Family grieves after dog hit by MP's vehicle: I'm sorry, says Hinds

abducted

Family grieves after dog hit by MP's vehicle: I'm sorry, says Hinds

Postby abducted » October 8th, 2021, 11:36 am

A family is grieving the loss of their beloved pet after he was hit by a security vehicle that was accompanying Laventille West MP Fitzgerald Hinds to his Maraval home.

A member of the family, who preferred to remain anonymous, told Loop News that security footage from last night showed the moment when Marley was standing at the side of the road near their home when the vehicle ran over him.

The incident has left Marley's family in tears and the relative has since shared a Facebook post recounting the incident.

"We are devastated that he was treated that way. Every single neighbour I spoke to concurred on how irresponsible and crazy his entourage navigates the roads in our community. It's not a main road or a highway.

"I accept that our dog was in the road but you should not have been driving so fast around a corner that you couldn't stop in time to avoid hitting something. Marley wasn't even in the middle of the road, he was at the side of the road waiting for the vehicle to pass. it could have been my son, we walk those roads all the time."

She added that the vehicle, after running over Marley, continued and did not stop.

Hinds has since apologised for the incident, saying that he was asleep in the vehicle at the time it took place and that the driver was unaware that they had run over him.

"This was indeed unfortunate. As I told you I was sound asleep on my way home, so I knew nothing of it. If I was aware at that time, I would have come out and enquired as to who was possibly the owner. Once I found out that it was you, I would have come to your home, expressed regret and issued a sincere apology. I do understand your hurt and distress and I apologize for this incident. I will refer this matter to their Chief for his attention. Since you spoke to me last night, I spoke to the guys who were with me; and they all expressed deep regrets and apologies. Please accept all our apologies."

The family is asking that measures be taken to ensure that his security vehicles, and all other vehicles, reduce their speed while in residential areas.

According to the Trinidad and Tobago Highway Code, drivers are advised to slow down near animals and pedestrians: "Go slowly when driving past animals. Give them plenty of room and be ready to stop if necessary. Do not frighten the animals by sounding your horn or reviving your engine."

The Code also states: "When a vehicle is involved in an accident whereby injury or damage is caused to any person, animal or property the driver of such vehicle shall immediately stop and convey or cause to be conveyed any injured person to a doctor or hospital, give his name and address and Driving Permit particulars to interested parties and immediately report the accident to a Police Officer or the nearest Police Station. It is advisable to mark the position of the wheels of the vehicle(s) involved, in the presence of a witness."

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/family- ... says-hinds

Re: Family grieves after dog hit by MP's vehicle: I'm sorry, says Hinds

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2021, 11:50 am

Red government MPs and their families are not subjected to law

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » October 8th, 2021, 12:08 pm

zoom rader wrote:Red government MPs and their families are not subjected to law
You got that right.
Meanwhile half there supporter base in prison..go figure.

Postby 16 cycles » October 8th, 2021, 12:12 pm

Rastaman kill Marley ???.....irony, thy name is..

Postby MaxPower » October 8th, 2021, 12:16 pm

Sigh

RIP Marley

Shame on you Hinds.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » October 8th, 2021, 12:32 pm

Dogs and cats get run over everyday, we should focus on the negligent owner who not securing their mutt. How many times have we as drivers had to dodge a dog or cat darting out into the roadway unexpectedly, Trinis have a wrong concept of what belongs on the roadway, keep your pets within the confines of your property.

Postby Redman » October 8th, 2021, 1:33 pm

Yes but was it a PNM dog?

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » October 8th, 2021, 1:42 pm

I looked for the pothound in him and could not find it...

Postby alfa » October 8th, 2021, 1:46 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Dogs and cats get run over everyday, we should focus on the negligent owner who not securing their mutt. How many times have we as drivers had to dodge a dog or cat darting out into the roadway unexpectedly, Trinis have a wrong concept of what belongs on the roadway, keep your pets within the confines of your property.

Dog could have gotten away accidently. Happened to me a couple time. Looking at the dog's pic he ain't your regular sufferer you'd expect to see on the road

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2021, 1:52 pm

Redman wrote:Yes but was it a PNM dog?
Cantmis wrote:I looked for the pothound in him and could not find it...
Bruh

You two win for today

Postby gastly369 » October 8th, 2021, 2:17 pm

MaxPower wrote:Sigh

RIP Marley

Shame on you Hinds.
He was "asleep" and dribbling down he self driver say they didn't know or feel anything....

Someone should show the cctv camera in that area of how they drive like jack donkey thru that roads

Postby MaxPower » October 8th, 2021, 2:20 pm

IMG_7969.JPG

Postby timelapse » October 8th, 2021, 2:21 pm

Driver is a danger to society and should be shot

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 8th, 2021, 3:12 pm

Keep yuh dog inside, problem solved.

david12

Postby david12 » October 8th, 2021, 3:16 pm

Poor Marley, driver should be fired immediately for wreck less driving

Postby nemisis » October 8th, 2021, 3:21 pm

Ent fence your yard and lease your dog, should check and see if any damage was done to government property
Strugglerzinc wrote:Keep yuh dog inside, problem solved.

