Re: No tax on electric vehicles in T&T

Postby zoom rader » October 11th, 2021, 10:54 am

Les Bain wrote:
VII wrote:Zoom you're ridiculous now, any credibility your arguments had before are now being overshadowed by pettiness and hate..

As the guy said just don't buy an ev if it irritates you that much..
You live where you have to park your car on the street, how you going to charge it ?

CNG was pushed on the population, did it take off?

I was at an energy thing some years ago and missed the chance to ask Roger Sant if CNG was ever used in a motorsports or performance setting, which is why I think it didn't catch on (in addition to some other reasons).
Electrics and hybrids have been pushing the performance and design angle for some time now. Monster Tajima destroyed the Pike's Peak records he set in those ridiculously powerful twin engine Suzukis with a not as impressive looking electric. Porsche, Ferrari and McLaren set the standard for performance hybrids with the holy trinity in the early 2010's...and CNG was pushed as a conversion kit to rob you of trunk space so you could drive slower and wuk taxi.

Would you really watch those Rimac vehicles and call them golf carts though?
Les,

The purpose of EVs was to save the planet from greenhouse gases.

What they are not telling you is the production of the batteries gives about the same popultion as using cars. Then you have to change batteries followed by a disposal issue.

Sure EVs good to drive but their intended green use serves no purpose.

Fuel E85 should have been the way forward.

https://uk.yahoo.com/style/prince-charl ... 47320.html
Last edited by zoom rader on October 11th, 2021, 10:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » October 11th, 2021, 11:00 am

Ben_spanna wrote:The entire developing world is heading towards Hybvrids and Electric, but our backwards a55 thinkers will keep us in the stone ages. as for zoom, dont bother with him , he blames every single thing in life for the red government, pity the same red government didnt hand your parents some free condoms back in the day!
What is the main purpose of changing to EVs?

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 11th, 2021, 1:01 pm

What Is an Internet Troll? (and How to Handle Trolls)

https://www.howtogeek.com/465416/what-is-an-internet-troll-and-how-to-handle-trolls/

January 21, 2020, 8:00am EDT

Internet trolls are people who want to provoke and upset others online for their own amusement. Here’s how to spot the signs that someone is a troll, and how to handle them.

What Are Internet Trolls?

If you’ve been on the internet for any period of time, you’ve likely run into a troll at some point. An internet troll is someone who makes intentionally inflammatory, rude, or upsetting statements online to elicit strong emotional responses in people or to steer the conversation off-topic. They can come in many forms. Most trolls do this for their own amusement, but other forms of trolling are done to push a specific agenda.

Trolls have existed in folklore and fantasy literature for centuries, but online trolling has been around for as long as the internet has existed. The earliest known usage of the term can be traced back to the 1990s on early online message boards. Back then, it was a way for users to confuse new members by repeatedly posting an inside joke. It’s since turned into a much more malicious activity.

Trolling is distinct from other forms of cyberbullying or harassment. It is normally not targeted towards any one person and relies on other people paying attention and becoming provoked. Trolling exists on many online platforms, from small private group chats to the biggest social media websites. Here’s a list of places online where you’re likely to see online trolls:

Anonymous online forums: Places like Reddit, 4chan, and other anonymous message boards are prime real-estate for online trolls. Because there’s no way of tracing who someone is, trolls can post very inflammatory content without repercussion. This is especially true if the forum has lax or inactive moderation.

Twitter: Twitter also has the option to be anonymous, and has become a hotbed for internet trolls. Frequent Twitter trolling methods involve hijacking popular hashtags and mentioning popular Twitter personalities to gain attention from their followers.

Comment sections: The comment sections of places such as YouTube and news websites are also popular areas for trolls to feed. You’ll find a lot of obvious trolling here, and they frequently generate a lot of responses from angry readers or viewers.

You’ll find trolls anywhere online, including on Facebook and on online dating sites. They’re unfortunately pretty common.

Signs Someone Is Trolling

It can sometimes become difficult to tell the difference between a troll and someone who just genuinely wants to argue about a topic. However, here are a few tell-tale signs that someone is actively trolling.

