Re: China's Investments in the WI Rattles the Europeans

Postby Redman » November 29th, 2021, 8:42 am

hover11 wrote:
Redman wrote:
bluefete wrote:Very good question. They are already in the clutches of the IMF. Remember a couple years ago when Barbados fired over 3,000 civil servants due to IMF conditionalities?

But China is dangling goodies, like in so many other developing world nations, that it would be very hard for Barbados to refuse their offers.

I see no problem once they can pay back, but with an economy highly dependent on tourism, anything can play.

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:So Barbados Barbados a week ago, the response was a thinly-veiled charge of racism.

It was ‘a reflection of unconscious bias’, Miss Mottley told the Sunday Times, to question the country’s links with China: ‘It suggests we can only exist as pawns of someone and if it is not the British empire it must be the Chinese empire.’

Germany is offering 1.5% financing for projects that use German goods and services.
Fact.
Concessionary terms that include repossession for failure to honor the repayment terms.
Fact.

Countries are trying to stimulate their economies with Fiat currency
Fiat currency cost nothing to create.

Look at it another way...they are exchanging currency that is being debased for hard assets that are scarce.

It's the borrowers responsibility to repay.
Or lose your chit.

We did the same with the loans to the Guyana etc.
Except we didn't penalize them for not repaying.
Redman,

I could be wrong but didn't we lend Grenada a hefty sum of money and they simply said they cannot repay , we took no recourse and simply wrote it off as a bad debt that is madness we making it bad for ourselves as Caribbean brothers

Well govts have their social and regional concerns.
It's a thankless balance that feels like a lose lose proposition.

I'm not endorsing anything....but interest rates are so low that the lender is actually losing value on the loan....if it is fixed at 2% then they not even making rate of inflation

Postby timelapse » November 29th, 2021, 12:40 pm

Redman wrote:
hover11 wrote:
Redman wrote:
bluefete wrote:Very good question. They are already in the clutches of the IMF. Remember a couple years ago when Barbados fired over 3,000 civil servants due to IMF conditionalities?

But China is dangling goodies, like in so many other developing world nations, that it would be very hard for Barbados to refuse their offers.

I see no problem once they can pay back, but with an economy highly dependent on tourism, anything can play.

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:So Barbados Barbados a week ago, the response was a thinly-veiled charge of racism.

It was ‘a reflection of unconscious bias’, Miss Mottley told the Sunday Times, to question the country’s links with China: ‘It suggests we can only exist as pawns of someone and if it is not the British empire it must be the Chinese empire.’

Germany is offering 1.5% financing for projects that use German goods and services.
Fact.
Concessionary terms that include repossession for failure to honor the repayment terms.
Fact.

Countries are trying to stimulate their economies with Fiat currency
Fiat currency cost nothing to create.

Look at it another way...they are exchanging currency that is being debased for hard assets that are scarce.

It's the borrowers responsibility to repay.
Or lose your chit.

We did the same with the loans to the Guyana etc.
Except we didn't penalize them for not repaying.
Redman,

I could be wrong but didn't we lend Grenada a hefty sum of money and they simply said they cannot repay , we took no recourse and simply wrote it off as a bad debt that is madness we making it bad for ourselves as Caribbean brothers

Well govts have their social and regional concerns.
It's a thankless balance that feels like a lose lose proposition.

I'm not endorsing anything....but interest rates are so low that the lender is actually losing value on the loan....if it is fixed at 2% then they not even making rate of inflation
Lender isn't losing.Dealing with China is like dealing with the Devil.You already lost when you make the deal.China wants you to default, so they can claim your business/land.
That is how the Tong operates.So far my predictions are coming to pass

Postby Redman » November 29th, 2021, 1:21 pm

Well mathematics says they are.
Once the loan is in good standing the lender is gaining 2% interest while his money is losing purchasing power at the rate of inflation.

Negative real rates benefit the borrowers...unless the lender takes the asset.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 29th, 2021, 1:43 pm

Don't mind Chinese owning the Caribbean.

Very smart and competent people.

It's between them and Europeans/US. Fine people.

Postby hover11 » November 29th, 2021, 1:44 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Don't mind Chinese owning the Caribbean.

Very smart and competent people.

It's between them and Europeans/US. Fine people.
Modern day slavery

Postby timelapse » November 29th, 2021, 2:18 pm

Redman wrote:Well mathematics says they are.
Once the loan is in good standing the lender is gaining 2% interest while his money is losing purchasing power at the rate of inflation.

