How hard is it to get a disability grant?

Bandicoot

How hard is it to get a disability grant?

Postby Bandicoot » November 17th, 2021, 12:15 am

And how many years does it take on average?

First thing, I don't "look" disabled, as in I'm not blind, deaf, in a wheelchair... I don't have cerebral palsy or anything like that. I have epilepsy, (not the famous kind), and dyspraxia (what they used to call Clumsy Child Syndrome) and a bunch of other minor stuff.

I was fairly okay until UWI in my 20s when I started having trouble because I was doing a hands-on type of degree and dyspraxia is a motor coordination problem. I can't tell like left and right for example, walk into doors and stuff because I am bad at space and depth perception. For example, like in driving if instead of turning the corner properly, you just drive over the pavement, or needed to use hand rails for steps, getting lost in the neighborhood you grew up in etc. I can't recognize faces. Spelling is bad. That kind of stuff. I managed to get a drivers license but I can't drive because it's not safe and I've already been in 4 accidents. The last time I was in clinics, they said they believed that it was accumulated brain damage from seizures.

I went through all the people in UWI to get diagnosed and stuff after about 2 years, but I don't have any of my medical files and when I tried to get it, they said it was misplaced and there was a lot of runaround until I just gave up on it. I had a scholarship and one of my doctors had had to write a letter to the ministry to explain that I was disabled, etc, because you're supposed to work for a certain time after the scholarship, but they never gave me anything directly. Every time I ask anyone for anything they used to either say they will call me back or that they aren't seeing anything.

So I know that if I try to get a grant, I will have to go through the whole diagnosis process from scratch again, and in COVID time it might take years just to get a single MRI appointment, and I can't afford to pay for all of that privately. There is a place called the Morris Centre that says they specialise in these types of evaluations. They will do it in 5 hours a day for 5 days, so very fast, but then the cost is $10,000. I don't have that.

I have a degree, but I am essentially unemployable. Couldn't even get a job as an assistant in superpharm. Not even a gas station. If I explain the disabilty in an attempt to be honest, then they say they understand and to wait to hear back from them and then nothing. If I try to lie, people ask about the empty years when I was very sick. The only job I ever had was as an OJT and that was only because I think the interviewer guy I think felt truly sorry for me cause I was at the end of my rope.

I am thinking about trying to get a disability grant, but I had an uncle with cerebral palsy who needed a wheelchair and he didn't even get that after years of asking, a church had to buy it for him, so I feel like my chances will be very small since I'm walking and talking and not intellectually disabled.

Worth trying for it or not? What happened to my uncle was a long time ago, probably 15 years? They might be better now? It is a very humiliating thing trying to prove you are disabled to people who think you are faking it. UWI only believed me when I lost two teeth and had multiple seizures in front of them.

Not trying to relive that whole "prove you're disabled" thing again, but at the same time, I can put pride aside if it can help me get some money for food and basic needs. Anybody have experience with getting a disability grant if you don't have something very major wrong with you like blindness or paralysis? I don't know what to do anymore. Not trying to be a social welfare case but I am willing to sacrifice pride now. I'm living in a place with holes and snakes... Can't take it anymore.

Re: How hard is it to get a disability grant?

Postby hover11 » November 17th, 2021, 6:17 am

Hey man just a question how long did you work for?

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » November 17th, 2021, 6:22 am

Did OP or a mod delete comments made on this thread?

Postby pugboy » November 17th, 2021, 6:56 am

very subjective
I know somebody whose Dad is a serious stroke patient and was refused
yet many others get
ppl say depends on which colour party you vote

Postby Dave » November 17th, 2021, 7:43 am

You have to get a medical professional to declare you are unfit to work and be eligible. Also your home and area plays a part so if you live in an area and house of a certain stature then consider alternatives as this would also hinder your approval.
The area and it's political affiliation also plays a part as mentioned.