Off-topic remarks: Completely going off-topic from the subject at hand. This is done to annoy and disrupt other posters.

Refusal to acknowledge evidence: Even when presented with hard, cold facts, they ignore this and pretend like they never saw it.

Dismissive, condescending tone: An early indicator of a troll was that they would ask an angry responder, “Why you mad, bro?” This is a method done to provoke someone even more, as a way of dismissing their argument altogether.

Use of unrelated images or memes: They reply to others with memes, images, and gifs. This is especially true if done in response to a very long text post.

Seeming obliviousness: They seem oblivious that most people are in disagreement with them. Also, trolls rarely get mad or provoked.

The list above is by no means definitive. There are a lot of other ways to identify that someone is trolling. Generally, if someone seems disingenuous, uninterested in a real discussion, and provocative on purpose, they’re likely an internet troll.

How Should I Handle Them?

The most classic adage regarding trolling is, “Don’t feed the trolls.” Trolls seek out emotional responses and find provocation amusing, so replying to them or attempting to debate them will only make them troll more. By ignoring a troll completely, they will likely become frustrated and go somewhere else on the internet.

You should try your best not to take anything trolls say seriously. No matter how poorly they behave, remember these people spend countless unproductive hours trying to make people mad. They’re not worth your time of day.

If a troll becomes spammy or begins to clog up a thread, you can also opt to report them to the site’s moderation team. Depending on the website, there’s a chance nothing happens, but you should do your part to actively dissuade them from trolling on that platform. If your report is successful, the troll may be temporarily suspended or their account might be banned entirely.

Postby st7 » October 11th, 2021, 1:39 pm

Les Bain wrote:
VII wrote:Zoom you're ridiculous now, any credibility your arguments had before are now being overshadowed by pettiness and hate..

You live where you have to park your car on the street, how you going to charge it ?

I was at an energy thing some years ago and missed the chance to ask Roger Sant if CNG was ever used in a motorsports or performance setting, which is why I think it didn't catch on (in addition to some other reasons).
Electrics and hybrids have been pushing the performance and design angle for some time now. Monster Tajima destroyed the Pike's Peak records he set in those ridiculously powerful twin engine Suzukis with a not as impressive looking electric. Porsche, Ferrari and McLaren set the standard for performance hybrids with the holy trinity in the early 2010's...and CNG was pushed as a conversion kit to rob you of trunk space so you could drive slower and wuk taxi.

Les,

What they are not telling you is the production of the batteries gives about the same popultion as using cars. Then you have to change batteries followed by a disposal issue.

ent something like this was being done in Brazil?

Postby zoom rader » October 11th, 2021, 1:41 pm

st7 wrote:
Les Bain wrote:

Les,

ent something like this was being done in Brazil?
They did bio fuel and it works

https://www.transportpolicy.net/standar ... -biofuels/

https://thebrazilbusiness.com/article/b ... -in-brazil.

Trinidad is way behind and only putting a plaster on a sore with EVs.

Jobs can be created with a bio fuel plant but again lack of insight and trying to please those that fund the red government in order to sell karts

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 11th, 2021, 2:38 pm

2WNBoost wrote:What Is an Internet Troll? (and How to Handle Trolls)

https://www.howtogeek.com/465416/what-is-an-internet-troll-and-how-to-handle-trolls/

January 21, 2020, 8:00am EDT

Internet trolls are people who want to provoke and upset others online for their own amusement. Here’s how to spot the signs that someone is a troll, and how to handle them.

What Are Internet Trolls?

If you’ve been on the internet for any period of time, you’ve likely run into a troll at some point. An internet troll is someone who makes intentionally inflammatory, rude, or upsetting statements online to elicit strong emotional responses in people or to steer the conversation off-topic. They can come in many forms. Most trolls do this for their own amusement, but other forms of trolling are done to push a specific agenda.