You missed my point there.The lender IS going to take the asset.They know this before the deal is made.We already losing our ports and pitch lake to China.It isn't so far fetched

Postby The_Honourable » November 29th, 2021, 3:19 pm

Kinda predictable... China rejects Ugandan airport story

https://www.reuters.com/markets/rates-b ... 021-11-29/

Postby Redman » November 29th, 2021, 3:26 pm

timelapse wrote:

You missed my point there.The lender IS going to take the asset.They know this before the deal is made.We already losing our ports and pitch lake to China.It isn't so far fetched

They know this?
Well maybe they do...maybe that's the point of the C19...kill air travel and sea borne commerce related infrastructure into default.

But it is the borrowers responsibility to repay and to make sure he can repay.

Don't blame china if our political directorate are willing to accept 30 pieces of silver.

Postby toyolink » November 29th, 2021, 3:50 pm

The simple fact, is that underdeveloped and developing countries are always in need of funding and China is in play.
What creates issues are the negotiated terms and conditions of the financing package as well as the inefficient use of the funds and in many cases the misuse of same.
When countries fail to apply funds rec'd for various projects in the proper manner, the end result is obvious.
What makes China unique is their contractual right to exercise liens on assets for which the funding was ear-marked.
Loans and other assistance offered by the wealthy countries have always come with sometimes very serious obligations and in many cases these obligations may mean relinguishing of sovereign rights etc. and or committing support to one side or the other in the global power race.

Postby pugboy » November 29th, 2021, 4:11 pm

3rd world bobol borrowers don’t care about payment terms down the road

they just want population to know they delivered a shiny new port, hospital, airport to keep the votes in their power whilst they feeding off taxpayers over and under the table

Postby timelapse » November 29th, 2021, 5:31 pm

Redman wrote:
timelapse wrote:

They know this?
Well maybe they do...maybe that's the point of the C19...kill air travel and sea borne commerce related infrastructure into default.

But it is the borrowers responsibility to repay and to make sure he can repay.

Don't blame china if our political directorate are willing to accept 30 pieces of silver.
Long before C19.

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » December 2nd, 2021, 11:03 am

If people study history they will see it repeats itself. look at the underlying causes for the fall of the roman empire and you will see parallels with what is happening now to the western powers: the USA and UK. Switch to the winning team while you still can, we're in the middle of the transition

Postby Kenjo » December 2nd, 2021, 11:57 am

DevilZ wrote:If people study history they will see it repeats itself. look at the underlying causes for the fall of the roman empire and you will see parallels with what is happening now to the western powers: the USA and UK. Switch to the winning team while you still can, we're in the middle of the transition

Ent , worse case US /UK fights with China and either way we have our feet on both sides

Postby Kenjo » December 2nd, 2021, 11:59 am

Don’t we have chaguaramas and maracas development because of world wars .

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » December 2nd, 2021, 3:05 pm

China's plans already in motion, EU a bit late.

https://www.reuters.com/markets/rates-b ... 021-12-01/

EU unveils 300 billion euro answer to China's Belt and Road

BRUSSELS, Dec 1 (Reuters) - The European Commission unveiled on Wednesday a plan to invest 300 billion euros ($340 billion) globally by 2027 in infrastructure, digital and climate projects as a better alternative to China's Belt and Road Initiative.

The scheme, called Global Gateway, is to strengthen Europe's supply chains, boost EU trade and help fight climate change, focusing on digitalisation, health, climate and energy and transport sectors, as well as education and research.

China launched its Belt and Road project in 2013 to boost trade links with the rest of the world and has been spending heavily on the development of infrastructure in dozens of countries around the world.

But EU officials say financing offered by Beijing is often unfavourable, not transparent, and makes some poorer countries, especially in Africa, dependent on China through debt.

Unlike China, the EU would ensure local communities benefited from the infrastructure projects under Global Gateway and would also bring with it the private sector, for which EU involvement meant the investment was less risky, European Commission head Ursula von der Leyen said.

"Indeed, countries ... need better and different offers (to China's initiative)," von der Leyen told a news conference, unveiling the EU scheme, which she called "a true alternative".

EU money, in the form of grants, loans and guarantees, will come from the bloc's institutions, governments, as well as EU financial institutions and national development banks. It would be offered "under fair and favourable terms" so as not to leave governments of third countries with a debt problem, the Commission said.

EU International Partnerships Commissioner Jutta Urpilainen told the news conference the amount of money the EU was spending on development aid was similar to China's.

