Buying Toyota Hilux

nightcrawler

Buying Toyota Hilux

Postby nightcrawler » October 28th, 2021, 8:32 am

Thinking if buying the Toyota Hilux. If I bring in new from Thailand is $340 and locally is $370 with less gadgets from firm. Is Thailand's vehicles of a less quality?

Re: Buying Toyota Hilux

Postby 88sins » October 28th, 2021, 2:37 pm

Be advised, locally
Toyota=Crap, and Hilux=Very large pile of frog crap.

Yeah, I said it. Whoever vex, daz your problem

Postby MaxPower » October 28th, 2021, 3:02 pm

88sins wrote:Be advised, locally

Serious?

I was considering one.

What do you recommend?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 28th, 2021, 3:05 pm

Check tuner Agent007 for more info

And hilux is just overpriced 4x4 for raj to show "they reach"

Postby 88sins » October 28th, 2021, 3:15 pm

Serious?

I was considering one.

What do you recommend?

Literally ANYTHING else. At the rate the local stealership going, you better off with a donkey cart drawn by ants.
Be my guest, get one. And if you plan on keeping it long, you will need original new parts. Yuh go figure out what I mean by then

Postby eliteauto » October 28th, 2021, 9:02 pm

Why would "Thailand's vehicles be of less quality" when all are made in Thailand?

Postby pugboy » October 28th, 2021, 9:15 pm

practically all pickups made in thailand for the longest while

pickups are a fairly commoditized vehicle at least if you buy one that is not newest model with newest engine

there are a lot of third party ppl bringing in parts from same thailand too

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 28th, 2021, 10:06 pm

Get some reviews from current owners, try the fb groups and/or whatsapp chats.

Sportero and Hilux are my top 2

Postby Rovin » October 28th, 2021, 10:19 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Check tuner Agent007 for more info

And hilux is just overpriced 4x4 for raj to show "they reach"

ent is raj-lux allyuh tuners does call it :lol:

though we own a 2 door isuzu just for transporting stuff when needed : i just not a pickup kinda guy ... :|

Postby Ben_spanna » October 28th, 2021, 10:29 pm

So which 4x4 available locally would you say is the Best Buy, most reliable and most affordable to maintain?
Fords look nice but for a house hold and both drivers to go and get their heavy T license is too much trouble imho.

Rockram

Postby Rockram » October 28th, 2021, 10:45 pm

What ever you do don't get the Navarra. But seriously tho locally the Toyota stealaship seems to go out of their way to strip out features that most other markets have.....But their reliability is legendary its one of the reasons their the top automaker by sales volume.

Xplode

Postby Xplode » October 28th, 2021, 11:17 pm

Before i migrated op ,had all the models from TTTL and down south Mack R even had the local 2.7 vvti to the 3.0 , the ones from Thailand handles good but the diesel from local gas station pumps will cause that dpf to smoke injector and HP pump problems , 2.7 burns gas alot , 3.0 from Mack R had to return it still was under warranty ,new truck and smokes ,got a full refund .

The local 3.0 and 2.5 are work horses no problems TTTL tuned the engines to handle our $hitty diesel quality ,they dint even had the DPF from factory ,if you buying local all the way, the new models still even has the same engines .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2021, 5:20 am

Op...buy a ole skool hilux, slap een ah 1J/2J....yuh bad

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2021, 7:01 am

tttl not selling the hilux with older engines anymore
they using the current 2.8
not sure if tuned for our conditions

Postby Ben_spanna » October 29th, 2021, 8:06 am

I know the older Hilux are quite the work horses and were known for their build quailty, additional " features" i can do without if it means better reliability and less crap to go wrong... one thing i can say for them..just look around at their resale , a Toyota pickup still holds its value much much better than any other brand available.

Postby pugboy » October 29th, 2021, 8:45 am

1kd and 2kd engines around a long time and have generally stood up

Postby gastly369 » October 29th, 2021, 9:04 am

Got the 2016 revo with the 1GD-FTV full spec Thailand from maska no issue to date... Just the common front rotors warp was fixed with brembo rotors which I got from a 2nr

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » October 29th, 2021, 11:07 am

I have the 2gd manual from TTTL.

3 years and 70k km.

No issues whatsoever.

I full diesel in all stations throughout TT without discrimination.

I didn’t check under the hood in over a year and I don’t intend to.

Just service as per schedule and you will be fine.

Postby MaxPower » October 29th, 2021, 11:18 am

Those who cannot afford a TTTL Toyota Hilux or never owned one should NOT be commenting.