Trolls have existed in folklore and fantasy literature for centuries, but online trolling has been around for as long as the internet has existed. The earliest known usage of the term can be traced back to the 1990s on early online message boards. Back then, it was a way for users to confuse new members by repeatedly posting an inside joke. It’s since turned into a much more malicious activity.

Trolling is distinct from other forms of cyberbullying or harassment. It is normally not targeted towards any one person and relies on other people paying attention and becoming provoked. Trolling exists on many online platforms, from small private group chats to the biggest social media websites. Here’s a list of places online where you’re likely to see online trolls:

Anonymous online forums: Places like Reddit, 4chan, and other anonymous message boards are prime real-estate for online trolls. Because there’s no way of tracing who someone is, trolls can post very inflammatory content without repercussion. This is especially true if the forum has lax or inactive moderation.

Twitter: Twitter also has the option to be anonymous, and has become a hotbed for internet trolls. Frequent Twitter trolling methods involve hijacking popular hashtags and mentioning popular Twitter personalities to gain attention from their followers.

Comment sections: The comment sections of places such as YouTube and news websites are also popular areas for trolls to feed. You’ll find a lot of obvious trolling here, and they frequently generate a lot of responses from angry readers or viewers.

You’ll find trolls anywhere online, including on Facebook and on online dating sites. They’re unfortunately pretty common.

Signs Someone Is Trolling

It can sometimes become difficult to tell the difference between a troll and someone who just genuinely wants to argue about a topic. However, here are a few tell-tale signs that someone is actively trolling.

Off-topic remarks: Completely going off-topic from the subject at hand. This is done to annoy and disrupt other posters.

Refusal to acknowledge evidence: Even when presented with hard, cold facts, they ignore this and pretend like they never saw it.

Dismissive, condescending tone: An early indicator of a troll was that they would ask an angry responder, “Why you mad, bro?” This is a method done to provoke someone even more, as a way of dismissing their argument altogether.

Use of unrelated images or memes: They reply to others with memes, images, and gifs. This is especially true if done in response to a very long text post.

Seeming obliviousness: They seem oblivious that most people are in disagreement with them. Also, trolls rarely get mad or provoked.

The list above is by no means definitive. There are a lot of other ways to identify that someone is trolling. Generally, if someone seems disingenuous, uninterested in a real discussion, and provocative on purpose, they’re likely an internet troll.

How Should I Handle Them?

The most classic adage regarding trolling is, “Don’t feed the trolls.” Trolls seek out emotional responses and find provocation amusing, so replying to them or attempting to debate them will only make them troll more. By ignoring a troll completely, they will likely become frustrated and go somewhere else on the internet.

You should try your best not to take anything trolls say seriously. No matter how poorly they behave, remember these people spend countless unproductive hours trying to make people mad. They’re not worth your time of day.

If a troll becomes spammy or begins to clog up a thread, you can also opt to report them to the site’s moderation team. Depending on the website, there’s a chance nothing happens, but you should do your part to actively dissuade them from trolling on that platform. If your report is successful, the troll may be temporarily suspended or their account might be banned entirely.

man get make out

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 11th, 2021, 11:24 pm

I remember team AON LPG powered Ford focus in the BTCC some years back tearing it up.

Watching a decompression explosion from a CNG tank is scary.

Everyone appears to be so focused on Carbon it seems that they forget about the other forms of pollution.
I don't think EVs are the solution to help the environment. Just moving pollution from one area to another, and introducing new problems in the process can't be.

Mining of cobalt and lithium has its ethical issues. Nickel mining is environmentally challenging, to put it mildly.
People can't really afford EVs either; well the ones from known manufacturers anyway.

Solutions to reduce pollution on your end:
Make what you currently have as efficient as possible; Driving habits, weight reduction, Low rolling resistance tyres, etc.
Ensuring that the vehicle is mechanically sound (my focus for this point was more on alignment and suspension)
Choose the most efficient form of transport for the journey (not sure how people feel about public transport and carpooling during COVID)
You are not going to save the earth by buying another vehicle.

