be brutally cold.
Hurricane reef was not shabby - comparable with other IPA's ive had. I'd say 5/10 but like the blue moon, I had mine on the verge of frosting up. Other local reviewers hated it.

The Mirin and Sapporo that you get at Sushi joints are equally decent at 7/10

Postby De Dragon » September 27th, 2021, 11:34 pm

Old Speckled Hen 8/10
Fursty Ferret 8/10
Bengal Lancer 9/10
Modelo Dark 8/10
Hobgoblin 7/10
Abbott Ale 7/10
Greene King IPA 7/10

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » September 27th, 2021, 11:41 pm

Estrella ftw

Postby timelapse » September 28th, 2021, 6:47 am

INHUMAN wrote:Estrella ftw
Second runner up Hoegaarden followed by Killian's Red which I not sure exists any more.
I drink my beer in wide wine glasses bjust below room temperature.Really brings the flavour out

Postby MG Man » September 28th, 2021, 2:54 pm

De Dragon wrote:Old Speckled Hen 8/10
Fursty Ferret 8/10
Bengal Lancer 9/10
Modelo Dark 8/10
Hobgoblin 7/10
Abbott Ale 7/10
Greene King IPA 7/10

nice list
The following I usually have with breakfast
Trooper (if and when available)
Old SPeckled Hen
London Porter
Iniss and Gunns
Hobgoblin
Tommy's steel pan
Belhaven Wee Heavy 90

I generally have imported Guinness, or Belhaven Oat Stout with roast pork / black pudding

Others I have for no reason include
Fursty Ferret
Abbott Ale
Fuller's Honeydew

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 28th, 2021, 3:20 pm

Ppl really drink carib and stag because they like how it taste or that's more a price thing?

Postby st7 » September 28th, 2021, 4:04 pm

Fursty Ferret 8/10
Bengal Lancer 9/10
Modelo Dark 8/10
Hobgoblin 7/10
Abbott Ale 7/10
Greene King IPA 7/10

nice list
Old SPeckled Hen
London Porter
Iniss and Gunns
Hobgoblin
Tommy's steel pan
Belhaven Wee Heavy 90

I generally have imported Guinness, or Belhaven Oat Stout with roast pork / black pudding

Fursty Ferret
Abbott Ale
Fuller's Honeydew

where u does find Trooper boy? i does run to the hills and doh see nun

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2021, 4:42 pm

price and what you grow up with

but if you ever go to say a big european country with endless variety you realise how small minded we are to swear allegiance to one of two beers.

Redress10 wrote:Ppl really drink carib and stag because they like how it taste or that's more a price thing?

Postby timelapse » September 28th, 2021, 6:16 pm

st7 wrote:
Fursty Ferret 8/10
Bengal Lancer 9/10
Modelo Dark 8/10
Hobgoblin 7/10
Abbott Ale 7/10
Greene King IPA 7/10

nice list
Old SPeckled Hen
London Porter
Iniss and Gunns
Hobgoblin
Tommy's steel pan
Belhaven Wee Heavy 90

Fursty Ferret
Abbott Ale
Fuller's Honeydew

Park Place and random quikshoppes

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » September 28th, 2021, 7:03 pm

st7 wrote:
MG Man wrote:Trooper (if and when available)

Yuh ain't try Acacia Avenue or El Dorado. Lol

On a real, try Aeromart, St Helena and Island beers.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » September 28th, 2021, 7:13 pm

pugboy wrote:price and what you grow up with

but if you ever go to say a big european country with endless variety you realise how small minded we are to swear allegiance to one of two beers.

Redress10 wrote:Ppl really drink carib and stag because they like how it taste or that's more a price thing?

Haven't touched either of them in years. Never understood how ppl could sit down and drink them like water. Never taste good to me.

Postby stev » September 28th, 2021, 7:23 pm

Seeing plenty of these lately:

IMG_20210926_020139.jpg
IMG_20210926_020139.jpg (40.18 KiB) Viewed 3532 times

IMG_20210926_024251.jpg
IMG_20210926_024251.jpg (75 KiB) Viewed 3532 times

St Peters - 10/10
Golden Sheep - 9/10

Postby Gladiator » September 28th, 2021, 10:18 pm

Old Speckled Hen - 6/10
Hobgoblin - 6/10
Leffe - 7/10
Heinekin - 10/10
Carib -2/10
Carib Pilsner - 1/10
Stag - 10/10
Polar - 6/10
Banks - 3/10
Becks Red - 7/10
Samuel Adams Boston Lager - 7/10
Coors - 5/10
Presidente - 6/10
Guinnes - 7/10
Carlsburg - 9/10
Angry Orchard Hard Cider - 10/10
Mackeson -7/10
Blue Moon -7/10
Budweiser - 6/10
Balboa - 7/10
Panama - 6/10
Fullers Honey Dew - 8/10
Royal Extra Stout - 7/10
Red Stripe - 7/10
Cristal (Cuba) - 7/10
Bavaria - 6/10

Thats what I can remeber.... Drank beer all over the world. Nothing is as good as a Beastly Cold Stag for me, the taste is just right, especially on the tap. Regular Heinekin is also just as good...

Postby De Dragon » September 28th, 2021, 10:27 pm

Availability and price.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » September 28th, 2021, 10:37 pm

All I drinking these days is Leffe brun. End up buying too much for Xmas 2020

Carlsberg always have same taste to me so

Only ever try Tommy's Steelpan, did not disappoint . Will try their dark offerings for Xmas 2021

Anybody remember the time Carib bunn the mash and put out Black Wolf? Back in 2008/2009...