NP introduces lightweight composite LPG cylinders in T&T

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 3rd, 2021, 10:48 pm

National Petroleum (NP) is set to unveil new lightweight composite gas cylinders in handy 22lb and 11lb sizes in early 2022.

The new cylinders are manufactured using composite materials and enclosed in a plastic casing, making it 50 per cent lighter than steel.

Among the upsides to this type of LPG cylinder is that it’s rust-free, and doesn’t corrode, reducing the chances of leaving stains and marks on surfaces.

61aa9417d040a.png

According to Global Market Insights, composite cylinders have gained worldwide popularity as a modern alternative to conventional steel or metal cylinders.

Responding to a query from LoopTT, NP said the steel cylinders consumers have grown accustomed to will continue to be in circulation.

“This not a switch to composite cylinders from steel, but rather a product extension. We saw a need to provide an alternative to the existing cylinders to customers who are willing to purchase a more premium and aesthetically pleasing product offering,” the company said.

A feature most would agree is a massive upgrade is the composite tank’s translucent feature. This means that the LPG level can be seen from the outside, so there’s less of a chance of the gas finishing in the middle of cooking and ruining your meal.

The 11lb cylinder can be used for BBQ grills, boating and other fun outdoor activities while the 22lb can be used as a replacement or backup to the current steel cylinder.

Most consumers, however, are concerned about product safety and authenticity.

NP assured that the composite cylinders have been fitted with certified valves and its blue seal of quality. Additionally, the new tanks are compatible with the existing approved regulators that meet the EN12864 standard.

As for the cost of the new cylinders, this will be communicated in due course.

Currently, first time stove owners (within three months of purchase, with proof of purchase and a valid form of identification) can get new cylinders with an approved regulator, hose and clips at NP’s Customer Services Department at its Sea Lots headquarters for $128.33.

The composite cylinders, however, won’t be covered by this subsidy.

When it comes to the 100lb steel tanks, NP revealed that it intends to introduce larger cylinder sizes as it continues to explore ways to enhance the range of options available to consumers.

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/np-intr ... t-gas-tank

0rb1tz

Re: NP introduces lightweight composite LPG cylinders in T&T

Postby 0rb1tz » December 3rd, 2021, 11:29 pm

Regular thing in the EU.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » December 4th, 2021, 5:20 am

increase in cooking gas prices coming in 2022 then.

Postby zoom rader » December 4th, 2021, 7:11 am

I twaght we trying to save the planet from greenhouse gases.

Plastic tanks , nice

Postby j.o.e » December 4th, 2021, 2:12 pm

daring dragoon wrote:increase in cooking gas prices coming in 2022 then.

Old school tanks are available still. These don’t replace them, this is a separate product line for those willing to pay

Postby hover11 » December 4th, 2021, 2:13 pm

daring dragoon wrote:increase in cooking gas prices coming in 2022 then.
It overdue though, do you know how heavily subsidized that is the government can't continue paying that right through

Postby 88sins » December 4th, 2021, 2:30 pm

What allyuh want to bet, price to buy a new tank gonna increase? Is not like $230 or something so now?
Might hit 300-350

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2021, 2:34 pm

to buy a standalone tank if you not using stove voucher is over $300 i think

88sins wrote:What allyuh want to bet, price to buy a new tank gonna increase? Is not like $230 or something so now?
Might hit 300-350

Postby Rovin » December 4th, 2021, 7:41 pm

lighter weight will be appreciated especially when some ppl without transport hadda be walking to tote it

if they still keeping d metal types too i hope they give d beat out looking 1s a fresh new paint job ....

Postby 88sins » December 5th, 2021, 9:22 am

Rovin wrote:lighter weight will be appreciated especially when some ppl without transport hadda be walking to tote it

if they still keeping d metal types too i hope they give d beat out looking 1s a fresh new paint job ....

And the smaller size one will be even more handy for those needing refills without transport.
Small one would be good for camping trips.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 5th, 2021, 9:44 am

This reminds me I need to get gas !!

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 6th, 2021, 11:19 am

Definitely looking forward to this. Will happily swap out

Postby De Dragon » December 12th, 2021, 10:10 am

Get yuh own LPG wifey!

Postby supercharged turbo » February 15th, 2022, 2:02 am

Anybody got the new composite tank from Ramco as yet?Signed up for it and they called within a few days to arrange delivery.The price is $559 which includes a refundable deposit of $499 for the tank and the ProKleen gas at $60 if yuh decide yuh don't like it.