On the manufacturer's end, they have to target more efficient designs that are affordable and built to last (last longer than what some are currently selling anyway). Smaller engines (lower weight and displacement), reduced aerodynamic drag etc. (but these things aren't new.)

Maybe the ability to retrofit panels to the shells of previous vehicles to increase aero efficiency...who knows

Biofuels...Locally we do not have the acreages to support the scale required to make this feasible.

Postby Ben_spanna » October 12th, 2021, 7:26 am

Toyota Pruis
Hyundai Ioniq
Kia Niro
VOlvo CX90
Porsche Taycan

Any other New cars that can be purchased locally that are Hybrid or Full Electric,
If you ask the local dealer if the Kia Niro Plug in or EV version will ever be available- they cant say.

Nissan has had their Hybrid xtrail available for years now, yet we cannot get it new, Honda has many of their cars Hybrid , so does Toyota, but none of them are made for our market so our dealers will not bring it, will that change in the near future?

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 12th, 2021, 9:12 am

Norway’s just about done with internal combustion

https://www.topgear.com/car-news/electric/norways-just-about-done-internal-combustion?fbclid=IwAR2IIucV-B8AIHH7Pt_4IasFV0AEixvKljydT-r0Y48iIcyQqd2dUHk4n4s

The last new petrol-powered car could sell as soon as April 2022

Here’s a quick nationality test for you: what’s the chance your next car will be petrol powered? If your answer is any more than “zero per cent, obviously”, we can predict with almost complete surety that you aren’t even remotely Norwegian. We aren’t remotely Norwegian either, which is a burden we carry every day. But we digress.
Norway’s government had already mandated a 2025 cutoff for internal-combustion cars, but it seems that buyers will beat even that target, with the last new petrol-powered car ever sold in Norway predicted to be as soon as April 2022.

For those familiar with the figures, it’s no surprise. The Norwegian Automobile Federation has tracked the decline of petrol and diesel-powered car sales since January 2017 – when dino-juice cars accounted for one in four sales – to today, when it’s down to just one in ten. Follow the trend line and Norway will say ha det to new fossil-fuel-powered cars by April 2022.
That’s right – in Norway, 90 per cent of new cars sold are electrified, with 100 per cent coming in the space of just six months. It’s undoubtedly a trend spurred on by generous incentives, but a world-beating figure nonetheless. An exemption from Norway’s 25 per cent VAT certainly helps, as does half-price fare for parking, ferries and toll roads. Then there’s the sheer number of fast-charging stations that dot the country.
Of course, there is the small environmental sticking point that this largesse is sponsored by Norway’s oil and gas exports. But think about what oil and gas revenues go towards in almost any other country. The fact is that the world at large is a) transitioning away from fossil fuels, b) fighting tooth and nail to keep using them, or c) in no economic position to do much of anything either way. Norway supplies the current need for oil and gas and uses the profits to transition away from them. It’s environmental realpolitik, using current realities to try to improve future ones. And it’s yet one more reason we wish we could pass as Norwegian. Any chance of that, Norwegian TopGear.commers? We got ha det right, didn’t we?

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2021, 9:30 am

^^^^ The darker side of EVs and the Norway con job.

Norway goes "green" but does not care about the many Africans subjected to child labour and health issues.