Its the sufferers that always have the most to say.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 29th, 2021, 11:26 am

I would maintain...contact agent007 for a comprehensive overview on said vehicle. That being said, research right in the toyota forum would show that the 1kd/2kd engines are bulletproof(keeping in mind regular maintenance).
Some people complained about the GD engines but to each his own

Postby Spitfir3 » October 29th, 2021, 12:01 pm

Rockram wrote:What ever you do don't get the Navarra. But seriously tho locally the Toyota stealaship seems to go out of their way to strip out features that most other markets have.....But their reliability is legendary its one of the reasons their the top automaker by sales volume.

what wrong with Navara? i figured somn hadda be up because i see these vans sellin for MUCH cheaper compared to any other pickup on the market and daz for fully loaded ones to

Postby aaron17 » October 29th, 2021, 12:08 pm

Damn son! :agrue:

death365

Postby death365 » October 29th, 2021, 12:31 pm

heres my story ,

i bought the vastly unpopular sportero, new from the show room, in 2009. normally maintained- not thru dealership.

only have some diesel issues and other fuel releated issues. my thinking is that it is more about your maintenance. this year i was called for a airbag replacement recall. 12 years on

venom21

Postby venom21 » October 29th, 2021, 1:42 pm

I'm the owner of the 2017 4x4 fully loaded hilux from the firm, my mileage is 115000 , the only thing i changed so far well Toyota did was a left tie rod which costed ard 600 in the firm, and the original still had life in it , no issues so far, just press button and drive, and my job includes a lot of driving in some terrible country roads every day.
All my vehicles before was Nissan from b13, Almera, bluebird slyphy and the last was an xtrail nt31 and every month had to be replacing suspension parts, got fed up and tried Toyota no going back ever.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » October 29th, 2021, 2:01 pm

nightcrawler wrote:Thinking if buying the Toyota Hilux. If I bring in new from Thailand is $340 and locally is $370 with less gadgets from firm. Is Thailand's vehicles of a less quality?

I thought most (if not all) Trinidad Hilux coming from Thailand?
And that extra 30k is for "warranty" and sales commission.
You have options here from agent007 thread
Hilux
$217,000.00 2.4 6MT 4x2 s/c
$251,000.00 2.4 6MT 4x4 s/c
$281,000.00 2.4 6MT 4x4
$290,000.00 2.8 6MT 4x4
$320,000.00 2.4 6AT 4x4
$332,000.00 2.8 6AT 4x4
$356,000.00 2.8 SRV 6AT 4x4
$370,000.00 2.8 SRV Leather 6AT 4x4

What I could suggest is you could save a 14 and do without the leather.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:And hilux is just overpriced 4x4 for raj to show "they reach"

Not anymore. 4 Hilux stolen from one area by me in the last 3 months. All by different Quamies.
One batch even use one to rob a grocery soon after and got held.

nick69

Postby nick69 » October 29th, 2021, 11:31 pm

Guys. Has anyone had any experience with the new sportero with the 2.4 liter engine? It seems to have the same transmission as in the hilux. Can anyone confirm.

mad

Postby mad » October 30th, 2021, 1:27 am

Go with the Thailand model, you get a lot more features for less than what TTTL is offering.
But right now most of these pick-ups just way overpriced.
Its only because of the T-vehicles tax concessions that people are buying them.
But basically a fully loaded Hilux has the same CIF price as a Prado from Japan, which is just ridiculous.

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2021, 5:24 am

the amount of them I seeing on the road, it seems $400k is the new base line for price of a vehicle

Postby Kenjo » October 30th, 2021, 6:25 am

Blaze d Chalice wrote:
nightcrawler wrote:Thinking if buying the Toyota Hilux. If I bring in new from Thailand is $340 and locally is $370 with less gadgets from firm. Is Thailand's vehicles of a less quality?

I thought most (if not all) Trinidad Hilux coming from Thailand?
And that extra 30k is for "warranty" and sales commission.
You have options here from agent007 thread
Hilux
$217,000.00 2.4 6MT 4x2 s/c
$251,000.00 2.4 6MT 4x4 s/c
$281,000.00 2.4 6MT 4x4
$290,000.00 2.8 6MT 4x4
$320,000.00 2.4 6AT 4x4
$332,000.00 2.8 6AT 4x4
$356,000.00 2.8 SRV 6AT 4x4
$370,000.00 2.8 SRV Leather 6AT 4x4

What I could suggest is you could save a 14 and do without the leather.

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:And hilux is just overpriced 4x4 for raj to show "they reach"

Not anymore. 4 Hilux stolen from one area by me in the last 3 months. All by different Quamies.
One batch even use one to rob a grocery soon after and got held.

WTH

Postby timelapse » October 30th, 2021, 7:04 am

Old model hilux ftw.
My pops has a TAY beast that still standing up strong.Problem is that he not parting with it