How to Dim led tape lights

Postby aaron17 » November 24th, 2021, 10:32 am

I have a metal frame work tree. I got a white/blue tape led light and ran it on the frame work of it. The tape dont have a dimming feature. That was really hard to connect up..i mini zipped tie it on. Now when I light it up , I found its too bright like the sun because all the lights are too concentrated and it spoiling my overall decoration look.
Without having to take out and buy a set with dimming feature , what else can I do to dim the lights?
I was thinking of covering it with garbage bag to reduce light brightness. Any other safer and easier solutions?
FramePinewoodIn6m.jpg
7f03e4d0-23c4-462f-ae51-a3c457a06312_1.dea83293716e65e513c4c213aa7c05c2.jpeg

Re: How to Dim led tape lights

Postby aaron17 » November 24th, 2021, 10:34 am

The led light pic is just a sample...it does not have color changing and dimming feature. I got the tape lights from Pricesmart.

Postby timelapse » November 24th, 2021, 10:47 am

Spray with clear coat

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 24th, 2021, 10:47 am

Strap the lights LED side down so you get "glow" or buy a can of taillight smoke paint.

Postby aaron17 » November 24th, 2021, 11:13 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Strap the lights LED side down so you get "glow" or buy a can of taillight smoke paint.

interesting.......

Postby aaron17 » November 24th, 2021, 11:23 am

Bro that tape stick on like glue
...so it cant move to be glowed.

Postby aaron17 » November 24th, 2021, 11:40 am

How about put garbage bag around it with leaving some space against the lights so it get air etc?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 24th, 2021, 11:48 am

Tape will be cumbersome to apply.

Option1: You can try the VHT nightshade spray on it.
Option2: Paint the metalwork matte white and mount the LED face down with a gap. Can use some kind of spacer to allow a 1/4" gap or so. More gap is more light reflected (to the point of diminishing returns), so experiment with diff thickness spacers.

I think option 2 is better.

Postby aaron17 » November 24th, 2021, 1:09 pm

hmmmm

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2021, 1:13 pm

Get an adjustable controller for it
It will allow you to change the brightness

Whiteout lighting will have what you need

220 0220
Just off munroe road flyover

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2021, 1:14 pm

Post a pic of the controller boz that's connected to yours. Most of them are standard and interchangeable

Postby aaron17 » November 24th, 2021, 1:32 pm

I checked the led ...its not meant to be dimmed...its either on or off

Postby aaron17 » November 24th, 2021, 1:33 pm

Diffusing the light I wanna do...the look right now is too harsh

Postby De Dragon » November 24th, 2021, 1:37 pm

Give it to the PNM, dem dimming anything

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2021, 1:41 pm

How you know it can't be dimmed though.
In any event either wrap it in masking tape or paint it with light white paint

Postby SMc » November 24th, 2021, 1:41 pm

Diffusing the light will be hard to do with something solid but an acrylic strip (like the base material they use for illuminated signs) mounted above may do it but you may get hot spots. An option may be to loosely wrap a fabric like chiffon(?) around it as it will cut the harshness of the bulb but still light through like a glow- you may still get hot spots. (when I say hot spots, they not hot its just where you can tell there is a light source directly behind .

If you need to remove the strips use some nylon, and if you need to re-stick use some 3M VHB, just make sure you use the right one for the substrate.

Postby aaron17 » November 24th, 2021, 1:59 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:How you know it can't be dimmed though.
In any event either wrap it in masking tape or paint it with light white paint

I know there is a diffused white scotch tape..Would that burn?

make meh care

Postby make meh care » November 24th, 2021, 2:33 pm

white vinyl or tint it

Postby timelapse » November 24th, 2021, 2:36 pm

Clear coat or varnish
Done this before

Postby Gladiator » November 24th, 2021, 3:18 pm

try with a little piece... rub it with acetone. That would change the clear finish to an etched surface and should diffuse the light. Let me know if it works cause I was thinking up a project and was going to do the same thing.

Postby aaron17 » November 24th, 2021, 7:18 pm

U can't reverse damage tho.

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2021, 7:44 pm

I seeing rolls of flexible diffuser strips online not sure where you finding that locally.
You 100% sure a dimmable controller won't work?

Postby aaron17 » November 24th, 2021, 7:49 pm

Someone told me frosted pvc tubing to fit in each of the light.

Postby aaron17 » November 24th, 2021, 7:50 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I seeing rolls of flexible diffuser strips online not sure where you finding that locally.

I have to double check the led modules. How else you know tho?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2021, 8:01 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I seeing rolls of flexible diffuser strips online not sure where you finding that locally.

I have been looking for this locally.
I think I may eventually just skybox it in - but it's nearly 7ft long
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07GZHGS2L/
I'm looking for the right-angle since it's for a ceiling but there are flat ones also

Postby rollingstock » November 24th, 2021, 11:35 pm

It's led, what are you using to power it?
Just lower the voltage.