Darker side of the electric car bonanza
While much of the developed world heads enthusiastically toward vehicles that pollute less, the celebration isn't universal. The Democratic Republic of Congo supplies two-thirds of world's cobalt, essential for EV batteries. This Central African nation chronically suffers from "natural resource curse": while "blessed" with richness in minerals, it remains among the poorest nations in the world.
In the absence of formal employment, hundreds of thousands of Congolese turn to mining. UNICEF estimates there are more than 40,000 children working in mines on jobs such as underground digging, transportation of heavy loads or washing mined cobalt in rivers.
Many adult and children workers have no modern machinery or even basic protective clothing, and the health consequences can be catastrophic. Cobalt even has disease named after it – cobalt lungs, a form of pneumonia caused by overexposure to cobalt dust that leads to permanent incapacity and in many cases, death.
Years of mining have also taken their toll on Congolese environment. Untreated waste and toxic substances pollute areas near the mines, exacerbating health problems of the locals. In addition, worrying radioactivity levels were reported in some of the mines, as southern Congo has vast deposits of not only cobalt and copper, but also uranium. In November 2018, Glencore, one of the world's leading cobalt producers, temporarily suspended sales of cobalt from its Kamoto mine due to radioactivity detected in supplies.
The long road ahead
It may seem that electric cars are on the verge of replacing internal-combustion vehicles. But while their market share is growing, it still represents only 2% of car sales in 2018. Although there is raising awareness on environmental issues, we must remember that people tend to seek to maximise their personal utility. Because of this, electric vehicles can be considered an example of market failure – their benefits to society as a whole exceed those to individuals, so they're undersupplied by a free market. Another example is vaccinations, which may require a shot (briefly painful to one person), but can help provide collective immunity (beneficial for all). Government regulations, subsidies and other methods can help insure that such failures of the free market are compensated for.
In the case of electric vehicles, however, once government subsidies are phased out, it remains to be seen whether consumers will perceive electric vehicles as economically viable option. A lot will depend on the ability of car manufacturers to cut production costs, and also how much countries have advanced in installing related infrastructure such as charging stations.
In any case, we are in for a long ride and a lot of uncertainties along the way.

https://phys.org/news/2019-03-electric- ... ilure.html
Last edited by zoom rader on October 12th, 2021, 9:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2021, 9:35 am

Another Norway conjob that is Coming to Trinidad . To many boosted idiots

Norway’s electric car miracle is a smug national fraud built on subsidizing rich people with Teslas

https://www.rt.com/news/468342-norway-t ... hypocrisy/
Last edited by zoom rader on October 12th, 2021, 9:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2021, 9:37 am

Postby timelapse » October 12th, 2021, 10:20 am

I see what you are doing there....
Bull carts are green.
You have cattle.
Sneaky......

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2021, 10:29 am

timelapse wrote:
I see what you are doing there....
Bull carts are green.
You have cattle.
Sneaky......
The main purpose for EVs is to go green. But initial cost does not save the planet and human health issues associated in the manufacture of the karts.

People are not informed.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » October 12th, 2021, 10:31 am

Zoom will you be saying the same thing once you driving one of this?

Range on the basic model on one charge is about 650Km.
In Bago you might have to charge that once a month (unless you going to "pull bull")
Imagine never having to go into NP again so one less set of red government workers you have to deal with.

Wouldn't that be a major selling point for you?
More major than lithium battery con job and factory emission con job?

Or even these. I could see you pumping through your farm in any of this.
The cow and goat will be riding in style in the tray.
Them other trini/bago goat and cow will jealous yours.

Or you like to go line up in NP for red government workers to put their nozzle in your gas tank?

Postby timelapse » October 12th, 2021, 10:37 am

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Zoom will you be saying the same thing once you driving one of this?

In Bago you might have to charge that once a month (unless you going to "pull bull")
Imagine never having to go into NP again so one less set of red government workers you have to deal with.

Or you like to go line up in NP for red government workers to put their nozzle in your gas tank?
No , the bull will be pulling him!

Postby MaxPower » October 12th, 2021, 10:49 am

Trini mechanics are incompetent.

Most of them that is.

Clueless with how gas engine works, much less for electrics.

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2021, 10:49 am

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Zoom will you be saying the same thing once you driving one of this?

Nah horse.

I invest and save my money so I can travel and the see the world.

I still use my 1984 Ford laser running on a carb.

I don't see how buying a kart will benefiti me. I don't need a new vehicle.

If by all means it suits you and you love paying back the bank and paying big insurance, then you go for it.

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2021, 10:55 am

MaxPower wrote:Trini mechanics are incompetent.

Most of them that is.

Well it can be an opportunity for new EV techs .

But what's going to happen is that manufacturers will void your warranty once unauthorized people are working on your kart.