Postby Kenjo » October 8th, 2021, 4:26 pm

I know it’s inconvenient but I have a kennel close to home entrance so my dogs can go into it before I open the gate . I always remember as a child how erratic dogs behave when a gate is open and bolt out into the road . Worse yet a smallie dog like him gone too soon for not being secured

Postby redmanjp » October 8th, 2021, 4:30 pm

no compensation? no charge for hit and run?

Postby Rovin » October 8th, 2021, 5:53 pm

poor doggy ... R.I.P :(

no matter d circumstances : u cyar comfort d lost\pain of a pet owner :(

Postby Kenjo » October 8th, 2021, 5:57 pm

redmanjp wrote:no compensation? no charge for hit and run?

Pot hole in the road at most a small dog like that would feel like ? Exactly how to calculate compensation for a dead dog ?

Postby zoom rader » October 8th, 2021, 6:04 pm

All this to side tract the budget

Postby 88sins » October 8th, 2021, 6:41 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Dogs and cats get run over everyday, we should focus on the negligent owner who not securing their mutt. How many times have we as drivers had to dodge a dog or cat darting out into the roadway unexpectedly, Trinis have a wrong concept of what belongs on the roadway, keep your pets within the confines of your property.

Exactly
Sorry that the dog died, but the responsibility for that incident lies squarely on the shoulders of his owners.

Postby 88sins » October 8th, 2021, 6:51 pm

Kenjo wrote:I know it’s inconvenient but I have a kennel close to home entrance so my dogs can go into it before I open the gate . I always remember as a child how erratic dogs behave when a gate is open and bolt out into the road . Worse yet a smallie dog like him gone too soon for not being secured

Hows about, and I jes spitballin here eh, yuh train the animal to NOT run out when the gate opens. It NOT hard to do, and don't take long to teach, and it saves you time and energy, and it saves the pooch his life.

Come outside to go to work
Lock up dog
Open gate, get in car and drive out
Get out d car and go back and close gate
Let go dog
Try to get back thru gate without dog running out the yard
Get in car and drive to work.

Open gate, dog walks away from gate
Drive out, get out and and close gate
Get back in car and go to work

Life doh hadda be complicated

Postby De Dragon » October 9th, 2021, 12:34 am

Kenjo wrote:I know it’s inconvenient but I have a kennel close to home entrance so my dogs can go into it before I open the gate . I always remember as a child how erratic dogs behave when a gate is open and bolt out into the road . Worse yet a smallie dog like him gone too soon for not being secured

Hows about, and I jes spitballin here eh, yuh train the animal to NOT run out when the gate opens. It NOT hard to do, and don't take long to teach, and it saves you time and energy, and it saves the pooch his life.

Lock up dog
Let go dog

My dogs know that they are to remain back from the gate until it has completely opened or closed. As sins said, that training is 30 mins for a lifetime of convenience.

Postby Kenjo » October 9th, 2021, 6:20 am

Lock up dog
Let go dog

My dogs know that they are to remain back from the gate until it has completely opened or closed. As sins said, that training is 30 mins for a lifetime of convenience.

95% of the time This works with them staying away but the every so often when they run out I really can’t stand chasing them but the kennel is 3 meters away from the gate and they easily go inside so it’s inconvenient but manageable for me.

Postby timelapse » October 9th, 2021, 6:41 am

I trying to understand the logic.Dog was in the road, get run over, owner's and dog fault.I cool with that.
Dog is in kennel, housekeeper brings children to other ppl house,dog gets released from kennel,bites child and is shot.Still dog and its owner's fault.
The logic not logicing

Postby MaxPower » October 9th, 2021, 6:44 am

We need more rights for our Animals..

Nothing would please me more if the death penalty was implemented to those cruel to Animals.

Postby 88sins » October 9th, 2021, 7:40 am

timelapse wrote:I trying to understand the logic.Dog was in the road, get run over, owner's and dog fault.I cool with that.
Dog is in kennel, housekeeper brings children to other ppl house,dog gets released from kennel,bites child and is shot.Still dog and its owner's fault.
The logic not logicing

I see how you can get confused, allow me to explain.
It's perfectly logical, once you remember that this is a flip-flop greenfig republic and not a real place, and the majority of its citizens are basically functional idiots governed by emotion, impulse and stupidity.

Hope that helps.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 9th, 2021, 8:16 am

Trying to understand the reason for this beat up! Trinidad have a lot more problems

Postby zoom rader » October 9th, 2021, 8:23 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Trying to understand the reason for this beat up! Trinidad have a lot more problems
That's why said all this over a dog while the budget just ran away