China's Investments in the WI Rattles the Europeans

Re: China's Investments in the WI Rattles the Europeans

Postby hover11 » November 28th, 2021, 10:11 am

bluefete wrote:Is the Pitch Lake under contract to China or not?
I dont think this was ever disclosed, probably part of one of the infamous non disclosure agreements

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 28th, 2021, 10:11 am

Belt and road initiative is also about maritime trade. China is securing alternative trading posts because the days of the US being their number customer are numbered.

This will be the 2nd cold war. Very very unlikely it will become an actual world war but there will be an axis and allies. No guesses as to who Trinidad has already aligned with.

Postby Redman » November 28th, 2021, 10:37 am

FuadAdnan wrote:
Redman wrote:Well we in the middle of plenty changes.

The global monetary system is changing as the technology to challenge comes of age.

There is too much debt to raise US rates without crushing govt and corporate balance sheets,but they need to remain attractive to bond holders.
the petrodollar system is coming to an end..as is the USD dominance as a reserve currency.

China is having its own 2008 where internal corporate debt is coming home to roost.
China also NEEDS people to keep buying their goods, and they are suffering a big PR backlash.
The BRI is floundering ...and they can't fight everyone and everything.

Russia seems in the most resilient position and seems the only country to be in a position to temper China.

Impossible to predict how this turns out

Russia? Come on man, at least try to make sense there.

Well sense is what I am making.

25 years or so ago the BRICs alliance started, as did non usd centric commodity trading points.

Then we had the big commodity super cycle and wealth flowed to the producers.Away from 1st world importers

You should look at Russia's movements during that period...and how it's positioned itself alongside India Iran china Brazil Venezuela, and the African continent.

You should then listen to what Putin has been vocalizing and similarly doing in terms creating alliances away from NATO centric norms.

Currency is the new battlefield

Postby Kenjo » November 28th, 2021, 11:20 am

Dohplaydat wrote:Belt and road initiative is also about maritime trade. China is securing alternative trading posts because the days of the US being their number customer are numbered.

This will be the 2nd cold war. Very very unlikely it will become an actual world war but there will be an axis and allies. No guesses as to who Trinidad has already aligned with.

China or USA ? We getting money from both sides not so ? China is an Addition so can’t say USA is thrown out

Postby bluefete » November 28th, 2021, 11:48 am

Does anyone remember this? Real LOL's back then.

State Visit of His Excellency Xi Jinping President of the People’s Republic of China

May 20, 2013:

The Honourable Kamla Persad-Bissessar SC, Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, today announced that the President of the People’s Republic of China, His Excellency Xi Jinping, will pay a State visit to Trinidad and Tobago during the period May 31 to June 2, 2013. The Chinese President will be accompanied by his wife, Her Excellency PengLiyuan.

The visit of the Chinese President will follow closely on the heels of the Vice-President of the United States, Mr Joe Biden, who will pay an official visit to this country during the period May 27 to May 28, 2013.

http://www.news.gov.tt/content/state-vi ... aOkLWDMJPY

Postby bluefete » November 28th, 2021, 11:57 am

And this:

“The Chinese loan has a very attractive interest rate of two per cent. The IMF is 1.05 per cent, so there isn’t much to choose between them. "

If you’re making a judgement call…one loan, no structural adjustment, you don’t have to retrench people, you don’t have to de-value your currency, etc. etc….and then another…you have to do all kinds of terrible things…that’s a no-brainer, obviously you’d go with the one that doesn’t have any structural adjustment conditionalities associated with it, especially since the interest rates are very close, just one per cent apart.”[/size]
https://tt.loopnews.com/content/imbert- ... no-brainer

So the interest difference between the 2 loans was almost 100% but according to Imbert, it was 1% apart. I used to just shake my head.

So we are paying almost $20 million back in interest to China instead of $10 million to the IMF.

Postby hover11 » November 28th, 2021, 12:01 pm

Tell me something that couva hospital was it a gift or are we paying down that down the road?