"If I look at the statistics, between 2013 and 2018 Europe has been the largest provider of development assistance in the world and our development assistance, which is purely grants, for 2013-2018, is very close to the reported Belt and Road initiative projects provided by China," she said.

"We are very much at the same level but our modalities have been different. We have been providing grants and China has been providing loans," she said.

The EU plan will focus on physical infrastructure, like fibre optic cables, clean transport corridors and clean power transmission lines to strengthen digital, transport and energy networks, the Commission said.

It said that by helping other countries the EU would also promote its own interests and strengthen its supply chains, the vulnerability of which became apparent during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Postby 88sins » December 2nd, 2021, 6:44 pm

Kenjo wrote:
DevilZ wrote:If people study history they will see it repeats itself. look at the underlying causes for the fall of the roman empire and you will see parallels with what is happening now to the western powers: the USA and UK. Switch to the winning team while you still can, we're in the middle of the transition

Ent , worse case US /UK fights with China and either way we have our feet on both sides

Just bear in mind, that we got both feet balancing on their shoulders on either side of a picket fence, and if either side falls guess who gets the grand second prize of getting skewered in the crotch.?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » December 3rd, 2021, 1:20 pm

Soon China and Asia will own most black countries. Asians/Chinese and Europeans always ahead of the pack.

Postby bluefete » December 6th, 2021, 8:29 pm

China is hacking T&T:

'In addition to the U.S., the countries in which Nickel has been active include: Argentina, Barbados, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, France, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Italy, Jamaica, Mali, Mexico, Montenegro, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, the United Kingdom and Venezuela.'

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech ... ckers.html

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 13th, 2022, 9:30 am

Africans know their new overlords

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles ... rvey-shows

China Surpasses US In The Eyes Of Young Africans, Survey Shows

China has overtaken the US as the foreign power seen as having the biggest positive influence in Africa by young people, according to a survey released on Monday.

A survey conducted by the Ichikowitz Family Foundation found that 76% of 4,507 young Africans across 15 countries named China as a foreign power with a positive influence on their lives, compared with 72% for the US. In 2020, when the inaugural study of 18-to-24-year-olds was conducted, 83% of respondents saw the US’s influence as positive while the figure for China was 79%.

The results are further evidence that China is winning the battle against geopolitical rivals such as the US and the European Union for the hearts and minds of Africans. Beijing has plowed money into African infrastructure over the past two decades and supplies the continent with affordable consumer goods ranging from mobile phones and solar panels to shovels and plastics.

“We see China having climbed to pole position, we see a recognition of the fact that China is engaging in Africa at a time when when very few others are,” Ivor Ichikowitz, chairman of the foundation, said in an interview in Johannesburg. “In Africa, America has played a very very limited role, its actually played an embarrassingly insignificant role in terms of actual investment, actual trade, actual building of infrastructure.”

Dominant player

In addition to its vast mineral and energy resources, Africa has the world’s most youthful population and is seen as a potential market for the future by countries ranging from France to India. In terms of perceived positive influence, the US has now slipped behind the UK and European Union as well.

“There is no question that China is the dominant player in Africa today,” Ichikowitz said. “Overall we are seeing a much more positive approach to China, that’s going to drive a lot more engagement with China.”

Positive sentiment toward China was strongest in Rwanda, Malawi and Nigeria. The survey, which involves lengthy face-to-face interviews, will be run annually.

Still, China’s influence is not seen as universally positive. Of those surveyed 56% said they believed the unverified conspiracy theory that Covid-19 was developed and intentionally spread by the Chinese government.

The survey also showed that young Africans have lost faith in their own governments, and are increasingly concerned about climate change and discrimination against women and ethnic minorities.

Key findings of the survey:

32% of young Africans said they were excited and optimistic about the future of their countries compared with 43% in the 2020 survey. Angolans, Zambians and
Malawians were the most pessimistic of their countries while Nigerians had the dimmest view of the continent’s future.
39% said they wouldn’t take a Covid-19 vaccine even if it was easily available.
The top priority for those surveyed was job creation.
72% of youth said they are concerned about climate change, citing worries ranging from droughts to increased pollution.
More than half of those surveyed said they planned to emigrate in the next few years.
Ichikowitz founded the foundation and also heads Paramount Group Ltd., a South Africa-based defense and aerospace business.
© 2022 Bloomberg

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » June 16th, 2022, 7:35 pm

Virgin vs Chad. Chad is Xi Jinping ofcourse.