Plus you won't be able to buy the batteries but from the manufacturers and they have to install it. Who you think own the mines

Buy a kart at your own risk

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 12th, 2021, 12:26 pm

Most of them that is.

Max,

What are trinis really competent at? Anything?
Last edited by SuperiorMan on October 12th, 2021, 12:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby st7 » October 12th, 2021, 12:52 pm

i think Max is the only competent trini lol

Postby st7 » October 12th, 2021, 12:58 pm

Most of them that is.

But what's going to happen is that manufacturers will void your warranty once unauthorized people are working on your kart.

Plus you won't be able to buy the batteries but from the manufacturers and they have to install it. Who you think own the mines

zoom... what about the oil industry? we're missing the fact that there have been devastating environmental impacts due to large oil spills, especially the one by BP in the gulf of mexico within the last decade.

are we going to choose the lesser of two evils in this case? (Environmental destruction to different bio-diversities vs Climate Change)

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2021, 1:09 pm

st7 wrote:

Most of them that is.

zoom... what about the oil industry? we're missing the fact that there have been devastating environmental impacts due to large oil spills, especially the one by BP in the gulf of mexico within the last decade.

are we going to choose the lesser of two evils in this case? (Environmental destruction to different bio-diversities vs Climate Change)
The same oil industry and fossil fuels is used to supply electricity for the karts bro. Its a go around

Postby pugboy » October 12th, 2021, 1:31 pm

yeah everybody say ev is clean energy yet the electricity made somewhere and carbon emitted

Postby MaxPower » October 12th, 2021, 1:47 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

Most of them that is.

Max,

Hey mate,

They are competent in:

Liming/Drinking/Zessing
“Mamaguying”
Shot hitting
Smartmanism
Littering
Irresponsibility
Laziness
Unpunctuality
Complacency
Poor hygiene
Law breaking

Boi the list goes on.

Now don’t get me wrong, this applies to most Trinis.

We have quite a good few of our countrymen who are the total opposite. Rare finds i would say as most would have migrated or as myself, we simply try our best to keep away and bond with others.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 12th, 2021, 1:50 pm

Try watching these

2WNBoost wrote:Environmental Impact of ICE vs Electric Vehicles

5 Reasons You Should (Not) Buy An Electric Car

Postby zoom rader » October 12th, 2021, 3:39 pm

^^^ Boost start putting you order in for one, you will save the planet

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 12th, 2021, 3:42 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

Most of them that is.

Max,

Hey mate,

They are competent in:

Liming/Drinking/Zessing
“Mamaguying”
Shot hitting
Smartmanism
Littering
Irresponsibility
Laziness
Unpunctuality
Complacency
Poor hygiene
Law breaking

Boi the list goes on.

Now don’t get me wrong, this applies to most Trinis.

We have quite a good few of our countrymen who are the total opposite. Rare finds i would say as most would have migrated or as myself, we simply try our best to keep away and bond with others.

Max,

I was going to say they are good in nothing but you are right about this. You also forgot being smelly too but I guess that falls under hygiene? Let me know your thoughts on this.

No tax on electric vehicles in T&T

Postby MaxPower » October 12th, 2021, 3:52 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Max,

I was going to say they are good in nothing but you are right about this. You also forgot being smelly too but I guess that falls under hygiene? Let me know your thoughts on this.

Yeh bro,

Many Trinis need work on their hygiene. Especially that stink jungle breath.

But represent the brothers for your date. Show you Vene sweetheart that many of us Trinis try to keep ourselves clean and disassociate from the nasty one.

Look good, smell good and be good bro.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 12th, 2021, 3:57 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Max,

Yeh bro,

Many Trinis need work on their hygiene. Especially that stink jungle breath.

But represent the brothers for your date. Show you Vene sweetheart that many of us Trinis try to keep ourselves clean and disassociate from the nasty one.

Look good, smell good and be good bro.

Max,

I don't consider myself a Trini. I don't look or act or smell like one. I will take your advice on this though. Hope you also get a nice beautiful Vene girl and not a jungle Trini bat. Keep good Max :D