Postby bluefete » November 28th, 2021, 12:11 pm

hover11 wrote:Tell me something that couva hospital was it a gift or are we paying down that down the road?

Paying down the road for years to come.

On 14th August, Ambassador Huang Xingyuan, together with Kamla Persad-Bissessar,Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago cut the ribbon for the Commissioning Ceremony of Couva Children’s Hospital and delivered congratulations remarks.

Prime Minister Bissessar expressed her gratitude towards the Chinese Government on behalf of her Government and People for bringing this dream into reality, speaking highly of the construction works by Chinese companies. She welcomed more capital and technologies from China to participate in the development of Trinidadian society.

https://www.mfa.gov.cn/ce/cett//eng/jsczc/t1289317.htm

Postby pugboy » November 28th, 2021, 12:48 pm

I does wonder if them politicians does study how whoever years later going to pay all these big debts
like they does think the country going to win a big lotto or something

but surely them take they cut under the table so them fixed for life

Postby hover11 » November 28th, 2021, 12:59 pm

pugboy wrote:I does wonder if them politicians does study how whoever years later going to pay all these big debts

Remember they wouldn't be Alive to worry about that is your children children who have to catch , we making it much harder on them, a 3 bedroom flat in couva might be 4 million and and a 1 bedroom apt might be 5000 a month the way things going lol

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2021, 1:22 pm

bluefete wrote:Is the Pitch Lake under contract to China or not?
Trinidad is

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2021, 1:23 pm

bluefete wrote:And this:

“The Chinese loan has a very attractive interest rate of two per cent. The IMF is 1.05 per cent, so there isn’t much to choose between them. "

If you’re making a judgement call…one loan, no structural adjustment, you don’t have to retrench people, you don’t have to de-value your currency, etc. etc….and then another…you have to do all kinds of terrible things…that’s a no-brainer, obviously you’d go with the one that doesn’t have any structural adjustment conditionalities associated with it, especially since the interest rates are very close, just one per cent apart.”[/size]
https://tt.loopnews.com/content/imbert- ... no-brainer

So the interest difference between the 2 loans was almost 100% but according to Imbert, it was 1% apart. I used to just shake my head.

So we are paying almost $20 million back in interest to China instead of $10 million to the IMF.
Red government logic

Trinidad take bull all yuh vote for dat 5hit

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2021, 1:25 pm

pugboy wrote:I does wonder if them politicians does study how whoever years later going to pay all these big debts

No the red government MPs and family make sure they are settled for life, ie arse wari, imsbert ext

Postby Les Bain » November 28th, 2021, 4:39 pm

They'll do like the Afghan President when he heard the Taliban were coming: duss out ahead of schedule then issue a weak apology from the comfort of another country.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 28th, 2021, 5:01 pm

Manning sold us out to the Chinese a long time ago.
Nothing we can't do about that now.
We 20 years to late.

Postby zoom rader » November 28th, 2021, 5:03 pm

wtf wrote:Manning sold us out to the Chinese a long time ago.
We 20 years to late.
They were always here bro since early 1800s

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 28th, 2021, 5:05 pm

wtf wrote:Manning sold us out to the Chinese a long time ago.
We 20 years to late.
They were always here bro since early 1800s
Yes it's true.
But Manning accelerated the sell out.

Postby bluefete » November 28th, 2021, 7:49 pm

hover11 wrote:Carry onFB_IMG_1638101748137.jpg

That scared me because: Didn't we borrow about US$240 million from China under the same terms?

Museveni to surrender Uganda’s only international airport over Chinese loan
By Editor
26 November 2021

On Tuesday, 17 November 2015, the Uganda government signed an agreement with Export-Import Bank of China (Exim Bank) to borrow $207 million at two per cent upon disbursement. The loan had a maturity period of 20 years including a seven-year grace period.

https://editor.guardian.ng/news/museven ... IdMrkZMfpM

Postby hover11 » November 28th, 2021, 7:51 pm

bluefete wrote:

That scared me because: Didn't we borrow about US$240 million from China under the same terms?