I believe the reason for the high price is because this new composite cylinder doesn't carry the subsidy.I don't mind trying it but yuh have to give them a steel tank in addition to the fee and well moms eh want to let the tank go lol.

Postby Chimera » February 15th, 2022, 6:10 am

Thats easily a whole year of gas for most people....near to two years probably....

Lolll

Postby Kenjo » February 15th, 2022, 6:48 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Thats easily a whole year of gas for most people....near to two years probably....

Lolll

As in the normal tanks .

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2022, 7:00 am

expected price as those composite tanks are not cheap, if you hear the price of the composite tanks firemen use for air you will drop dead.

so stations will have fill stock of these tanks to swap when you carry the empties ?
or its a situation of drop off and pick back up later like with the yankee type tanks.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 15th, 2022, 8:37 am

supercharged turbo wrote:Anybody got the new composite tank from Ramco as yet?Signed up for it and they called within a few days to arrange delivery.The price is $559 which includes a refundable deposit of $499 for the tank and the ProKleen gas at $60 if yuh decide yuh don't like it.

I believe the reason for the high price is because this new composite cylinder doesn't carry the subsidy.I don't mind trying it but yuh have to give them a steel tank in addition to the fee and well moms eh want to let the tank go lol.

So how dis ting relly wukin?
559-499 = $60 net price plus yuh hadda give up d old steel tank?
ok so after dat rite.....to xchange for a full plastic tank is still $22 like normal at d parlor?
ah find plenty of the steel tank in bad shape half of dem does rel leak by the head.

hear nah dem price too high eh.... nobody eh going and do dis. i was tinking it was going n cycle out d system like d ole money but ppl eh pulling out dat big $$$$ for dis exchange.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 15th, 2022, 10:20 am

Called Ramco weeks now to get regular tank delivered just to try out the service. They called and confirmed, then the sales people called and confirmed and here I am 3 weeks later still waiting.

So imagine waiting for gas when your composite tank run out in the middle of cooking your pelau because you can't go by the parlour or gas station and get a new tank.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 15th, 2022, 10:21 am

I also thought they were going to cycle out these new tanks for the old steel tanks, eventually changing all.
The cost is high and the biggest issue is if the gas trucks and nearby village and town depots are not carrying these tanks then it will be real inconvenient to fill which adds to the cost.

Postby Chimera » February 15th, 2022, 10:26 am

That price is madness. People not going to pay for that with such a high up front cost.

Probably persons who living in high buildings and have to tote their gas tank up flights of stairs.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 15th, 2022, 11:01 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Thats easily a whole year of gas for most people....near to two years probably....

Lolll

My household of 4 and I spent $230 on LPG last year.
Two 20lbs tanks @$23 5 times for the year

I haven't purchased for this year as yet.

Postby pugboy » February 15th, 2022, 11:12 am

isn’t it the same head/regulator?

if push comes to shove you swap for the steel tank

Postby Chimera » February 15th, 2022, 11:27 am

Easily $800 upfront cost if you consider the steel tanks worth 250 to 300.

They should give you gas for atleast a year free if you take that deal to trade in

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 15th, 2022, 11:56 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Easily $800 upfront cost if you consider the steel tanks worth 250 to 300.

They should give you gas for atleast a year free if you take that deal to trade in

But how are you getting the free gas?

Postby Chimera » February 15th, 2022, 11:58 am

either they deliver when you call them and switch your tank or they give you a cash rebate at the end of the year once you provide them with all receipts.

Postby Chimera » February 15th, 2022, 12:08 pm

the tank translucent in any event so you should be able to safely call a week before to get your tank changed in time.

but i for sure not going to switch out at that price.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 15th, 2022, 12:19 pm

the inconvenience alone - esepcially when the idea of switching is becuase of the added convenience of a lighter tank.

Postby MG Man » February 15th, 2022, 1:02 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the inconvenience alone - esepcially when the idea of switching is becuase of the added convenience of a lighter tank.

you cooking with gas?
I'm shocked
I surprised you don't use dehydrated space capsules and food cooked via telepathic induction smartphone app

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 15th, 2022, 1:10 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:the inconvenience alone - esepcially when the idea of switching is becuase of the added convenience of a lighter tank.

you cooking with gas?
I'm shocked
I surprised you don't use dehydrated space capsules and food cooked via telepathic induction smartphone app

LPG is for backup