Postby zoom rader » November 17th, 2021, 8:05 am

OP, I would suggest,

1. contacting Your MP. Ruling and Opposition MPs do have clout and give each other favors( Banana Republic)
2. Visiting social services and see what documents they need for grant.
3. Use the media to highlight your plight.

This is how wrong this stupid country is when you can't get services that your taxes pay for.

Postby j.o.e » November 17th, 2021, 9:26 am

zoom rader wrote:OP, I would suggest,

1. contacting Your MP. Ruling and Opposition MPs do have clout and give each other favors( Banana Republic)

This is how wrong this stupid country is when you can't get services that your taxes pay for.

Honestly this is the best route.

Bandicoot

Postby Bandicoot » November 17th, 2021, 3:16 pm

hover11 wrote:Hey man just a question how long did you work for?

OJT is just two years. That is all. Some people, I hear, manage to get extensions but I could only get for the two years.

Postby Kenjo » November 17th, 2021, 3:29 pm

Those missing medical forms is your biggest issue . Anyone can go into the ministry office to get the forms for the doctor to fill out . The doctor then writes the percentage disability and period of disability for you . 15 years ago and now with your uncle may have left a bad taste in your mouth but you just need to try it . Obviously if it’s assessed that your family could not mind you then you should get through . You can easily be persistent since you are saying you have nothing else occupying your time . Going into the disability office with a confrontational attitude probably won’t help either so try and push over to get this medical notes . COVID will mess up things is the only thing right now as you correctly said

Postby mero » November 17th, 2021, 3:30 pm

Op

Disability from NIB only comes from being Injured on the job

Your referring to Invalidity- to get that u must have 750 contributions or 250 within the last 2 years or 150 within the last 3 years and a doctor must certify you're incapable of doing a job for at least a year.

Other that than. Contact ministry of of Social security and prob speak to your councillor or MP.

Good luck.

Bandicoot

Postby Bandicoot » November 17th, 2021, 3:38 pm

Use the media as in write an article or something for a newspaper? Or go to somebody like Ian Alleyne? I was thinking about it but I don't want to do anything too too public where everyone have to know my business. It does get real embarrassing and I don't want if people google my name, the first thing to come up is pictures of me where I'm living now and how I have no food to eat, etc. The last time I try to get help, everything turn out to be much less confidential than they promise and I had all kinds of people saying all kinds of things about me.

Just to open a bank account and get an NIS number for OJT, because of how long I was unemployed, became a whole embarrassing thing where I have to get legal letters from people explaining where I does get food from and thing. Real humiliation.

Postby zoom rader » November 17th, 2021, 4:25 pm

Bandicoot wrote:

Use the media as in write an article or something for a newspaper? Or go to somebody like Ian Alleyne? I was thinking about it but I don't want to do anything too too public where everyone have to know my business. It does get real embarrassing and I don't want if people google my name, the first thing to come up is pictures of me where I'm living now and how I have no food to eat, etc. The last time I try to get help, everything turn out to be much less confidential than they promise and I had all kinds of people saying all kinds of things about me.

Just to open a bank account and get an NIS number for OJT, because of how long I was unemployed, became a whole embarrassing thing where I have to get legal letters from people explaining where I does get food from and thing. Real humiliation.
Again you need to seek advice from social services as to what grants you maybe entitled too.

You have to go in and speak with them.

There was a Tuner that used to give advice on social services sometimes
ago. There's a chead for it somewhere on tuner.

Look here....

http://www.social.gov.tt/public-assistance-grant/

http://www.social.gov.tt/disability-ass ... nt-adults/

Applicants must satisfy all four (4) criteria.

Application and Medical Report forms can be obtained at the Local Board Office in your district.

Applicants are then required to attend a disability assessment meeting with the Local Public Assistance Board.