By Editor
26 November 2021

On Tuesday, 17 November 2015, the Uganda government signed an agreement with Export-Import Bank of China (Exim Bank) to borrow $207 million at two per cent upon disbursement. The loan had a maturity period of 20 years including a seven-year grace period.

Wait for it , China not ready to cash in on here yet and when they are the big question is will we be in a position to pay

Postby 88sins » November 28th, 2021, 8:54 pm

Ah yes, the inevitable result of the Chinese belt and road project. Where China builds your infrastructure, and when you can't pay for it they take control of it.

What could go wrong?

Postby De Dragon » November 28th, 2021, 9:27 pm

hover11 wrote:

Remember they wouldn't be Alive to worry about that is your children children who have to catch , we making it much harder on them, a 3 bedroom flat in couva might be 4 million and and a 1 bedroom apt might be 5000 a month the way things going lol

Already exists.
Think of where we'd be, Covid-wise if it weren't for that Couva Hospital.
The same hospital that JUHN Scarfy labelled a "construction site" but miraculously, with no additional work, was suddenly the tip of the spear in the pandemic response.

Postby pugboy » November 28th, 2021, 9:35 pm

anybody knows how much of the couva hospital is used?
for decades mt hope was only used a portion of the place
not sure now but probably almost all

Postby bluefete » November 29th, 2021, 7:13 am

So Barbados becomes a Republic at midnight tonight and the Brits are scaremongering:

Will Barbados live to regret kicking out the Queen and being seduced by Beijing's billions... and is it a sign the Crown’s days could be numbered elsewhere? asks ROBERT HARDMAN

By PA MEDIA and MARTIN ROBINSON, CHIEF REPORTER
PUBLISHED: 00:05 GMT, 29 November 2021

However, this week’s big event is illustrative of a more fundamental issue. There is a new imperial powerhouse in the Caribbean: China.

Shiny new cricket stadia and hotel developments are all sprouting, courtesy of Beijing.

Just last week, China announced it was building a $274 million ring-road for Jamaica’s second city, Montego Bay.

Announcing the deal, its Chinese ambassador, Tian Qi, issued the usual platitudes about ‘greener development’, before telling Jamaicans: ‘To get rich, build roads first.’ By contrast, Britain’s promise to spend £2.8 million on marine research in 17 small island states across the Caribbean and Pacific does not cut much mustard.

In other words, places such as Barbados are moving on. This week’s constitutional switch is certainly a big moment for Mia Mottley, one of the most impressive politicians in the region.

I was in Glasgow the other day to see her address the world leaders at the Cop 26 climate change summit and she delivered a belter that brought the house down.

‘What must we say to our people, living on the frontline?’ she demanded. ‘What excuse should we give for the failure? When will leaders lead? Our people are watching, and our people are taking note.’

It led to renewed praise for her as a ‘rock star’ politician across the Caribbean, though she was careful not to point the finger at the biggest polluter on the planet. Given that China has invested a reported $490 million in Barbados, it would have been unwise.

Just days before the start of the pandemic, Barbados signed a new Memorandum of Understanding, making the country a new member of China’s ‘Belt and Road Initiative’, enjoying new benefits in ‘shipping, aviation, infrastructure and modern agriculture’.

There is, of course, no such thing as a free lunch. The debts for the country’s new Chinese buses, buildings, roads and hotel complexes must be repaid in some way.

Miss Mottley does not welcome questions on this issue or, indeed, on the new constitutional model.

Despite repeated requests over the past ten days by phone and email for an interview with a government representative, either in Bridgetown or London, I have been told that no one is available to speak to me.

When one UK journalist did manage to broach the subject with the prime minister in Barbados a week ago, the response was a thinly-veiled charge of racism.

It was ‘a reflection of unconscious bias’, Miss Mottley told the Sunday Times, to question the country’s links with China: ‘It suggests we can only exist as pawns of someone and if it is not the British empire it must be the Chinese empire.’

At Westminster, the chairman of the Foreign Affairs select committee, Tory MP Tom Tugendhat, sees the end of the monarchy as emblematic of a broader direction of travel. ‘Of course, it’s right if Barbados wants to have a Barbadian head of state then it should have one.

‘That should make no difference to Britain and Barbados being best of friends as I believe we have been during the 55 years since independence,’ he says.

‘But be under no illusion that China is pumping all this money into the Caribbean out of the goodness of its heart. I see it as a slow, long-term erosion of democracy. From China’s perspective, removing the Queen is a symbolic success that will encourage greater efforts.’

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... ublic.html

Postby hover11 » November 29th, 2021, 7:17 am

bluefete wrote:So Barbados becomes a Republic at midnight tonight and the Brits are scaremongering:

Will Barbados live to regret kicking out the Queen and being seduced by Beijing's billions... and is it a sign the Crown’s days could be numbered elsewhere? asks ROBERT HARDMAN

However, this week’s big event is illustrative of a more fundamental issue. There is a new imperial powerhouse in the Caribbean: China.

Shiny new cricket stadia and hotel developments are all sprouting, courtesy of Beijing.

Just last week, China announced it was building a $274 million ring-road for Jamaica’s second city, Montego Bay.

Announcing the deal, its Chinese ambassador, Tian Qi, issued the usual platitudes about ‘greener development’, before telling Jamaicans: ‘To get rich, build roads first.’ By contrast, Britain’s promise to spend £2.8 million on marine research in 17 small island states across the Caribbean and Pacific does not cut much mustard.

In other words, places such as Barbados are moving on. This week’s constitutional switch is certainly a big moment for Mia Mottley, one of the most impressive politicians in the region.

I was in Glasgow the other day to see her address the world leaders at the Cop 26 climate change summit and she delivered a belter that brought the house down.

‘What must we say to our people, living on the frontline?’ she demanded. ‘What excuse should we give for the failure? When will leaders lead? Our people are watching, and our people are taking note.’

It led to renewed praise for her as a ‘rock star’ politician across the Caribbean, though she was careful not to point the finger at the biggest polluter on the planet. Given that China has invested a reported $490 million in Barbados, it would have been unwise.

Just days before the start of the pandemic, Barbados signed a new Memorandum of Understanding, making the country a new member of China’s ‘Belt and Road Initiative’, enjoying new benefits in ‘shipping, aviation, infrastructure and modern agriculture’.

There is, of course, no such thing as a free lunch. The debts for the country’s new Chinese buses, buildings, roads and hotel complexes must be repaid in some way.

Miss Mottley does not welcome questions on this issue or, indeed, on the new constitutional model.

Despite repeated requests over the past ten days by phone and email for an interview with a government representative, either in Bridgetown or London, I have been told that no one is available to speak to me.

When one UK journalist did manage to broach the subject with the prime minister in Barbados a week ago, the response was a thinly-veiled charge of racism.

It was ‘a reflection of unconscious bias’, Miss Mottley told the Sunday Times, to question the country’s links with China: ‘It suggests we can only exist as pawns of someone and if it is not the British empire it must be the Chinese empire.’

At Westminster, the chairman of the Foreign Affairs select committee, Tory MP Tom Tugendhat, sees the end of the monarchy as emblematic of a broader direction of travel. ‘Of course, it’s right if Barbados wants to have a Barbadian head of state then it should have one.

‘That should make no difference to Britain and Barbados being best of friends as I believe we have been during the 55 years since independence,’ he says.

‘But be under no illusion that China is pumping all this money into the Caribbean out of the goodness of its heart. I see it as a slow, long-term erosion of democracy. From China’s perspective, removing the Queen is a symbolic success that will encourage greater efforts.’