The Assistance Board decides on all applications and rejected persons have the right to appeal

Forget Ian Allen, try contacting personel in the upper media, Trinidad express ect and lay out your situation with them just as you described here. Or write letters to the editors, some times they send you links that can help
Last edited by zoom rader on November 17th, 2021, 4:25 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Kenjo » November 17th, 2021, 4:27 pm

Bandicoot wrote:

WTH all that. Nah just chase up on those Medical’s but go through the customer service department of the hospital buddy . Sometimes those clerks won’t put in the higher ups effort unless customer service is hounding them . Old X-ray / ct / mri reports generally on a separate system so even to get photo copies of those should be feasible

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » November 24th, 2021, 9:29 am

OP you will receive assistance from private persons faster than the government so you should explore that avenue as well. I had PM you when you made this thread asking for some basic information to forward to persons who may have assisted you but you did not respond.

Postby hover11 » November 24th, 2021, 9:45 am

Bandicoot wrote:

OJT is just two years. That is all. Some people, I hear, manage to get extensions but I could only get for the two years.
Sorry for the late reply OP, apply for NIB invalidity grant , complete the invalidity application form ,there is a part for you to complete , part for your doctor to complete when this is done make an appointment and come submit. Your doctor must state that you are incapable of doing any kind of work for a period and you will recieve a monthly payment. Please note that you cannot work when in receipt of this benefit. If you need assistance PM me

Postby 88sins » November 24th, 2021, 1:08 pm

hover11 wrote:
Bandicoot wrote:

Sorry for the late reply OP, apply for NIB invalidity grant , complete the invalidity application form ,there is a part for you to complete , part for your doctor to complete when this is done make an appointment and come submit. Your doctor must state that you are incapable of doing any kind of work for a period and you will recieve a monthly payment. Please note that you cannot work when in receipt of this benefit. If you need assistance PM me

to receive the NIB Invalidity grant, he :
Must be physically unable to work for a period of longer than 1 year
MUST have made a minimum of 150 contributions, 50 of which must have been made during the 3 years immediately preceding the start of incapacity; or made 250 contributions in the 7 years immediately preceding the start of incapacity, or made 750 contributions or more.

by these underlined alone, he won't qualify for NIB Invalidity. he simply hasn't made enough contributions within the stipulated time alloted.

OP check yuh pm.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » November 25th, 2021, 7:59 am

hover11 wrote:
Bandicoot wrote:

to receive the NIB Invalidity grant, he :
Must be physically unable to work for a period of longer than 1 year
MUST have made a minimum of 150 contributions, 50 of which must have been made during the 3 years immediately preceding the start of incapacity; or made 250 contributions in the 7 years immediately preceding the start of incapacity, or made 750 contributions or more.

by these underlined alone, he won't qualify for NIB Invalidity. he simply hasn't made enough contributions within the stipulated time alloted.

OP check yuh pm.

He should seek social assistance. Contact the closest Ministry of Social Development and Family Services' office.

Postby mero » November 25th, 2021, 10:38 am

Wraith King wrote:OP you will receive assistance from private persons faster than the government so you should explore that avenue as well. I had PM you when you made this thread asking for some basic information to forward to persons who may have assisted you but you did not respond.

Maybe cuz you're an over obese loser and a creep? No one will ever give you their information, deal with it.

Even disabled ppl leaving you on read.

Lol imagine being that guy. Poor fat boy. Life of blue ticks

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 25th, 2021, 11:21 am

How does contributions work?
Everytime you get paid is that equal to 1 contribution?

FuadAdnan

Postby FuadAdnan » November 25th, 2021, 11:41 am

wtf wrote:How does contributions work?

not a surprise seeing you on this thread asking asking about disability grant lmao.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 25th, 2021, 12:50 pm

Contributions are counted weekly whatever your timing of pay is.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 25th, 2021, 12:52 pm

FuadAdnan wrote:

not a surprise seeing you on this thread asking asking about disability grant lmao.
You ain't realized everyone on this forum hates you and thinks you're annoying?