What are thoughts on this, you think they could pull it off or will they soon be at the IMF door or worse the Chinese own?

Postby bluefete » November 29th, 2021, 7:25 am

Very good question. They are already in the clutches of the IMF. Remember a couple years ago when Barbados fired over 3,000 civil servants due to IMF conditionalities?

But China is dangling goodies, like in so many other developing world nations, that it would be very hard for Barbados to refuse their offers.

I see no problem once they can pay back, but with an economy highly dependent on tourism, anything can play.

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:So Barbados becomes a Republic at midnight tonight and the Brits are scaremongering:

What are thoughts on this, you think they could pull it off or will they soon be at the IMF door or worse the Chinese own?

Postby hover11 » November 29th, 2021, 7:32 am

bluefete wrote:Very good question. They are already in the clutches of the IMF. Remember a couple years ago when Barbados fired over 3,000 civil servants due to IMF conditionalities?

But China is dangling goodies, like in so many other developing world nations, that it would be very hard for Barbados to refuse their offers.

I see no problem once they can pay back, but with an economy highly dependent on tourism, anything can play.

hover11 wrote:

The thing is tourism is feeble atm given our circumstances , I was hoping the Caribbean or CARICOM on the whole could have had a travel cruise where all countries could benefit well pre covid, look at the EU and how they support one another we have nothing like that. Yes our name is CARICOM but it seems every country to themselves. The Caribbean should be able to help each other before going to the IMF or these bodies like the Chinese but that's just my take....China already own Jamaica, soon Trinidad it just saddening what our Caribbean will be when the Chinese ready to develop here we might lose our very culture and sense of existence

Postby Redman » November 29th, 2021, 7:45 am

bluefete wrote:Very good question. They are already in the clutches of the IMF. Remember a couple years ago when Barbados fired over 3,000 civil servants due to IMF conditionalities?

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:So Barbados Barbados a week ago, the response was a thinly-veiled charge of racism.

Germany is offering 1.5% financing for projects that use German goods and services.
Fact.
Concessionary terms that include repossession for failure to honor the repayment terms.
Fact.

Countries are trying to stimulate their economies with Fiat currency
Fiat currency cost nothing to create.

Look at it another way...they are exchanging currency that is being debased for hard assets that are scarce.

It's the borrowers responsibility to repay.
Or lose your chit.

We did the same with the loans to the Guyana etc.
Except we didn't penalize them for not repaying.

Postby hover11 » November 29th, 2021, 7:56 am

Redman wrote:

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:So Barbados Barbados a week ago, the response was a thinly-veiled charge of racism.

Germany is offering 1.5% financing for projects that use German goods and services.
Fact.
Concessionary terms that include repossession for failure to honor the repayment terms.
Fact.

Countries are trying to stimulate their economies with Fiat currency
Fiat currency cost nothing to create.

Look at it another way...they are exchanging currency that is being debased for hard assets that are scarce.

It's the borrowers responsibility to repay.
Or lose your chit.

We did the same with the loans to the Guyana etc.
Except we didn't penalize them for not repaying.
Redman,

I could be wrong but didn't we lend Grenada a hefty sum of money and they simply said they cannot repay , we took no recourse and simply wrote it off as a bad debt that is madness we making it bad for ourselves as Caribbean brothers

Postby zoom rader » November 29th, 2021, 8:01 am

88sins wrote:Ah yes, the inevitable result of the Chinese belt and road project. Where China builds your infrastructure, and when you can't pay for it they take control of it.

What could go wrong?
Thry have acquired about 20 ports around the world. So they control what's in and out.

Africa is in mess as the moment ad the Chinese have taken over gold mines

death365

Postby death365 » November 29th, 2021, 8:04 am

We have enough money to pay ... sweet T&T has money its how and to whom its divided.

If any Govt default its because they choose to give it away.
hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

By Editor
26 November 2021

Wait for it , China not ready to cash in on here yet and when they are the big question is will we be in a position to pay